DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 5 August 2021.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority based on the US provisional application filed on 7 February 2022.
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
The title objection has been withdrawn.
The remarks on the merits have been considered but are not persuasive. Judging by the remarks, there appears to be a fair amount of confusion about the combination. As was stated in the instant and present action, the combination was to use the Rogowski coil sensing of Yao in the device of Marson. Applicant argues that argues that the cited phase shift control circuit does not change the output of the sensor. Specifically, applicant argues that “controlling a phase shift between a transformer voltage and switch control signals to control a current or voltage does not teach or suggest a phase compensation network coupled to an output of a sensor and configured to phase-shift that sensor output to generate a phase-shifted sense signal.” This appears to target one individual reference, and not the combination. Generally speaking, piecemeal analysis of references is not persuasive per MPEP 2145 (IV). In this particular case, the idea was to use the current sensing and leading filter Yao in Marson’s device.
Yao’s Figure 1E shows a Rogowski coil that senses current which is then put through a capacitive filter. Recall that filters have both frequency and phase responses that are typically shown on Bode plots. When the power signal is at a constant frequency, the phase is shifted by a constant amount. In power circuit, capacitors are generally regarding as leading elements and inductors are regarded as lagging elements. Also, because the point of Yaos device is delay compensation (¶2, ¶120), one of ordinarily assume would expect the delay to be compensated, meaning that there is a leading output. Rephrased simply, Yao teaches a current signal that has been phase-shifted by a leading amount which is fixed in steadystate. Since Marson describes steady state in Col. 4, lines 45-55 and Col. 12, lines 44-49.
As to the remarks against the combination, it teaches control circuitry (Marson, 36) for a synchronous rectifier, the control circuitry comprising:a sensor (Yao Ragowski coil) configured to sense at least one of the following:(i)_a current (the coil senses the pulsed current) through a power switch (Marson Fig. 1, S1/S2) of the synchronous rectifier,(ii) a voltage across the power switch, [[or]](iii) a current (iv) a voltage related to the current through the power switch, (v) a current related (the combination senses the current and then amplifies it) to the voltage across the power switch, or (vi) a voltage related to the voltage across the power switch; a phase compensation network (Yao, see image above) coupled to [[the]] an output of the sensor, the phase compensation network being configured to shift a phase of the output of the sensor in a leading direction (Yao,s capacitive filters will cause the system to lead slightly) to generate a phase-shifted sense signal (see image above, shifted sense signal); and drive circuitry (Marson, 40, 38, 36) configured to control switching of the power switch based on the phase- shifted sense signal. As such, the remarks against Marson, Yao, and the combination do not appear to be persuasive and as such the rejection must be maintained.
As to the remarks of compensating delays in previous claim 10 and instant claim 9, that is the entire point of Yao’s invention. Yao explicitly mentions in ¶2, “For example, secondary side converter voltage and current signals are transferred through isolation circuits and converted for digital processing, and responsive switching control signals are transferred through a digital isolator to operate the switching transistor. Overcoming these delays can help reduce power loss in a switching converter,” as well as explicitly in ¶120 “The described examples provide synchronous rectification control methods and apparatus that overcomes the gate drive propagation delay”. The other limitation regarding the non-zero threshold, there is another comparator tied to Vref 2 that compares the shifted signal to a non-zero reference, which appears to read on the limitation. As such, it appears the rejection should be sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marson (US 5077486) in view of Yao (US 20220399879).
As to claim 1, Marson discloses Control circuitry (36) for a synchronous rectifier, the control circuitry comprising:a sensor (44, 46) configured to sense at least one of the following:(i)_a current through a power switch (Fig. 1, S1/S2) of the synchronous rectifier,(ii) a voltage across the power switch, [[or]](iii) a current (iv) a voltage related to the current through the power switch, (v) a current related (it senses the current and then amplifies it) to the voltage across the power switch, or (vi) a voltage related to the voltage across the power switch; a phase compensation network (38) coupled to [[the]] an output of the sensor, the phase compensation network being configured to
Though heavily implied by the delay function in the switching regulator, Marson does not explicitly disclose the phase compensation network being configured to shift a phase of the output of the sensor in a leading direction.
Yao teaches a sensor (Fig. 1 E, unlabeled Rogowski coil) configured to sense a current through a power switch (Fig. 1, it is shows a current sense through power switch 111) a phase compensation network (unlabelled R/C in feedback of OPA) coupled to [[the]] an output of the sensor, the phase compensation network being configured to shift a phase of the output of the sensor in a leading direction (capacitors generate a leading value) to generate a phase-shifted sense signal (output comparator)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use above to Rogowski sensing as disclosed in Marson to limit interference in the power circuit.
