DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 14 are acknowledged. The objection to claim 14 is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. §101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended limitation of “the target traveling scenario being determined from a group of predefined driving scenarios, each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data based on environmental sensing data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity. This limitation is no more than mere selection of a particular data source or data type for manipulation. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, the amended limitation of “by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold” still recites an abstract idea. Even if it is assumed, arguendo, that the limitation is too complex to be performed in the human mind, the limitation still recites a mathematical calculation, which falls under the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas. Examiner also notes that, when considering improvements to a technology or technological field, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements, either alone or in combination with the judicial exception.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further limiting amendments made to the claims, changing the scope of the claimed invention.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Independent claims 1, 16, and 19 are directed to a method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, respectively, for vehicle navigation. Therefore, independent claims 1, 16, and 19 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. The other analogous independent claims, claims 16 and 19, are rejected for the same reasons as the representative claim 1 as discussed here. Claim 1 recites:
A vehicle navigation method, performed by a computer device, and comprising:
displaying a vehicle navigation interface for navigating a physical vehicle, the vehicle navigation interface comprising a map;
displaying a virtual vehicle on a target road on the map, the virtual vehicle corresponding to the physical vehicle;
determining, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in a target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position;
the target traveling scenario being determined from a group of predefined driving scenarios, each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data based on environmental sensing data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range;
and automatically updating a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle, by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “determining …” the road range data in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected (received, detected, etc.) and forming a simple judgement (determination, analysis, comparison, etc.) either mentally or using a pen and paper. Additionally, the step of updating a map span and a view angle, under broadest reasonable interpretation and in light of the specification, is found to recite a mathematical concept. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A vehicle navigation method, performed by a computer device, and comprising:
displaying a vehicle navigation interface for navigating a physical vehicle, the vehicle navigation interface comprising a map;
displaying a virtual vehicle on a target road on the map, the virtual vehicle corresponding to the physical vehicle;
determining, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in a target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position;
the target traveling scenario being determined from a group of predefined driving scenarios, each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data based on environmental sensing data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range;
and automatically updating a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle, by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations above, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer device to perform the process. The displaying steps are also recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere necessary data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The additional limitations regarding the scenario and the road range data are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere selection of a particular data source or data type for manipulation. Lastly, claims 1, 16, and 20 further recite a computer device, a memory storing computer-readable instructions, a processor, a display, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. These limitations merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose vehicle control environment. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). The device(s) and processor(s) are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 9 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic hardware to perform the steps amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations discussed above are insignificant extra-solution activities.
The additional limitations of displaying a map and a virtual vehicle are well-understood, routine and conventional activities because the specification does not provide any indication that the display is anything other than a conventional vehicle display. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-15, 17-18, and 20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-15, 17-18, and 20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190033088 A1, with an earliest priority date of March 31st, 2016, hereinafter “Deng”, in view of US 20200219398 A1, with an earliest priority date of August 25th, 2017, hereinafter “Shimizu”, further in view of US 20140354668 A1, with an earliest priority date of December 16th, 2011, hereinafter “Seo”, and further in view of JP 2010204379 A, published September 16th, 2010, hereinafter “Kazuki”.
Regarding claim 1, Deng teaches A vehicle navigation method, performed by a computer device. See at least [0057], [0080], and figure 5.
and comprising: displaying a vehicle navigation interface for navigating a physical vehicle, the vehicle navigation interface comprising a map; displaying an indicator on a target road on the map, the indicator corresponding to the physical vehicle. See at least [0058]-[0059] and figure 5, step S410, wherein a vehicle is currently traveling on a navigation route. See at least [0043], [0074], and figure 3, wherein the vehicle’s route is displayed on a navigation route, with an indicator I1 representing the current location of the physical vehicle.
determining, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in a target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position. See at least [0041], [0060]-[0061], and figure 5, step S420, wherein a minimum rectangle map area is determined. The minimum rectangle map area represents the smallest map range necessary to represent the current position of the vehicle and the next maneuver point (target traveling scenario) of the vehicle.
the target traveling scenario being determined from a group of predefined driving scenarios, See at least [0076], wherein the next maneuver point is determined from a group of predefined maneuvers, such as lane changes and vehicle swerves.
and automatically updating a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle. See at least [0055], [0062]-[0066], and figure 5, steps S430-S450, wherein an optimal scale (target map span) is determined based on the range of the minimum rectangle map area. The optimal scale is then updated to display the map at the optimal scale. Additionally, the map is updated to a top view angle.
Deng remains silent on displaying a virtual vehicle. As shown in figure 3, Deng displays an arrow icon to represent the current location of the vehicle. Additionally, Deng remains silent on the predefined driving scenarios each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data based on environmental sensing data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range, and updating the map span and view angle by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold.
