DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the first kinematic connection coupling the first polygonal face to the second polygonal face about three degrees of freedom and the second kinematic element coupling the first polygonal face to the second polygonal face about two degrees of freedom (claims 2, 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Specifically, fig. 12E shows a first kinematic connection 650C and a second kinematic connection 650B. The kinematic connection 650C removes three DOF and the kinematic connection 650B removes two DOF. Claims 2 and 20 state that the kinematic connections couple about three DOF and two DOF respectively. This seems to be the opposite of what the specification describes.
In addition, the fixed continuous faces formed by attaching the first and second polygonal faces (claims 16, 18, 19) which are also coupled at the first and second edge according to claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Specifically, the only fixed continuous faces described are faces which are NOT connected by a kinematic element. Figs. 13A, 13B, 13C describe a single structure (crown) that includes multiple polygonal faces which are “continuous”. The continuous portions are all part of one integral structure and do not involve any kinematic element. Therefore, these figures do not show what is claimed in claim 18.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: force mechanism (claims 1, 9), holding mechanism (claim 16).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10-11, 16, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,948 in view of Wallace (US 2017/005966 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 1 except for the force mechanism. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by the fig. 3 embodiment of Wallace.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wallace’s fig. 3 embodiment discloses a force mechanism (Magnetic contact; [0040]) associated with the kinematic connections (352, 354; figs. 3A-3C) to provide nesting forces.
Claim 1 of ‘948 teaches using kinematic elements to couple two polygonal faces. Wallace’s fig. 3 embodiment teaches using kinematic elements along with a force mechanism to couple two polygonal faces. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve claim 1 of ‘948 by applying the technique of providing a force mechanism (magnetism) between the kinematic coupling elements to achieve the predictable result of keeping the two faces in position with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 10, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however, the combination, fails to explicitly disclose the shape formed by the first face and second face. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Wallace.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wallace discloses wherein the first face and the second face form part of a periphery shaped as a polyhedron, a sphere, a cone, an annulus, a hemisphere or a partial hemisphere (fig. 1A).
Claim 1 of ‘948 teaches a space frame with polygonal faces connected to each other. Wallace teaches a space frame with polygonal faces connected to each other wherein the faces form a polyhedron. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve claim 1 of ‘948 by applying the technique of Wallace to achieve the predictable result of generating wider view image of a scene.
Regarding claim 11, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 1 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, it recites similar limitations to claim 1 (holding mechanism is switched for force mechanism). In addition, Applicant has seemed to redefine the term “continuous” to include “interrupted” or “discontinuous” faces (see 112(b) rejection above). Therefore, the claimed polygonal faces of claim 1 of ‘948 would form a “fixed continuous face” using this definition.
Regarding claim 18, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, claim 1 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 18. Specifically, as explained above (see claim 16) Applicant has redefined “continuous” and therefore first and second polygonal faces form a continuous face using this definition. In addition, claim 1 of ‘948 states that the edges are coupled together using kinematic elements which reads on “solidly attached”.
Claims 2, 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,948 in view of Wallace (US 2017/005966 A1).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 4 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, claim 1 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 19. Specifically, as explained above (see claim 16) Applicant has redefined “continuous” and therefore first and second polygonal faces form a continuous face using this definition. As multiple kinematic elements are used in claim 4 of ‘948, it can be said that the kinematic elements “can vary” as broadly claimed.
Regarding claim 20, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, claim 4 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 20.
Claims 4, 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,948 in view of Wallace (US 2017/005966 A1).
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 7 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 4.
Regarding claim 21, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, claim 7 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 21.
Claims 6, 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,948 in view of Wallace (US 2017/005966 A1).
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 9 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 9 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 9. Specifically, claim 9 of ‘948 teaches that magnets or springs provide holding forces. Therefore, it is inherent if magnets are springs are providing holding forces that the magnets or springs would restore the kinematic connection to a nominal initial position when the frame is subjected to internal or external dynamic influences.
Claims 8, 12, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,948 in view of Wallace (US 2017/005966 A1).
Regarding claim 8, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 3 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 3 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, claim 3 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 17.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,948 in view of Wallace (US 2017/005966 A1).
Regarding claim 14, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 12 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 14.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,092,948 in view of Wallace (US 2017/005966 A1).
Regarding claim 15, claim 1 of ‘948 and Wallace, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, claim 6 of ‘948 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, it recites “…the first edge of the plurality of first edges is attached to another a second edge of the plurality of second edges to form an arrangement of fixed continuous faces…”. This seems to suggest that attaching the first polygonal face to the second polygonal face results in a fixed continuous face. However, according to the specification, this is not the case. Specifically, claim 16 states that the first polygonal face is attached to the second polygonal face by kinematic elements. There is no embodiment in the specification describing two separate polygonal faces which are attached by kinematic elements that form a continuous face. For example, in fig. 13A, the top part 720 which is a single integral structure has continuous faces. However, there is a clear gap between the top part 720 and the rest of the structure which is connected to the top part 720 via kinematic elements 650.
