DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 8/28/2026, with respect to 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 8/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Reznicek et al (US 20210083139 A1), Kamal et al (US 7,163,860 B1), Meek et al (“Semiconductive Properties of Uranium Oxides), and Suzuki et al (US 8502301 B2). A Final Rejection is made necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the interconnect" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznicek et al (US 20210083139 A1) in view of Kamal et al (US 7,163,860 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Reznicek et al discloses a semiconductor radiation dosimeter, comprising: base semiconductor substrate (10) comprising a topmost semiconductor material layer of a semiconductor-on-insulator (SOI) substrate; the SOI substrate includes from bottom to top, an optional handle substrate and an insulator layer (buried oxide and/or buried nitride). The handle substrate comprise the semiconductor materials or a non-semiconductor material such as a dielectric material or a conductive material; and set of source/drain rows (14) (semiconductor fin 14 can be used as the source/drain regions) formed over the semiconductor layer (12L), a charge storage structure (16C) disposed over the semiconductor layer (12L); and set of gate stacks (a sacrificial gate structure can be formed straddling over a portion of each of the semiconductor fins 14. The sacrificial gate structure lies perpendicular to each of the semiconductor fins 14) (See Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0059]-[0061]). Reznicek et al is silent with regards to configuration of the set of gate stacks formed over the charge storage as claimed. Kamal et al discloses a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device, comprising: a set of gate stacks formed over the charge storage (col. 3, lines 3, lines 6-16). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter with Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable a more sensitive compact radiation sensor built from semiconductor transistor-like cells arranged in an array.
Regarding claim 5, Reznicek et al discloses wherein the charge storage structure includes a layer of silicon oxide, a layer of silicon nitride over the layer of silicon oxide, and a layer of silicon oxide over the layer of silicon nitride (col. 8, lines 42-54).
Regarding claim 6, Reznicek et al discloses further comprising a dielectric trench around the semiconductor layer (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Reznicek et al discloses wherein the set of source/drain rows (14) extend perpendicular to the set of gate stacks (a sacrificial gate structure can be formed straddling over a portion of each of the semiconductor fins 14. The sacrificial gate structure lies perpendicular to each of the semiconductor fins 14) (See Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0059]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Reznicek et al discloses wherein the semiconductor layer is formed of polysilicon (col. 9, lines 21-29).
Claim(s) 2-4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznicek et al (US 20210083139 A1) in view of Kamal et al (US 7,163,860 B1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meek et al (“Semiconductive Properties of Uranium Oxides).
Regarding claim 2, Reznicek et al and Kamal et al disclose all of the limitations of parent claim 1, as described supra however, Reznicek et al and Kamal et al are silent with regards to an oxide uranium reactive material. Meek et al discloses a semiconductive properties of uranium oxides comprising: uranium oxide-based semiconductors (See Abstract). Meek et al further teaches uranium oxide-based semiconductors are a higher performance class of semiconductors. Uranium oxides have intrinsic electrical and electronic properties equivalent to or much better than intrinsic properties of conventional Si, Ge, and GaAs semiconductor material (page 1, Abstract and Introduction). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter and Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device with Meek et al of semiconductive properties of uranium oxides. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable fast, compact, low-power neutron/radiation detection for terrestrial, space, security, and imaging uses.
Regarding claim 3, Reznicek et al and Kamal et al in view of Meek et al discloses wherein the oxide of uranium is an oxide of uranium-235 (235U) (page 6, Section: Impact of Radioactive Decay).
Regarding claim 4, Reznicek et al and Kamal et al in view of Meek et al discloses wherein the oxide of uranium is a mixed oxide of silicon and uranium (i.e. a polycrystal UO2-based diode. The type of dopant material will be based initially on proven dopants used in Si and GaAs) (page 9, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, Reznicek et al discloses wherein the dielectric trench (each semiconductor fins (oxide material 16 can be formed by filling the gaps, G1, that are located laterally adjacent to, and between, each of the semiconductor fins 14 with a trench dielectric oxide material such as, for example, silicon dioxide) (paragraph [0054]). Meek et al discloses a semiconductive properties of uranium oxides comprising: uranium oxide-based semiconductors (See Abstract). Meek et al further teaches uranium oxide-based semiconductors are a higher performance class of semiconductors. Uranium oxides have intrinsic electrical and electronic properties equivalent to or much better than intrinsic properties of conventional Si, Ge, and GaAs semiconductor material (page 1, Abstract and Introduction). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter and Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device with Meek et al of semiconductive properties of uranium oxides. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable fast, compact, low-power neutron/radiation detection for terrestrial, space, security, and imaging uses.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznicek et al (US 20210083139 A1) in view of Kamal et al (US 7,163,860 B1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al (US 8502301 B2).
