DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed October 1, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are now currently pending, claims 1 and 5 have been amended, claim 21 has been added, and claim 16 has been canceled in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and Claims have overcome all objections and 112(b) rejections in the Non-Final Office Action mailed July 1, 2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 7/18/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy or translation of the 2024217101244 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Issues with respect to failed attempts to retrieve the document should be directed to PDX@uspto.gov.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-14, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancelot et al (US5073428-A).
Regarding Claim 1 Lancelot et al teaches of a mat main body (see e.g. “sheet of material” in column 2, line 51) wherein the mat main body comprises: first mat body (see e.g. “panel” (1) 16 in column 3, line 50 and Figure 1); a first connecting portion, (see e.g. “bridge” 18 as seen in Figure 1 and 2) wherein the first connecting portion is provided with a concave first crease portion (see e.g. “hinge” 20 having an “arcuate upper surface” 22 as seen in Figure 1 and 2 and in column 4, line 13); and a second mat body (see e.g. “panel” (2) 17 in column 3, line 50 and Figure 1), wherein the second mat body is connected to the first mat body through the first connecting portion (see e.g. “bridge” 18 as seen in Figure 1 and 2); the second mat body is able to be moved between an unfolded position and a folded position along the first crease portion (see e.g. “hinge” 20 enables folding in column 4, lines 1-5 and in Figures 1, 2 and 4); and when the second mat body is moved along the first crease portion to the folded position, the second mat body and the first mat body are stacked with each other (see e.g. “panel” (1) 16 and “panel” (2) 17 that are folded with the upper surfaces in a juxtaposed relationship, facing each other in column 4, lines 1-5 and in Figure 4).
Lancelot et al teaches a cross section of the first crease portion is V-shaped or U-shaped; a cross section of the second crease portion is V-shaped or U-shaped (see e.g. “hinge” 20 and the analogous “additional hinge” having an “arcuate upper surface” 22 as seen in Figures 1 and 2 and in column 4, line 13, additionally either of the “hinges” may also take on a trapezoidal shape or any other shape that imparts foldability and durability characteristics as in column 4, lines 37-40);
Figure 1: Labeled Figure 1, Lancelot et al. (US5073428-A) 1991
Figure 2: Labeled Figure 2, Lancelot et al. (US5073428-A) 1991
Figure 4: Labeled Figure 4, Lancelot et al. (US5073428-A) 1991
Modifying the configuration from a cycloid shape to a U-shape would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA). Under established patent law, modifying a shape is considered a routine matter of choice if the modification maintains the general function or configuration of the device. As held in In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1966), a specific shape or configuration is considered an obvious design choice, absent persuasive evidence showing that the specific geometry provides a critical, unexpected, or otherwise significant result. Because both a cycloid and a U-shape share a substantially similar geometric profile, transitioning between them is a prima facie matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding Claim 2 Lancelot et al teaches the mat main body (see e.g. “sheet of material” in column 2, line 51) further comprises a third mat body (see e.g. at least two panels meaning more panels could be added such as an “additional panel” (3), found in column 2, line 51-52) and a second connecting portion (see e.g. two or more “hinges” to enable additional folding and subsequent “bridges” in column 4, lines 4-8); the second connecting portion is provided with a concave second crease portion (see e.g. “additional hinge” having an “arcuate upper surface” 22 in column 4, line 13 and analogous to Figures 1 and 2).
Lancelot teaches the second mat body is connected to one side of the first mat body through the first connecting portion (see e.g. “bridge” 18 as seen in Figures 1 and 2); the third mat body is connected to the other side of the first mat body through the second connecting portion (see e.g. an “additional bridge” analogous to 18 in Figures 1 and 2); the third mat body is able to be moved between the unfolded position and the folded position along the second crease portion (see e.g. two or more hinges to enable additional folding where the “additional hinge” enables folding in column 4, lines 1-8 and analogous with 20 in Figures 1, 2 and 4); when the second mat body is moved along the first crease portion to the folded position (see e.g. “panel” (1) 16 and “panel” (2) 17 that are folded with the upper surfaces in a juxtaposed relationship, facing each other in column 4, lines 1-5 and in Figure 4), and the third mat body is moved along the second crease portion to the folded position (see e.g. “panel” (3) and “panel” (1) that are folded with the upper surfaces in a juxtaposed relationship, facing each other in column 4, lines 1-5 and analogous with 16 and 17 in Figure 4), the third mat body, the second mat body, and the first mat body are stacked with each other (see e.g. where “additional panel” (3) is folded with “panel” (2) 17 toward center following description of column 4, lines 1-5).
