DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 31-50 are pending and are examined herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 31-38, 41-47 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,241,467 in view of Asari et al. (US Patent Application 2014/0220063 A1, of record).
The referenced claims recite a method of treating acne by administering a substituted or unsubstituted diindolylmethane and a substituted or unsubstituted retinoic acid based compound.
The referenced claims do not teach a sublingual or buccal route of administration.
Asari et al. teach that 3,3’-diindolylmethane can be formulated into a liquid for sublingual administration (Table 46, example 722; Table 47, example 791; Table 48, example 857).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the claimed invention was made, to formulate a composition comprising diindolylmethane for a method of treating acne into a composition that can be administered by a sublingual or buccal route, as taught by Asari et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat a subject with acne by administering a composition comprising diindolylmethane by a sublingual or buccal route because Asari et al. teach that diindolylmethane is known to be administered sublingually as a liquid. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating acne by administering diindolylmethane and vitamin A palmitate by a sublingual or buccal route.
Claims 31-50 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,331,303.
Both sets of claims recite a method of treating a skin condition in a subject by administering a composition comprising diindolylmethane and vitamin A palmitate, wherein the composition is administered by a sublingual or buccal route.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 31-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over Alpert et al. (WO 2012/130698 A1, of record) in view of Asari et al. (US Patent Application 2014/0220063 A1, of record).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating a skin condition in a subject by administering a composition comprising diindolylmethane and vitamin A palmitate, wherein the composition is administered by a sublingual or buccal route.
Alpert et al. teach a method of treating a skin condition (claim 32) by administering a substituted or unsubstituted diindolylmethane (claim 1) and vitamin A palmitate (claim 8, figure 1), wherein the skin condition is acne (claim 18). Diindoylmethane can be in micro-encapsulated particle form. Pharmaceutically acceptable excipients are also taught (page 13, third and fourth paragraphs). A preferred daily dosage is 18-75 mg (bridging paragraph on pages 11-12). Patients were administered this composition over the course of 3 months (entire page 17). Oral or topical administration, in the form of a tablet, capsule, gel, cream, or ointment, is taught (claims 19-20), however, any route of administration may be used (page 11, first full paragraph). This composition is adapted for increased bioavailability (claim 23) or synergy (page 2, first paragraph).
However, Alpert et al. fail to disclose a sublingual or buccal route of administration.
Asari et al. teach that 3,3’-diindolylmethane can be formulated into a liquid for sublingual administration (Table 46, example 722; Table 47, example 791; Table 48, example 857).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the claimed invention was made, to formulate a composition comprising diindolylmethane and vitamin A palmitate for a method of treating acne, as taught by Alpert et al., into a composition that can be administered by a sublingual or buccal route, as taught by Asari et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat a subject with acne by administering a composition comprising diindolylmethane and vitamin A palmitate by a sublingual or buccal route because Alpert et al. teach that any known route of administration may be used, in general. Furthermore, Asari et al. teach that diindolylmethane is known to be administered sublingually as a liquid. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating acne by administering diindolylmethane and vitamin A palmitate by a sublingual or buccal route.
The Examiner notes that the limitations drawn to increased bioavailability are obvious to occur in vivo since these are mechanism of action that will occur when the same compounds are being administered to the same subject at the same dosage.
Applicant’s arguments herein are related to the mechanism of action of an agent in the treatment. Note that the mechanism of action of an agent in the treatment, by itself, does not have a bearing on the patentability of the invention if the method steps are already known even though applicant has proposed or claimed the mechanism. Applicant’s recitation of a new mechanism of action for the prior art method will not, by itself, distinguish the instant claims over the prior art teaching the same or nearly the same method steps.
Conclusion
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623