DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-9, 12, 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (“Non-Parallel Voice Conversion for ASR Augmentation”; Sept. 15, 2022).
Claims 1, 9 and 17,
Wang teaches a method of processing voice data, comprising: obtaining voice data to be processed ([1.] [pg. 1] convert input speech), and inputting the voice data to be processed into a pre-trained first voice processing model for feature extraction to obtain feature data to be processed corresponding to the voice data to be processed ([1.] [2.2] [pg. 1] initialize the VC encoder with a pre-trained ASR encoder; pre-trained speech encoder to extract representation);
inputting the feature data to be processed into a trained second voice processing model for reprocessing to obtain discretized feature data corresponding to the voice data to be processed ([Fig. 1] [3.] [VQVAE Bottleneck] VQVAE Bottleneck is used to quantize encoder outputs into discrete codebook entries),
wherein the second voice processing model comprises a feature encoder ([3.] [pg. 2] [Fig. 1] architecture consisting of an encoder) and a vector quantizer connected to the feature encoder ([3.] [Fig. 1] [pg. 2] VQVAE Bottleneck used to quantize encoder outputs),
the second voice processing model is obtained by training a model to be trained that is pre-created based on sample feature data corresponding to sample voice data ([3.] [pg. 2] [Objective Function] we train on non-parallel data, utilize speech features; log-mel features are used as input and target), and
the model to be trained comprises the second voice processing model and a feature decoder connected to the vector quantizer in the second voice processing model ([Fig. 1] [pg. 2] [3.] architecture consisting of an encoder, a bottleneck layer and a non-auto-regressive decoder; reconstruction loss is computed on the decoder; training the decoder, VQVAE).
Claims 4, 12 and 20,
Wang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein before inputting the feature data to be processed into the trained second voice processing model for reprocessing, the method further comprises: obtaining the sample voice data, and inputting the sample voice data into the pre-trained first voice processing model for feature extraction to obtain the sample feature data corresponding to the sample voice data ([3.] sub-sampling convolution layer that reduces the time dimension of the input speech by 4x; a frozen encoder, where the weights are obtained from an ASR mode trained on 960 hours of Librispeech; feature extraction result is evidenced by given encoder outputs menc(x));
inputting the sample feature data into the second voice processing model in the model to be trained that is pre-created for re-encoding to obtain prediction feature data corresponding to the sample voice data, wherein the model to be trained comprises the feature encoder and the vector quantizer ([3.] VQVAE bottleneck is used to quantize encoder outputs into discrete codebook entries during auto-encoding training);
inputting the prediction feature data into the feature decoder in the model to be trained for data reconstruction processing to obtain voice reconstruction data corresponding to the prediction feature data ([3.] a decoder receiving encoder output (through the bottleneck) and training reconstruction a the decoder (decoder speaker embedding concatenated with encoder output to be fed to the decoder) and reconstruction loss is computed on the decoder);
optimizing the second voice processing model in the model to be trained based on the voice reconstruction data, the prediction feature data and the sample feature data, to obtain the second voice processing model ([3.] optimization using reconstruction (target vs predicted) and VQ losses (during VC training, the same log-mel features are used as input and target; the model is jointly optimized by minimizing Ltotal); see Lcodebook and Lcommit equations).
Claims 8 and 16,
Wang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first voice processing model comprises at least one of encoder of: a HuBERT model, a data2vec model, a wav2vec model, or a Whisper model ([Abstract] ASR encoder within the VC model).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Non-Parallel Voice Conversion for ASR Augmentation”; Sept. 15, 2022) and further in view of Ling et al. (“Decoar 2.0…”; Dec. 11, 2020).
Claims 2, 10 and 18,
Gray further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein inputting the feature data to be processed into the trained second voice processing model for reprocessing to obtain the discretized feature data corresponding to the voice data to be processed comprises: inputting the feature data to be processed into a trained feature encoder for encoding processing to obtain a plurality of feature data to be quantized corresponding to the voice data to be processed ([3.] [VQVAE Bottleneck] given encoder outputs m_enc(x) (encoder outputs provided for downstream quantization); VQVAE Bottleneck is used to quantize encoder outputs into discrete codebook entries); and
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Gray does not explicitly teach wherein the number of output channels of the trained feature encoder is the same as the number of candidate feature clusters in the vector quantizer; and inputting the feature data to be quantized into the vector quantizer to convert feature data to be quantized for each output channel into a cluster identifier of a candidate feature cluster corresponding to each output channel based on a code table stored in the vector quantizer, and using the converted feature data to be quantized as the discretized feature data corresponding to the voice data to be processed.