Lancelot et al discloses possible additional “panels,” “hinges,” and “bridges,” but does not give an explicit embodiment with more than two “panels” and one “hinge.” It also does not depict an order or how it would fold. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the number of “hinges” and attached “bridges” and number of “panels” to include an additional, second, “hinge” and corresponding “bridge” and an additional, third, “panel” as it allows for a larger mat and/or smaller amount of space necessary for storage when folded. The order of panels was also obvious as the two outer panels folding into the inner panel is the most conducive to saving space and making a smaller construction. This construction avoids the width of the folded mat being too bulky by folding in all the layers on top of each other or by folding linearly in the same direction.
Regarding Claim 4 Lancelot et al teaches wherein the mat main body is a transparent mat main body (see e.g. the mat is constructed of clear material in where the “hinge” 20 is of the same clarity and texture of the mat found in column 3, lines 63-67).
Regarding Claim 5 Lancelot et al teaches a cross section of the second crease portion is V-shaped or U-shaped (see e.g. “hinge” 20 and the analogous “additional hinge” having an “arcuate upper surface” 22 as seen in Figures 1 and 2 and in column 4, line 13, additionally either of the “hinges” may also take on a trapezoidal shape or any other shape that imparts foldability and durability characteristics as in column 4, lines 37-40); Lancelot et al teaches the mat main body can be made into different shapes (see e.g. cut into predetermined lengths and shaped by conventional means in column 5, lines 52-54). However, Lancelot et al does not explicitly teach that the mat main body is a square mat main body, a circular mat main body, a pentagonal mat main body, a hexagonal mat main body, a heptagonal mat main body, an octagonal mat main body, or a nonagonal mat main body.
Adding a second crease is obvious under the court’s findings in regard to duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04.VI). The courts found In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) that the duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected product.
While Lancelot et al does not explicitly teach any of the specific shapes listened, a similar shape is given (see e.g. rectangle shape with a lip as depicted in Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the shape of the mat main body have different shapes based on the chair and desk layout as well as for a desire for aesthetic choice and office design. It was found that shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Regarding Claim 9 Lancelot et al teaches a thickness of the first crease portion is less than a thickness of the first mat body and a thickness of the second mat body (see e.g. thickness of the “bridge” 18 portion is less than the thickness of the sheet as in column 2, lines 57-58, correspondingly meaning that the “hinge” 20 portion is also less than the thickness of the sheet as the “bridge” 18 and “hinge” 20 are on top each other as shown in column 3, lines 53-57 and in Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 10 Lancelot et al teaches a thickness of the second crease portion is less than the thickness of the first mat body and a thickness of the third mat body (see e.g. thickness of the “additional bridge” portion is less than the thickness of the sheet as in column 2, lines 57-58, correspondingly meaning that the “additional hinge” portion is also less than the thickness of the sheet as the “bridge” and “hinge” are on top each other as shown in column 3, lines 53-57 and is analogous with 18 and 20 in Figures 2 and 4).
Lancelot et al discloses possible additional “panels,” “hinges,” and “bridges,” but does not give an explicit embodiment with more than two “panels” and one “hinge.” It also does not depict an order or how it would fold. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the number of “hinges” and attached “bridges” and number of “panels” to include an additional, second, “hinge” and corresponding “bridge” and an additional, third, “panel” as it allows for a larger mat and/or smaller amount of space necessary for storage when folded. It would have been obvious to keep the “hinges” and “bridge” construction and properties the same, such as the thickness.
Regarding Claim 11 Lancelot et al teaches the thickness of the first crease portion (see e.g. thickness of the “hinge” 18 is 0.080-0.120 inches [or 2.032-3.048mm] and is preferably 0.090-0.110 inches [or 2.286-2.794 mm] in column 4, lines 20-26) is the same as the thickness of the second crease portion (see e.g. two or more hinges to enable additional folding where the “additional hinge” enables folding in column 4, lines 1-8 and analogous with 20 in Figures 1, 2 and 4).
