DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 8/26/2026. Claims 1-5 are pending in the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Younger et al. (US 20170270324, hereinafter Younger).
As to independent claim 1, Younger teaches a smart photo print and album comprising,
a physical 400. As illustrated, the object or product 400 is a Christmas ornament entitled “Baby's 1st Christmas.” The ornament 400 has a tag (not shown) embedded in association therewith).” Paragraph 0042, “wherein the physical object is one of a greeting card, an ornament, a knick-knack, or a gift associated with the particular event or occasion.” Claims 3); and
a serial number or other unique identifier associated with the physical photo product (“The received digital content is stored, in an online environment, in association with a unique identifier associated with the NFC tag.” Paragraph 0006);
wherein the NFC chip and the unique serial number cooperate to establish a unique digital identity associated with the physical photo product (“As indicated at 112, the NFC-enabled device includes an NFC reader that reads the information associated with the tag and is directed to a database (e.g., a local or cloud database) where digital content associated with the tag is stored and may be accessed.” Paragraph 0035);
wherein the unique digital identity remains associated with the physical photo product throughout its lifecycle (“when a user “taps” an NFC-enabled device to a tag, the device sends out a signal that powers and makes the tag readable. The device reads the data on the tag embedded or otherwise placed in association with a product or store display, for instance. The data references a database (e.g., stored in the cloud) where pre-associated content is associated with an identifier for that tag.” Paragraph 0033,0029,0042-0043); and
wherein a user may activate the physical photo product and create, upload, edit, replace, delete, and manage digital content associated with the unique digital identity (A purchaser of the physical object may tap the tag with their NFC-enabled device (e.g., cellular telephone) and, with the app, associate photographs and videos with the tag embedded in the physical object, Paragraph 0042-0043. “the user may add content, as indicated at 116, such as digital files, to the database to be associated with the tag.” paragraph 0035, “In some implementations, the user may be permitted to update or edit already-associated digital content as well” paragraph 0027 last sentence).
While Young teaches that the physical object is one of a greeting card, an ornament, a knick-knack, or a gift associated with the particular event or occasion but does not expressly teach that a physical photo product, said product selected from the group including but not limited to printed photos, photo magnets, and photo canvases. It is obvious that custom or personalized ornaments, knick-knacks, greeting cards, and various gift objects can include photo print (i.e., physical photo), and is a routine, well-known, and long-standing standard design choice in both the photography arts and the consumer gifting industries. Custom or personalized physical objects and Printed photos, photo magnets, photo canvases, are all printed products, because they rely on a visible photographic image transferred or adhered to a physical substrate. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Younger to comprise a physical photo print product, said print-product selected from the group including but not limited to printed photos, photo magnets, and photo canvases. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide meaningful and personalized products.
As to dependent claim 2. Younger teaches the smart photo print and album of claim 1, Younger further teaches wherein the integrated NFC chip allows the user to tap the smart photo print with a smartphone or other device, thereby activating the smart features of the smart photo print, and the serial number or other unique identifier ensures security (“The ornament 400 has a tag (not shown) embedded in association therewith. In practice, a user (e.g., a parent) may tap their NFC-enabled device (e.g., cellular telephone) 410 to the ornament 400. As a result, the app is activated and the user may associate a photograph of their child (or other digital content) with the tag.” Paragraph 0042).
As to dependent claim 3. Younger teaches the smart photo print and album of claim 1, Younger further teaches wherein the smart features comprise displaying, sharing, storing, and editing a digital photo or video collection via the NFC chip and serial number or other unique identifier(“As indicated at 112, the NFC-enabled device includes an NFC reader that reads the information associated with the tag and is directed to a database (e.g., a local or cloud database) where digital content associated with the tag is stored and may be accessed. The user then either may experience the content, as indicated at 114, such as by viewing a webpage or digital media stored in the database, or digital media stored in the database, or the user may add content, as indicated at 116, such as digital files, to the database to be associated with the tag.” paragraph 0035, “users can associate or embed digital content in association with physical objects, thereby turning a physical object into a bookmark for their memories. Those memories can be for personal use, shared from person to person, shared from person to groups, or made publicly available.” Paragraph 0034. “In some implementations, the user may be permitted to update or edit already-associated digital content as well” paragraph 0027 last sentence).
