DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 15-19, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al (US 20210298000 A1, hereinafter referred to as Park).
Re claim 1, Park teaches a method for wireless communication at a wireless repeater (first access node/Child IAB node/IAB node, Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50), comprising:
(i) identifying a first network device (parent IAB node providing flexible resource activation to the child IAB node/first access node) and a second network device (IAB donor/second access node providing flexible resource configuration to the child IAB node/first access node) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-52, Par 0470-0478, Par 0491-0496, Par 0505-0514);
(ii) receiving, from the first network device (parent IAB node), control information (receiving flexible resource configuration/flexible resource activation from the parent IAB node, Fig. 44-47, Fig. 50) for communicating with one or more user equipment (UEs) (UEs served by the child IAB node, Fig. 43-44, Fig. 50-51) connected to the second network device (IAB donor/second access node connected to the UEs via the child IAB node) via the wireless repeater (first access node/Child IAB node/IAB node) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-52, Par 0470-0478, Par 0491-0496, Par 0505-0514); and
(iii) communicating with one or more UEs based at least in part on the control information (communicating with the UE) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 50-51, Par 0471-0472, Par 0488-0492, Par 0496-0497).
Re claim 2, Park teaches to determine that the first network device is a primary network device that controls the wireless repeater (Parent access node is controlling the resources allocated to the child IAB node); and monitor for the control information from the first network device based at least in part on the determination (obtaining the activation/deactivation message for activating/deactivating the flexible resources), wherein the control information is received from the first network device based at least in part on the monitoring (obtaining the activation/deactivation message from the parent IAB node) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-51, Par 0470-0478, Par 0491-0496, Par 0505-0514).
Re claim 3, Park teaches to refrain from monitoring for other control information from the second network device based at least in part on the determination (obtaining the activation/deactivation message from the parent IAB node) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-51, Par 0470-0478, Par 0491-0496, Par 0505-0514).
Re claim 5, Park teaches that the control information comprises an indication of at least one directional beam for communicating with the one or more UEs (activating a first beam of the first cell, a second beam of the second cell), a transmission direction, or any combination thereof (Fig. 36-37, Fig. 39, Par 0435-0442).
Re claim 7, Park teaches that the control information is received over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 39, Par 0287, Par 0427, Par 0441, Par 0492).
Re claim 9, Park teaches a method for wireless communication at a first network device (Parent IAB node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50), comprising:
(i) identifying a second network device (IAB-Donor/second access node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50) that is connected to a first set of one or more user equipment (UEs) (UE, Fig. 44, Fig. 50) via a wireless repeater (first access node/Child IAB node/IAB node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50) (Fig. 44, Fig. 50-52, Par 0505-0508, Par 0514, Par 0516, Par 0522-0524 ---Parent IAB node (first network entity) receives configuration parameters indicating flexible resources for child IAB node/first access node from the IAB-donor node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50-51);
(ii) determining a control signaling pattern based at least in part on identifying the second network device (activating/deactivating flexible resources including cell index, beam index, BWP index allocated to the child IAB node/first access node by the IAB-Donor/second access node) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-52, Par 0470-0478, Par 0491-0496, Par 0505-0514); and
(iii) transmitting, to the wireless repeater (child IAB node/first access node), control information for the wireless repeater (activation indication of the flexible resources sent by the parent IAB node to the child IAB node/first access node/IAB node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50-52) to communicate with a second set of one or more UEs connected to the first network device via the wireless repeater (UEs connected to the parent IAB node via the child IAB node/first access node/IAB node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50-51), the control information transmitted in accordance with the control signaling pattern (activating/deactivating flexible resources allocated to the child IAB node) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-52, Par 0470-0478, Par 0484, Par 0487-0496, Par 0505-0514).
