DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicants Application filed on August 5, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 16-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi (U.S. Pat. No. 10,191,798) in view of Gustlin (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0034111).
As per claims 1, 19 and 20, Asterjadhi discloses an apparatus, a method and computer-readable medium for communication at a vehicle, comprising:
at least one memory (col. 15, lines 25-37); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in
part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (col. 7, lines 17-21), is configured to:
detect at least one violation for a first frame in a set of frames (abstract, col. 5, lines 41-48, col. 9, lines 50-67 and col. 10, lines 1-2 discloses detecting an occurrence of an error when processing the received frame);
refrain from sending data associated with the first frame based on the
detection of the at least one violation for the first frame (abstract and col. 12, lines 49-67 discloses refraining from transmitting frame information in response to the detection of an error occurring when processing the received frame); and
output an indication of the at least one violation for the first frame (col. 8, lines 60-67 discloses outputting the frame for transmission if an error is detected when processing the frame).
However, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
protocol violation.
Gustlin discloses inducing protocol violations for identifying a stream of information comprising:
protocol violation (abstract, paragraphs 0021and 0023 discloses protocol violations for a plurality of streams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi by incorporating or implementing inducing protocol violations for identifying streams for the purpose of detecting repetitive violations of a particular protocol in order to identify a particular marked stream of a plurality of streams.
As per claim 2, Asterjadhi discloses the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
initiate, based on the detection of the at least one protocol violation, a transition to an idle state for a frame-based service extension data (FSED) state machine.
Gustlin discloses inducing protocol violations for identifying a stream of information comprising:
wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
initiate, based on the detection of the at least one protocol violation, a transition to an idle state for a frame-based service extension data (FSED) state machine (abstract, paragraphs 0023 and 0027 discloses detecting a protocol violation for a plurality of streams and using a state machine to identify protocol violations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi by incorporating or implementing inducing protocol violations for identifying streams for the purpose of detecting repetitive violations of a particular protocol in order to identify a particular marked stream of a plurality of streams.
As per claim 6, Asterjadhi discloses:
wherein to refrain from sending the data associated with the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: refrain from sending the data associated with the first frame until a start- of-frame (SOF) indication for a second frame in the set of frames, wherein the second frame is subsequent to the first frame in the set of frames (abstract and col. 12, lines 49-67).
As per claim 7, Asterjadhi discloses:
wherein to refrain from sending the data associated with the first frame until the SOF indication for the second frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: refrain from sending, to an in-line crypto engine (ICE), the data associated with the first frame until the SOF indication for the second frame (abstract and col. 12, lines 49-67).
As per claim 16, Asterjadhi discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
obtain a first indication of a start of the first frame in the set of frames, wherein the detection of the at least one violation is based on the first indication of the start of the first frame (col. 12, lines 49-67).
However, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
protocol violation.
Gustlin discloses inducing protocol violations for identifying a stream of information comprising:
protocol violation (abstract, paragraphs 0021and 0023 discloses protocol violations for a plurality of streams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi by incorporating or implementing inducing protocol violations for identifying streams for the purpose of detecting repetitive violations of a particular protocol in order to identify a particular marked stream of a plurality of streams.
As per claim 17, Asterjadhi discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
monitor for the at least one violation for the first frame in the set of frames, wherein the detection of the at least one violation is based on the monitor for the at least one violation (col. 12, lines 49-67).
However, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
protocol violation.
Gustlin discloses inducing protocol violations for identifying a stream of information comprising:
protocol violation (abstract, paragraphs 0021and 0023 discloses protocol violations for a plurality of streams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi by incorporating or implementing inducing protocol violations for identifying streams for the purpose of detecting repetitive violations of a particular protocol in order to identify a particular marked stream of a plurality of streams.
Claim(s) 3-5, 8-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi (U.S. Pat. No. 10,191,798) in view of Gustlin (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0034111) and in further view of Chae et al (hereinafter, “Chae”, U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0209390).
As per claim 3, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in Gustlin do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
determine, based on the detection of the at least one protocol violation, whether an end-of-line (EOL) indication has previously been sent.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
determine, based on the detection of the at least one protocol violation, whether an end-of-line (EOL) indication has previously been sent (paragraph 0035 discloses detecting protocol violations in incoming frames and using frame synchronization signals that mark start and end of lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing detecting protocol violations for incoming frames and using and using frame synchronization signals that mark start and end of lines in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 4, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin discloses the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
send the EOL indication based on the EOL indication having not previously been sent; or refrain from sending the EOL indication based on the EOL indication having previously been sent.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
send the EOL indication based on the EOL indication having not previously been sent; or refrain from sending the EOL indication based on the EOL indication having previously been sent.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing detecting protocol violations for incoming frames and using and using frame synchronization signals that mark start and end of lines in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 5, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose:
wherein to send the EOL indication, the at least one
processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: send the EOL indication
to an in-line crypto engine.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
wherein to send the EOL indication, the at least one
processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: send the EOL indication
to an in-line crypto engine (paragraph 0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing detecting protocol violations for incoming frames and using and using frame synchronization signals that mark start and end of lines in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 8, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin discloses the invention substantially as claims discussed above.
