Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 64-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and 102(b) as being unpatentable over WO20030113740 A1 to Mirkin. Mirkin teaches synthesizing a block copolymer and a graft polymer (a method of making a graft polymer)) (paragraph [0165]) (ROMP polymer bound to oligonucleotides; abstract; paragraph [0004]), through radical polymerization Mirkin teaches radical polymerization, the method comprising: (i) reacting a plurality of oligonucleotide monomers (paragraph [0004]) with a polymerization catalyst or initiator (reacting ROMP polymers or copolymers in the presence of a metathesis catalyst; paragraph [0004]), wherein each of said plurality of oligonucleotide monomers (plurality of oligonucleotides; multiple strands, paragraphs [0005], [0047]; polymer or block copolymer comprising DNA strands, figures 1, 2; paragraph [0125]) comprises a polymerizable monomer covalently bound to an oligonucleotide (polymerization of monomer (norborene) attached to oligonucleotides (wherein 100% of the polymerized polymerizable monomers are each individually attached directly to the oligonucleotide or to the oligonucleotide through a covalent linker) (paragraphs [0004], [0125]); and (ii) terminating said reacting with a chain terminator or transfer agent (paragraphs [0080], [0178]). Mirkin teaches wherein said oligonucleotide (paragraphs [0005], [0047]) comprises at least 3 nucleobases and at least 2 different nucleobases (oligonucleotide GCGTAAGTCCTA (12 nucleobases; 4 different nucleobases; figure 1; paragraph [0057]). Mirkin teaches wherein said oligonucleotide (paragraphs [0005], [0047]) comprises at least 5 nucleobases and at least 3 different nucleobases (oligonucleotide GCGTAAGTCCTA (12 nucleobases; 4 different nucleobases; figure 1; paragraph [0057]). Mirkin teaches wherein said oligonucleotide (paragraphs [0005], [0047]) comprises at least 10 nucleobases and at least 4 different nucleobases (oligonucleotide GCGTAAGTCCTA (12 nucleobases; 4 different nucleobases; figure 1; paragraph [0057]). Mirkin teaches wherein the polymer comprises a linear (oligonucleotides attached through linear linker; paragraph [0108]) backbone (polymer backbone to which oligonucleotides are attached; paragraph [0112]) comprising a polynorbornyl chain (block copolymers comprising norbornenyl blocks; paragraphs [0005], [0010]). Mirkin teaches wherein the polymer (ROMP polymer bound to oligonucleotides; abstract; paragraph [0004]) has the formula: R1-[M(O)]n-R2 (polymerization monomer (norborene) attached to oligonucleotide prior to polymerization paragraphs [0004], [0125]; modified at the 5' and 3' ends; paragraph [0153]) wherein, n is an integer from 2 to 1000 (one or more blocks; paragraph [0112]; diblock copolymer; paragraph [0111]); M is the polymerized product of the polymerizable monomer (ROMP polymer, abstract; paragraph [0004]; copolymers comprising norborenenyl blocks, paragraphs [0005], [0010])); o is the oligonucleotide (paragraph [0004]); and R1 and R2 are terminal polymer moieties (5' and 3' alkylthiol moieties; paragraph [0153]). Mirkin teaches radical polymerization, controlled radical polymerization, reversible addition-fragmentation chain transfer (RAFT) polymerization, atom transfer radical polymerization (ATRP), ring-opening metathesis polymerization (ROMP) (abstract; paragraph [0004]), anionic and cationic polymerizations, free radical living polymerization, acyclic diene metathesis polymerization, radiation-induced polymerization, ring-opening olefin metathesis polymerization, polycondensation reactions, or iniferter-induced polymerization. Mirkin teaches a graft polymer (ROMP polymer bound to oligonucleotides; abstract; paragraph [0004]) comprising a linear (oligonucleotides attached through linear linker; paragraph [0108]) backbone covalently bound (polymer backbone to which oligonucleotides are attached, paragraph [0112]; diphenylacetylene backbone; figure 3A; paragraph [0144]) to a plurality of oligonucleotides (plurality of oligonucleotides; multiple strands, paragraphs [0005], [0047]; polymer or block copolymer comprising DNA strands, figures 1, 2; paragraph [0125]) wherein said graft polymer (ROMP polymer bound to oligonucleotides; abstract; paragraph [0004]) is assembled by graft-through polymerization (polymerization using ring-opening metathesis polymer (ROMP); paragraph [0004]) of a plurality of oligonucleotide monomers comprising a polymerizable monomer covalently bound to an oligonucleotide (polymerization of monomer (norborene) attached to oligonucleotides; paragraphs [0004], [0125]); and multiple branch points for oligonucleotide attachment (figure 4; paragraphs [0161], [0162]). This anticipates the present claims.
Conclusion
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
June 24, 2026