Shimizu teaches displaying a virtual vehicle. See at least [0033] and figure 2, wherein the physical vehicle is represented on the display as a virtual vehicle 20.
based on environmental sensing data. See at least [0018], [0028], and [0055]-[0056], wherein the displayed road range data for a lane change scenario is based on environmental sensing data from surrounding information detection device 3.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of displaying a virtual vehicle and determining a target view angle adapted to the road range data. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Seo teaches each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range. See at least [0047]-[0048] and figure 5, wherein a target traveling scenario is identified, from a group of pre-defined situations, based on road attributes and road conditions meeting a trigger condition. Based on the identified situation, control parameters are set specifying a distance between the vehicle and the camera viewpoint. See at least [0096], wherein the triggers include the vehicle being on a road with a predetermined curvature, the vehicle driving on a highway, the vehicle approaching a destination, etc. See at least [0062]-[0069], wherein, when the identified situation is the vehicle approaching a destination, the calculated distance is applied to the map screen so the displayed road range includes the destination point. See at least [0070]-[0076], wherein, when the identified situation is the vehicle approaching continuous turn points, the calculated distance is applied to the map screen so that the displayed road range includes the continuous turn points. The distances are calculated by computation rules shown in Equations 1-2. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables vehicle navigation systems to provide map displays suitable for different situations, as recognized by Seo (see at least [0002]-[0008]).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Seo’s pre-defined scenarios with associated triggers and corresponding road range computation rules.
Kazuki teaches updating the map span and view angle by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold. See at least [0058]-[0059], [0062], [0064], and figures 9-10, wherein a step S205 of calculating a view angle (tilt operation) and a step S206 of calculating a map span (zoom operation) are performed until the road range d is contained in the display area, while maintaining the tilt angle to be equal to or less than a preset threshold θmax. See at least [0055], wherein the tilt and zoom operation are iteratively performed by gradually increasing the tilt angle and the map span until the road range d is contained in the display area and the tilt angle is below a threshold.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kazuki’s technique of increasing the map span when the skew angle exceeds a maximum angle, and continuing to increase the map span to prevent the skew angle from exceeding the maximum angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily grasp a map display, as recognized by Kazuki (see at least [0012]-[0014] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein determining, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in the target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and the road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position comprises:
determining road horizontal range data and road vertical range data of the target traveling scenario and the current position when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in the target traveling scenario. See at least [0060]-[0061], wherein the minimum rectangle map area represents the current location of the vehicle and the target maneuver of the vehicle. See at least [0063], wherein the minimum rectangle map area has a horizontal range and a vertical range.
Regarding claim 3, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein automatically updating the map span and the view angle for displaying the map to the target map span and the target view angle range data comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario and the road vertical range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario, the target map span; and displaying the map as a map comprising the target map span and the target view angle. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on determining the target view angle required for updating the map.
Shimizu teaches determining the target view angle required for updating the map. See at least [0027], [0033]-[0035], and figure 2, wherein a view angle of viewpoint P2 is adapted to the determined road region area. In the example illustrated in figure 2, the road range corresponds to a total vertical range of 170m.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of determining a target view angle required for updating the map. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein determining, based on the road horizontal range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario and the road vertical range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario, the target map span and the target view angle required for updating the map comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario, a map span required for updating the map. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on determining, based on the required map span and the road vertical range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario, a skew angle required for updating the map; and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing to perform determining, based on the required map span and the road vertical range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario, a skew angle required for updating the map, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target view angle required for updating the map.
Shimizu teaches determining, based on the required map span and the road vertical range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario, a skew angle required for updating the map. See at least [0060], wherein, in an embodiment, a first predetermined distance is calculated, representing the distance required for the driver to check the vehicle’s surroundings and change lanes from the current location of the vehicle. This distance is calculated based on road data indicating a diverging point or intersection, and extends in the forward traveling direction of the vehicle. The first predetermined distance is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a target skew angle required for updating the map and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Kazuki teaches and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and determining, based on the required map span and the road vertical range data at the current position when the physical vehicle is in the target traveling scenario, a skew angle required for updating the map, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target view angle required for updating the map. See at least [0058], [0059], [0062], [0064], and figure 9, wherein, in a situation where a tilt angle θ needed to display the map is larger than a maximum tilt angle θmax, a zoom-out operation is performed to accommodate for reducing the tilt angle at the maximum. This causes a magnification ratio M0 of the displayed map to be decreased, equivalent to increasing the map span.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kazuki’s technique of increasing the map span when the skew angle exceeds a maximum angle, and continuing to increase the map span to prevent the skew angle from exceeding the maximum angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily grasp a map display, as recognized by Kazuki (see at least [0012]-[0014] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches and the method further comprises: updating, when the physical vehicle is in a straight-forward traveling scenario at the current position to which the physical vehicle travels, the map span for displaying the map to a set map span in the straight-forward traveling scenario. See at least [0004], [0058], and [0063], wherein, if there is no maneuver point within the next 500 meters (i.e., the vehicle is traveling straight for a while), the map scale is set to an original map scale.
Deng remains silent on wherein the target road comprises a plurality of lanes, the virtual vehicle is displayed in a first lane among the plurality of lanes, updating the view angle for displaying the map to a set view angle; and displaying, in the center of a map updated in the straight-forward traveling scenario, the first lane in which the virtual vehicle is displayed.