Re claim 10, Park teaches to configure a first time period for transmitting the control information to the wireless repeater (time to transmit activation of the flexible resources to the child IAB node after receiving flexible resource allocation from the second access node/donor IAB node); configuring a second time period for the second network device to transmit second control information to the wireless repeater (second access node transmits the flexible resource allocation to the child IAB node after receiving a response message from the parent IAB node, Fig. 50), wherein the control signaling pattern comprises the first time period (time to transmit activation of the flexible resources to the child IAB node) and the second time period (the instance when second access node transmits the flexible resource allocation to the child IAB node after receiving a response message from the parent IAB node) (Fig. 50, Par 0470-0478, Par 0484, Par 0487-0496, Par 0505-0514).
Re claims 11 and 19, Park teaches that the first time period and the second time period are non-overlapping (the instance/time to transmit the activation of the flexible resources to the child IAB node and the instance when the second access node transmits the flexible resource allocation to the child IAB node after receiving a response message from the parent IAB node do not occur simultaneously) (Fig. 50, Par 0470-0478, Par 0484, Par 0487-0496, Par 0505-0514).
Re claim 12, Park teaches that the first time period (transmitting activation of the flexible resources to the child IAB node after receiving flexible resource allocation from the second access node/donor IAB node) and the second time period (the second access node transmits the flexible resource allocation to the child IAB node after receiving a response message from the parent IAB node) are based at least in part on communicating with the second network device (second access node) (Fig. 50, Par 0470-0478, Par 0484, Par 0487-0496, Par 0505-0514).
Re claims 15, 22, Park teaches that the first network device is associated with a first identifier (IAB node identifier of the parent access node) that is different from a second identifier associated with the second network device (IAB donor identifier of the second access node) (Par 0420, Par 0423, Par 0432, Par 0474, Par 0484, Par 0487).
Re claims 16, 23, Park teaches that the first identifier comprises a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI employed to scramble activation/deactivation indication) and the second identifier comprises a second radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI included in the flexible resource configuration received from the second access node) (Par 0420, Par 0442, Par 0464, Par 0476, Par 0484, Par 0489).
Re claim 17, Park teaches a method for wireless communication at a wireless repeater (first access node/Child IAB node/IAB node, Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50), comprising:
(i) identifying a first network device (parent IAB node providing flexible resource activation to the child IAB node/first access node) and a second network device (IAB donor/second access node providing flexible resource configuration to the child IAB node/first access node) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-52, Par 0470-0478, Par 0491-0496, Par 0505-0514);
(ii) receiving, from the first network device (parent IAB node), first control information (activation indication of the flexible resources sent by the parent IAB node to the child IAB node/first access node/IAB node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50-52) for communicating with a first set of one or more user equipment (UEs) connected to the first network device via the wireless repeater (UEs connected to the parent IAB node via the child IAB node/first access node/IAB node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50-51) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-52, Par 0470-0478, Par 0484, Par 0487-0496, Par 0505-0514)
(iii) receiving, from the second network device, second control information (IAB donor/second access node providing flexible resource configuration to the child IAB node/first access node) for communicating with a second set of one or more UEs connected to the second network device via the wireless repeater (UEs connected to the second access node/IAB donor node via the child IAB node/first access node/IAB node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50-51), the first control information and the second control information being received in accordance with a control signaling pattern (second access node/IAB donor node provides flexible resource configuration to the child IAB node/first access node and the parent IAB node provides flexible resource activation indication to the child IAB node/first access node) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-52, Par 0470-0478, Par 0491-0496, Par 0505-0514).
Re claim 18, Park teaches to monitor, based at least in part on the control signaling pattern (second access node/IAB donor node provides flexible resource configuration to the child IAB node/first access node and the parent IAB node provides flexible resource activation indication to the child IAB node/first access node), a first time period for receiving the first control information from the first network device (time when the activation indication of the flexible resources is sent by the parent IAB node to the child IAB node/first access node/IAB node, Fig. 44, Fig. 50-52) and a second time period for receiving the second control information from the second network device (time when the second access node/IAB donor node provides flexible resource configuration to the child IAB node/first access node), wherein the first control information and the second control information are received based at least in part on the monitoring (reception of flexible resource configuration and flexible resource activation indication) (Fig. 43-44, Fig. 47, Fig. 50-52, Par 0470-0478, Par 0491-0496, Par 0505-0514).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Dortschy et al (US 20210377885, hereinafter referred to as Dortschy).
