DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 08/05/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 – 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) since the terms “the monitoring”, “the grant”, “the request” have not been defined in the claim. Notes that they were defined in claim 7, which depends to claim 6.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) since limitation “the reception of the CSI report for monitoring” has not been previous defined.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) since they are inconsistent because claims 6 and 16 (which claims 10 and 20 depend from) claimed “a base station”, however claims 10 and 20 recited limitation “transmitting, to the base station, capability information”. It should be changed to “receiving, from the UE, capability information”.
Claims 7 - 10 are also rejected because they directly depend to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (Pub # US 2026/0213812 A1) in view of Manolakos et al. (hereinafter “Manolakos”) (Pub # US 2022/0417776 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Lin discloses a user equipment (UE) (see UE 104 in FIG. 1, 204 in FIG. 2, FIG. 8) in a communication system (see FIG. 1), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (see 806 in FIG. 8 or 2126 in FIG. 21); and
at least one processor (see 124 in FIG. 1, 806 in FIG. 8) configured to:
receive, from a base station (see 102 in FIG. 1, 202 in FIG. 2) via higher layer signaling (see RRC layer 4210 in FIG. 42, [0582]), a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) report (see 206 in FIG. 2, [0070], [0084] for receive configuring CSI measurement and reporting);
receive, from the base station, a monitoring measurement resource (see 208 in FIG. 2, [0071], [0074], [0081], [0084] for receive one or more CSI reference resources to be reported, measure one or more reference signals of reference resources defined for a downlink resource slot, for which to provide a CSI measurement and/or predicted measurement);
generate the CSI report based on the monitoring measurement resource (see [0071], [0076], [0080], [0081], [0084] for CSI predictor performs one or more operations to predict CSI values corresponding to one or more of CRI, RI, PMI, CQI, and/or any metric suitable for resource scheduling, and prediction monitor compares one or more predicted CSI values to one or more measured CSI values that are associated with one or more reference resources defined for a downlink resource slot); and
transmit, to the base station, the CSI report (see 210, 212 in FIG. 2, [0077] – [0079], [0084] for the UE transmits a combination of predicted CSI report and/or measured CSI report).
Lin teaches that the UE prediction monitor compares one or more predicted CSI values to one or more measured CSI values that are associated with one or more reference resources defined for a downlink resource slot, and transmits a combination of predicted CSI report and/or measured CSI report, thus Lin obviously teaches that the CSI report including a monitoring outcome report. In case this limitation is in question, using Manolakos reference as below.
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses that the CSI report including a monitoring outcome report (see Manolakos, [0038], [0073], [0076], [0088] – [0090], [0104], [0114] – [0117], where Manolakos is discussing the UE determines to transmit a CSI report, which include or correspond to CSI report indicating channel state information (which is greater a threshold) of a CSI target resource based on a number of CSI RS occasions detected during the duration of the CSI reference resource, thus the CSI report including monitoring outcome report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Lin, and have the CSI report including a monitoring outcome report, such that help to enable reliable high data rates with improved mobility support for overall improved system performance and user experience, as discussed by Manolakos (see Manolakos, [0001]).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses a method performed by a base station (see 102 in FIG. 1, 202 in FIG. 2) in a communication system (see FIG. 1), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (see UE 104 in FIG. 1, 204 in FIG. 2) via higher layer signaling (see RRC layer 4210 in FIG. 42, [0582]), a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) report (see 206 in FIG. 2, [0070], [0084] for transmit configuring CSI measurement and reporting);
transmitting, to the UE, the monitoring measurement resource (see 208 in FIG. 2, [0071], [0074], [0081], [0084] for transmit one or more CSI reference resources to be reported, measure one or more reference signals of reference resources defined for a downlink resource slot, for which to provide a CSI measurement and/or predicted measurement).
Lin does not disclose that the monitoring measurement resource as the grant of the request.
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses that the monitoring measurement resource as the grant of the request (see Manolakos, [0073] – [0074], [0076], [0101], [0102], where Manolakos is discussing the UE transmits capability information of UE to the BS, which indicate a minimum duration of the CSI reference resource, a maximum time offset between the CSI reference resource and the CSI target resource, a minimum time offset between the CSI reference resource and transmission of a CSI report, thus obviously teach a request of the UE, and the base station transmits configuration information for the CSI reporting, which indicate the CSI reference resource including a plurality of the first type of time units for CSI reference signal (CSI RS) monitoring, the CSI target resource including one or more of the second type of time units for which channel state information is to be estimated, thus obviously resource granting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Lin, and have the monitoring measurement resource as the grant of the request for the UE capability, such that help to enable reliable high data rates for overall improved system performance and user experience, as discussed by Manolakos (see Manolakos, [0001]).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses (see 102 in FIG. 1, 202 in FIG. 2) in a communication system (see FIG. 1), the base station comprising:
a transceiver (see 806 in FIG. 8); and
at least one processor (see 118 in FIG.1) configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (see UE 104 in FIG. 1, 204 in FIG. 2) via higher layer signaling (see RRC layer 4210 in FIG. 42, [0582]), a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) report (see 206 in FIG. 2, [0070], [0084] for transmit configuring CSI measurement and reporting);
transmit, to the UE, a monitoring measurement resource (see 208 in FIG. 2, [0071], [0074], [0081], [0084] for transmit one or more CSI reference resources to be reported, measure one or more reference signals of reference resources defined for a downlink resource slot, for which to provide a CSI measurement and/or predicted measurement);
receive, from the UE, the CSI report based on the monitoring measurement resource (see 210, 212 in FIG. 2, [0077] – [0079], [0084] for the UE transmits a combination of predicted CSI report and/or measured CSI report).
