DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to application filed on 08/15/2024. Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 20 objected to because of the following informalities: “communication service provider (CSP” should be communication service provider (CSP)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
4.2. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
4.3. Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by McConnell, (US 2021/0274595 A1) in view of Tammana et al., (“Tammana”, US 2023/0199630 A1), and further in view of Lekutai, (US 2022/0217704 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, McConnell teaches, A system for dynamic edge routing (FIG.4, edge router 401) of data traffic for a mobile entity (FIG.1, vehicle 103) having an automotive edge router (end node 101) and a plurality of applications, the system comprising (McConnell, FIG.1, end node 101, vehicle 103, node 105 , network 107, [0059-61]: a communication/data session is established between a correspondent node 105 and an end node 101 (“automotive edge router”) located in a train/vehicle 103. The correspondent node 105 is a web server supporting a corresponding client operating on the end node 101, and specifically a World Wide Web application. The communication/data session is supported by a fixed network 107. FIG.4, edge router 401, network 403, [0101]: each of the interface points may be coupled to an edge router 401 of a core network 403 being part of the fixed network 107):
a memory that stores one or more computer readable media that include instructions; and
one or more processor devices configured to execute the instructions of the computer readable media to (McConnell, [0244-245]: The invention may optionally be implemented at least partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors):
receive (end node 101) (McConnell, FIG.4, gateway 409, [0101-102]: receiving data for cellular networks from end node 101 via gateway 409);
McConnell does not expressly teaches
receive performance data
select one of the plurality of cellular networks for each application of the plurality of applications on the mobile entity (vehicle 103) based on the performance data for the plurality of cellular networks; and
transmit a command signal to the automotive edge router (end node 101) indicating the selection of one of the plurality of cellular networks for each application of the plurality of applications.
Tammana teaches
receive performance data for a plurality of cellular networks (108) (Tammana, FIG.1, selector 110, network 108, UE 102, eNodeB 114, from UEs 102 operating in its coverage area 108. The characteristics include 5G/LTE availability, 5G/LTE throughput, and 5G/LTE retainability);
select one of the plurality of cellular networks based on the performance data for the plurality of cellular networks (Tammana, [0048]: selecting, for a UE located in a geographic subunit using 5G/LTE performance measure. A comparison of the LTE performance score and the 5G performance score may be used to select the better performing access technology); and
transmit a command signal to the automotive edge router indicating the selection of one of the plurality of cellular networks (Tammana, [0049]: selecting the better performing network, send a configuration message specifies the access technology/network based on the performance measure collected from the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity as taught by McConnell, to select a cellular network based on the performance data of the network, as taught by Tammana.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the performance data of the network to route the traffic (Tammana, FIG.3).
McConnell-Tammana does not expressly teaches
(vehicle 103);
for each application of the plurality of applications.
Lekutai teaches
(Lekutai, FIG.1, UE 106A, application 107A, [0025-26]: application 107A specifies/provides first performance parameters that identify a desired performance of application 107A. Applications 107 include, but are not limited to browser applications, messaging applications, voice applications (e.g., Voice over Internet Protocol “VoIP” applications), video applications, game applications, and the like);
(Lekutai, [0026]: application 107A specifies/provides first performance parameters that identify a desired performance of application 107A ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the performance data of network to route the traffic as taught by McConnell-Tammana, to determine the selecting a cellular network based on the application performance data, as taught by Lekutai.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the application performance data in order to route the traffic (Lekutai, 24-25).
Regarding Claim 3, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processor devices are configured to execute the instructions of the computer readable media further to:
generate a set of analytics based on the performance data for the plurality of cellular networks (Tammana, [0046-47]: calculating, with the network performance data, a 5G/LTE performance measure for one or more geographic subunits of the 5G/LTE service areas. Thus, an average network availability, average network throughput, and average network retainability could be calculated for each geographic subunit. In one aspect, the characteristics are combined to form a performance score. For example, each characteristic could be normalized to a common scale, such as a number between 0 and 1. The normalized measures could then be combined to form a single measure that is compared to a single threshold. In another aspect, the normalized measures could be combined in such a way that gives different weight to different characteristics).
Regarding Claim 6, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of applications include a video application, an audio application, a location application, an asset management application, and data vehicle monitoring application (Tammana, [0025]: applications 107 include video applications).
Regarding Claim 7, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of cellular networks are one or more of a 4G network and a 5G network (Tammana, [0030]: Network selected comprises 4G network or a 5G network).
