DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2003312882A to Shinagawa.
With regard to Claim 1, Shinagawa teaches a recording device (100) [0019] comprising:
a recording unit (31) configured to perform recording on a medium (P) transported from upstream toward downstream in a transport direction (fig. 1) [0021-0022];
a cutting unit (4) configured to cut the medium (P) on which recording is performed by the recording unit (31) [0023]; and
a removing unit (44) configured to remove paper dust generated when the medium is cut by the cutting unit [0027].
With regard to Claim 2, Shinagawa teaches wherein the cutting unit (4) includes: a movable blade (421) configured to cut the medium (P); and a moving unit (43) configured to move the movable blade (421) in a width direction intersecting the transport direction, the removing unit (44) is configured to come into contact with the medium (P), and the removing unit (44) together with the movable blade (421) is moved by the moving unit (43) [0026] and (fig. 2)
With regard to Claim 3, Shinagawa teaches wherein in a cutting direction in which the movable blade (421) moves when the movable blade cuts the medium (P), the removing unit (44) is disposed upstream of a cutting position at which the movable blade cuts the medium (fig. 2).
With regard to Claim 4, Shinagawa teaches wherein a downstream end, in the cutting direction, of the removing unit (44) is disposed more upstream in the transport direction than an upstream end, in the cutting direction, of the removing unit (44), and is disposed upstream in the transport direction of the movable blade (421) (fig. 2).
With regard to Claim 5, Shinagawa teaches wherein the upstream end, in the cutting direction, of the removing unit (44) is disposed downstream in the transport direction of the movable blade (421) (fig. 2).
With regard to Claim 7, Shinagawa teaches wherein the cutting unit (4) includes a fixed blade (412) configured to cut the medium (P) in collaboration with the movable blade (421), the fixed blade extends in the width direction (fig. 2), and the removing unit (44) is configured to come into contact with the fixed blade (412) [0027].
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,059,129 to Sato.
With regard to Claim 16, Sato teaches a recording device (1) comprising:
a recording unit (4) configured to perform recording on a medium (P) transported from upstream toward downstream in a transport direction (col. 4, lines 5-26);
a cutting unit (30) configured to cut the medium (P) on which recording is performed by the recording unit (12);
a discharging unit (5) configured to transport, to the downstream, the medium on which recording is performed by the recording unit and the medium cut by the cutting unit (fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 63-64); and
a paper-dust holding unit (66) disposed below the cutting unit (30) and configured to hold paper dust generated when the medium is cut by the cutting unit (col. 6, lines 23-32 and fig. 7.)
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers (or paragraphs or figures) in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. The specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim. Other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13-15, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of Claim 6 is the inclusion of the limitations the moving unit includes a contact portion configured to push downward a portion of the medium that is disposed downstream in the transport direction of the movable blade. It is these features found in the claim(s) which have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of Claims 8-12 is the inclusion of the limitations the removing unit is provided at the shaft portion; the removing unit is configured to come into contact with the movable blade. It is these features found in the claim(s) which have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of Claim 13 is the inclusion of the limitations the accommodation unit is detachable relative to an inside of the housing. It is these features found in the claim(s) which have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of Claim 14 is the inclusion of the limitations wherein the accommodation unit and the mounting section are integrally detachable relative to an inside of the housing. It is these features found in the claim(s) which have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of Claims 15 and 17 is the inclusion of the limitations a wall portion configured to make the paper-dust holding unit and the recording unit separated in the transport direction. It is these features found in the claim(s) which have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of Claim 18 is the inclusion of the limitations a flow-in section configured to cause the waste liquid collected in the waste-liquid collection section to flow into the paper-dust holding unit. It is these features found in the claim(s) which have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of Claim 19 is the inclusion of the limitations the paper-dust holding unit is supported by the fixed blade. It is these features found in the claim(s) which have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 2023078695 A discloses the mobile printer 1 of this embodiment has a cutting unit 50 that cuts the recording paper P, and the cutting unit 50 is housed in the housing space of the housing 100 . Therefore, paper dust generated when the recording paper P is cut, and iron dust generated by abrasion of the fixed blade 54 and the movable blade 56 generated when the cutting unit 50 cuts the recording paper P are removed from the housing 100. It penetrates inside the accommodation space and accumulates inside the accommodation space. When such paper powder and iron powder enter between the receiving coil 110 and the inner surface 102a of the surface 102, the magnetic field Pmg for receiving power by the receiving coil 110 is disturbed. Power reception efficiency may decrease.
WO 2020013165 A1 discloses a printing apparatus with thinner and smaller size in which the sheets or tanks are accessible from a certain direction to the printing apparatus. Provided is a printing apparatus 10 comprising a casing 14, a tank 70, a passing port 13 through which a part of a printed paper roll 11 passes, and a cutter unit 18. The cutter unit 18 includes a cutter carriage 81 capable of moving in a lateral direction and a cutter 82 mounted in the cutter carriage 81. The cutter unit 18 and the passing port 13 are positioned at the same level as the tank 70 in the vertical direction. The tank 70 is positioned in the right side away from the passing port 13 in the lateral direction. The cutter carriage 81 at a waiting position H is positioned in the left side away from the passing port 13 in the lateral direction.
JP H0789158 A discloses a way to eliminate the defective operation of a cutter and the formation of a defective image because of paper powder by disposing a cutting section of a medium to be recorded almost below a recording section and cutting on a section positioned on the upstream in the scanning direction of the recording section.
JP-H08207176-A discloses to prevent the jamming of a sheet by providing the label stacker sliding in the same direction as the operation direction of a cutter blade and pressing a label by a label press member accompanied by the operation of the cutter blade and providing a destaticizing brush on the label feed side of the cutter blade.
Communication with the PTO
SHARON A. POLK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Sharon Polk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853