Shimizu teaches wherein the target road comprises a plurality of lanes, the virtual vehicle is displayed in a first lane among the plurality of lanes. See at least [0033]-[0034] and figure 2, wherein the target road has a plurality of lanes, and the virtual vehicle 20 is displayed in a first lane of the plurality of lanes.
updating the view angle for displaying the map to a set view angle. See at least [0033]-[0034], [0049], figure 2, and figure 4, step S102, wherein, when the vehicle is traveling straight without a lane change, the viewpoint position is set at an angle to display a set road range of 30 meters total.
and displaying, in the center of a map updated in the straight-forward traveling scenario, the first lane in which the virtual vehicle is displayed. See at least [0027], [0034], and figure 2, wherein the virtual vehicle 20 is displayed in the first lane in the map in the straight-forward traveling scenario. The viewpoint is set so that the vehicle is displayed on a central axis of the map.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of displaying the virtual vehicle in a first lane in a plurality of lanes, updating the view angle for displaying the map to a set view angle, and displaying the virtual vehicle in the center of the map in the first lane. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein determining, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in the target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and the road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position comprises:
calculating, based on road data at the current position, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in a lane change scenario, a road horizontal distance required for the lane change scenario. See at least [0031], [0040]-[0041], and [0076], wherein the minimum rectangle map area represents a scenario where the vehicle is approaching a lane change location. See at least [0063], wherein the minimum rectangle map area has a horizontal range and a vertical range.
and updating a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle, the target map span and the target view angle being adapted to the road range data comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map, and updating the map span for displaying the map to the target map span. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on calculating, based on the road data at the current position, a maximum vertical extension lane change distance required for lane change from the current position, and determining, based on the required target map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle.
Shimizu teaches calculating, based on the road data at the current position, a maximum vertical extension lane change distance required for lane change from the current position. See at least [0060], wherein, in an embodiment, a first predetermined distance is calculated, representing the distance required for the driver to check the vehicle’s surroundings and change lanes from the current location of the vehicle. This distance is calculated based on road data indicating a diverging point or intersection, and extends in the forward traveling direction of the vehicle.
and determining, based on the required target map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above, and Deng remains silent on wherein the target road comprises a plurality of lanes, the virtual vehicle is displayed in a first lane among the plurality of lanes, and the method further comprises: displaying, when the target traveling scenario of the physical vehicle at the current position is a lane change scenario from the first lane to a second lane, the second lane and an estimated landing position of the physical vehicle in the second lane in the center of an updated map.
Shimizu teaches wherein the target road comprises a plurality of lanes, the virtual vehicle is displayed in a first lane among the plurality of lanes, See at least [0033]-[0034] and figure 2, wherein the target road has a plurality of lanes, and the virtual vehicle 20 is displayed in a first lane of the plurality of lanes.
and the method further comprises: displaying, when the target traveling scenario of the physical vehicle at the current position is a lane change scenario from the first lane to a second lane, the second lane and an estimated landing position of the physical vehicle in the second lane in the center of an updated map. See at least [0042]-[0045] and figure 3B, wherein, when the vehicle is in a lane change scenario from a first lane to a second lane, both lanes are displayed on the map. Additionally, graphical representations 60 and 63 of the path of the lane change from the first lane to the second are displayed. Additionally, a region 62 is displayed indicating the portion of the second lane where the vehicle could potentially collide with an obstacle. See at least [0027], wherein the viewpoint is set so that the vehicle is displayed on a central axis of the map. At time T4 in figure 3B, the vehicle is changing lanes into the second lane, while displayed in the center of the map.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of displaying the virtual vehicle in a first lane in a plurality of lanes, displaying a first and second lane and an estimated lane change path to the second lane, and displaying the virtual vehicle in the center of the map. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Regarding claim 16, Deng teaches A vehicle navigation apparatus, comprising: a memory storing a plurality of computer-readable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the plurality of computer-readable instructions. See at least [0080].
wherein upon execution of the plurality of computer-readable instructions, the processor is configured to: display, via a display, a vehicle navigation interface for navigating a physical vehicle, the vehicle navigation interface comprising a map; and display, via the display, an indicator on a target road on the map, the indicator corresponding to the physical vehicle. See at least [0058]-[0059] and figure 5, step S410, wherein a vehicle is currently traveling on a navigation route. See at least [0043], [0074], and figure 3, wherein the vehicle’s route is displayed on a navigation route, with an indicator I1 representing the current location of the physical vehicle. See at least [0083], display screen 73.
determine, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in a target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position. See at least [0041], [0060]-[0061], and figure 5, step S420, wherein a minimum rectangle map area is determined. The minimum rectangle map area represents the smallest map range necessary to represent the current position of the vehicle and the next maneuver point (target traveling scenario) of the vehicle.
the target traveling scenario being determined from a group of predefined driving scenarios, See at least [0076], wherein the next maneuver point is determined from a group of predefined maneuvers, such as lane changes and vehicle swerves.
and automatically update a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle. See at least [0055], [0062]-[0066], and figure 5, steps S430-S450, wherein an optimal scale (target map span) is determined based on the range of the minimum rectangle map area. The optimal scale is then updated to display the map at the optimal scale. Additionally, the map is updated to a top view angle.
