Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boyer (US Patent 6,088,856).
Regarding Claim 14, Boyer discloses a pillow (10) with internal shielding storage compartment comprising:
a pillow body (see Fig. 1):
defining an internal cavity (inside opening 58);
with an outer cushion layer (44) of a deformably resilient material (“open cell low density foam”) flanking the internal cavity, having a left end, having a right end opposing the left end, having an upper end, having a lower end opposing the upper end, having an outer surface (40) continuously spanning around the pillow body, and having a pillow length separating the left and right ends (see Fig. 1);
with an inner layer (42) enclosing the internal cavity, of a substantially rigid and flexible material (“a thermal reflective, thin, flexible, metalized plastic film”) that is more rigid than the deformably resilient material of the outer cushion layer and that substantially spans the pillow length, and of a slender thickness substantially spanning the pillow body (see Figs. 1,4 and Col. 4, Lines 9-11); and
defining an opening (58) disposed proximal to the left end that is spatially coupled to the internal cavity, the opening operably configured to have a selectively opened position and a selectively closed position with at least one fastener (60 and 62) coupled to the pillow body.
Regarding Claim 17, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer is encapsulated by the outer cushion layer when the opening is in the selectively closed position (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer is configured to attenuate radio frequencies ranging up to 3Ghz (inherent of a “thermal reflective, thin, flexible, metalized plastic film”).
Regarding Claim 19, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer is of metallic material (see Col. 3, Lines 61-62).
Regarding Claim 20, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer is coated with a metallic material and is made of at least one of a polymeric material (see Col. 3, Lines 61-62) and a paper-based material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyer (US Patent 6,088,856).
Regarding Claim 1, Boyer discloses a pillow (10) with internal shielding storage compartment comprising:
a pillow body (see Fig. 1):
defining an internal cavity (inside opening 58);
with an outer cushion layer (44) of a deformably resilient material (“open cell low density foam”) flanking the internal cavity, having a left end, having a right end opposing the left end, having an upper end, having a lower end opposing the upper end, having an outer surface (40) continuously spanning around the pillow body, and having a pillow length separating the left and right ends (see Fig. 1);
with an inner layer (42) enclosing the internal cavity, of a material (“a thermal reflective, thin, flexible, metalized plastic film”) more rigid than the deformably resilient material of the outer cushion layer and substantially spanning the pillow length, of a thickness less than 25mm, and configured to attenuate radio frequencies ranging up to 3Ghz (inherent of a “thermal reflective, thin, flexible, metalized plastic film”); and
defining an opening (58) disposed proximal to the left end that is spatially coupled to the internal cavity (see Fig. 1), the opening operably configured to have a selectively opened position and a selectively closed position with at least one fastener (60 and 62) coupled to the pillow body. Boyer fails to disclose the inner layer (42) having a thickness less than 25mm, only disclosing that it is “thin”. Applicant has not stated any sort of criticality toward the said thickness and states that material having a thickness of approximately 5-38mm is “commonly referred to as thin sheet” (see para. [0037]). It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the thickness of Boyer’s inner layer 42 to be less than 25 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955). A thinner sheet would provide more flexibility while still maintaining the necessary thermal reflection characteristics as required by Boyer.
Regarding Claim 2, Boyer discloses wherein the outer surface of the outer cushion layer is of a fabric material (see Col. 3, Lines 59-61, “woven nylon based fabric”)
Regarding Claim 3, Boyer discloses wherein the outer cushion layer is of a foam material (see Col. 3, Lines 63-65).
Regarding Claim 4, Boyer discloses wherein the outer cushion layer and the inner layer are adhesively coupled to one another (see Col. 4, Lines 1-2).
Regarding Claim 5, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer is of metallic material (see Col. 3, Lines 61-62)
Regarding Claim 6, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer is coated with a metallic material and is made of at least one of a polymeric material and a paper-based material (see Col. 3, Lines 61-62)
Regarding Claim 7, Boyer inherently discloses wherein the inner layer further comprises: a static unflexed position with the internal cavity of a diameter that is larger than a diameter of the cavity when in a dynamically flexed position, i.e. the internal cavity will be compressed when a load is applied. Boyer fails to discloses the specific diameter ranges in each position. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to make the internal cavity have diameter ranging from 50-152mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955). Applicant has not stated any sort of criticality toward ranges of diameter.
Regarding Claim 8, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer spans at least 75% of the pillow length (see Figs. 1 and 4)
Regarding Claim 9, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer is encapsulated by the outer cushion layer when the opening is in the selectively closed position (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Boyer discloses wherein the pillow body further comprises: two zipper tracks each flanking the opening and with the at least one fastener coupled to one of the two zipper tracks, the two zipper tracks and the at least one fastener operably configured to place the opening in the selectively closed position. Boyer suggests in Col.4, Lines 49-52 that “snaps, rivets, buttons, zippers, straps, or other fastening mechanisms of known suitable construction may be used to securely close the open end 58 when desired.” A common zipper configuration is one with two tracks with a fastener attached to both tracks.
Regarding Claim 11, Boyer discloses herein the pillow body further comprises: a clip (22) coupled to the pillow body and with two clip members operably configured to selectively open and close, thereby retaining a cable thereto.
Regarding Claim 12, Boyer discloses wherein the inner layer is of a substantially rigid and flexible material (see Col. 3, Lines 61-63).
Regarding Claim 13, Boyer discloses wherein the thickness of the inner layer unitarily spans the pillow length (see Col. 4, Lines 9-11, Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 15, see Claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding Claim 16, see Claim 7 rejection above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,112.. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘112 patent disclose the subject matter in the claims of the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619