However, Lancelot et al does not explicitly describe the thicknesses of the “hinges” being the same, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the number of “hinges” and keep them the same thickness throughout, since that was what was given in the embodiment as well as being functional. This would not lead to unexpected results or be significantly changed by the creases being the same thickness.
Regarding Claim 12 Lancelot et al teaches that the first crease portion and the second crease portion are present (see e.g. two or more “hinges” to enable additional folding and subsequent “bridges” in column 4, lines 4-8) but does not teach how they are formed by stamping the mat main body. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding Claim 13 Lancelot et al teaches the first mat body, the second mat body, and the first connecting portion are integrally formed (see e.g. “panel” (1) 16, “panel” (2) 17, and “bridge” 18 are integrally connected by an “upper surface” 11 and “panel” (1) 16 and “panel” (2) 17 are integrally connected by the “hinge” 20 and “lower surface” 12 as in column 3, lines 49-57 and Figures 1 and 2).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to make the first and second mat body, and first connecting portions integrally formed as it is an obvious engineering choice to increase manufacturing output. MPEP 2144.04(V)(B) and In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding Claim 13 Lancelot et al teaches the first mat body, the second mat body, and the first connecting portion are integrally formed (see e.g. “panel” (1) 16, “panel” (2) 17, and “bridge” 18 are integrally connected by an “upper surface” 11 and “panel” (1) 16 and “panel” (2) 17 are integrally connected by the “hinge” 20 and “lower surface” 12 as in column 3, lines 49-57 and Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 14 Lancelot et al teaches wherein the first mat body, the second mat body, the third mat body, the first connecting portion, and the second connecting portion are integrally formed (see e.g. “panel” (1) 16, “additional panel” (3), and “additional bridge” are integrally connected by an “upper surface” 11 and “panel” (1) 16 and “additional panel” (3) are integrally connected by the “additional hinge” and “lower surface” 12 as in column 3, lines 49-57 and analogous with 11, 12, 16, 17, 18, 20, Figures 1 and 2).
Lancelot et al discloses possible additional “panels,” “hinges,” and “bridges,” but does not give an explicit embodiment with more than two “panels” and one “hinge.” It also does not depict an order or how it would fold. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the number of “hinges” and attached “bridges” and number of “panels” to include an additional, second, “hinge” and corresponding “bridge” and an additional, third, “panel” as it allows for a larger mat and/or smaller amount of space necessary for storage when folded. It would have been obvious to keep the “hinges” and “bridge” construction and properties the same, such as the integrally forming them.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to make the first, second, and third mat body, and first and second connecting portions integrally formed as it is an obvious engineering choice to increase manufacturing output. MPEP 2144.04(V)(B) and In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding Claim 19 Lancelot et al teaches that the first crease portion extends from an upper side edge of the mat main body to a lower side edge of the mat main body (see e.g. “hinge” 18 go from one side to the other longitudinally in Figure 1); the second crease portion extends from the upper side edge of the mat main body to the lower side edge of the mat main body; thickness ranges of the first mat body, the second mat body, and the third mat body are 0.1 mm-50 mm (see e.g. thickness of the mat ranges from 0.100-0.200 inches [or 2.540mm-5.08mm] within claimed range in column 3, lines 12-14); a thickness range of the first crease portion is 0.05 mm-49 mm (see e.g. thickness of the “hinge” 18 is 0.080-0.120 inches [or 2.032-3.048mm] and is preferably 0.090-0.110 inches [or 2.286-2.794 mm] all within the claimed ranges in column 4, lines 20-26); and a thickness range of the second crease portion is 0.05 mm-49 mm (see e.g. thickness of the “additional hinge” is 0.080-0.120 inches [or 2.032-3.048mm] and is preferably 0.090-0.110 inches [or 2.286-2.794 mm] all within the claimed ranges in column 4, lines 20-26).
