Reissue – Final Rejection
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
Status of Claims
Amended patent claims 1-7 and new claims 8-34 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-10, 13, 14, 19, 21-24, 27-30, 33, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admission of the Prior Art (hereinafter AAPA) in view of US 2009/0115042 to Koyanagi (hereinafter Koyanagi) and US 2016/0056055 to Ko et al. (hereinafter Ko).
With respect to claims 1, 4, 8-10, 22-24, 27-30, 33, and 34, AAPA (Description of Related Art; col.1, lines 25-67) teaches a known method of manufacturing micro optoelectronic semiconductor devices includes epitaxially growing GaN diodes on a temporary substrate followed by transferring a plurality of the diodes to a silicon matrix substrate. The temporary substrate is subsequently removed via LLO, leaving a residue of gallium metal on the diode. The conventional method of removing the residue is by using a chemical such as an acid. AAPA additionally teaches that the gallium nitride must be removed to prevent light emitted by the micro-LED from being blocked. AAPA does not teach the matrix substrate comprises a circuit, that at least one electrode of each semiconductor device is connected with the circuit, forming a protective layer covering the semiconductor elements, or grinding the protective layer so as to remove the residual and the back surface to expose a new surface to increase illumination efficiency of the LEDs.
Koyanagi discloses it was known when manufacturing micro semiconductor elements to attach the semiconductors 13 to a substrate 11 having a circuit layer 12 thereon, and electrically connect the electrodes on the semiconductors to the electrodes on the substrate. See Figure 1; paras [0015, 0224]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a circuit on the substrate disclosed by AAPA, and connect the semiconductor to the circuit using electrodes in the known manner, as doing so permits the diode to operate according to the desired function of the circuit, particularly as AAPA states that a packaging step may be used to form chips containing the semiconductor devices. See col.1, lines 43-44.
Koyanagi further discloses forming a protective layer 14 around each semiconductor 13. Additionally, the protective layer is added to the top surface of the semiconductor. See Figure 1(c). The protective layer and back surface of the semiconductor is mechanically polished (i.e. grinding) to remove the protective layer and planarize the semiconductor, exposing a new layer level with a surface of the adjacent protective layer. See Figure 1(d); paras [0028, 0073, 0076, 0225-0227]. The protective layer is an insulating adhesive, such as an epoxy. See paras [0284-0285]. Further, the protective layer is disclosed to provide mechanical and electrical stability to the semiconductors arranged on the substrate (para [0023]) and planarization unifies the size/height of the semiconductors (para [0028]).
Ko teaches a method of manufacturing semiconductors devices wherein semiconductor dies 130 are electrically connected to a substrate 120 through redistribution layer 112 and electrodes 131 (para [0035]) and the entire array is covered with an encapsulant 140. See Figure 2I; para [0037]. Ko specifically states that the “encapsulant 140 may, for example, be formed to entirely cover the second surface 110b of the interposer 110 and the semiconductor die 130” (para [0037]). Thus, although shown in Figure 2I to only cover the side of die 130, the encapsulant 140 may entirely cover the semiconductor die. See also Figure 6J, illustrating the encapsulant 450 entirely covering die 440. Ko discloses that “[s]uch covering may then, for example if exposure of the semiconductor die 130 is desired, be followed by back grinding and/or etching or otherwise thinning (if needed) to allow the first surface 130a of the semiconductor die 130 to be exposed from the encapsulant 140.” See para [0037]. As shown in the Figures, the semiconductor element is leveled with a surface of the adjacent protective layer/encapsulant. The encapsulant is disclosed by Ko to protect the die from environmental and electrical damage and may be epoxy. See paras [0034, 0037, 0129].
It would have been obvious to completely cover the micro optoelectronic semiconductor devices of AAPA with a protective layer/encapsulant as disclosed by Ko and Koyanagi in order to provide mechanical stability and protection from environmental or electrical damage. Further, it would have been obvious to grind down the encapsulant from the back surface of the dies, in order to expose and thin them to a uniform height in the manner disclosed by Ko and Koyanagi. Doing so would necessarily remove any gallium residue remaining on the dies.
As to claim 13, Ko teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention to use photodiodes as a light-receiving element in a sensor array. See para [0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the modified micro LEDs of AAPA in a sensor since this is a known utility and one would have yielded predictable results. See MPEP 2143 I C.
As to claim 14, AAPA discloses the micro optoelectronic devices are LEDs. See col.1, lines 45-50.
With respect to claim 19, AAPA discloses that a plurality of dies are transferred to the target substrate. While AAPA is silent as to how the dies are arranged, at the very least they would be considered to be in an “irregular shape” if not arranged in a particular order.
As to claim 21, AAPA is silent as to the spacing of adjacent semiconductor elements. However, as the elements are micro optoelectronic devices and as one would have been motivated to maximize the number of devices on a substrate, it would have been obvious to optimize the spacing/pitch to be within the claimed range for improved economics of production and handling.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5-7, 20, 25, 26, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA, Koyanagi, and Ko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0062683 to Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen).