As to dependent claim 4. Younger teaches the smart photo print and album of claim 1, Younger further teaches wherein the smart features may be accessed through a web browser or a dedicated application (“The user then either may experience the content, as indicated at 114, such as by viewing a webpage.” Paragraph 0033, “As a result, the app is activated and the user may associate a photograph of their child (or other digital content) with the tag.” Paragraph 0042).
As to independent claim 5, Younger teaches a method of utilizing a smart photo print and album comprising the steps of
accessing a designated server link or online platform (“The web server location from the NFC tag (i.e., the Uniform Resource Identifier (URI)) is also passed to the app 722.” Paragraph 0041);
entering the serial number or unique identifier to link the print to its corresponding digital album (“a unique identifier (UID) associated with the tag in the product” paragraph 0047); uploading photos or videos to save, share, edit, and customize (“FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary implementation in accordance with embodiments of the present invention wherein an NFC tag is associated with a child's toy or ornament 400. As illustrated, the object or product 400 is a Christmas ornament entitled “Baby's 1st Christmas.” The ornament 400 has a tag (not shown) embedded in association therewith. In practice, a user (e.g., a parent) may tap their NFC-enabled device (e.g., cellular telephone) 410 to the ornament 400. As a result, the app is activated and the user may associate a photograph of their child (or other digital content) with the tag. The photograph then may be stored, for instance, in association with the cloud.” Paragraph 0042. “the user may add content, as indicated at 116, such as digital files, to the database to be associated with the tag.” paragraph 0035, “In some implementations, the user may be permitted to update or edit already-associated digital content as well” paragraph 0027 last sentence); and
tapping a phone or other smart device to the NFC chip to access and view the uploaded photos or videos associated with the smart photo print, either via an internet browser or a dedicated application (“In a future time instance, when the user taps their phone 410 to the ornament 400, the tag may direct the telephone 410 to open the page and the photograph of the child at their first Christmas (or other digital content) may be presented.” Paragraph 0042).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Testanero US 9165233 A method, system and apparatus for automatically linking technical information to a near field communication (NFC) tag comprises programming and/or encoding the NFC tag with a network address of a data source containing technical information, such as maintenance and servicing information, of an object, and then adhering a NFC tag body to that object. When the object is being serviced or maintained by an end user, the end user only needs to tap the NFC tag with a NFC enabled device in order to automatically access the technical information. In some embodiments, the NFC tag body is a tag that typically would otherwise be adhered to the object.
Wentker et al. US 20230246836 A1 A method is provided to cryptographically link a physical object to a digital version of the physical object and to maintain in a database of an object management system data regarding the physical object and the digital version of the physical object. The digital version of the physical object is represented as a digital file. The object management system includes a data record for a Near Field Communication (NFC) tag that is associated with the physical object.
Perpetua US 20240412268 A1 A system and method for directing a potential customer to a URL, the system including a paper-based print product associated with an unprogrammed or reprogrammable Near Field Communication (NFC) chip, and an application with an ability to program the NFC chip with a URL is provided.
Kumagai et al. US 20100019482 A1 FIG. 3 is a flow diagram in which step 7 an RFID tag is attached to a photo document; in step 8 data is recorded and transferred to the RFID tag; in step 9 recorded data is transferred to a database.
Alzaabi US 20090278692 A1 Tagging of pictures/photos/illustrations in regular printed paper-books using Radio-frequency Identification (RFID) chips/inlays, for the purpose of linking those pictures/photos/illustrations to various remotely stored multimedia presentations.
Barrus et al. US 20070229678 A1 In FIG. 1B, the machine-readable information is encoded into a machine readable identifier 124 that is printed on the back side of the key. The identifier depicted in FIG. 1B is a QR code barcode. Other information 126 printed on the media key states "Photo thereby indicating that the media data corresponding to the media key comprises a photo media item. This provides useful information to the user of the media key as to the contents of the media data corresponding to the media key.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171