Lancelot et al discloses possible additional “panels,” “hinges,” and “bridges,” but does not give an explicit embodiment with more than two “panels” and one “hinge.” It also does not depict an order or how it would fold. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the number of “hinges” and attached “bridges” and number of “panels” to include an additional, second, “hinge” and corresponding “bridge” and an additional, third, “panel” as it allows for a larger mat and/or smaller amount of space necessary for storage when folded. It would have been obvious to keep the “hinges” and “bridge” construction and properties the same, such as the thickness. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 20 Lancelot et al discloses possible additional “panels,” “hinges,” and “bridges.” Additionally, Lancelot et al teaches the thickness ranges of the first mat body, the second mat body, and the third mat body are 0.8 mm-3.5 mm (see e.g. thickness of the mat ranges from 0.100-0.200 inches [or 2.540 mm-5.08 mm] within claimed range in column 3, lines 12-14);
Lancelot et al does not give an explicit embodiment with more than two “panels” and one “hinge.” It also does not depict an order or how it would fold. Further, Lancelot et al does not teach the thickness range of the first crease portion is 0.4 mm-0.8 mm or the thickness range of the second crease portion is 0.4 mm-0.8 mm (see e.g. outside of provided range thickness of the “hinge” 18 and the “additional hinge” is 0.080-0.120 inches [or 2.032-3.048mm] and is preferably 0.090-0.110 inches [or 2.286-2.794 mm] as found in column 4, lines 20-26).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the number of “hinges” and attached “bridges” and number of “panels” to include an additional, second, “hinge” and corresponding “bridge” and an additional, third, “panel” as it allows for a larger mat and/or smaller amount of space necessary for storage when folded. It would have been obvious to keep the “hinges” and “bridge” construction and properties the same, such as the thickness. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Additionally, it would be an obvious modification to shrink the thickness of the creases as claimed devices are not patentably distinct from the prior art devices based on relative dimensions, as the dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Further, limitations relating to size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 21 Lancelot et al teaches of a mat main body (see e.g. “sheet of material” in column 2, line 51) wherein the mat main body comprises: first mat body (see e.g. “panel” (1) 16 in column 3, line 50 and Figure 1); a first connecting portion, (see e.g. “bridge” 18 as seen in Figure 1 and 2) wherein the first connecting portion is provided with a concave first crease portion (see e.g. “hinge” 20 having an “arcuate upper surface” 22 as seen in Figure 1 and 2 and in column 4, line 13); and a second mat body (see e.g. “panel” (2) 17 in column 3, line 50 and Figure 1), wherein the second mat body is connected to the first mat body through the first connecting portion (see e.g. “bridge” 18 as seen in Figure 1 and 2); the second mat body is able to be moved between an unfolded position and a folded position along the first crease portion (see e.g. “hinge” 20 enables folding in column 4, lines 1-5 and in Figures 1, 2 and 4); and when the second mat body is moved along the first crease portion to the folded position, the second mat body and the first mat body are stacked with each other (see e.g. “panel” (1) 16 and “panel” (2) 17 that are folded with the upper surfaces in a juxtaposed relationship, facing each other in column 4, lines 1-5 and in Figure 4).
Further, Lancelot et al does not teach the thickness range of the first crease portion is 0.4 mm-0.8 mm (see e.g. outside of provided range thickness of the “hinge” 18 and the “additional hinge” is 0.080-0.120 inches [or 2.032-3.048mm] and is preferably 0.090-0.110 inches [or 2.286-2.794 mm] as found in column 4, lines 20-26).
It would be an obvious modification to shrink the thickness of the creases as claimed devices are not patentably distinct from the prior art devices based on relative dimensions, as the dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Further, limitations relating to size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancelot et al (US5073428-A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuwamura et al (JP2022085756-A).
Regarding Claim 3 Lancelot et al teaches the mat main body is a plastic (see e.g. clear plastic materials of making rigid, semi-rigid, or flexible plastic products in column 4, lines 45-50) and that the hinges may be made out of a thermoplastic polyester (see e.g. formed of an elastomer consisting of thermoplastic polyesters in column 4, lines 54-58), but does not teach that the main body is made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) mat main body.
However, polyethylene terephthalate (PET) being used for mat materials is well known within the art. One such prior art, Kawamura et al teaches a foldable chair mat, (see e.g. “first mat” and “second mat” are connected by foldable “connecting portion” in paragraphs [0002-0006]). Kawamura teaches that the mat main body is made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (see e.g. multiple layers, where the main structural layers, “support layer” 15 and “base material layer” 18 both can be made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) in paragraph [0013 and 0015] of Kawamura et al).
