DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 8/5/24 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0377812 A1), herein Jung and Schober et al. (Pub. No.: 2024/0172288), herein Schober.
As to claim 1, Jung teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Jung Fig. 15 memory); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (Jung Fig. 15 processor):
receive first control signaling that schedules a first set of random access channel occasions, wherein the first control signaling indicates a first power control parameter (Jung [0023] According to a possible embodiment, first transmission power can be determined for a first PRACH preamble in a 2-step random access procedure based on a first set of power control parameters. The first PRACH preamble can be transmitted in the 2-step random access procedure based on the first transmission power and [0166] According to a possible embodiment, information of at least one dedicated PRACH preamble and at least one corresponding set of PRACH occasions for the 2-step random access procedure can be received when the type of random access procedure is a 2-step random access procedure)
transmit a first random access channel message via a first random access channel occasion in accordance with the first power control parameter, wherein the first set of random access channel occasions comprises the first random access channel occasion (Jung [0166] Transmitting the MsgA transmission can include transmitting a dedicated PRACH preamble of the at least one dedicated PRACH preamble on a PRACH occasion of a set of PRACH occasions of the at least one set of PRACH occasions and [0023] The first PRACH preamble can be transmitted in the 2-step random access procedure based on the first transmission power);
and
transmit a second random access channel message via a second random access channel occasion in accordance with a second power control parameter based at least in part on the activation of the additional random access channel occasion (Jung [0023] Second transmission power can be determined based on the first set of power control parameters and a second set of power control parameters for a subsequent second PRACH preamble transmission (additional random access channel occasion)
Jung does not teach
receive second control signaling that indicates activation of an additional random access channel occasion
However Schober does teach
receive second control signaling that indicates activation of an additional random access channel occasion (Schober [0015] an additional control resource set and/or an additional sets of the RACH occasions for the random access preamble may be transmitted);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung with Schober, because Schober teaches us [0015] Thus it will be seen that, in such embodiments, an additional control resource set for the random access response and/or an additional sets of the RACH occasions for the random access preamble may be transmitted at the same time as the other respective sets, over different, non-overlapping frequencies, the network apparatus choosing which control resource set to use. This advantageously increases the overall capacity of the network, as the apparatus may be able to communicate with an increased number of reduced capability user apparatuses by configuring one or more of them to utilise the additional sets instead of the other respective sets—e.g. where a single respective control resource set and/or set of RACH occasions provides fewer configuration options than that required by the number of reduced capability user apparatuses in communication with the apparatus.
As to claim 13, Jung teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving first control signaling that schedules a first set of random access channel occasions, wherein the first control signaling indicates a first power control parameter parameter (Jung [0023] According to a possible embodiment, first transmission power can be determined for a first PRACH preamble in a 2-step random access procedure based on a first set of power control parameters. The first PRACH preamble can be transmitted in the 2-step random access procedure based on the first transmission power and [0166] According to a possible embodiment, information of at least one dedicated PRACH preamble and at least one corresponding set of PRACH occasions for the 2-step random access procedure can be received when the type of random access procedure is a 2-step random access procedure)
transmitting a first random access channel message via a first random access channel occasion in accordance with the first power control parameter, wherein the first set of random access channel occasions comprises the first random access channel occasion (Jung [0166] Transmitting the MsgA transmission can include transmitting a dedicated PRACH preamble of the at least one dedicated PRACH preamble on a PRACH occasion of a set of PRACH occasions of the at least one set of PRACH occasions and [0023] The first PRACH preamble can be transmitted in the 2-step random access procedure based on the first transmission power);
transmitting a second random access channel message via a second random access channel occasion in accordance with a second power control parameter based at least in part on the activation of the additional random access channel occasion (Jung [0023] Second transmission power can be determined based on the first set of power control parameters and a second set of power control parameters for a subsequent second PRACH preamble transmission (additional random access channel occasion)
Jung does not teach
receive second control signaling that indicates activation of an additional random access channel occasion
However Schober does teach
receive second control signaling that indicates activation of an additional random access channel occasion (Schober [0015] an additional control resource set and/or an additional sets of the RACH occasions for the random access preamble may be transmitted);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung with Schober for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 20, Jung teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to:
receive first control signaling that schedules a first set of random access channel occasions, wherein the first control signaling indicates a first power control parameter (Jung [0023] According to a possible embodiment, first transmission power can be determined for a first PRACH preamble in a 2-step random access procedure based on a first set of power control parameters. The first PRACH preamble can be transmitted in the 2-step random access procedure based on the first transmission power and [0166] According to a possible embodiment, information of at least one dedicated PRACH preamble and at least one corresponding set of PRACH occasions for the 2-step random access procedure can be received when the type of random access procedure is a 2-step random access procedure);
transmit a first random access channel message via a first random access channel occasion in accordance with the first power control parameter, wherein the first set of random access channel occasions comprises the first random access channel occasion (Jung [0166] Transmitting the MsgA transmission can include transmitting a dedicated PRACH preamble of the at least one dedicated PRACH preamble on a PRACH occasion of a set of PRACH occasions of the at least one set of PRACH occasions and [0023] The first PRACH preamble can be transmitted in the 2-step random access procedure based on the first transmission power);
transmit a second random access channel message via a second random access channel occasion in accordance with a second power control parameter based at least in part on the activation of the additional random access channel occasion (Jung [0023] Second transmission power can be determined based on the first set of power control parameters and a second set of power control parameters for a subsequent second PRACH preamble transmission (additional random access channel occasion)
Jung does not teach