Deng remains silent on displaying a virtual vehicle. As shown in figure 3, Deng displays an arrow icon to represent the current location of the vehicle. Additionally, Deng remains silent on the predefined driving scenarios each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data based on environmental sensing data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range, and updating the map span and view angle by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold.
Shimizu teaches displaying a virtual vehicle. See at least [0033] and figure 2, wherein the physical vehicle is represented on the display as a virtual vehicle 20.
based on environmental sensing data. See at least [0018], [0028], and [0055]-[0056], wherein the displayed road range data for a lane change scenario is based on environmental sensing data from surrounding information detection device 3.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of displaying a virtual vehicle and determining a target view angle adapted to the road range data. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Seo teaches each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range. See at least [0047]-[0048] and figure 5, wherein a target traveling scenario is identified, from a group of pre-defined situations, based on road attributes and road conditions meeting a trigger condition. Based on the identified situation, control parameters are set specifying a distance between the vehicle and the camera viewpoint. See at least [0096], wherein the triggers include the vehicle being on a road with a predetermined curvature, the vehicle driving on a highway, the vehicle approaching a destination, etc. See at least [0062]-[0069], wherein, when the identified situation is the vehicle approaching a destination, the calculated distance is applied to the map screen so the displayed road range includes the destination point. See at least [0070]-[0076], wherein, when the identified situation is the vehicle approaching continuous turn points, the calculated distance is applied to the map screen so that the displayed road range includes the continuous turn points. The distances are calculated by computation rules shown in Equations 1-2. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables vehicle navigation systems to provide map displays suitable for different situations, as recognized by Seo (see at least [0002]-[0008]).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Seo’s pre-defined scenarios with associated triggers and corresponding road range computation rules.
Kazuki teaches updating the map span and view angle by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold. See at least [0058]-[0059], [0062], [0064], and figures 9-10, wherein a step S205 of calculating a view angle (tilt operation) and a step S206 of calculating a map span (zoom operation) are performed until the road range d is contained in the display area, while maintaining the tilt angle to be equal to or less than a preset threshold θmax. See at least [0055], wherein the tilt and zoom operation are iteratively performed by gradually increasing the tilt angle and the map span until the road range d is contained in the display area and the tilt angle is below a threshold.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kazuki’s technique of increasing the map span when the skew angle exceeds a maximum angle, and continuing to increase the map span to prevent the skew angle from exceeding the maximum angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily grasp a map display, as recognized by Kazuki (see at least [0012]-[0014] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 17, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein in order to determine, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in the target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and the road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position, the processor, upon execution of the plurality of computer-readable instructions, is configured to:
determine road horizontal range data and road vertical range data of the target traveling scenario and the current position when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in the target traveling scenario. See at least [0060]-[0061], wherein the minimum rectangle map area represents the current location of the vehicle and the target maneuver of the vehicle. See at least [0063], wherein the minimum rectangle map area has a horizontal range and a vertical range.
Regarding claim 18, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches and wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of computer-readable instructions, is further configured to: update, when the physical vehicle is in a straight-forward traveling scenario at the current position to which the physical vehicle travels, the map span for displaying the map to a set map span in the straight-forward traveling scenario. See at least [0004], [0058], and [0063], wherein, if there is no maneuver point within the next 500 meters (i.e., the vehicle is traveling straight for a while), the map scale is set to an original map scale.
Deng remains silent on wherein the target road comprises a plurality of lanes, display, via the display, in a first lane among the plurality of lanes, update the view angle for displaying the map to a set view angle; and display, in the center of a map updated in the straight-forward traveling scenario, the first lane in which the virtual vehicle is displayed.
Shimizu teaches wherein the target road comprises a plurality of lanes, display, via the display, in a first lane among the plurality of lanes. See at least [0033]-[0034] and figure 2, wherein the target road has a plurality of lanes, and the virtual vehicle 20 is displayed in a first lane of the plurality of lanes.
update the view angle for displaying the map to a set view angle. See at least [0033]-[0034], [0049], figure 2, and figure 4, step S102, wherein, when the vehicle is traveling straight without a lane change, the viewpoint position is set at an angle to display a set road range of 30 meters total.
and display, in the center of a map updated in the straight-forward traveling scenario, the first lane in which the virtual vehicle is displayed. See at least [0027], [0034], and figure 2, wherein the virtual vehicle 20 is displayed in the first lane in the map in the straight-forward traveling scenario. The viewpoint is set so that the vehicle is displayed on a central axis of the map.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of displaying the virtual vehicle in a first lane in a plurality of lanes, updating the view angle for displaying the map to a set view angle, and displaying the virtual vehicle in the center of the map in the first lane. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Regarding claim 19, Deng teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a plurality of computer-readable instructions stored thereon the plurality of computer-readable instructions, when executed by a processor. See at least [0080]-[0081].
