Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (US PG PUB 20250310820), hereinafter "Kuo".
Regarding Claims 1 and 11 Kuo discloses:
(Claim 1) A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (devices 200/300 comprised of wireless transceiver circuitry [i.e. WTRU]) (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, ¶ 0050 and ¶ 0068), comprising:
a processor (i.e. processors 204/304) (204 – Fig. 2, 304. Fig. 3, ¶ 0050 and ¶ 0068)
configured to:
(Claim 11) A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (devices 200/300 comprised of wireless transceiver circuitry [i.e. WTRU]) (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, ¶ 0050 and ¶ 0068), comprising:
determine/determining an association between first data and second data (i.e. device may determine that the first data and the second data are inter-dependent [i.e. an association between], and that the first data and the second data are to be synchronized based on the configuration) (1004 – Fig. 10 and ¶ 0107);
determine/determining, based on the association between the first data and the second data, a triggering condition for reporting scheduling information associated with the second data (i.e. based on the determination in step 1004 that the first data and second data are interdependent [i.e. based on the association between the first data and the second data], the method/system may determine, in step 1008, whether a condition, e.g. the condition relating to the status of LCH #Y or LCH #X condition [i.e. a triggering condition], that will trigger buffer delay information reporting [i.e. reporting scheduling information] for LCH#X which includes [i.e. associated with] the first data [i.e. the second data]) (Fig. 10 and ¶ 0106 – 109),
wherein the triggering condition is satisfied based on a transmission availability of the first data (i.e. the condition [i.e. the triggering condition] being met [i.e. is satisfied] may be relating to the status of LCH #Y, e.g. the device may determine whether the second data [i.e. the first data] becomes available in LCH #Y [i.e. a transmission availability of the first data]) (¶ 0109); and
report/reporting the scheduling information associated with the second data based on the satisfaction of the triggering condition (i.e. the device may trigger delay status information reporting [i.e. report the scheduling information] for the data in LCH #X in 1010 [i.e. the second data]. For example, the device may trigger delay status reporting for the data in LCH #X based on one or more of the configured conditions in 1008 [i.e. satisfaction of the triggering condition]) (1010 – Fig. 10 and ¶ 0110).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Kuo discloses:
determine an arrival of the second data (i.e. the device may determine that the first data [i.e. the second data] has arrived in LCH #X and process the data) (¶ 0108),
wherein the scheduling information associated with the second data is reported further based on the arrival of the second data (i.e. after determining the first data has arrived [i.e. based on the arrival of the second data], the method/system may determine, the condition relating to the status of LCH #Y or LCH #X is met, and as the result, buffer delay information [i.e. the scheduling information] is reported) (1006 & 1010 - Fig. 10 and ¶ 0108 - 0110).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Kuo discloses:
wherein the triggering condition is that the first data is available to be transmitted (i.e. the method/system may determine, in step 1008, whether the condition [i.e. the triggering condition] being met is related to the status of LCH #Y, e.g. the device may determine whether the second data [i.e. the first data] becomes available in LCH #Y to be transmitted) (Fig. 10 and ¶ 0106 – 109),
the processor is further configured to / the method further comprising determine/determining that the second data is available to be transmitted based on the satisfaction of the triggering condition (i.e. the procedure 1000 may continue to cycle through 1006 and 1008 till the data buffer in LCH #X [i.e. the second data is available] is transmitted based on the condition being met [i.e. the satisfaction of the triggering condition]) (¶ 0108 – 0110), and
the scheduling information associated with the second data is reported based on the determination that the second data is available to be transmitted (i.e. after determining the data in LCH #X [i.e. second data] is processed [i.e. that the second data is available to be transmitted], the method/system may report buffer delay information [i.e. the scheduling information]) (1006 & 1010 - Fig. 10 and ¶ 0108 - 0110).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Kuo discloses:
wherein the triggering condition is a first triggering condition (i.e. the method/system may determine, in step 1008, whether a condition, e.g. the condition relating to the status of LCH #Y and/or LCH #X condition [i.e. a triggering condition is a first triggering condition], that will trigger buffer delay information reporting for LCH#X which includes the first data) (Fig. 10 and ¶ 0106 – 109), and
the processor is further configured to / the method further comprising: determine/determining, based on the association between the first data and the second data, a second triggering condition for reporting the scheduling information associated with the second data (i.e. based on the determination that the first data and second data are interdependent [i.e. based on the association between the first data and the second data], device may determine whether the second data becomes available in LCH #Y, whether the remaining time for the second data buffered in LCH #Y satisfies a threshold, the delay status information reporting for the LCH #Y is triggered, the buffer delay difference between the first data in LCH #X and the second data in LCH #Y satisfies a threshold; the device may determine whether any of the other conditions for triggering delay status reporting for LCH #X based on LCH #X [i.e. a second triggering condition for reporting the scheduling information associated with the second data]) (¶ 0107),
wherein the second triggering condition is satisfied based on a transmission status of the first data (i.e. the condition [i.e. the second triggering condition] being met [i.e. is satisfied] may be relating to the status of LCH #Y, e.g. the device may determine whether the second data [i.e. the first data] becomes available in LCH #Y to be transmitted [i.e. a transmission status of the first data]) (¶ 0109),
wherein the scheduling information associated with the second data is reported further based on the satisfaction of the second triggering condition (i.e. the device may trigger delay status information reporting [i.e. report the scheduling information associated with the second data] for the data in LCH #X in 1010 [i.e. the second data]. For example, the device may trigger delay status reporting for the data in LCH #X based on one or more of the configured conditions in 1008 [i.e. satisfaction of the second triggering condition]) (1010 – Fig. 10 and ¶ 0110).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Kuo discloses:
wherein the scheduling information associated with the second data is indicated in a buffer status report (BSR), a delay status report (DSR), or a scheduling request (SR) (i.e. triggered buffer delay information reporting [i.e. the scheduling information] may be delay status information reporting [i.e. a delay status report (DSR)]) (¶ 0110).