With respect to claims 2, 3, 25, and 26, AAPA is silent as to arrangement of the layers within the micro LED semiconductor elements. Chen discloses a micro LED device comprising a p-type semiconductor layer 122, a light-emitting layer 123, an n-type semiconductor layer 124, a non-doped layer 121 (para [0073]), and a buffer layer (last line of para [0073]). It would have been obvious to use the LED semiconductor structure of Chen in the invention of AAPA, as Chen discloses growth of a p-n diode layer on a substrate is
known and conventional. See paras [0070-0071]. As to the thickness of the non-doped layer after grinding, Koyanagi and Ko each teach that the semiconductors may be thinned to the desired thickness by grinding. See Koyanagi, paras [0028, 0055, 0251]; Ko, paras [0037, 0110]. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, it is deemed obvious to optimize the process of the combination to achieve a semiconductor die having the desired thickness for the particular use.
As to claims 5-7, AAPA as modified by Koyanagi and Ko is silent to a substrate on the plurality of semiconductor elements. However, Chen discloses micro LEDs like that of AAPA that may additionally have a microlens array on top of the array of semiconductor elements. See Figure 22B; para [0155]. It would have been obvious to place a microlens array on top of the diode array of the combination, as microlens arrays are commonly used in LED technology for creating uniform illumination. As to the relative refractive indexes of the protective layer, protective substrate, and lenses, one of ordinary skill in the art of LED technology would have been motivated to maintain the refractive indexes of each of these layer to be index matched in order to avoid light refracting and reflecting thus achieving a single beam of light.
With respect to claim 20, AAPA is silent as to the length of the micro-sized semiconductor elements. However, Chen teaches micro devices generally have a size of 1 to 100 µm. See para [0062]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the micro devices of AAPA to fall within the same range.
As to claims 31 and 32, the combination of AAPA with Koyanagi and Ko discloses an LED having a horizontal structure, where the electrodes are on the same side of the semiconductor element. Chen however teaches that micro-LEDs may also have a vertical configuration wherein electrodes 150,160 are disposed on opposite sides of the structure. See Figure 1B. As vertical micro-LEDs are generally known to have superior brightness and energy efficiency, it would have been obvious to manufacture vertical LEDs using the method of modified AAPA.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA, Koyanagi, and Ko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0365755 to Chu (hereinafter Chu).
AAPA, as modified by Koyanagi and Ko, discloses the manufacture of micro optoelectronic devices but does not disclose they are configured to be mounted on a VR or AR display device. Chu teaches it was known in the art to mount micro LEDs in a head mounted display, VR display, and AR display. See para [0003]. As the micro LEDs of AAPA would have small size and high resolution, one would have found it obvious to use them in displays requiring these parameters, such as VR and AR displays.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA, Koyanagi, and Ko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0301724 to Lee (hereinafter Lee).
AAPA as modified by Koyanagi and Ko is silent to the matrix circuit including a plurality of active elements or a plurality of interlaced data and scan lines. Lee discloses a manufacture method of a display substrate wherein the substrate 10 includes TFTs 20 on one side of the substrate and micro-LEDs 20 on the other side of the device, such that each TFT switches ON/OFF a corresponding micro-LED. See paras [0026-0027]; Figure 2. Further, Lee teaches the substrate has plural “data lines intersected with scan lines to define a plurality of pixel regions. Each of the pixel regions comprising a displaying unit and a switch device…” See para [0008]. As a display is a common use of micro-LEDs due to their brightness and high resolution, it would have been obvious to mount the micro LEDs of AAPA on a TFT substrate having data and scan lines in the manner disclosed by Lee.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record, Koyanagi and Ko, do not teach or suggest an upper surface of the protective layer is on a different level than the back surface of at least one of the semiconductor elements. In Koyanagi and Ko, after the grinding/polishing step, the protective layer and the back surface of the semiconductor elements are at the same height and there is no motivation to grind only part of the protective layer or semiconductor element such that the protective layer is on a different level than the back surface of at least one of the semiconductor elements.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendments filed 9 April 2026 have overcome the rejections under 35 USC §112(a) and (b).
Applicant's arguments filed 9 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Koyanagi and Ko each lack disclosure of the presence of a residual that is the subject of the back grinding. See pages 8-9 of Response. However, a POSITA would understand that as GaN residues are present on the surface of the semiconductor devices, a grinding step effective to thin and planarize the die would also remove the residues. AAPA provides a clear motivation to continue the grinding so as to remove the residues, teaching “Traditionally, the gallium metal residuals on the surface of gallium nitride layer are cleaned with chemicals such as hydrochloric acid, so that the light emitted by the light-emitting diode can be prevented from being blocked by the gallium metal residuals.” See col.1, lines 36-40.
Conclusion
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No. 10,600,932 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
supervisor Patricia Engle can be reached on 571-272-6660. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a
USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/ELIZABETH L MCKANE/Specialist, Art Unit 3991
Conferees:
/LEONARDO ANDUJAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3991
/Patricia L Engle/SPRS, Art Unit 3991