As to claim 2, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein the sensor comprises a current sensor and the drive circuitry is configured to control turn-off timings for the power switch based on the phase-shifted sense signal (see Fig. 3, it tursn on and off the synchronous rectifiers).
As to claim 3, Marson in view of Yao teaches further comprising comparison circuitry (Yao, Fig. 1E, unlabelled comparator connected to REF2) configured to compare the phase-shifted sense signal to a threshold voltage (REF2), and to control the drive circuitry based on the comparison between the phase-shifted sense signal and the threshold voltage (Fig. 3, Marson).
As to claim 4, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein the comparison circuitry comprises a comparator (Fig. 1E, unlabeled comparator).
As to claim 5, Marson in view of Yao teaches a phase shift produced by the phase compensation network is selected to compensate for a delay in a signal chain driving the power switch (a Rogowski coil senses current 90 degrees out of phase, so the integrator compensates for the phase delay).
As to claim 6, Marson in view of Yao teaches a wherein the output is a first output, the control circuitry further comprises a resistor, the resistor comprising a first end and a second end, and the first end is coupled to a second output of the phase compensation network (this appears to correlate to the resistor coupled to the coil and the + terminal in Fig. 1E of Yao).
As to claim 7, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein the comparison circuitry comprises a comparator, the comparator comprising a first comparator input, a second comparator input, and a comparator output, the first comparator input being coupled to the first end of the resistor, the second comparator input being coupled to a terminal configured to receive a threshold voltage, the comparator output being coupled to an input of the drive circuitry (the two comparatos appear to correlate to the items in 1E of Yao).
As to claim 8, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein the sensor comprises a current sense transformer or a Rogowski coil (Yao explicitly describeds a Ragowski coil).
As to claim 9, Marson teaches control circuitry for a synchronous rectifier, the control circuitry comprising:a sensor (44, 46) configured to sense a current through a power switch of the synchronous rectifier (Fig. 1, S1/S2), a voltage across the power switch, or a current or voltage related to the current through the power switch (it senses and then amplifies the current) or the voltage across the power switch, to produce a sense signal;
Marson does not disclose comparison circuitry configured to compare the sense signal to a non-zero threshold value.
Yao teaches a sensor configured to sense a current through a power switch comparison circuitry configured to compare the sense signal to a non-zero threshold value (Fig. 1E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use above to Rogowski sensing as disclosed in Marson to limit interference in the power circuit.
As to claim 10, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein the non-zero threshold value is selected to compensate for a delay in a signal chain driving the power switch (see Fig. 1 E with offsets and references).
As to claim 11, Marson in view of Yao do not explicitly teach wherein the pulse generator comprises a single-shot circuit. However, single shots and one shots in control circuitry are old and well known and therefore not patentable (See MPEP 2144.03 and US 6016261 Claim 2, US 20040125621 Claim 19, US 20090129125 Claim 15).
As to claim 12, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein the drive circuitry is configured to control the power switch to turn on in response to the pulse (it turns the switches on and off in response to the control signal).
As to claim 13, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein: a first input of the comparison circuitry is coupled to a first output of the sensor (Fig. 1E); a second input of the pulse generator is coupled to the output of the comparison circuitry, which is a second output; a third input of the drive circuitry is coupled to a third output of the pulse generator; and a fourth output of the drive circuitry is coupled to the power switch (the combination appears to teach the current sensing circuitry being fed to the comparators and then to items 38 and 40 in sequence).
As to claim 14, Marson in view of Yao teaches further comprising a resistor with a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to the first output of the sensor and the first input of the comparison circuitry, and the second end coupled to a fourth input of the sensor (this is similar to claim 6 above).
As to claim 15, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein the sensor is a current sensor (Marson, Fig. 3).
As to claim 16, Marson in view of Yao teaches wherein the current sensor comprises a current sense transformer or a Rogowski coil (Yao, Fig. 1E).
As to claim 17, Marson in view of Yao disclose comprising the circuitry of claim 1. They do not explicitly disclose a wireless power receiver. However, this is merely the intended use and is not patentable (See MPEP 707307(f), 2111.02(II), 2114(II), 2144.07).
As to claim 18, this is a method claim similar to an apparatus claim 1 above and is obvious for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839