Regarding Claim 8, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The system according to claim 1, wherein the performance data includes one or more of signal strength, network congestion, latency, data volume allowed for uplink and downlink, jitter, and delay (Lekutai, [0010]:performance requirements include bandwidth requirements, latency requirements, etc.).
Regarding Claim 17, McConnell teaches, An automotive edge router (FIG.2 end node 101) for dynamic edge routing (FIG.4, edge router 401) of data traffic for a mobile entity (vehicle 103) having a plurality of applications, the automotive edge router comprising (McConnell, FIG.1, service node 105, [0058]: communication system 107 which supports communication with end nodes 101 that are located in moving vehicles 103; [0060]: World Wide Web application will be considered where the correspondent node 105 is a web server supporting a web browser on the end node 101 accessing an Internet site supported by the web server of the corresponding node 105):
a transceiver (111 113) configured to transmit and receive signals (McConnell, FIG.1, access points 109, modems 111, 113, [0065]: the train/vehicle 103 comprises a plurality of wireless modems 111, 113 (“transceiver”) which are arranged to establish wireless (radio) communication links with the access points 109); and
one or more processor devices coupled to the transceiver and configured to (McConnell, [0244-245]: The invention may optionally be implemented at least partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors):
connect to and be in signal communication with a plurality of cellular networks (McConnell, FIG.1, fixed network 107, [0065]: The wireless modems 111, 113 are accordingly located at (in/on etc.) the train and are arranged to communicate with the access points 109 in order to provide an interface between the vehicle network nodes and entities (and specifically the end node 101) and the fixed network 107),
receive (McConnell, FIG.4, gateway 409, [0101-102]: receiving data for cellular networks from end node 101 via gateway 409),
simultaneously transmit information from each application over the cellular network (McConnell, [0063]: simultaneous communication for a large number of end nodes 101).
McConnell does not expressly teaches
receive performance data
transmit the performance data for each of the plurality of cellular networks to a data traffic controller via one of the plurality of cellular networks,
receive a command signal from the data traffic controller indicating a selection of one of the plurality of cellular networks for each application that is based on the performance data,
simultaneously transmit information from each application over the cellular network
Tammana teaches
(Tammana, FIG.1, selector 110, network 108, UE 102, eNodeB 114, [0044-45]: A set of performance data may be collected by each eNodeB 114 from UEs 102 operating in its coverage area 108. The characteristics include 5G/LTE availability, 5G/LTE throughput, and 5G/LTE retainability),
transmit the performance data for each of the plurality of cellular networks to a data traffic controller (selector 110) via one of the plurality of cellular networks (Tammana, [0044-45]: receiving 5G performance data from UEs via eNodeB via 5G/LTE access technology/networks),
receive a command signal from the data traffic controller (Selector 110) indicating a selection of one of the plurality of cellular networks (Tammana, [0048]: selecting the better performing network, send a configuration message specifies the access technology/network based on the performance measure collected from the UE) ,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity as taught by McConnell, to select a cellular network based on the performance data of the network, as taught by Tammana.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the performance data of the network to route the traffic (Tammana, FIG.3).
McConnell-Tammana does not expressly teaches
receive
Lekutai teaches (Lekutai, FIG.1, UE 106A, application 107A, [0025-26]: application 107A specifies/provides first performance parameters that identify a desired performance of application 107A. The base station 102 may select the component to use based on the performance data of the application 107A),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the performance data of network to route the traffic as taught by McConnell-Tammana, to determine the selecting a cellular network based on the application performance data, as taught by Lekutai.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the application performance data in order to route the traffic (Lekutai, 24-25).
Regarding Claim 19, see similar rejection to Claim 15.
4.4. Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by McConnell, (US 2021/0274595 A1) in view of Tammana et al., (“Tammana”, US 2023/0199630 A1) and Lekutai, (US 2022/0217704 A1), and further in view of Ghadiok et al., (“Ghadiok”, US 2023/0290245 A9).
Regarding Claim 2, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The system according to claim 1.
McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai does not expressly teaches wherein each cellular network is associated with a different communication service provider (CSP), Ghadiok teaches wherein each cellular network is associated with a different communication service provider (CSP) (106) (Ghadiok, FIG.1, cloud computing environment 106, [0056]; [0097]: network is cellular service providers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network as taught by McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai, the associated cellular network is a CSP, as taught by Lee [0097].