However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose:
wherein to output the indication of the at least one protocol violation for the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit an interrupt request (IRQ) for the at least one protocol violation for the first frame.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
wherein to output the indication of the at least one protocol violation for the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit an interrupt request (IRQ) for the at least one protocol violation for the first frame (paragraphs 0033, 0037 and 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing issuing error or software interrupts in response to detecting protocol violations for incoming frames in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 9, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin discloses the invention substantially as claims discussed above.
However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose:
wherein to transmit the IRQ for the at least one protocol violation for the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit, to camera driver software, the IRQ for the at least one protocol violation for the first frame.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
wherein to output the indication of the at least one protocol violation for the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit an interrupt request (IRQ) for the at least one protocol violation for the first frame (paragraphs 0033, 0037 and 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing issuing error or software interrupts in response to detecting protocol violations for incoming frames in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 10, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
generate a hardware reset based on the at least one protocol violation for the first frame.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
generate a hardware reset based on the at least one protocol violation for the first frame (paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing issuing error or software interrupts and executing a hardware reset in response to detecting protocol violations for incoming frames in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 11, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
output an indication of the hardware reset based on the at least one protocol violation for the first frame.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
generate a hardware reset based on the at least one protocol violation for the first frame (paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing issuing error or software interrupts and executing a hardware reset in response to detecting protocol violations for incoming frames in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 12, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose:
wherein to output the indication of the hardware reset, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit the indication of the hardware reset to at least one hardware module in a camera service extension (CSE) data path.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
wherein to output the indication of the hardware reset, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit the indication of the hardware reset to at least one hardware module in a camera service extension (CSE) data path (paragraphs 0024 and 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing executing a hardware reset in response to detecting protocol violations for incoming frames in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 13, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
store a second indication of a current state associated with the first frame based
on the at least one protocol violation for the first frame.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
store a second indication of a current state associated with the first frame based
on the at least one protocol violation for the first frame (paragraphs 0044 and 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing storing unknown states for incoming frames in response to detecting protocol violations in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 14, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose discloses wherein to store the second indication of the current state associated with the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
store the second indication of the current state including at least one of a missing partition of the first frame or a duplicate partition of the first frame.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
store the second indication of the current state including at least one of a missing partition of the first frame or a duplicate partition of the first frame (paragraphs 0044 and 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing storing unknown states for incoming frames in response to detecting protocol violations in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 15, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose discloses:
wherein to store the second indication of the current state including at least one of the missing partition of the first frame or the duplicate partition of the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: store, in camera serial interface decoder (CSID) hardware, the second indication of the current state including at least one of the missing partition of the first frame or the duplicate partition of the first frame.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
wherein to store the second indication of the current state including at least one of the missing partition of the first frame or the duplicate partition of the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: store, in camera serial interface decoder (CSID) hardware, the second indication of the current state including at least one of the missing partition of the first frame or the duplicate partition of the first frame (paragraphs 0024 and 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing storing unknown states for incoming frames in response to detecting protocol violations in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 18, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin disclose the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one protocol violation for the first frame is at least one of: a missing partition of the first frame or a duplicate partition of the first frame, and wherein the set of frames includes a set of camera service extension (CSE) frame-based service extension data (FSED) frames.
Chae discloses a robust frame size error detection and recovery mechanism to minimize frame loss for camera input sub-systems comprising:
wherein to store the second indication of the current state including at least one of the missing partition of the first frame or the duplicate partition of the first frame, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: store, in camera serial interface decoder (CSID) hardware, the second indication of the current state including at least one of the missing partition of the first frame or the duplicate partition of the first frame (paragraphs 0024 and 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asterjadhi in view of Gustlin by incorporating or implementing storing unknown states for incoming frames in response to detecting protocol violations in a timely and efficient manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hyajudai et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0023663) discloses discloses an efficient high speed transmission of different types of packets having different structures conforming to CSI-2 standards of MIPI is disclosed. In one example, a communication apparatus includes a packet generation unit configured to encapsulate a packet conforming to camera serial interface 2 (CSI-2) standards defined by camera service extensions (CSE) standards of Mobile Industry Processor Interface (MIPI) Alliance without distinguishing a type and a structure of the packet to generate an application packet, and a communication unit configured to transmit the application packet to a communication partner apparatus.
Ujiie et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0173912) discloses a frame transmission prevention apparatus connected to a network of a network system including a plurality of electronic control units communicating with one another via the network is provided. The apparatus includes a processor and a memory. The memory includes at least one set of instructions that causes the processor to perform processes when executed by the processor. The processes include receiving a first frame from the network and switching whether to perform a first process for preventing transmission of the first frame on the basis of management information indicating whether prevention of transmission of a frame is permitted if the first frame satisfies a first condition.
Ujiie et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0126703) discloses an electronic control unit is connected to an in-vehicle network bus in an in-vehicle network system including a plurality of apparatuses that perform communication of frames via the bus. The electronic control unit includes a first control circuit and a second control circuit. The first control circuit is connected to the bus via the second control circuit over wired communication and/or wireless communication. The second control circuit performs a first determination process on a received frame received from the bus to determine the conformity with a first rule related to at least a reception interval, and, upon determining that the received frame conforms to the first rule, executes a predetermined process based on the content of the received frame. The first control circuit performs a second determination process on the received frame, received via the second control circuit, to determine the conformity with a second rule different from the first rule.
/LASHONDA JACOBS-BURTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
ljb
February 21, 2026