DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-4,8,24-26 in the reply filed on 9/16/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 attempts to claim an angle within a range, however the angle is not defined clearly in the claim. The specification does not provide a standard for understand the angle, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,8 is/are rejected under at least one of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Dong (US 20140016800).
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches (Figs. 1) A see-through near eye display comprising an electrical bus ([50], “the communication link 220 may be a wired serial bus ...”), wherein the see-through near eye display when being worn by the user is located directly above, peripheral to, or beside ([40], “158 may be provided in other positions”, e.g, above as shown in Fig. 1D, [44]. “proximate to a user's eye”) the user's pupil when the user is looking straight ahead with normal gaze, and wherein a portion of the see-through near eye display closest to the user's pupil is devoid of the electrical bus (the 158 portion does not have bus as it receive image through optical waveguide 160).
Regarding claim 2, Dong further teaches The see-through near eye display of claim 1, wherein the see-though near eye display is incorporated in an optical module (160+158, [40], “The display 158 is controllable via the computing system 154 that is coupled to the display 158 via an optical waveguide 160”), wherein the optical module is optionally attached to an eyewear lens or a substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Dong further teaches The see-through near eye display of claim 1, wherein the see-through near eye display is located peripheral to a line of sight of the user when the user is looking straight ahead with normal gaze (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 8, Dong further teaches The see-through near eye display of claim 1, wherein the see-through near eye display is supported by a see-through near eye optical module (160+158 considered as optical module supports display 158, also entire Fig. 1C can be considered as optical module which supports display 158).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffith (US 20130234935) in view of GUTIERREZ (US 20160313558).
Regarding claim 24, Griffith teaches (Figs. 1-7, [63]) A see-through near eye display for an augmented reality or mixed reality system, wherein the see-through near eye display is supported by an optic (4 in Fig. 7).
Griffith does not explicitly teach the see-through near eye display comprises an electrical connector, and wherein the electrical connector is supported completely or in part by the optic.
However, in an analogous optics field of endeavor, GUTIERREZ teaches (Fig. 10) a near eye display comprises an electrical connector (1004), and wherein the electrical connector is supported completely or in part by the display (1000).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the see-through near eye display comprises an electrical connector, and wherein the electrical connector is supported completely or in part by the display as taught by GUTIERREZ in the teaching of Griffith for the purposes to transmit the image signal. As such Griffith in view of GUTIERREZ will have the electrical connector is supported completely or in part by the optic, since the display is supported by the optic.
Regarding claim 25, Griffith further teaches The see-through near eye display of claim 24, wherein the optic (4 in Fig. 7) comprises optical power or no optical power.
Regarding claim 26, Griffith in view of GUTIERREZ teaches all the limitations as stated in claim 24, but does not explicitly teach The see-through near eye display of claim 24, wherein the optic comprises a user's distance and/or near eyeglass prescription.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having the optic comprises a user's distance and/or near eyeglass prescription would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of improving vision for far-sighted and/or near-sighted user.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Griffith in view of GUTIERREZ by having the optic comprises a user's distance and/or near eyeglass prescription for the purposes of improving vision for far-sighted and/or near-sighted user.
Conclusion
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234