cause the processor to: display, via a display, a vehicle navigation interface for navigating a physical vehicle, the vehicle navigation interface comprising a map; and display, via the display, an indicator on a target road on the map, the indicator corresponding to the physical vehicle. See at least [0058]-[0059] and figure 5, step S410, wherein a vehicle is currently traveling on a navigation route. See at least [0043], [0074], and figure 3, wherein the vehicle’s route is displayed on a navigation route, with an indicator I1 representing the current location of the physical vehicle. See at least [0083], display screen 73.
determine, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in a target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position. See at least [0041], [0060]-[0061], and figure 5, step S420, wherein a minimum rectangle map area is determined. The minimum rectangle map area represents the smallest map range necessary to represent the current position of the vehicle and the next maneuver point (target traveling scenario) of the vehicle.
the target traveling scenario being determined from a group of predefined driving scenarios, See at least [0076], wherein the next maneuver point is determined from a group of predefined maneuvers, such as lane changes and vehicle swerves.
and automatically update a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle. See at least [0055], [0062]-[0066], and figure 5, steps S430-S450, wherein an optimal scale (target map span) is determined based on the range of the minimum rectangle map area. The optimal scale is then updated to display the map at the optimal scale. Additionally, the map is updated to a top view angle.
Deng remains silent on displaying a virtual vehicle. As shown in figure 3, Deng displays an arrow icon to represent the current location of the vehicle. Additionally, Deng remains silent on the predefined driving scenarios each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data based on environmental sensing data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range, and updating the map span and view angle by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold.
Shimizu teaches displaying a virtual vehicle. See at least [0033] and figure 2, wherein the physical vehicle is represented on the display as a virtual vehicle 20.
based on environmental sensing data. See at least [0018], [0028], and [0055]-[0056], wherein the displayed road range data for a lane change scenario is based on environmental sensing data from surrounding information detection device 3.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of displaying a virtual vehicle and determining a target view angle adapted to the road range data. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Seo teaches each defined by at least one scenario trigger and corresponding computation rules for road range data, the road range data representing a scenario-relevant road range. See at least [0047]-[0048] and figure 5, wherein a target traveling scenario is identified, from a group of pre-defined situations, based on road attributes and road conditions meeting a trigger condition. Based on the identified situation, control parameters are set specifying a distance between the vehicle and the camera viewpoint. See at least [0096], wherein the triggers include the vehicle being on a road with a predetermined curvature, the vehicle driving on a highway, the vehicle approaching a destination, etc. See at least [0062]-[0069], wherein, when the identified situation is the vehicle approaching a destination, the calculated distance is applied to the map screen so the displayed road range includes the destination point. See at least [0070]-[0076], wherein, when the identified situation is the vehicle approaching continuous turn points, the calculated distance is applied to the map screen so that the displayed road range includes the continuous turn points. The distances are calculated by computation rules shown in Equations 1-2. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables vehicle navigation systems to provide map displays suitable for different situations, as recognized by Seo (see at least [0002]-[0008]).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Seo’s pre-defined scenarios with associated triggers and corresponding road range computation rules.
Kazuki teaches updating the map span and view angle by iteratively calculating the map span and the view angle in real time until the scenario-relevant road range is contained in the displayed map at a skew angle no greater than a preset threshold. See at least [0058]-[0059], [0062], [0064], and figures 9-10, wherein a step S205 of calculating a view angle (tilt operation) and a step S206 of calculating a map span (zoom operation) are performed until the road range d is contained in the display area, while maintaining the tilt angle to be equal to or less than a preset threshold θmax. See at least [0055], wherein the tilt and zoom operation are iteratively performed by gradually increasing the tilt angle and the map span until the road range d is contained in the display area and the tilt angle is below a threshold.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kazuki’s technique of increasing the map span when the skew angle exceeds a maximum angle, and continuing to increase the map span to prevent the skew angle from exceeding the maximum angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily grasp a map display, as recognized by Kazuki (see at least [0012]-[0014] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 20, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein in order for the processor to determine, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in a target traveling scenario, road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position, the plurality of computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
calculate, based on road data at the current position, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in a lane change scenario, a road horizontal distance required for the lane change scenario. See at least [0031], [0040]-[0041], and [0076], wherein the minimum rectangle map area represents a scenario where the vehicle is approaching a lane change location. See at least [0063], wherein the minimum rectangle map area has a horizontal range and a vertical range.
and in order for the processor to update a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle, the target map span and the target view angle being adapted to the road range data, the plurality of computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map, and updating the map span for displaying the map to the target map span. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on calculate, based on the road data at the current position, a maximum vertical extension lane change distance required for lane change from the current position, and determine, based on the required target map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle.