Regarding Claim 10 and 20, Kuo discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to / further comprising: determine/determining at a medium access control (MAC) layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, or a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the WTRU, that the triggering condition for reporting the scheduling information associated with the second data is satisfied (i.e. the network may configure the reporting granularity of the buffer delay reporting, it can be per LCG, per LCH, or per Modality Group. Different type of message formats (e.g., MAC CE formats [i.e. determine at a medium access control (MAC) layer]) can be introduced to support buffer delay reporting based on the granularity of LCG, LCH, QOS flow, or modality group) (¶ 0073, ¶ 0110 and ¶ 0121).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo as applied to claims 3, 5, 13 and 15above, and further in view of Lohr et al. (US PG PUB 20250247740), hereinafter "Lohr".
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Kuo discloses all the features with respect to Claims 3 and 13 as described above.
However, Kuo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first data is associated with a source data unit, the second data is associated with a repair data unit, the processor is further configured to / the method further comprising: generate/generating the repair data unit based on the source data unit, and wherein the association between the first data and the second data indicates that the second data is repair data of the first data.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Lohr teaches:
wherein the first data is associated with a source data unit, the second data is associated with a repair data unit (i.e. the first subset of data packets [i.e. the first data] may include one or more source data packets, and the second subset of data packets [i.e. the second data] may include one or more redundant data packets, e.g. also referred to as repair data packets [i.e. a repair data unit]) (¶ 0127),
the processor is further configured to generate the repair data unit based on the source data unit, and wherein the association between the first data and the second data indicates that the second data is repair data of the first data (i.e. the wireless devices may implement forward error correction FEC [i.e. generate the repair data unit based on the source data unit], in which a transmitting device introduces redundant data [i.e. the repair data] in advance with source data [i.e. the first data]. The redundant data [i.e. the second data] may enable a receiving device to recover from different data packet losses [i.e. the second data is repair data of the first data] of the source data [i.e. the first data]) (¶ 0028 and ¶ 0127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of Kuo to include the feature wherein the first data is associated with a source data unit, the second data is associated with a repair data unit, the processor is further configured to generate the repair data unit based on the source data unit, and wherein the association between the first data and the second data indicates that the second data is repair data of the first data as taught by Lohr so that forward data correction may be implemented (¶ 0028 and ¶ 0127).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Kuo discloses all the features with respect to Claims 5 and 15 as described above.
However, Kuo does not explicitly disclose:
transmit/transmitting the first data; receive/receiving an indication that the first data is received; and determine/determining, based on the indication, the transmission status of the first data, wherein the transmission status indicates that the transmission of the first data is successful.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Lohr teaches:
transmit the first data (i.e. the UE 104 may transmit one or more data packets [i.e. the first data] to the NE 102) (710 – Fig. 7 and ¶ 0130);
receive an indication that the first data is received (i.e. the NE 102 transmits an indication of successful reception [i.e. an indication that the first data is received] of the data packets to the UE 104) (712 – Fig. 7 and ¶ 0132); and
determine, based on the indication, the transmission status of the first data, wherein the transmission status indicates that the transmission of the first data is successful (i.e. the UE 104 may monitor/determine for signaling indicating that the first subset of data packets is received, e.g. an indication of successful reception of the data packets [i.e. the transmission status of the first data indicates that the transmission of the first data is successful]) (¶ 0132 and ¶ 0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of Kuo to include the feature transmit the first data; receive an indication that the first data is received; and determine, based on the indication, the transmission status of the first data, wherein the transmission status indicates that the transmission of the first data is successful as taught by Lohr so that the transmitting device may be informed whether the destination device receives the data successfully (¶ 0132 and ¶ 0134).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Sevindik (US PG PUB 20230142266), hereinafter "Sevindik".
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Kuo discloses all the features with respect to Claims 1 and 11 as described above.
However, Kuo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first data is associated with a data unit, and the processor is further configured to / the method further comprising: receive/receiving an indication that a percentage of the data unit is received; and determine a third triggering condition for reporting the scheduling information associated with the second data, wherein the third triggering condition is satisfied based on the percentage of the data unit being greater than a threshold value.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Sevindik teaches:
wherein the first data is associated with a data unit (i.e. TCP data packets making up the X number of bytes [i.e. a data unit]) (¶ 0312), and
the processor is further configured to: receive an indication that a percentage of the data unit is received (i.e. the method/system may determine/receive the information indicating that the received TCP data packets making up the X number of bytes a percentage Y [i.e. a percentage of the data unit is received]) (¶ 0312) ; and
determine a third triggering condition for reporting the scheduling information associated with the second data (i.e. the verification testing and/or ACK/NACK reporting information includes information and/or instructions that an ACK/NACK is to be reported [i.e. reporting the scheduling information associated with the second data] after every X number of bytes is received and that of the plurality or set of TCP data packets making up the X number of bytes a percentage Y [i.e. a third triggering condition]) (¶ 0312),
wherein the third triggering condition is satisfied based on the percentage of the data unit being greater than a threshold value (i.e. an ACK/NACK is to be reported after every X number of bytes is received and that of the plurality or set of TCP data packets making up the X number of bytes a percentage Y [i.e. the percentage of the data unit being greater than a threshold value]) (¶ 0312).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of Kuo to include the feature transmit the first data; receive an indication that the first data is received; and determine, based on the indication, the transmission status of the first data, wherein the transmission status indicates that the transmission of the first data is successful as taught by Sevindik so that status reporting may be based on the amount of data received (¶ 0312).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Soe Hlaing/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451