Lancelot et al and Kawamura et al are analogous in the art because both are foldable space saving mats, created as a way to protect the underlaying floor. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art prior to the effective filing date, to modify the clear, plastic mat main body of Lancelot et al with the polyethylene terephthalate (PET) teachings of Kawamura et al because it is a material that creates a protective layer, with increased durability and hardness, easily cleaned, and relatively environmentally friendly due to its classification of a polyester. There would be a reasonable expectation of success from combining a folding mat with polyethylene terephthalate (PET) being used as a building material.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancelot et al (US5073428-A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anji Mountain, 2015.
Regarding Claim 6 Lancelot et al teaches of a general shape of the mat (see e.g. two “panels” 16 and 17 appearing to be the same shape, with mat being rectangular with “panels” 16 and 17 changing shape into a lip toward the middle as seen in Figure 1). Lancelot does not explicitly disclose length of the first mat body is the same as a length of the second mat body, and does not disclose that a width of the first mat body is greater than a width of the second mat body.
The Anji Mountain product listing on The Home Depot discloses that the first mat body is the same as a length of the second mat body (see e.g. whole shape is rectangle, without a lip and the length of 60 inches or 1524 mm between all three “panels” in the Dimensions). Anji Mountain product listing does not disclose an explicit width for each of the sections, however, in product listing image, first mat body is greater than a width of the second mat body (see e.g. width 47 inches or 1193.8 mm that does not divide evenly to be in equal sections in the Dimensions and indicated in Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the width of the “panels” to have the center “panel” be the largest width as it allows for a larger mat and/or smaller amount of space necessary for storage when folded. It would have been obvious to keep the outer “panels” the same width to allow for them to fold in/on top of the inner “panel” to minimize thickness while storing.
Figure 3: Highlighted picture from the Anji Mountain listing on Home Depot (2015)
Lancelot et al and the Anji Mountain listing are analogous in the art as they both depict ways to protect your floor from furniture and allow for easier furniture moving while being able to fold compactly for storage. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the implied same length of the “panels” of Lancelot et al with the specific measurements and proportions of the Anji Mountain listing because it allows for different office layouts and better folding. Additionally, it would be obvious by the finding that shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding Claim 15 Lancelot et al does not teaches a length or width range of the mat main body, however the Anji Mountain listing teaches a length within the range of 100 mm-3000 mm, and a width within the range of 100 mm-3000 mm for the mat main body (see e.g. length of 60 inches or 1524 mm and a width 47 inches or 1193.8 mm within the given range in the Dimensions section).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the assign lengths and widths to the mat main body of Lancelot et al with the specific measurements and proportions of the Anji Mountain listing because it allows for different office layouts and better folding. Additionally, it would be an obvious modification to clarify dimensions of length and width as claimed devices are not patentably distinct from the prior art devices based on relative dimensions, as the dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Further, limitations relating to size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancelot et al (US5073428-A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Anji Mountain, 2015.
Regarding Claim 7 Lancelot et al teaches of multiple mat bodies (see e.g. at least two panels meaning more panels could be added such as an “additional panel” (3), found in column 2, line 51-52). Lancelot et al does not teach the length of the first mat body is the same as a length of the third mat body (see e.g. there is a lip present and it is unclear how this would affect the lengths as seen in Figure 1) and does not teach the width of the first mat body is greater than a width of the third mat body.
The Anji Mountain product listing on The Home Depot discloses that the first mat body is the same as a length of the third mat body (see e.g. whole shape is rectangle, without a lip and the length of 60 inches or 1524 mm between all three “panels” in the Dimensions). Anji Mountain product listing does not disclose an explicit width for each of the sections, however, in product listing image, width of the first mat body is greater than a width of the third mat body (see e.g. width 47 inches or 1193.8 mm that does not divide evenly to be in equal sections in the Dimensions and indicated in Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the width of the “panels” to have the center “panel” be the largest width as it allows for a larger mat and/or smaller amount of space necessary for storage when folded. It would have been obvious to keep the outer “panels” the same width to allow for them to fold in/on top of the inner “panel” to minimize thickness while storing.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the length of the “panels” of Lancelot et al with the specific measurements and proportions of the Anji Mountain listing because it allows for different office layouts and better folding. Additionally, it would be obvious by the finding that shape is a “matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant.” In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding Claim 17 Lancelot et al teaches the first mat body, the second mat body, and the third mat body (see e.g. at least two panels meaning more panels could be added such as an “additional panel” (3), found in column 2, line 51-52). Lancelot et al does not teaches a length or width range of each mat body “panel.”