Shimizu teaches calculate, based on the road data at the current position, a maximum vertical extension lane change distance required for lane change from the current position. See at least [0060], wherein, in an embodiment, a first predetermined distance is calculated, representing the distance required for the driver to check the vehicle’s surroundings and change lanes from the current location of the vehicle. This distance is calculated based on road data indicating a diverging point or intersection, and extends in the forward traveling direction of the vehicle.
and determine, based on the required target map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20220001867 A1, with an earliest priority date of July 1st, 2020, hereinafter “Hashimoto”.
Regarding claim 8, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above, and Deng remains silent on obtaining a road topology of the target road at the current position; determining the second lane based on a lane change direction of the lane change scenario and the road topology; calculating an estimated lane change distance based on traveling speed of the physical vehicle and lane change duration when lane change is initiated; determining a vertical distance from the physical vehicle to a center line of the second lane when the lane change is initiated; and determining the estimated landing position of the physical vehicle in the second lane based on the estimated lane change distance and the vertical distance.
Shimizu teaches obtaining a road topology of the target road at the current position;. See at least [0017], [0044], [0048], and figures 3A-B, wherein road configuration information is detected for the target road at the current vehicle position.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of obtaining road topology. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Hashimoto teaches determining the second lane based on a lane change direction of the lane change scenario and the road topology. See at least [0045], [0056]-[0057] and figures 2 and 5, wherein a road topology and target direction are used to determine the lanes for the vehicle to change to.
calculating an estimated lane change distance based on traveling speed of the physical vehicle and lane change duration when lane change is initiated. See at least [0063] and figure 6, wherein an estimated lane change distance from the current vehicle location P1 to point P2 is calculated based on a predetermined lane change duration and the speed of the vehicle.
determining a vertical distance from the physical vehicle to a center line of the second lane when the lane change is initiated. See at least [0062]-[0063], [0069], and figures 607, wherein a vertical distance from the vehicle 10 at position P1 is calculated alone a centerline 55b of the target lane change lane 55.
and determining the estimated landing position of the physical vehicle in the second lane based on the estimated lane change distance and the vertical distance. See at least [0062]-[0063], wherein the estimated landing position P3 of the vehicle is determined based on the estimated lane change distance to P2 and the vertical distance along 55b.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Hashimoto’s technique of determining a second lane based on a lane change direction of the lane change scenario and road topology, calculating an estimated lane change distance based on traveling speed of the physical vehicle and lane change duration when lane change is initiated, determining a vertical distance from the vehicle to a center line of the second lane, and determining an estimated landing position of the vehicle based on the estimated lane change distance and vertical distance. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables smooth and safe execution of lane changes, allowing vehicle occupants to feel more comfortable, as recognized by Hashimoto (see at least [0004]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein determining, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map, and determining, based on the required target map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, the target skew angle required for updating the map comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal distance, a map span required for updating the map. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on obtaining a maximum speed limit of a first lane; calculating the maximum vertical extension lane change distance based on the maximum speed limit and lane change duration; calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance; and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing to perform calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target skew angle required for updating the map.
Shimizu teaches calculating the maximum vertical extension lane change distance based on the maximum speed limit. See at least [0061]-[0062], wherein the road vertical data (the display region in the traveling direction of the host vehicle) is widened based on a speed of the vehicle being higher than a threshold low vehicle speed.
calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Kazuki teaches and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing to perform calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target skew angle required for updating the map. See at least [0058], [0059], [0062], [0064], and figure 9, wherein, in a situation where a tilt angle θ needed to display the map is larger than a maximum tilt angle θmax, a zoom-out operation is performed to accommodate for reducing the tilt angle at the maximum. This causes a magnification ratio M0 of the displayed map to be decreased, equivalent to increasing the map span.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kazuki’s technique of increasing the map span when the skew angle exceeds a maximum angle, and continuing to increase the map span to prevent the skew angle from exceeding the maximum angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily grasp a map display, as recognized by Kazuki (see at least [0012]-[0014] and [0026]).
Hashimoto teaches obtaining a maximum speed limit of a first lane. See at least [0039], wherein a legal speed limit for the road at the current location of the vehicle is obtained.
lane change duration. See at least [0063] and figure 6, wherein an estimated lane change distance from the current vehicle location P1 to point P2 is calculated based on a predetermined lane change duration and the speed of the vehicle.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Hashimoto’s technique of obtaining a speed limit of a road comprising the first lane, and lane change duration. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables smooth and safe execution of lane changes, allowing vehicle occupants to feel more comfortable, as recognized by Hashimoto (see at least [0004]-[0006]).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng, Shimizu, Seo, Kazuki, and Hashimoto as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20020013659 A1, filed June 12th, 1998, hereinafter “Kusama”.