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network, and each cellular network is associated with a different CSP (Lee, [0097]).
Regarding Claim 4, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The system according to claim 3, wherein the system further comprises (Tammana, [0046-47]: calculating, with the network performance data, a network performance measure).
McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai does not expressly teaches wherein the system further comprises an application programming interface configured to enable access to the performance data and thewherein the system further comprises an application programming interface (API 331) configured to enable access to the (Ghadiok, FIG.1A, server 104, edge device 102, {0057-58}; FIG.3A, API 331, [0084]: can offer an application programming interface (API) 331 designed to allow third-parties to access data and visualizations captured or collected by the edge devices 102, the server 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network as taught by McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai, to access the data via API, as taught by Lee.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network, and to access the performance data and the set of analytics (Ghadiok, FIG.3A).
Regarding Claim 5, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The system according to claim 1.
McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai does not expressly teach wherein the mobile entity (vehicle 103) is a fleet vehicle; Ghadiok teaches wherein the mobile entity (vehicle 400) is a fleet vehicle (Ghadiok, FIG.1, edge device 102, carrier vehicle 110, [0063]: FIG.4, carrier vehicle 400, [0197]: the carrier vehicle 400 can be a municipal fleet vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network as taught by McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai, the vehicle is a fleet vehicle, as taught by Ghadiok.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network, and the vehicle is a fleet vehicle (Ghadiok, FIG.4).
Regarding Claim 20, see similar rejection to Claim 2.
4.5. Claim(s) 9, 11, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by McConnell, (US 2021/0274595 A1) in view of Tammana et al., (“Tammana”, US 2023/0199630 A1) and Lekutai, (US 2022/0217704 A1), and further in view of Zhu, (WO 2022/100198 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, McConnell teaches, A method for dynamic edge routing (FIG.4, edge router 401) of data traffic for a mobile entity (FIG.1, vehicle 103) having an automotive edge router (end node 101) and a plurality of applications, the method comprising (McConnell, FIG.1, end node 101, vehicle 103, node 105 , network 107, [0059-61]: a communication/data session is established between a correspondent node 105 (may be web server) and an end node 101 (“automotive edge router”) located in a train/vehicle 103. The correspondent node 105 is a server supporting a corresponding client operating on the end node 101, and specifically a World Wide Web application. The communication/data session is supported by a fixed network 107. FIG.4, edge router 401, network 403, [0101]: each of the interface points may be coupled to an edge router 401 of a core network 403):
receiving, using a data traffic controller (edge router 401), (McConnell, [0101-103]: each of the interface points may be coupled to an edge router 401 of a core network 403 being part of the fixed network 107);
McConnell does not expressly teaches
receiving,
identifying, using the data traffic controller, a priority for each application of the plurality of applications of the mobile entity (vehicle 103);
selecting, using the data traffic controller, a cellular network from the plurality of cellular networks for each application of the plurality of applications based on the performance data; and
transmitting, using the data traffic controller, a command signal to the automotive edge router (end node 101) indicating the selection of one of the plurality of cellular networks for each application of the plurality of applications.
Tammana teaches
receiving, (selector 110), performance data for a plurality of cellular networks (Tammana, FIG.1, selector 110, network 108, UE 102, eNodeB 114, [0044-45]: A set of performance data may be collected by each eNodeB 114 from UEs 102 operating in its coverage area 108. The characteristics include 5G/LTE availability, 5G/LTE throughput, and 5G/LTE retainability);
selecting, using the data traffic controller, a cellular network from the plurality of cellular networks (Tammana, [0048]: selecting, for a UE located in a geographic subunit using 5G/LTE performance measure. A comparison of the LTE performance score and the 5G performance score may be used to select the better performing access technology, even though both are classified as high performing); and
transmitting, using the data traffic controller, a command signal to the automotive edge router (selector 110) indicating the selection of one of the plurality of cellular networks(Tammana, [0049]: selecting the better performing network, send a configuration message specifies the access technology/network based on the performance measure collected from the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity as taught by McConnell, to select a cellular network based on the performance data, as taught by Tammana.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the performance data to route the traffic (Tammana, FIG.3).