receive second control signaling that indicates activation of an additional random access channel occasion
However Schober does teach
receive second control signaling that indicates activation of an additional random access channel occasion (Schober [0015] an additional control resource set and/or an additional sets of the RACH occasions for the random access preamble may be transmitted);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung with Schober for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 2, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the first set of random access channel occasions comprises the second random access channel message (Jung [0023] Second transmission power can be determined based on the first set of power control parameters)
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 3, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a third random access channel message via a third random access channel occasion in accordance with the second power control parameter and based at least in part on the activation of the additional random access channel occasion, wherein the additional random access channel occasion comprises the first random access channel occasion (Schober [0029] causing a transmission of the random access preamble using one RACH occasion from the additional set of the RACH occasions contained within the second uplink portion and [0031] additional sets of the RACH occasions for the random access preamble and [0032] the additional control resource set and Jung [0145] In one implementation, a UE can receive separate sets of PRACH preamble power control parameters for 2-step and 4-step random access procedures, respectively. In another implementation, the UE can assume that PRACH preamble power control parameters for the 2-step random access procedure are the same as PRACH preamble power control parameters for the 4-step random access procedure, if they are not separately configured)
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 4, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the second random access channel message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit the second random access channel message in accordance with the second power control parameter based at least in part on the additional random access channel occasion comprising the second random access channel occasion (Jung [0145] In one implementation, a UE can receive separate sets of PRACH preamble power control parameters for 2-step and 4-step random access procedures, respectively. In another implementation, the UE can assume that PRACH preamble power control parameters for the 2-step random access procedure are the same as PRACH preamble power control parameters for the 4-step random access procedure, if they are not separately configured and [0023] Second transmission power can be determined based on the first set of power control parameters and a second set of power control parameters for a subsequent second PRACH preamble transmission (additional random access channel occasion)
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 5, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, subsequent to reception of the second control signaling, a third random access channel message via a third random access channel occasion in accordance with the first power control parameter based at least in part on the first set of random access channel occasions comprising the third random access channel occasion (Schober [0029] causing a transmission of the random access preamble using one RACH occasion from the additional set of the RACH occasions contained within the second uplink portion and [0031] additional sets of the RACH occasions for the random access preamble and [0032] the additional control resource set and Jung [0145] In one implementation, a UE can receive separate sets of PRACH preamble power control parameters for 2-step and 4-step random access procedures, respectively. In another implementation, the UE can assume that PRACH preamble power control parameters for the 2-step random access procedure are the same as PRACH preamble power control parameters for the 4-step random access procedure, if they are not separately configured)
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
As to claim 9, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 1, wherein: the first power control parameter comprises a first ramping increment between subsequent random access channel messages, and the second power control parameter comprises a second ramping increment between subsequent random access channel messages different from the first ramping increment between subsequent random access channel messages (Jung [0145] At least some embodiments can provide for PRACH power setting when a UE fallbacks from 2-step RACH to 4-step RACH. PRACH preamble power control parameters can include powerRampingStep and preambleReceivedTargetPower. In one implementation, a UE can receive separate sets of PRACH preamble power control parameters for 2-step and 4-step random access procedures, respectively)
As to claim 10, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the second power control parameter comprises a power offset with respect to the first power control parameter (Jung [0161] DELTA_PREAMBLE1 can be a power offset value based on the preamble format and [0180] According to a possible implementation, the operation can include incrementing a preamble power ramping counter by 1 before determining the second transmission power [0145] In one implementation, a UE can receive separate sets of PRACH preamble power control parameters for 2-step and 4-step random access procedures, respectively)
As to claim 11, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 1, wherein: the first power control parameter comprises a first maximum transmission power, and the second power control parameter comprises a second maximum transmission power different than the first maximum transmission power (Jung [0145] a UE can receive separate sets of PRACH preamble power control parameters for 2-step and 4-step random access procedures, and [0210] a UE can receive separate sets of PRACH preamble power control parameters for 2-step and 4-step random access procedures,
As to claim 12, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, via the first control signaling or the second control signaling, an indication of the second power control parameter (Jung [0023] Second transmission power can be determined based on the first set of power control parameters and a second set of power control parameters for a subsequent second PRACH preamble transmission (additional random access channel occasion)
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, Schober and Pan et al. CN 110149684 B (translated), herein Pan.
As to claim 6, the combination of Jung and Schober teach the UE of claim 1,
Jung nor Schober teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: reset a power control accumulator parameter based at least in part on the activation, wherein the second power control parameter comprises the power control accumulator parameter
However Pan does teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: reset a power control accumulator parameter based at least in part on the activation, wherein the second power control parameter comprises the power control accumulator parameter (Pan [0117] determining the output value of the closed-loop power control accumulator shared by the first BWP and the second BWP, wherein the shared closed-loop power control accumulator is reset when the active BWP is switched from the first BWP to the second BWP.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung and Schober with Pan, because Pan [0005] teaches us the BWP switching indication information is used for indicating the terminal device to switch the active BWP from the first BWP to the second BWP, and determining the output value of the closed loop power control accumulator of the second BWP.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 8 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467