DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-8, 10-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0314421 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Vaughan et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0169790 (hereinafter Vaughan).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus for implementing in-person teaching and online teaching within a single housing (from paragraph 0084, see all the functions can be implemented in one apparatus), wherein:
the multimedia circuitry is configured to collect a first multimedia signal both on-site and from remote in real time (from paragraph 0044, see A bidirectional interactive lecture can be obtained, in which the camera focuses on the lecturer in the remote classroom using the remote lecture system. Namely, the combined virtual lecture is transmitted to the remote lecture room or the conference room via the network, and the image of the remote side is shown at the side of the lecturer, which makes it possible to provide a bidirectional interactive lecture, thus obtaining a seminar, a remote lecture and a conference in an interactive way. The above features allow the lecturer to feel like he gives a lecture at the actual place) and transmit the first multimedia signal to the processor, wherein the first multimedia signal both on-site and from remote at least comprises an instructor’s courseware video signal (from paragraph 0138, see a streaming material received by way of IP, and a motion file such as AVI format data, a web material, photos, MS word and power point files), an instructor’s lecturing image/video signal (from paragraph 0134, see The camera 100 takes the image of the lecturer), an instructor’s audio signal (from paragraph 0141, see The rendering part 300 might further combine the voice of the lecturer inputted by way of the microphone 800) and an image/video signal of on-site students (from paragraph 0138, see The lecture material is formed of an external video device for showing a student who asks question);
the processor is configured to receive and process the first multimedia signal to generate a second multimedia signal comprising a combined display (from Figure 13, see 390) of the instructor’s courseware video signal (from Figure 12, see 360) overlaid with the instructor’s lecturing image/video signal (from Figure 12, see 370), and send the processed second multimedia signal to the multimedia circuitry; and
the multimedia circuitry further comprises at least one set of multimedia output interfaces, configured to connect to, and transmit the processed second multimedia signal received from the processor to, a multimedia display device (from abstract, see display apparatus) arranged locally and/or remotely for display.
Further regarding claim 1, Kim does not teach the wireless transceiver and the antenna interface are configured to connect via a wireless connection to a wireless controller for receiving an operation instruction transmitted from the wireless controller and sending the operation instruction to the processor, wherein the wireless controller is a handheld remote control device separate from the single integrated device. All the same, Vaughan discloses the wireless transceiver and the antenna interface are configured to connect via a wireless connection to a wireless controller for receiving an operation instruction (from abstract, see remote control) transmitted from the wireless controller and sending the operation instruction to the processor, wherein the wireless controller is a handheld remote control device (from Figure 2, see 30) separate from the single integrated device (from Figure 3, see 50). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim wherein the wireless transceiver and the antenna interface are configured to connect via a wireless connection to a wireless controller for receiving an operation instruction transmitted from the wireless controller and sending the operation instruction to the processor, wherein the wireless controller is a handheld remote control device separate from the single integrated device as taught by Vaughan. This modification would have improved the system’s convenience by allowing the presenter to retain control of the presentation application, such as when slides are advanced and so forth, even when not situated near the computer as suggested by Vaughan (see paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, characterized in that the multimedia circuitry comprises one set of multimedia input interfaces (from paragraph 0138, see an external connector input) for inputting a local instructor’s courseware video signal.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, characterized in that the multimedia circuitry comprises one set of network input interfaces configured to connect to a cloud server for uploading a recorded courseware to the cloud server for storage (from paragraph 0147, see The lecture file storage 700 records the final image 390 from the display apparatus 300 and stores them in a file format. When the final image 390 is provided to the audience in real time, the final image 390 is recorded into the file storage 700, which can be applied for multiple purposes as education materials. According to another embodiment of the present invention, the stored lecture file can be stored in a DVD format for a lecture).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, characterized in that the multimedia circuitry comprises at least two sets of webcam interfaces for acquiring an instructor’s lecturing image/video signal and an image/video signal of on-site students, respectively captured by local webcams (from paragraph 0217, see When the question and answer are needed, the presenter can perform a remote PTZ in which the image of the question person is displayed on the screen with the aid of the cameras. The presentation scenes are transmitted to the remote area, so the presentation can be seen at the remote area. The remote cameras can be activated, so the audiences in another space can hear the presentation while seeing the faces with each other, which are implemented in a remote system).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, characterized in that the multimedia circuitry comprises two sets of multimedia output interfaces, wherein one set of multimedia output interfaces is configured to connect to a head-up display arranged locally, and another set of multimedia output interfaces is configured to connect to a home screen arranged locally (see Figure 29).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, characterized in that the multimedia circuitry further comprises a USB audio interface configured to receive and store an instructor’s audio signal (see Figure 16).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 6, characterized in that the multimedia circuitry further comprises an audio output module configured to output system and remote audio signals (from paragraph 0058, see an audio mixer setting step in which an audio from a lecturer and the audios contained in the videos to be used for the background are mixed to have certain levels and are outputted).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, characterized in that, further comprising USB ports configured to connect to at least one of a USB splitter, a wired keyboard & mouse, a wireless keyboard & mouse, a laser pointer with remote control, an audio processor, a sound console, a sound card, and an audio mixer (from paragraph 0216, see external camera, notebook computer input, tablet, keyboard, mouse and microphone are engaged).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless controller is configured to transmit operation instructions (from Figure 15, see 380) for controlling the processing of the first multimedia signal by the processor.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the multimedia circuitry is configured to simultaneously collect the first multimedia signal from on-site sources and remote sources in real time (from paragraph 0044, see A bidirectional interactive lecture can be obtained, in which the camera focuses on the lecturer in the remote classroom using the remote lecture system. Namely, the combined virtual lecture is transmitted to the remote lecture room or the conference room via the network, and the image of the remote side is shown at the side of the lecturer, which makes it possible to provide a bidirectional interactive lecture, thus obtaining a seminar, a remote lecture and a conference in an interactive way. The above features allow the lecturer to feel like he gives a lecture at the actual place).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second multimedia signal displays the instructor’s lecturing image/video signal (from Figure 12, see 370) in a picture-in-picture format (from Figure 13, see 390) overlaid on the instructor’s courseware video signal (from Figure 13, see 360).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least two sets of webcam interfaces are configured to connect to local webcams positioned to capture the instructor (from Figure 32, see 3101) and on-site students (see Figure 28) from different viewing angles.
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the USB audio interface is configured to store the instructor’s audio signal in synchronization with the instructor’s courseware video signal (from paragraph 0148, see The microphone 800 serves to receive the voice of the lecturer. The lecturer generally gives a lecture in the form of voice. When the final image 390 is stored in the lecture file storage 700 in the form of file, the voice of the lecturer is received and added to the final image 390. The present invention uses the microphone 800 for recording the voice of the lecturer into the file).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the head-up display is configured to display the second multimedia signal to the instructor during lecturing (see Figure 32).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the home screen is configured to display the second multimedia signal to on-site students (see Figure 28).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the network input interfaces are configured to upload the recorded courseware including the second multimedia signal to the cloud server for remote online access (from paragraph 0149, see The server 900 serves to receive the data from the rendering part 330 or the lecture file storage 700 by way of the wired or wireless network and provides the final image 390 to multiple client computers connected for the virtual studio lecture. As the server 900 receives the final image 390 from the rendering part 330 and provides in real time to the client computers, thus implementing a remote lecture. Since the lecture files stored in the lecture file storage 700 are transmitted by way of the wired or wireless network, thus creating a VOD lecture service).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are deemed to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 9 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
Olisa Anwah
Patent Examiner
July 20, 2026
/OLISA ANWAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692