Regarding claim 10, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches and updating a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle, the target map span and the target view angle being adapted to the road range data comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map, and updating the map span for displaying the map to the target map span. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on wherein determining, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in the target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and the road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position comprises: determining, based on the current position, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in an avoidance scenario of avoiding an obstacle, a lane horizontal width of a lane where the physical vehicle is located and a lane horizontal width of an adjacent lane of the lane where the physical vehicle is located, calculating, based on the lane horizontal width of the lane where the physical vehicle is located and the lane horizontal width of the adjacent lane of the lane where the physical vehicle is located, a road horizontal distance required for the avoidance scenario and calculating a maximum distance between the current position and the obstacle; and determining, based on the required target map span and the maximum distance between the current position and the obstacle, a target skew angle required for updating the map; and updating the view angle for displaying the map to the target skew angle.
Shimizu teaches wherein determining, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in the target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position comprises:
determining, based on the current position, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in an avoidance scenario of avoiding an obstacle, calculating, a road horizontal distance required for the avoidance scenario. See at least [0040]-[0044], wherein the vehicle is determined to be in an avoidance scenario based on obstacle 21. A lane change is determined to be required for the avoidance scenario, comprising two lanes’ width.
and determining, based on the required target map span and the distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Hashimoto teaches calculating a maximum distance between the current position and the obstacle. See at least [0046], wherein a predetermined distance is measured between the current position of the vehicle and other vehicles, while the vehicle is trying to avoid collision with the other vehicles. Additionally, see at least [0037], wherein the distance between the vehicle and other objects is detected.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Hashimoto’s technique of determining a threshold distance between a vehicle and an obstacle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables smooth and safe execution of lane changes, allowing vehicle occupants to feel more comfortable, as recognized by Hashimoto (see at least [0004]-[0006]).
Kusama teaches calculating, based on the lane horizontal width of the lane where the physical vehicle is located and the lane horizontal width of the adjacent lane of the lane where the physical vehicle is located, a road horizontal distance. See at least [0040]-[0043], wherein a road width distance is calculated based on the lane width of lanes located in the road.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kusama’s technique of calculating road horizontal distance based on lane horizontal widths. It would have bene obvious to modify because doing so enables navigational systems to display vehicle lane information in a clear manner, as recognized by Kusama (see at least [0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 11, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, Kazuki, Hashimoto, and Kusama in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein determining, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map, and determining, based on the required target map span and the maximum distance between the current position and the obstacle, the target skew angle required for updating the map comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal distance, a map span required for updating the map. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum distance between the current position and the obstacle; and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing to perform calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum distance between the current position and the obstacle, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target skew angle required for updating the map.
Shimizu teaches calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum distance. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Kazuki teaches and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing operation of calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target skew angle required for updating the map. See at least [0058], [0059], [0062], [0064], and figure 9, wherein, in a situation where a tilt angle θ needed to display the map is larger than a maximum tilt angle θmax, a zoom-out operation is performed to accommodate for reducing the tilt angle at the maximum. This causes a magnification ratio M0 of the displayed map to be decreased, equivalent to increasing the map span.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kazuki’s technique of increasing the map span when the skew angle exceeds a maximum angle, and continuing to increase the map span to prevent the skew angle from exceeding the maximum angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily grasp a map display, as recognized by Kazuki (see at least [0012]-[0014] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches and updating a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle, the target map span and the target view angle being adapted to the road range data comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map, and updating the map span for displaying the map to the target map span. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on wherein determining, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in the target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position comprises: calculating, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in a control switching scenario from a control switching prompt position to an autonomous driving exit position, a road horizontal distance at the current position and in the control switching scenario based on road data of the target road where the current position is located and road data of a road where the autonomous driving exit position is located, and calculating a distance from the current position to the autonomous driving exit position; and determining, based on the required target map span and the distance from the current position to the autonomous driving exit position, a target skew angle required for updating the map; and updating the view angle for displaying the map to the target skew angle.
Shimizu teaches and determining, based on the required target map span and the distance from the current position to the autonomous driving exit position, a target skew angle required for updating the map; and updating the view angle for displaying the map to the target skew angle. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Hashimoto teaches wherein determining, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in the target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position comprises:
calculating, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in a control switching scenario from a control switching prompt position to an autonomous driving exit position, and calculating a distance from the current position to the autonomous driving exit position. See at least [0077]-[0079], [0082]-[0084], and figure 9, wherein end positions R1-R4 indicate areas where the vehicle is scheduled to switch from automatic control to manual control. The autonomous driving exit positions are located at a distance from the vehicle along the first and second lanes. The driver is notified of the control switch as the vehicle is located at positions within zones A1-4.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Hashimoto’s technique of calculating a distance from the current position to an autonomous driving exit position, when the vehicle is in a control switching scenario from a control switching prompt position to an autonomous driving exit position. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables smooth and safe execution of lane changes, allowing vehicle occupants to feel more comfortable, as recognized by Hashimoto (see at least [0004]-[0006]).
