DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation, “the muti-step separation treatment” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2012/163791.
Claims 1-14 are directed to an apparatus, and therefore, the process steps or functions of the apparatus are not patentable in these claims.
A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Fig. of the WO reference is copied herein. It shows 6 columns arranged for an SMB process as claimed. Lines 7-12 show the circulation loop. Each column has two inlet valves, two outlet valves, and a valve controlling one column to the next.
The SMP operation is shown as steps 1 through 6 in figures 1-6. It is a continuous, multi-step process. Each step moves the Li feed, eluent inlet, the Li extract and Mg raffinate from one zone to the next in sequence, describing the requisite valve configurations. However, changing the valve configurations are process steps, for which this system is capable. Similarly, lithium, brine, their concentrations, etc. are also not patentable. The system is capable of continuous process. Therefore, apparatus claims 1-5, 7-11, 13 and 14 are anticipated.
Claim 12: WO does not teach a distributor, but applicant discloses that such a distributor is known in the art, citing: “…a fractal distributor may be a distributor as
shown in U.S. Patent No. 5,354,460 titled Fluid transfer system with uniform fluid distributor.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such known teaching to provide distributors in the columns for the proper flow distribution.
Claim 15: WO teaches in fig. 1 the process as claimed, including forming the system in SMB mode operation, loading the adsorbent, and conducting the first step. While the reference does not explicitly state loading the adsorbent, etc., such are implied. WO also is silent on the second step of recirculating. It has the recirculation loop as shown above. When it switches from fig. 1 to fig. 2, in the natural order of the process, one would have to turn of the inlet and outlet valves of figure 1 and then open the corresponding valves as in figure 2. Thus there is a second step of only recirculation in WO’s teaching, which is at the least the lag time between the switching operations.
Claim 16: synchronous switching of valves: while WO is silent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the valve switching, that is, opening and closing of the inlet and outlet valves to go from one step to the next step in the multi-step process, to be conducted synchronously so as not to upset the continuity of operation of the system. Such operation is also possible using modern automated control systems. WO teaches using a PD controller.
Claims 17-20 recites process steps to optimize the process. The second period in WO would be shorter than the first period by its nature. WO teaching also includes controlling the ratios as in claims 19 and 20 and teaches optimizing Mg/Li and Li/SO4 rations. It also teaches a PD controller, which means the process ratios or flow rates are or can be controlled.
Claim(s) 6 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WO 2012/163791 in view of Al-dhawi et al, “ Lithium adsorption from aqueous solution using aluminum hydroxide: Characterization, optimization by response surface methodology, kinetic modelling, and isotherm studies,” Case Studies in Chemical and Environmental Engineering 7 (2023) 100350
While WO does not teach aluminum hydroxide as the adsorbent for lithium, Al-dhawi teaches that “the choice of aluminum hydroxide as the adsorbent for adsorbing Li from an aqueous solution was made due to its stability during acid treatment, which prevents significant loss of metal, and its remarkable selectivity.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select aluminum hydroxide as the adsorbent.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771