Regarding claims 9-10, Reznicek et al and Kamal et al disclose all of the limitations of parent claim 1, as described supra however, Reznicek et al and Kamal et al are silent with regards to an interconnect element as claimed. Suzuki et al discloses a semiconductor device and method for fabrication comprising: a interconnect (metal silicide layer) (23) electrically connected (contact plug) to a row of the set of source/drain rows (source/drain regions) (col. 10, lines 3-10). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter and Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device with Suzuki et al of a semiconductor device and method for fabrication. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable signal routing and active readout operations for cells within the array.
Claim(s) 11-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznicek et al (US 20210083139 A1) in view of Kamal et al (US 7,163,860 B1) and Suzuki et al (US 8502301 B2) and further in view of Meek et al (“Semiconductive Properties of Uranium Oxides).
Regarding claim 11, Reznicek et al and Kamal et al in view of Suzuki et al (US 8502301 B2) disclose all of the limitations of claim 9, as described supra however, Reznicek et al, Kamal et al and Suzuki et al are silent with regards to uranium-235, as claimed. Meek et al discloses a semiconductive properties of uranium oxides comprising: an oxide of uranium-235 (235U) (page 6, Section: Impact of Radioactive Decay). Meek et al further teaches uranium oxide-based semiconductors are a higher performance class of semiconductors. Uranium oxides have intrinsic electrical and electronic properties equivalent to or much better than intrinsic properties of conventional Si, Ge, and GaAs semiconductor material (page 1, Abstract and Introduction). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter, Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device and Suzuki et al discloses a semiconductor device and method for fabrication with Meek et al of semiconductive properties of uranium oxides. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable fast, compact, low-power neutron/radiation detection for terrestrial, space, security, and imaging uses.
Regarding claim 12, Reznicek et al, Kamal et al and Suzuki et al in view of Meek et al discloses a semiconductive properties of uranium oxides comprising: an oxide of uranium-235 (235U) (page 6, Section: Impact of Radioactive Decay. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a mixture of tungsten and uranium-235 of the interconnect, since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 14, Reznicek et al discloses further comprising a radiation reactive layer disposed over the gate stack (set of gate stacks (a sacrificial gate structure can be formed straddling over a portion of each of the semiconductor fins 14 (See Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0059]-[0061]). Reznicek et al and Kamal et al are silent with regards to a interconnect as claimed. Suzuki et al discloses a semiconductor device and method for fabrication comprising: a interconnect (metal silicide layer) (23) electrically connected (contact plug) to a row of the set of source/drain rows (source/drain regions) (col. 10, lines 3-10). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter with Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device and Suzuki et al discloses of a semiconductor device and method for fabrication. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable a more sensitive compact radiation sensor built from semiconductor transistor-like cells arranged in an array.
Regarding claim 15, Reznicek et al, Kamal et al and Suzuki et al in view of Meek et al discloses a semiconductive properties of uranium oxides comprising: an oxide of uranium-235 (235U) (page 6, Section: Impact of Radioactive Decay). Meek et al further teaches uranium oxide-based semiconductors are a higher performance class of semiconductors. Uranium oxides have intrinsic electrical and electronic properties equivalent to or much better than intrinsic properties of conventional Si, Ge, and GaAs semiconductor material (page 1, Abstract and Introduction). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter, Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device and Suzuki et al discloses a semiconductor device and method for fabrication with Meek et al of semiconductive properties of uranium oxides. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable fast, compact, low-power neutron/radiation detection for terrestrial, space, security, and imaging uses.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznicek et al (US 20210083139 A1) in view of Kamal et al (US 7,163,860 B1) and Suzuki et al (US 8502301 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Reznicek et al discloses a semiconductor radiation dosimeter, comprising: base semiconductor substrate (10) comprising a topmost semiconductor material layer of a semiconductor-on-insulator (SOI) substrate; the SOI substrate includes from bottom to top, an optional handle substrate and an insulator layer (buried oxide and/or buried nitride). The handle substrate comprise the semiconductor materials or a non-semiconductor material such as a dielectric material or a conductive material; and set of source/drain rows (14) (semiconductor fin 14 can be used as the source/drain regions) formed over the semiconductor layer (12L), a charge storage structure (16C) disposed over the semiconductor layer (12L); and set of gate stacks (a sacrificial gate structure can be formed straddling over a portion of each of the semiconductor fins 14. The sacrificial gate structure lies perpendicular to each of the semiconductor fins 14) (See Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0059]-[0061]). Reznicek et al is silent with regards to configuration of the set of gate stacks formed over the charge storage and to an interconnect element as claimed. Kamal et al discloses a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device, comprising: a set of gate stacks formed over the charge storage (col. 3, lines 3, lines 6-16). Suzuki et al discloses a semiconductor device and method for fabrication comprising: a interconnect (metal silicide layer) (23) electrically connected (contact plug) to a row of the set of source/drain rows (source/drain regions) (col. 10, lines 3-10). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter with Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device and Suzuki et al discloses of a semiconductor device and method for fabrication. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable a more sensitive compact radiation sensor built from semiconductor transistor-like cells arranged in an array.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznicek et al (US 20210083139 A1) in view of Kamal et al (US 7,163,860 B1) and Suzuki et al (US 8502301 B2), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Meek et al (“Semiconductive Properties of Uranium Oxides).