However, the Anji Mountain listing teaches a length within the range of 100 mm-3000 mm for the first mat body, a length within the range of 100 mm-3000 mm for the second mat body, and a length within the range of 100 mm-3000 mm for the third mat body (see e.g. all mat bodies are the same length throughout as seen in Figure 3 with a length of 60 inches or 1524 mm in the Dimensions section). The Anji Mountain listing does not teach a width within the range of 40 mm-1200 mm for the first mat body, a width within the range of 30 mm-900 mm for the second mat body, and a width within the range of 30 mm-900 mm for the third mat body (see e.g. only gives total width of mat, being a width 47 inches or 1193.8 mm within the given range in the Dimensions section).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the assign lengths and widths to the mat main body of Lancelot et al with the specific measurements and proportions of the Anji Mountain listing because it allows for different office layouts and better folding. Additionally, it would be an obvious modification to clarify dimensions of length and width as claimed devices are not patentably distinct from the prior art devices based on relative dimensions, as the dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Further, limitations relating for size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancelot et al (US5073428-A) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Anji Mountain, 2015.
Regarding Claim 8 Lancelot et al teaches of multiple mat bodies (see e.g. at least two panels meaning more panels could be added such as an “additional panel” (3), found in column 2, line 51-52). Lancelot et al does not disclose that the width of the third mat body is the same as the width of the second mat body.
The Anji Mountain product listing on The Home Depot discloses the overall width of the tri-fold floor mat (see e.g. width 47 inches or 1193.8 mm in the Dimensions), but does not explicitly disclose the width of the third mat body is the same as the width of the second mat body, (see e.g. while not to scale, listing shows that the side “panels” (2) and (3) are closer in width than the center “panel” (1) in Figure 3). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art to modify the width of the “panels” to have the center “panel” be the largest width, with the side “panels” (2) and (3) being the same size, as it allows for a larger mat and/or smaller amount of space necessary for storage when folded. It would have been obvious to keep the outer “panels” the same width to allow for them to fold in/on top of the inner “panel” to minimize thickness while storing.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the length of the “panels” of Lancelot et al with the specific measurements and proportions of the Anji Mountain listing because it allows for different office layouts and better folding. Additionally, it would be obvious by the finding that shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancelot et al (US5073428-A) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Anji Mountain, 2015.
Regarding Claim 18 Lancelot et al teaches the first mat body, the second mat body, and the third mat body (see e.g. at least two panels meaning more panels could be added such as an “additional panel” (3), found in column 2, line 51-52). Lancelot et al does not teach
However, the Anji Mountain listing teaches of a length within the range of 600 mm-1600 mm for the first mat body, a length within the range of 600 mm-1600 mm for the second mat body, and a length within the range of 600 mm-1600 mm for the third mat body (see e.g. all mat bodies are the same length throughout as seen in Figure 3 with a length of 60 inches or 1524 mm in the Dimensions section). The Anji Mountain listing does not teach of a the width within the range of 220 mm-560 mm for the first mat body, a width within the range of 190 mm-520 mm for the second mat body, and a width within the range of 190 mm-520 mm for the third mat body (see e.g. only gives total width of mat, being a width 47 inches or 1193.8 mm within the given range in the Dimensions section).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the assign lengths and widths to the mat main body of Lancelot et al with the specific measurements and proportions of the Anji Mountain listing because it allows for different office layouts and better folding. Additionally, it would be an obvious modification to shrink dimensions of length and width as claimed devices are not patentably distinct from the prior art devices based on relative dimensions, as the dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Further, limitations relating for size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that feature (i), “a cross section of the first crease portion is V-shaped or U-shaped”, is not taught by Lancelot et al because it has either a cycloid or trapezoid configuration depending on the embodiment.
This is not the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the phrase U-shaped. The broadest reasonable interpretation would encompass not only the applicant’s own definition, but also any kind of concavity, a half circle, curve, bend, or any shape that would read or resemble a “U” either upper case “U” or lower case “u”.