Therefore, it seems that Applicant has redefined what “continuous” means. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “continuous” in claim 18 is used by the claim to mean “interrupted,” while the accepted meaning is “uninterrupted.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Because of the ambiguity around the term “continuous” it is also unclear if the formed arrangement of fixed continuous faces is a result of the first polygonal face and the second polygonal face being connected to each other or is just referring to the first polygonal face by itself.
Regarding claim 18, it recites similar limitations to claim 16 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 16).
Regarding claim 19, it recites similar limitations to claim 16 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 16). Claim 19 additionally recites the limitation "all the polygonal faces within the first periphery". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, there has only been one polygonal face mentioned prior to this limitation. Therefore, it is unclear what “all the polygonal faces” is referring to.
Regarding claims 17, 20, 21, they depend from claim 16 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace (US 2017/0059966 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wallace discloses
A kinematic space frame device (Fig. 5) comprising:
a first face (502; fig. 5) having a plurality of first edges defining a first polygonal periphery;
a second face (504; fig. 5) having a plurality of second edges defining a second polygonal periphery,
a kinematic connection (508, 510; fig. 5) connecting a first edge of the plurality of first edges to a second edge of the plurality of second edges, the kinematic connection supporting at least one degree of freedom between the first edge and the second edge ([0047]); and
.
However, the fig. 5 embodiment of Wallace, fails to explicitly disclose the force mechanism. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by the fig. 3 embodiment of Wallace.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wallace’s fig. 3 embodiment discloses a force mechanism (Magnetic contact; [0040]) associated with the kinematic connections (352, 354; figs. 3A-3C) to provide nesting forces.
Wallace’s fig. 5 embodiment teaches using a ball and socket as the camera retaining elements. Wallace’s fig. 3 embodiment teaches using two cylinders as the camera retaining elements. The fig. 3 embodiment provides a nesting force by magnetism between the two cylinders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Wallace’s fig. 5 embodiment by applying the technique of providing magnetism between the movable coupling members to achieve the predictable result of keeping the two faces in position with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 6, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein the force mechanism comprises one or more of magnets (Magnetic contact; [0040]; 352, 354; figs. 3A-3C), springs, elastics, and/or adhesives.
Wallace’s fig. 5 embodiment teaches using a ball and socket as the camera retaining elements. Wallace’s fig. 3 embodiment teaches using two cylinders as the camera retaining elements. The fig. 3 embodiment provides a nesting force by magnetism between the two cylinders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Wallace’s fig. 5 embodiment by applying the technique of providing magnetism between the movable coupling members to achieve the predictable result of keeping the two faces in position with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 8, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Wallace discloses, further comprising additional polygonal faces (506; fig. 5) coupled to at least one of the first polygonal face or the second polygonal face, the first polygonal faces, the second polygonal face, and the additional polygonal faces forming a rigid kinematic space frame (figs. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 9, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein the force mechanism restores the kinematic connection to a nominal initial position when the space frame is subjected to internal or external dynamic influences (The force mechanism is a magnetic mechanism which by definition would restore the connection to a nominal position when pulled apart; [0040], [0042]).
Wallace’s fig. 5 embodiment teaches using a ball and socket as the camera retaining elements. Wallace’s fig. 3 embodiment teaches using two cylinders as the camera retaining elements. The fig. 3 embodiment provides a nesting force by magnetism between the two cylinders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Wallace’s fig. 5 embodiment by applying the technique of providing magnetism between the movable coupling members to achieve the predictable result of keeping the two faces in position with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 10, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein the first face and the second face form part of a periphery shaped as a polyhedron, a sphere, a cone, an annulus, a hemisphere or a partial hemisphere (fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 16, Wallace discloses
A space frame comprising:
a first polygonal face (502; fig. 5) having a plurality of first edges defining a first periphery,
a second polygonal face (504; fig. 5) having a plurality of second edges defining a second periphery, wherein a first edge of the plurality of first edges is attached to another a second edge of the plurality of second edges to form an arrangement of fixed continuous faces (Applicant has seemed to redefine the term “continuous” to include “interrupted” or “discontinuous” faces (see 112(b) rejection above). Therefore, the faces shown in figs. 1A, 2, and 5 read on “fixed continuous faces”.), defining a frame periphery (Figs. 1A, 2, 5),
a kinematic element (508, 510; fig. 5) coupling the first edge to the second edge; and
.
However, the fig. 5 embodiment of Wallace, fails to explicitly disclose the holding mechanism. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by the fig. 3 embodiment of Wallace.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wallace’s fig. 3 embodiment discloses a holding mechanism (Magnetic contact; [0040]) associated with the kinematic connection (352, 354; figs. 3A-3C) to provide a nesting force.