Regarding claim 17, Reznicek et al, Kamal et al and Suzuki et al disclose all of the limitations of parent claim 16, as described supra however, Reznicek et al, Kamal et al and Suzuki et al are silent with regards to uranium reactive material. Meek et al discloses a semiconductive properties of uranium oxides comprising: uranium oxide-based semiconductors (See Abstract). Meek et al further teaches uranium oxide-based semiconductors are a higher performance class of semiconductors. Uranium oxides have intrinsic electrical and electronic properties equivalent to or much better than intrinsic properties of conventional Si, Ge, and GaAs semiconductor material (page 1, Abstract and Introduction). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter, Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device and Suzuki et al of a semiconductor device and method for fabrication with Meek et al of semiconductive properties of uranium oxides. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable fast, compact, low-power neutron/radiation detection for terrestrial, space, security, and imaging uses.
Regarding claim 18, Reznicek et al, Kamal et al and Suzuki et al in view of Meek et al discloses a semiconductive properties of uranium oxides comprising: an oxide of uranium-235 (235U) (page 6, Section: Impact of Radioactive Decay. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a mixture of tungsten and uranium-235 of the interconnect, since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 19, Reznicek et al discloses semiconductor substrate (10) comprising a topmost semiconductor material layer of a semiconductor-on-insulator (SOI) substrate; the SOI substrate includes from bottom to top, an optional handle substrate and an insulator layer (buried oxide and/or buried nitride). The handle substrate comprise the semiconductor materials or a non-semiconductor material such as a dielectric material or a conductive material; and set of source/drain rows (14) (semiconductor fin 14 can be used as the source/drain regions) formed over the semiconductor layer (12L) ) (See Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0059]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 20, Reznicek et al, Kamal et al and Suzuki et al disclose all of the limitations of parent claim 19, as described supra however, Reznicek et al, Kamal et al and Suzuki et al are silent with regards to uranium reactive material. Meek et al discloses a semiconductive properties of uranium oxides comprising: uranium oxide-based semiconductors (See Abstract). Meek et al further teaches uranium oxide-based semiconductors are a higher performance class of semiconductors. Uranium oxides have intrinsic electrical and electronic properties equivalent to or much better than intrinsic properties of conventional Si, Ge, and GaAs semiconductor material (page 1, Abstract and Introduction). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reznicek et al of a semiconductor radiation dosimeter, Kamal et al of a method of formation of gate stack spacer and charge storage material reducing hydrogen content in charge trapping dielectric flash memory device and Suzuki et al of a semiconductor device and method for fabrication with Meek et al of semiconductive properties of uranium oxides. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable fast, compact, low-power neutron/radiation detection for terrestrial, space, security, and imaging uses.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hossain et al (US 8232515 B2) discloses an imaging device suitable for detecting certain imaging particles and recording the detection of imaging particles, and as such can include certain recording devices such as a charge storage structure.
Shaneyfelt et al (“An Embeddable SOI Radiation Sensor”) discloses a sensor using buried-oxide RADFET to detect ionizing radiation. Radiation causes electrical charge to build up in the oxide, which changes devices leakage current. That change measured to determine the amount of radiation exposure.
Hughes et al (US 6,071,791 A) discloses a radiation detection array (microelectronic device) (See Abstract) comprising: a substrate (silicon substrate) (col. 1, line 60); a buried dielectric layer (buried oxide layer BOX) (col. 1, lines 60-62) disposed over the substrate, the buried dielectric layer including a radiation reactive material (active silicon layer) (col. 1, lines 60-62); a semiconductor layer (active silicon (SI) layer) disposed over the buried dielectric layer such that the buried dielectric layer is between the substrate and the semiconductor layer (col. 1, lines 60-62). However, Hughes et al is silent with regards to configuration of the set of source/drain rows, charge storage structure, and set of gate stacks as claimed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884