Further as previously described Lancelot et al teaches a cross section of the first crease portion is V-shaped or U-shaped; a cross section of the second crease portion is V-shaped or U-shaped (see e.g. “hinge” 20 and the analogous “additional hinge” having an “arcuate upper surface” 22 as seen in Figures 1 and 2 and in column 4, line 13, additionally either of the “hinges” may also take on a trapezoidal shape or any other shape that imparts foldability and durability characteristics as in column 4, lines 37-40); Where specifically any shape that imparts foldability and durability such as an arcuate surface is anticipated by the prior art.
Applicant argues that “any other configuration suitable to impart the requisite foldability and durability characteristics” is a generic functional statement that does not disclose specific V-shaped or U-shaped cross-section. As previously stated, while Lancelot et al does not disclose applicants’ interpretation of a U-shaped or V-shaped cross-section, it is identifying similar shapes, which would include U-shaped creases due to the BRI of U-shaped.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the definition of U-shaped and V-shaped as according to applicant) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further specification did not narrow the understanding of or describe what was meant by U-shaped or V-shaped.
Applicant argues that “Lancelot’s hinge 20 is a separate filler component made of a different elastomeric material with its base portion 21 coincident with lower surface 12” in contrast to the first crease portion which is concave and a depression. As previously stated, Lancelot et al teaches a first connecting portion is provided with a concave first crease portion (see e.g. “hinge” 20 having an “arcuate upper surface” 22 as seen in Figure 1 and 2 and in column 4, line 13). Claim 1 does not require depression and Lancelot et al does show a concave shaped crease. The addition of Lancelot et al teaching another material within the hinge et al shows that the filler material could be taken out and further would be obvious to do so as it would allow for less material to be used cutting costs. The concave creases with depressions can further be seen in additional references below.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., depression) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s argument of Kuwamura et al also not showing the U-shaped or V-shaped crease or the concave depression limitations of the first crease portion is unpersuasive. Kuwamura et al was not used for original rejection and is further not necessary, required or relied on for the limitations to be considered obvious when in view of Lyttle et al.
Applicant argues that examiner compared the wrong structure by comparing hinge to the first crease portion in regard to feature (ii), “the thickness range of the first crease portion is 0.4 mm – 0.8 mm.” Examiner disagrees as the hinge is on the base and is on the outside when folded, while the bridge connects panel 1 and panel 2 together as shown in Figures 2 and 4 of Lancelot et al which anticipates the functions of the application. While the orientation (i.e. facing up or down) of Lancelot et al differs from the application, both the hinge 20 and the crease portion perform the same function by allowing space for the mats to bend away from the respective hinge or crease portion and fold. The bridge or connecting portions are thin to allow for a closer fold with less material getting in the way and bunching.
Figure 2: Labeled Figure 2, Lancelot et al. (US5073428-A) 1991
Figure 4: Labeled Figure 4, Lancelot et al. (US5073428-A) 1991
Figure 4: Labeled Instant Application
As previously stated, Lancelot et al does not teach the thickness range of the first crease portion is 0.4 mm-0.8 mm or the thickness range of the second crease portion is 0.4 mm-0.8 mm (see e.g. outside of provided range thickness of the “hinge” 18 and the “additional hinge” is 0.080-0.120 inches [or 2.032-3.048mm] and is preferably 0.090-0.110 inches [or 2.286-2.794 mm] as found in column 4, lines 20-26).
However, it would be an obvious modification to shrink the thickness of the creases as claimed devices are not patentably distinct from the prior art devices based on relative dimensions, as the dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Further, limitations relating to size are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Applicant’s argument of Lancelot et al teaching away from the claimed range is 0.08-0.4 mm is moot due to the crease portions not being comparable to the bridge portion. Lancelot et al warns that a bridge having a dimension of D less than 0.040 inches (about 1.02 mm) would result in the bridge yielding to loads. However, there is no restriction shown to the depth/thickness of the hinge 20, which is the best analogous structure to the crease.
Applicant’s argument of Kuwamura et al also not showing the thickness limitation of the first crease portion is unpersuasive. Kuwamura et al was not used for original rejection and is further not necessary, required or relied on the dimension change to be considered obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/T.N.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1781
/FRANK J VINEIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781