DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 22 September 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: write out MCT the first time it is used in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “traditional teas.” The specification does not provide a definition for traditional teas. It is unclear what properties a tea must have in order to be considered traditional. For the purpose of examination, 6 will be interpreted as any composition comprising tea leave is considered traditional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR20090062615A). All citations to Kim refer to the English translation.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a powder tea and the method for producing the same [2]. Kim discloses pulverizing roasted soybeans and mixing with peanut (both of which comprise lipids), corn starch and roasted rice bran (organic materials) and powdered fat and filling the tea bags with the mixed powder (Beginning of [4]). Kim’s mixed powder meets the claim limitation of a steepable organically based substance.
As to the claim language “wherein said organic material and lipid are mixed together, heated and agitated while heating to produce a base material, wherein said base material is cooled, wherein said base material is then ground to a desired size to produce a ground base material, and wherein said ground base material is then mixed with a powdered lipid to produce said steepable organic substance,” this is product by process claim language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113 I. Additionally, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP 2112.01 I. Since Kim discloses the organic material, lipid and powdered fat are mixed as a powder to be used as tea, the product of the prior art is materially indistinguishable from the composition produced by the recited product by process claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the powder tea comprises salt, pine nuts and walnut (flavors) [4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reillo (US 2016/0310443 A1) in view of Orgain (MCT oil vs MCT Powder: What makes them different (2021) https://orgain.com/blogs/blogs/mct-oil-vs-mct-powder?srsltid=AYCX9vLcbuN9cRMsa7freuv1gnNFrQ7Pe_4TN6lUD4lE7wd3LI85DvTU) and Feel State (The complete guide to cannabis oil infusions, 2021 https://feelstate.com/the-complete-guide-to-cannabis-oil-infusions/).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4 and 5; Reillo discloses a lipophilic active agent infused food product comprising a lipophilic active agent, a bioavailability enhancing agent, and a food product [0010]. Reillo discloses the lipophilic active agent may be cannabinoid, the bioavailability enhancing agent may be an edible fat or oil, and the food product may be tea leaves [0010] [0036]. Reillo discloses an embodiment which comprises tea leaves, hemp oil and cannabis leaves [0069], which meet the claim limitation of a steepable organically based substance comprising organic material and a lipid.
Reillo does not disclose mixing in a powdered lipid.
Orgain, in the field of medium chain triglycerides (MCT’s), discloses MCT’s have multiple health benefits including decreasing insulin resistance and lowering body weight (p3). Orgain discloses MCT powder has a creamy texture when added to liquids and is best suited to beverages like coffee or tea (p2, Texture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the cannabis, tea leaves and hemp oil of Reillo with the powdered MCT of Orgain since Orgain discloses the powdered MCT’s provide health benefits and are advantageously used in beverages like tea.
Reillo does not disclose the heating and grinding of the material
Feel State, in the field of cannabis oil infusions, discloses using coconut oil or MCT fractionated coconut oil for the infusion (p7). Feel state discloses grinding the material to increase the surface area of the plant material to allow for more effective infusion (p9, para 3). Feel State discloses heating your plant material in order to convert the THCA (Tetrahydrocannabinolic acid) to THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) and the CBDA (cannabidiolic acid) to CBD (Cannabidiol) via decarboxylation converts them to cannabinoids that bind well to human endocannabinoid receptors (p9, Step 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combined the cannabis leaves and oil of Reillo with the grinding and heating of Feel State in order to increase the surface area of the plant material with respect to the oil to allow a more effective infusion and also with the heating of Feel State in order to decarboxylate the THCA and CBDA into THC and CBD which bind well to the human endocannabinoid receptors.
As to the claim language “wherein said organic material and lipid are mixed together, heated and agitated while heating to produce a base material, wherein said base material is cooled, wherein said base material is then ground to a desired size to produce a ground base material, and wherein said ground base material is then mixed with a powdered lipid to produce said steepable organic substance,” this is product by process claim language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113 I. Additionally, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP 2112.01 I. The product of the prior art is materially indistinguishable from the composition produced by the recited product by process claim limitations.
Regarding claim 3, Reillo discloses the oil may be glycerol triesters of medium chain fatty acids (medium chain triglycerides) [0037].
Regarding claim 6, Reillo discloses the food product may also comprise tea leaves, herbs, spices and/or flavoring agents [0010].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 22 of copending Application No. 18/534,272 (reference application herein referred to as ‘272). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1-4, claims 21 and 22 of ‘272 disclose a cannabis plant material (organic material) a medium chain triglyceride oil (lipid) and a medium chain triglyceride oil powder (lipid powder). The edible organically based substance of ‘272 meets the claim limitation of a steepable organically based substance, since it can be soaked in liquid to achieve a concentration of organic material in the liquid.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. It is noted that claims 21 and 22 of Application No. 18/534,272 have been allowed, however the fees have not been paid and a patent number has not been issued. When the fees have been paid and the patent number issued, this rejection would become non-provisional.
Claims 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 22 of copending Application No. 18/534,272 in view of Reillo (US 2016/0310443 A1).
Regarding claims 5-6, as discussed above, claims 21 and 22 of ‘272 disclose the limitations of instant claim 1. ‘272 does not disclose the substance comprises tea.
Reillo, in the field of food products comprising cannabis, discloses a lipophilic active agent infused food product comprising a lipophilic active agent, a bioavailability enhancing agent, and a food product [0010]. Reillo discloses the lipophilic active agent may be cannabinoid, the bioavailability enhancing agent may be an edible fat or oil, and the food product may be tea leaves [0010] [0036]. Reillo discloses an embodiment which comprises tea leaves, hemp oil and cannabis leaves [0069].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the composition of ‘272 claims 21 and 22 with the tea of Reillo since they are both drawn to edible mixtures of cannabis and lipids.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection. It is noted that claims 21 and 22 of Application No. 18/534,272 have been allowed, however the fees have not been paid and a patent number has not been issued. When the fees have been paid and the patent number issued, this rejection would become non-provisional.
Conclusion
/CARRIE GLIMM/Examiner, Art Unit 1793