McConnell-Tammana does not expressly teaches
identifying, using the data traffic controller, a priority for each application of the plurality of applications of the mobile entity;
); and
Lekutai teaches
(Lekutai, FIG.1, UE 106A, application 107A, [0025-26]: application 107A specifies/provides first performance parameters that identify a desired performance of application 107A. Applications 107 include, but are not limited to browser applications, messaging applications, voice applications (e.g., Voice over Internet Protocol “VoIP” applications), video applications, game applications, and the like); and
(Lekutai, [0026]: application 107A specifies/provides first performance parameters that identify a desired performance of application 107A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the performance data to route the traffic as taught by McConnell-Tammana, to determine the selecting criteria performance data based on the performance data of the application, as taught by Lekutai.
McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai does not expressly teach
identifying, using the data traffic controller, a priority for each application of the plurality of applications of the mobile entity.
Zhu teaches
identifying, using the data traffic controller, a priority for each application of the plurality of applications of the mobile entity (Zhu, page 2, lines 37-41: determines priorities of multiple different applications, and assigns each piece of first data information to the multiple pieces of first data information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and selecting a cellular network based on the performance data to route the traffic as taught by McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai, to identify a priority fort each application, as taught by Zhu.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a mobile entity and identify a priority for each application (Zhu, page 2, lines 37-41).
Regarding Claim 11, see similar rejection to Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14, see similar rejection to Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 15, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai-Zhu teaches, The method according to claim 9, wherein the performance data is received by the data traffic controller continuously in real-time (McConnell, [0063]: simultaneous communication for a large number of end nodes 101).
4.6. Claim(s) 10, 12-13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by McConnell, (US 2021/0274595 A1) in view of Tammana et al., (“Tammana”, US 2023/0199630 A1), Lekutai, (US 2022/0217704 A1), and Zhu, (WO 2022/100198 A1), and further in view of Ghadiok et al., (“Ghadiok”, US 2023/0290245 A9).
Regarding Claim 10, see similar rejection to Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 12, see similar rejection to Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 13, see similar rejection to Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The method according to claim 11, (Tammana, [0048]: generating, for a UE located in a geographic subunit using network performance measure).
McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai does not teach displaying displaying (UI 1800) the (analytics engine 310) (Ghadiok, FIG. 3A, edge device 102, server 104, analytics engine 310, evidence package 316, [0081]: The edge device 102 (“automotive edge router”) can also transmit an evidence package 316 to the server 104. FIG.3A, analytics engine 310, [0152]: The analytics engine 310 can use the third party video and data 336 to generate graphics, visualizations, or maps concerning violations detected from such third party video and data 336. FIG.18, UI 1800, [0370]: The traffic insight UI 1800 can display one or more traffic insight maps).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network as taught by McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai, to display the data and the generated set of analytics, as taught by Ghadiok (Ghadiok, FIGs. 3A, 18).
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network, and displaying the performance data and the generated set of analytics (Ghadiok, FIGs.3A, 18).
4.7. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by McConnell, (US 2021/0274595 A1) in view of Tammana et al., (“Tammana”, US 2023/0199630 A1) and Lekutai, (US 2022/0217704 A1), and further in view of Lee et al., (“Lee”, US 2020/0137755 A1)..
Regarding Claim 18, McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai teaches, The automotive edge router according to claim 17.
McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai does not expressly teaches further comprising a plurality of SIM cards, wherein each of the plurality of SIM cards corresponds to one of the plurality of cellular networks, Lee teaches (Lee, FIG.9, device 100, SIM 120, [0078-81]: A multi-SIM device 100 operates in the dual radio (DR) mode, the first SIM 120_1 is set as the main SIM, the first RF resource 112_1 is assigned to the first SIM 120_1, the second SIM 120_2 is set as the sub-SIM, and the second RF resource 112_2 is assigned to the second SIM 120_2. dual radio).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network as taught by McConnell-Tammana-Lekutai, to include multi-SIMs, each of the multi-SIM card corresponds to a cellular network, as taught by Lee.
Doing so provides a method to perform edge routing of data traffic for a vehicle based on the application performance data of the network, and the vehicle includes multi-SIMs, each of the multi-SIM cards corresponds to a cellular network (Lee,FIG.9, [0078-81]).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Moeller, US 2012/0155252 A1, Moeller, mobile router, e.g. used in automobile, truck, rail car, or boat, includes local network interface, backhaul network interface, processor(s), serial data device, and memory in communication with processor(s) and serial data device interface.
/C.L./
Examiner
Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418