Re claim 4, Park does not disclose to receive a first set of synchronization signal blocks from the first network device and a second set of synchronization signal blocks from the second network device; identify the first network device based at least in part on the first set of synchronization signal blocks; and identify the second network device based at least in part on the second set of synchronization signal blocks.
Dortschy teaches to receive a first set of synchronization signal blocks from the first network device and a second set of synchronization signal blocks from the second network device (receiving SS block from a plurality of parent nodes); identify the first network device based at least in part on the first set of synchronization signal blocks (identifying a first parent node based on the received SS block); and identify the second network device based at least in part on the second set of synchronization signal blocks (identifying another parent node based on the received SS block) (Fig. 6, Par 0007, Par 0010-0013, Par 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park by including the steps to receive a first set of synchronization signal blocks from the first network device and a second set of synchronization signal blocks from the second network device; identify the first network device based at least in part on the first set of synchronization signal blocks; and identify the second network device based at least in part on the second set of synchronization signal blocks, as taught by Dortschy for the purpose of “facilitating improved IAB handling”, as taught by Dortschy (Par 0003).
6. Claims 6, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claims 1, above and further in view of Futaki (US 20190182000 A1, hereinafter referred to as Futaki).
Re claims 6, 13, Park teaches that the control information (activating a first beam/second beam including SS beam) is received by the wireless repeater (child node) over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 39, Par 0287, Par 0427, Par 0441, Par 0492).
Park does not explicitly disclose to receive the control information in a portion of a bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal blocks from the first network device.
Futaki teaches to receive the control information (PDCCH) in a portion of a bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal blocks (PDCCH and SSB transmitted in the same BWP such as BWP#1, Fig. 13B-C) (Fig. 13B-C, Par 0121-0122, Par 0162-0163).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Park by including the step to receive the control information in a portion of a bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal blocks, as taught by Futaki for the purpose of efficiently performing RLM measurement and CSI measurement when a carrier bandwidth is divided into multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs), as taught by Futaki (Par 0043, Par 0049).
Park discloses to receive the control information to the wireless repeater over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). Futaki discloses to receive the control information in a portion of a bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal blocks. Therefore, Park in view of Futaki discloses to receive the control information in a portion of a bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal blocks from the first network device.
Re claims 8, Park teaches that the control information (activating a first beam/second beam including SS beam) is received by the wireless repeater (child node) over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 39, Par 0287, Par 0427, Par 0441, Par 0492).
Park does not explicitly disclose to receive the control information in a first bandwidth that is different from a second bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal block from the first network device.
Futaki teaches to receive the control information in a first bandwidth (BWP #2, 3 transmitting PDCCH) that is different from a second bandwidth (BWP # 1) used to receive one or more synchronization signal block (SSB is transmitted in BWP #1 and no SSB is transmitted in BWP#2-3, Fig. 13C) (Fig. 13B-C, Par 0121-0122, Par 0162-0163).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Park by including the step to receive the control information in a first bandwidth that is different from a second bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal block, as taught by Futaki for the purpose of efficiently performing RLM measurement and CSI measurement when a carrier bandwidth is divided into multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs), as taught by Futaki (Par 0043, Par 0049).
Park discloses to transmit the control information to the wireless repeater over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). Futaki discloses to receive the control information in a first bandwidth that is different from a second bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal block. Therefore, Park in view of Futaki discloses to receive the control information in a first bandwidth that is different from a second bandwidth used to receive one or more synchronization signal block from the first network device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473