Lin teaches that the UE prediction monitor compares one or more predicted CSI values to one or more measured CSI values that are associated with one or more reference resources defined for a downlink resource slot, and transmits a combination of predicted CSI report and/or measured CSI report, thus Lin obviously teaches that the CSI report including a monitoring outcome report. In case this limitation is in question, using Manolakos reference as below.
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses that the CSI report including a monitoring outcome report (see Manolakos, [0038], [0073], [0076], [0088] – [0090], [0104], [0114] – [0117], where Manolakos is discussing the UE determines to transmit a CSI report, which include or correspond to CSI report indicating channel state information (which is greater a threshold) of a CSI target resource based on a number of CSI RS occasions detected during the duration of the CSI reference resource, thus the CSI report including monitoring outcome report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Lin, and have the CSI report including a monitoring outcome report, such that help to enable reliable high data rates with improved mobility support for overall improved system performance and user experience, as discussed by Manolakos (see Manolakos, [0001]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Lin in view of Manolakos disclose transmitting, to the base station, a request for a grant of the monitoring measurement resource; receiving, from the base station, the monitoring measurement resource as the grant of the request (see Manolakos, [0073] – [0074], [0076], [0101], [0102], where Manolakos is discussing the UE transmits capability information of UE to the BS, which indicate a minimum duration of the CSI reference resource, a maximum time offset between the CSI reference resource and the CSI target resource, a minimum time offset between the CSI reference resource and transmission of a CSI report, thus obviously teach a request of the UE, and the base station transmits configuration information for the CSI reporting, which indicate the CSI reference resource including a plurality of the first type of time units for CSI reference signal (CSI RS) monitoring, the CSI target resource including one or more of the second type of time units for which channel state information is to be estimated, thus obviously resource granting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Lin, and have the monitoring measurement resource as the grant of the request for the UE capability, such that help to enable reliable high data rates for overall improved system performance and user experience, as discussed by Manolakos (see Manolakos, [0001]).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18, Lin in view of Manolakos disclose wherein the configuration includes information for a performance measurement metric, and wherein the CSI report for monitoring is transmitted in response to a condition associated with the performance measurement metric is satisfied (see Lin, [0072], [0075], [0076], [0081], [0094], FIG. 5).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, and 19, Lin in view of Manolakos disclose wherein: the CSI report includes an indication indicating a presence or an absence of the monitoring outcome report, and the CSI report includes the monitoring outcome report based on the indication indicating the presence of the monitoring outcome report (see Manolakos, [0038], [0076], [0083], [0085] for the UE determine whether to omit transmission of the CSI report indicating channel state information of a CSI target resource based on a number of CSI reference signal (CSI RS) occasions detected during the duration of the CSI reference resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Lin, in order to enable reliable high data rates for overall improved system performance and user experience, as discussed by Manolakos (see Manolakos, [0001]).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20, Lin in view of Manolakos disclose transmitting, to the base station, capability information, wherein the capability information includes at least one of: maximum number of monitoring measurement resources, maximum number of ports per monitoring measurement resource or total number of ports across the monitoring measurement resources, maximum duration for measurement for the monitoring measurement resources, maximum number of CSI report occasions to be monitored for monitoring outcome reporting, or maximum number of CSI reports for monitoring purposes that can be simultaneously computed (see Manolakos, [0073] – [0074], [0076], [0101], [0102], where Manolakos is discussing the UE transmits capability information of UE to the BS, which indicate a minimum duration of the CSI reference resource, a maximum time offset between the CSI reference resource and the CSI target resource, a minimum time offset between the CSI reference resource and transmission of a CSI report. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Lin, in order to enable reliable high data rates for overall improved system performance and user experience, as discussed by Manolakos (see Manolakos, [0001]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Lin in view of Manolakos disclose receiving, from the UE, a request for a grant of the monitoring measurement resource; transmitting, to the UE, a grant for the request, wherein the transmission of the monitoring measurement resource and the reception of the CSI report for monitoring is based on the grant for the request. (see Manolakos, [0073] – [0074], [0076], [0101], [0102], where Manolakos is discussing the UE transmits capability information of UE to the BS, which indicate a minimum duration of the CSI reference resource, a maximum time offset between the CSI reference resource and the CSI target resource, a minimum time offset between the CSI reference resource and transmission of a CSI report, thus obviously teach a request of the UE, and the base station transmits configuration information for the CSI reporting, which indicate the CSI reference resource including a plurality of the first type of time units for CSI reference signal (CSI RS) monitoring, the CSI target resource including one or more of the second type of time units for which channel state information is to be estimated, thus obviously resource granting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Lin, in order to enable reliable high data rates for overall improved system performance and user experience, as discussed by Manolakos (see Manolakos, [0001]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is 2025/0374098 A1 (Li et al.) which discloses the CSI report setting communication include an identifier (or an indication of the identifier) associated with each of the BPM-RS (beam prediction management reference signal) configuration the UE is to utilize, i.e., the CSI report setting communication includes the identifier, BPM-RS Config ID_2 (or a corresponding indicator), for the BPM-RS configuration.
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645