DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on August 5, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 10,586,536) in view of Sharifi et al. (US 2024/0312455).
As per claim Jeong discloses, a display device comprising:
a display (Fig. 3, element 100);
a network interface configured to communicate with a Natural Language Processing (NLP) server (Fig. 1, element 133 and Fig. 2, element 175); and
a controller configured to:
obtain first voice data uttered by a speaker in which the first voice data includes a first type of starting word or a second type of starting word (col. 7, lines 30-63, “If the user utters a voice called “Change the channel up,” the voice recognition unit 171 receives a voice command called “Change the channel up,” and converts the received voice command into text data”),
transmit the obtained voice data to the NLP server (Fig. 3, elements S117 and 500),
receive a second response result for the speaker from the NLP server based on the voice data including the second type of starting word, and display the second response result on the display (col. 8, lines 3-22, “if the text data corresponding to the voice command does not matches with the prestored text pattern, the control unit 170 of the display device 100 may output that a function of the display device 100, corresponding to the voice command, cannot be performed”).
Jeong does not explicitly disclose, but Sharifi discloses, receive a first response result that is linked with account information of the speaker from the NLP server based on the first voice data including the first type of starting word and display the first response result on the display (Paragraph 0082, “at step 925, the automated assistant can determine that an action that is to be performed is associated with sensitive information. In some implementations, the sensitive information can be included in a response from the automated assistant. For example, a response can include account information of the user, such as a phone number and/or a username that the user may not intend to be provided to other users. In some implementations, a request from the automated assistant may elicit sensitive information. For example, the user may provide a request of “OK Assistant, rent a movie and play it on my TV.” In response, the automated assistant may require payment information and can provide a response asking for the payment information, such as “Please enter your credit card information””).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeong by including a first type of starting word and a second type of starting word, where a first response result that is linked with account information of the speaker as taught by Sharifi so as to Implementations relate to transferring actions from a shared device to a personal device that is associated with an account of a user (Abstract).
As per claim 2, Jeong discloses, wherein the second response result is not linked to the account information of the speaker (col. 8, lines 3-22, the response is not linked to the account information).
As per claim 3, Jeong does not disclose, but Sharifi discloses, wherein the first response result includes an intent analysis result of the first voice data and a search result based on the account information, and wherein the second response result includes a search result based on the intent analysis result of the first voice data (Paragraphs 0041 and 0082).
As per claim 4, Jeong discloses, wherein the account information includes at least one of a preferred genre of the speaker or information about content that the speaker recently viewed (col. 11, lines 49-60).
As per claim 5, Jeong discloses, wherein the controller is further configured to: display a more viewing item on the display for displaying more viewing options in addition to the viewing options provided in the displayed second response results, and display the first response result reflecting the account information on the display instead of the second response result in response to receiving a voice command including the first type of starting word for selecting the more viewing item uttered by the speaker (col. 11, lines 49-60).
As per claim 8, Jeong discloses, further comprising: a microphone or a remote controller configured to obtain the first voice data uttered by the speaker (Fig. 1, element 200).
As per claim 9, Jeong does not disclose, but Sharifi discloses, wherein the first response result linked with account information includes a listing of programs based on a particular genre or previously viewed content included in the linked account information (Paragraph 0082).
As per claim 10, Jeong discloses, wherein the controller is further configured to: display the list of programs as selectable items on the display (Fig. 14).
As per claim 11, Jeong discloses, wherein the displayed second response result is not linked with account information and includes a listing of viewing options not linked to account information (col. 8, lines 3-22).
As per claim 12, Jeong does not disclose, but Sharifi discloses, wherein the controller is further configured to: display an additional viewing option on the second response result displayed on the display, receive an additional spoken command including the first type of starting word requesting selection of the additional viewing option, and display the first response result on the display including viewing options linked to the account information in response to receiving the additional spoken command including the first type of starting word (Paragraph 0082).
As per claim 16, Jeong does not disclose, but Sharifi discloses, wherein the first response result includes a plurality of content items each reflecting account information of the recognized speaker (Fig. 2).
As per claim 17, Jeong discloses, wherein the first type of starting word and the second type of starting word include one or two starting words (col. 7, lines 30-40).
As per claims 18-20, they are analyzed and thus rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claims 1-3, because the corresponding method claims have similar limitations.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 10,586,536) in view of Sharifi et al. (US 2024/0312455) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fusakawa et al. (US 9,349,372).
As per claim 6, Jeong in view of Sharifi fails to disclose, but Fusakawa discloses, wherein the controller configured to: display age-limited content items considering age information of an additional speaker among a plurality of content items included in the first response result on the display based on receiving second voice data uttered by the additional speaker (col. 16, line 38-col. 17, line 30).
As per claim 7, Jeong in view of Sharifi fails to disclose, but Fusakawa discloses, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive some of the content items from which remaining content items are filtered considering the age information of the additional speaker among the plurality of content items from the NLP server (col. 16, line 38-col. 17, line 30).
As per claim 13, Jeong in view of Sharifi fails to disclose, but Fusakawa discloses, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine an additional viewer is viewing the display in addition to the speaker who uttered the first voice data, determine the additional viewer is a younger age than an age of the speaker, display age-limited content items among content items included in the first response result considering the younger age of the additional viewer (col. 16, line 38-col. 17, line 30).
As per claim 14, Jeong in view of Sharifi fails to disclose, but Fusakawa discloses, wherein the controller is further configured to: display an additional viewing option on the age-limited content items displayed on the display (col. 16, line 38-col. 17, line 30), in addition Sharifi discloses, receive an additional spoken command including the first type of starting word requesting selection of the additional viewing option, and display the first response result on the display including viewing options linked to the account information in response to receiving the additional spoken command including the first type of starting word (Fig. 7).
As per claim 15, Jeong in view of Sharifi fails to disclose, but Fusakawa discloses, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine the additional viewer is the younger age than an age of the speaker based on spoken voice data of the additional viewer (col. 17, lines 3-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeong in view of Sharifi by including age-imitated content items displayed based on identifying user age as taught by Fusakawa so as to accurately know the age of the speaker, and to provide services appropriate for the current age of the speaker (col. 1, lines 48-50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Milstein et al. (US 11,430,434) discloses, intelligent privacy protection mediation.
Hergenrader et al. (US 12,211,498) discloses, SIRI integration with gust voice.
Contact Information
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to 401 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA-22314 (Customer Service Window).
April 17, 2026
/ABUL K AZAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656