Wallace’s fig. 5 embodiment teaches using a ball and socket as the camera retaining elements. Wallace’s fig. 3 embodiment teaches using two cylinders as the camera retaining elements. The fig. 3 embodiment provides a nesting force by magnetism between the two cylinders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Wallace’s fig. 5 embodiment by applying the technique of providing magnetism between the movable coupling members to achieve the predictable result of keeping the two faces in position with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 17, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, Wallace discloses, further comprising:
additional polygonal faces (figs. 1A, 2) coupled to at least one of the first polygonal face or the second polygonal face, the addition polygonal faces further defining the frame periphery.
Regarding claim 18, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein the first polygonal face has at least one edge solidly attached to at least a second polygonal face (The edge of 502 is connected to the edge of 504 via a ball and socket; fig. 5), forming an arrangement of fixed continuous faces (Applicant has seemed to redefine the term “continuous” to include “interrupted” or “discontinuous” faces (see 112(b) rejection above). Therefore, the faces shown in figs. 1A, 2, and 5 read on “fixed continuous faces”.) that provides a frame within the first periphery.
Regarding claim 19, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein all the polygonal faces (The poloygonal faces can include: the large face which is substantially parallel to the page in fig. 5 and a depth face which is substantially perpendicular to the page in fig. 5) within the first periphery are fixed continuous faces that define a frame periphery, and the frame peripheries of the respective first and second peripheries are attached to each other using an arrangement of kinematic elements (Ball and socket; fig. 5; The fig. 3 embodiment may also be used which includes cylinders 352, 354.) and holding mechanisms (Magnets; [0040], [0043]) that can vary amongst the kinematically coupled faces of the first and second peripheries (fig. 5).
Claim(s) 2 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace in view of Bai (US 2019/0223597 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein the kinematic connection comprises a first kinematic element (508, 510; fig. 5) coupling the first polygonal face to the second polygonal face about three degrees of freedom ([0047]-[0048]; fig. 5) .
However, Wallace, fails to explicitly disclose the second kinematic element coupling the first polygonal face to the second polygonal face. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Bai.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bai discloses a second kinematic element (1010, 1020; fig.1) coupling the first polygonal face to the second polygonal face ([0072]).
Wallace teaches using just one spherical kinematic element per side of each polygonal face. Bai teaches using multiple spherical kinematic elements per side of each polygonal face. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Wallace by applying the technique of providing an additional ball and socket joint per edge of each polygonal face to achieve the predictable result of a more secure shape of the frame when connected. As another of the ball and socket joints of Wallace will be provided, the result would be two ball and socket joints capable of three degrees of freedom per side of each polygonal face. A joint having three degrees of freedom inherently has two degrees of freedom.
Regarding claim 20, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein the kinematic connection comprises a first kinematic element (508, 510; fig. 5) ([0047]-[0048]; fig. 5) .
However, Wallace, fails to explicitly disclose the second kinematic element coupling the first polygonal face to the second polygonal face. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Bai.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bai discloses the second kinematic element (1010, 1020; fig.1) fixes the second polygonal face to the first polygonal face ([0072]).
Wallace teaches using just one spherical kinematic element per side of each polygonal face. Bai teaches using multiple spherical kinematic elements per side of each polygonal face. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Wallace by applying the technique of providing an additional ball and socket joint per edge of each polygonal face to achieve the predictable result of a more secure shape of the frame when connected. As another of the ball and socket joints of Wallace will be provided, the result would be two ball and socket joints capable of three degrees of freedom per side of each polygonal face. A joint having three degrees of freedom inherently has two degrees of freedom.
Claim(s) 4 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 4, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein the kinematic connection comprises a first portion (510; fig. 5) secured to the first polygonal face (502; [0048]) and a second portion (508; fig. 5) secured to the second polygonal face (504; [0048]), the first portion comprising a ball and the second portion comprising [a socket] contacted by the ball.
However, Wallace fails to explicitly disclose that the second portion comprises a flat, a vee-groove, or a trihedral socket. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Wallace teaches a ball and socket connection. Ball and flats are well-known connections. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the socket with a flat to achieve the predictable result of limiting an unwanted range of movement.
Regarding claim 21, Wallace discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition, Wallace discloses, wherein the kinematic connection comprises a first portion (510; fig. 5) secured to the first polygonal face (502; [0048]) and a second portion (508; fig. 5) secured to the second polygonal face (504; [0048]), the first portion comprising a ball and the second portion comprising [a socket] contacted by the ball.
However, Wallace fails to explicitly disclose that the second portion comprises a flat, a vee-groove, or a trihedral socket. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Wallace teaches a ball and socket connection. Ball and flats are well-known connections. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the socket with a flat to achieve the predictable result of limiting an unwanted range of movement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the double patenting rejections are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose the first and second cameras coupled to the first and second faces respectively so that lens sides of their respective lenses contact each other.
Regarding claims 12-15, they depend from claim 11 and therefore contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 11).
Conclusion
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 9/2/2026