Kusama teaches a road horizontal distance at the current position and in the control switching scenario based on road data of the target road where the current position is located and road data of a road where the autonomous driving exit position is located. See at least [0040]-[0043], wherein a road width distance is calculated based on the lane width of lanes located in the road.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kusama’s technique of calculating road horizontal distance based on lane horizontal widths. It would have bene obvious to modify because doing so enables navigational systems to display vehicle lane information in a clear manner, as recognized by Kusama (see at least [0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, Kazuki Hashimoto, and Kusama in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein determining, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map, and determining, based on the required target map span and the maximum distance between the current position and the obstacle, the target skew angle required for updating the map comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal distance, a map span required for updating the map. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the distance from the current position to the autonomous driving exit position; and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing to perform calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the distance from the current position to the autonomous driving exit position, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target skew angle required for updating the map.
Shimizu teaches calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the distance from the current position to the exit position. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance from the current position of the vehicle to a diverging point is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Kazuki teaches and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing to perform calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the maximum vertical extension lane change distance, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target skew angle required for updating the map. See at least [0058], [0059], [0062], [0064], and figure 9, wherein, in a situation where a tilt angle θ needed to display the map is larger than a maximum tilt angle θmax, a zoom-out operation is performed to accommodate for reducing the tilt angle at the maximum. This causes a magnification ratio M0 of the displayed map to be decreased, equivalent to increasing the map span.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kazuki’s technique of increasing the map span when the skew angle exceeds a maximum angle, and continuing to increase the map span to prevent the skew angle from exceeding the maximum angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily grasp a map display, as recognized by Kazuki (see at least [0012]-[0014] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 14, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, and Kazuki in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches and updating a map span and a view angle for displaying the map to a target map span and a target view angle, the target map span and the target view angle being adapted to the road range data comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on wherein determining, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in the target traveling scenario, the target traveling scenario and road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position comprises: extending, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in a maneuver position scenario of traveling in a maneuver operation area of a target maneuver position, a preset distance along intersection extension directions of the target maneuver position, based on an intersection width of a road where the target maneuver position is located, to obtain a road horizontal distance and a road vertical distance in the maneuver position scenario; and determining, based on the required target map span and the road vertical distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map.
Shimizu teaches and determining, based on the required target map span and the road vertical distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Kusama teaches wherein the determining, when the physical vehicle travels to a current position and is in a target traveling scenario, road range data corresponding to the target traveling scenario and the current position comprises:
extending, when the physical vehicle travels to the current position and is in a maneuver position scenario of traveling in a maneuver operation area of a target maneuver position, a preset distance along intersection extension directions of the target maneuver position, based on an intersection width of a road where the target maneuver position is located, to obtain a road horizontal distance and a road vertical distance in the maneuver position scenario. See at least [0041]-[0047] and figures 2-5, wherein a horizontal and vertical distance along the width and length of an intersection are determined based on preset distances calculated from the number of lanes associated with the intersection and a preset width of the lanes.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kusama’s technique of calculating a horizontal and vertical distance based on the preset width and length of lanes associated with an intersection at an upcoming maneuver of the vehicle. It would have bene obvious to modify because doing so enables navigational systems to display vehicle lane information in a clear manner, as recognized by Kusama (see at least [0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Deng, Shimizu, Seo, Kazuki, Hashimoto, and Kusama in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Deng additionally teaches wherein determining, based on the road horizontal distance, the target map span required for updating the map, and determining, based on the required target map span and the road vertical distance, the target skew angle required for updating the map comprises:
determining, based on the road horizontal distance, a map span required for updating the map. See at least [0062]-[0064], wherein the road horizontal range data and the road vertical range data of the minimum rectangle map area are used to calculated the optimal map scale. The map is then displayed at the optimal map scale to navigate the vehicle to the target maneuver point, at the target top view angle.
Deng remains silent on calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the road vertical distance; and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing to perform the operation of calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the road vertical distance, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target skew angle required for updating the map.
Shimizu teaches calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the road vertical distance. See at least [0060], wherein the first predetermined distance from the current position of the vehicle to a diverging point is used to determine the widening of the display region. See at least [0036]-[0037], wherein the display region widening is used to determine a target view angle for the virtual viewpoint.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Deng with Shimizu’s technique of calculating a maximum vertical extension lane change distance, a target skew angle required for updating the map, and updating the view angle to the target skew angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables occupants of a vehicle to easily grasp the surroundings of the vehicle during a lane change, allowing the occupants to feel safer, as recognized by Shimizu (see at least [0007]).
Kazuki teaches and increasing the required map span when the skew angle is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and continuing to perform the operation of calculating a skew angle based on the required map span and the road vertical distance, until the skew angle is less than the preset threshold, to obtain the target map span and the target skew angle required for updating the map. See at least [0058], [0059], [0062], [0064], and figure 9, wherein, in a situation where a tilt angle θ needed to display the map is larger than a maximum tilt angle θmax, a zoom-out operation is performed to accommodate for reducing the tilt angle at the maximum. This causes a magnification ratio M0 of the displayed map to be decreased, equivalent to increasing the map span.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Deng with Kazuki’s technique of increasing the map span when the skew angle exceeds a maximum angle, and continuing to increase the map span to prevent the skew angle from exceeding the maximum angle. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily grasp a map display, as recognized by Kazuki (see at least [0012]-[0014] and [0026]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667