DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-15 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 2 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mishelevich et al. (US 2017/0246481; hereinafter “Mishelevich”).
Regarding claim 1, Mishelevich teaches the method for treating a condition, comprising: using at least one event detector to detect at least one predefined event (e.g. ¶¶ 723 – “seizure is detected in EEG recorder”); using a controller configured to use at least one defined event-therapy relationship and the detected at least one predefined event to coordinate at least two therapies delivered to at least two therapy targets (e.g. ¶¶ 504-505), wherein the at least two therapies include a first therapy delivered to a first therapy target and a second therapy delivered to a second therapy target (e.g. ¶¶ 504; Fig. 4 – where the caudate nucleus, DACG and Cingulate Genu are at least the therapy targets).
Regarding claim 17, Mishelevich discloses a system for treating a condition, comprising: at least one therapy delivery system configured to deliver at least two therapies to at least two therapy targets including deliver a first therapy to a first therapy target and deliver a second therapy to a second therapy target (e.g. ¶¶ 504; Fig. 4 – where the caudate nucleus, DACG and Cingulate Genu are at least the therapy targets); at least one event detector configured to detect at least one predefined event (e.g. ¶¶ 723 – “seizure is detected in EEG recorder”); and a controller configured to coordinate the at least two therapies based on the detected at least one predefined event using at least one defined event-therapy relationship (e.g. ¶¶ 504-505).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Mishelevich discloses the at least two therapies include a deep brain stimulation (DBS) therapy to a DBS target and one or both of a vagus nerve stimulation therapy (VNS) to a vagal nerve target or a spinal cord stimulation therapy (SCS) to a target in or near a spinal cord (e.g. ¶¶ 219, 499, 713 – “An additional target is the vagal nerve”).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Mishelevich discloses the at least two therapies include a first deep brain stimulation (DBS) therapy to a first DBS target and a second DBS therapy to a second DBS target (e.g. ¶¶ 504; Fig. 4 – where the caudate nucleus, DACG and Cingulate Genu are at least the therapy targets).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Mishelevich discloses the first therapy includes a first vagal nerve stimulation (VNS) therapy to a first VNS target and the second therapy includes a second VNS therapy to a second VNS target (e.g. ¶¶ 713 – “An additional target is the vagal nerve”).
Regarding claim 5, Mishelevich discloses the at least two therapies include an epilepsy therapy for an epileptic condition (e.g. ¶¶ 376).
Regarding claim 6, Mishelevich discloses the at least one event detector is used to detect the at least one predefined event by receiving a user input and identifying a predefined event related to the epileptic condition using the user input (e.g. ¶¶ 723 – “seizure is detected in EEG recorder”).
Regarding claim 7, Mishelevich discloses the at least one event detector is used to detect the at least one predefined event by sensing electrical signals in a brain (e.g. ¶¶ 389, 503, 667, 723 – “seizure is detected in EEG recorder”).
Regarding claim 8, Mishelevich discloses the at least one event detector is used to detect the at least one predefined event by sensing movement or lack of movement (e.g. ¶¶ 373 – “detection of motion, say by movement of accelerometers”).
Regarding claim 9, Mishelevich discloses the at least one event detector is used to detect the at least one predefined event by analyzing an image of a patient to detect the predefined event related the epileptic condition (e.g. ¶¶ 265, 257 – “image (e.g., fMRI or PET) based”).
Regarding claim 10, Mishelevich discloses the at least two therapies include a deep brain stimulation (DBS) therapy to a DBS target and one or both of a vagus nerve stimulation therapy (VNS) to a vagal nerve target or a spinal cord stimulation therapy (SCS) to a target in or near a spinal cord, and the controller is used to coordinate the VNS therapy and the DBS therapy based on the detected at least one event (e.g. ¶¶ 504-505; 219, 499, 713 – “An additional target is the vagal nerve”).
Regarding claim 11, Mishelevich discloses the detected at least one event includes at least a first stage and a second stage for progression of the an epileptic condition, and at least one therapy delivery system is configured to coordinate the VNS therapy and the DBS therapy to provide a first therapy for the first stage and a second therapy for the second stage (e.g. ¶¶ 598, 306, etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Mishelevich discloses the detected at least one event includes a detected seizure event and a detected end to the seizure event, and the controller is used to deliver the first therapy during the seizure event and the second therapy after the seizure event\ (e.g. ¶¶ 723).
Regarding claim 13, Mishelevich discloses the at least two therapies include a dementia therapy for a dementia condition (e.g. ¶¶ 370, 380, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Mishelevich discloses the at least two therapies include a deep brain stimulation (DBS) therapy to a DBS target and a vagus nerve stimulation therapy (VNS) to a vagal nerve target, the detected at least one predefined event includes a cognitive or a motor task, and the controller is used to coordinate the DBS therapy and the VNS therapy based on the cognitive task or the motor task (e.g. ¶¶ X).
Regarding claim 15, Mishelevich discloses the at least two therapies include a stroke therapy for a stroke condition (e.g. ¶¶ 337, 361, 398, etc.).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796