Ling further teaches wherein the number of output channels of the trained feature encoder is the same as the number of candidate feature clusters in the vector quantizer ([3.2] a set of codebooks C1,··· ,CG where G is the number of codebooks, V entries in each codebook, we select one variable from each codebook and stack the resulting vectors followed by a linear transformation to obtain new representation v; we map the encoder output z to logits l ∈ RG× V via a linear layer); and
inputting the feature data to be quantized into the vector quantizer to convert feature data to be quantized for each output channel into a cluster identifier of a candidate feature cluster corresponding to each output channel based on a code table stored in the vector quantizer ([3.2] selecting one entry from a fixed-size codebook C = = {c1,··· ,cV }; in inference, the index with largest value in logits l is selected from each codebook), and
using the converted feature data to be quantized as the discretized feature data corresponding to the voice data to be processed ([3.2] map it to a new representation from a fixed size codebook).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wang with teachings of Ling by modifying non-parallel voice conversion for ASR augmentation as taught by Wang to include wherein the number of output channels of the trained feature encoder is the same as the number of candidate feature clusters in the vector quantizer; and inputting the feature data to be quantized into the vector quantizer to convert feature data to be quantized for each output channel into a cluster identifier of a candidate feature cluster corresponding to each output channel based on a code table stored in the vector quantizer, and using the converted feature data to be quantized as the discretized feature data corresponding to the voice data to be processed as taught by Ling for the benefit of combining the reconstructive loss with vector quantization diversity loss to train speech representations (Ling [Abstract]).
Claim(s) 3, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Non-Parallel Voice Conversion for ASR Augmentation”; Sept. 15, 2022) and further in view of Defossez et al. (“High Fidelity Neural Audio Compression”; Oct. 24, 2022).
Claims 3, 11 and 19,
Wang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the feature encoder comprises an encoder input convolutional layer, and at least one encoding block connected to the encoder input convolutional layer ([3.] the encoder consists of sub-sampling convolution layer).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that an encoder output convolutional layer connected to the last encoding block, and each encoding block comprises at least one residual unit and a unit output convolutional layer connected to the last residual unit.
Defossez teaches an encoder output convolutional layer connected to the last encoding block, and each encoding block comprises at least one residual unit and a unit output convolutional layer connected to the last residual unit ([3.2] [pg. 2] convolution blocks are followed by a final 1D convolution layer; each convolution block is composed on a single residual unit; residual unit followed by strided convolution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wang with teachings of Ling by modifying non-parallel voice conversion for ASR augmentation as taught by Wang to include an encoder output convolutional layer connected to the last encoding block, and each encoding block comprises at least one residual unit and a unit output convolutional layer connected to the last residual unit as taught by Defossez for the benefit of introducing a state-of-the-art real-time, high-fidelity, audio codec leveraging neural networks (Ling [Abstract]).
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Non-Parallel Voice Conversion for ASR Augmentation”; Sept. 15, 2022) and further in view Oord et al (“Neural Discrete Representation Learning”; 2017).
Claims 7 and 15,
Wang teaches all the limitations in claim 4. The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Wang does not explicitly teach determining an encoding loss corresponding to the feature encoder of the second voice processing model in the model to be trained based on the voice reconstruction data and the feature encoding data, and optimizing parameters to be optimized of the feature encoder based on the encoding loss; and determining a quantization loss corresponding to the vector quantizer in the model to be trained based on the prediction feature data and the feature encoding data, and optimizing the parameters to be optimized of the vector quantizer based on the quantization loss.
Oord teaches determining an encoding loss corresponding to the feature encoder of the second voice processing model in the model to be trained based on the voice reconstruction data and the feature encoding data, and optimizing parameters to be optimized of the feature encoder based on the encoding loss ([3.2] [eq. 3] the decoder optimizes the first loss term only, the encoder optimizes the first and last loss terms); and
determining a quantization loss corresponding to the vector quantizer in the model to be trained based on the prediction feature data and the feature encoding data, and optimizing the parameters to be optimized of the vector quantizer based on the quantization loss ([3.2] assigning the middle (codebook/quantization) terms to the embeddings (i.e. code table/vector quantizer); the embeddings are optimized by the middle loss term).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wang with teachings of Oord by modifying non-parallel voice conversion for ASR augmentation as taught by Wang to include determining an encoding loss corresponding to the feature encoder of the second voice processing model in the model to be trained based on the voice reconstruction data and the feature encoding data, and optimizing parameters to be optimized of the feature encoder based on the encoding loss; and determining a quantization loss corresponding to the vector quantizer in the model to be trained based on the prediction feature data and the feature encoding data, and optimizing the parameters to be optimized of the vector quantizer based on the quantization loss as taught by Oord for the benefit of generate high quality images, videos, and speech (Oord [Abstract]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims AND overcoming the 101 Abstract Idea set forth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al. (US 11,664,037) – Methods of encoding and decoding a speech signal using a neural network model that recognizes sound sources, and encoding and decoding apparatuses for performing the methods are provided. A method of encoding a speech signal includes identifying an input signal for a plurality of sound sources; generating a latent signal by encoding the input signal; obtaining a plurality of sound source signals by separating the latent signal for each of the plurality of sound sources; determining a number of bits used for quantization of each of the plurality of sound source signals according to a type of each of the plurality of sound sources; quantizing each of the plurality of sound source signals based on the determined number of bits; and generating a bitstream by combining the plurality of quantized sound source signals.
SHREYANS A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2653
/SHREYANS A PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2659