Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 2/19/2026 has been received; Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonin (US 2022/0225729).
Regarding Claim 10, Bonin discloses an article of footwear (Figures 49-59) configured to transition between a neutral position and a banked position (Para. 106, 108-110, 121, & 164-165), the article of footwear comprising: a medial side (1716) and a lateral side (1718) disposed opposite the medial side, an upper (1702); and a sole structure (1704) coupled to the upper, the sole structure comprising: a sleeve (1730) extending from a first end to a second end (Figures 55-59), the sleeve including: a first plate (1730A) having a first surface (Figures 55-59) and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Figures 55-59), the first plate extending from the first end to the second end (Figures 49-51); a second plate (1730B) having a first surface (Figures 55-59) and a second surface opposite to the first surface of the second plate (Figures 55-59), the second plate extending from the first end toward the second end (Figures 49-51), the second plate being subdivided into at least two interconnected pieces by at least one slot (slot indicated by 1730A in Figure 50), and the at least one slot extending from the medial side of the article of footwear to the lateral side of the article of footwear (Figure 50); wherein the second plate includes a first spike (one of 1744 and/or 1794) and a second spike (another one of 1744 and/or 1794); a brace (1790, 1792, Para. 162-163) coupling the first plate to the second plate (Figures 55-59), wherein the first plate is movable relative to the second plate via the brace (Para. 106, 108-110, 121, & 164-165); and a first cushioning element (1750) disposed between the first plate and the second plate (Figures 49-51), the first cushioning element is configured to transition between a resting state and a compressed state (Para. 106, 108-110, 121, & 164-165); wherein, in the resting state, a plane extending along the second surface of the first plate is parallel with a ground surface (Figures 55-59, Para. 106, 108-110, 121, & 164-165), wherein, in the compressed state, the plane extending along the second surface of the first plate forms an angle between the ground surface and the plane (Para. 106, 108-110, 121, & 164-165), wherein in the neutral position, the first cushioning element is in the resting state (Para. 106, 108-110, 121, & 164-165), and wherein in the banked position, a force applied to the first plate compresses the first cushioning element into the compressed state (Para. 106, 108-110, 121, & 164-165).
Regarding Claim 11, Bonin discloses the first cushioning element is a fluid-filled bladder (Para, 119-120).
Regarding Claim 13, Bonin discloses the article of footwear is a right article of footwear of a pair of articles of footwear (Para. 92 & 100) and the first cushioning element is positioned on a medial side of the right article of footwear (Figures 50 & 55).
Regarding Claim 14, Bonin discloses the article of footwear is a left article of footwear of a pair of articles of footwear (Para. 73, 92 & 100) and the first cushioning element is positioned on a lateral side of the left article of footwear(Figures 50 & 55).
Regarding Claim 15, Bonin discloses the second plate forms a ground-engaging surface of the article of footwear (Figure 59).
Regarding Claim 16, Bonin discloses the first spike is configured to move relative to a vertical axis of the article of footwear (Para. 164-165), and the second spike is configured to translate relative to the vertical axis of the article of footwear (Para. 164-165).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonin (US 2022/0225729).
Regarding Claim 12, Bonin does not specifically disclose the angle is greater than 0 degrees and less than 20 degrees. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of angle for the compressed stated in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of impact absorption, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the angle involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 & 17-20 allowed over the prior art of record.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732