CTNF 18/794,998 CTNF 82526 Detailed Action Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal US PGPub: US 2023/0144750 A1 May 11, 2023 and in view of Kim US PGPub: US 2020/0178343 A1 Jun. 4, 2020. Regarding claims 1, 7, Agiwal discloses, a terminal and a wireless communication method of a terminal (the “UE” is an entity communicating with a BS and may be referred to as UE, device, mobile station MS, mobile equipment ME or terminal – paragraph 0046. An apparatus, a method and a system for paging monitoring and acquiring dedicated system information in a wireless communication system – paragraph 0001. A method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving paging and dedicated system information in a wireless communication system – ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0007 – 0014. The “base station BS” is an entity communicating with a user equipment UE and may be referred to as BS, base transceiver station BTS, node B NB, evolved NB eNB, access point AP, 5G NB 5GNB, or gNB next generation node B – paragraph 0045) comprising: receiving circuitry configured to receive, from a base station (UE's paging arrival rate is informed to UE by core network - i.e. AMF using NAS message – Fig. 1/110, paragraph 0103. UE receives wakeup signal or early paging indication configuration from gNB for paging monitoring – paragraph 0461), system information including configuration information (gNB can signal this in paging configuration or in the BWP configuration received in system information or RRC signaling message - e.g. RRC Release message, RRCReconfiguration message = paragraphs 0103, 0323. Configuration can be received in system information or RRC signaling message – paragraph 0461) of paging early indication PEI in a cell (the number of groups into which UEs are divided for wakeup signal or early paging indication monitoring – paragraph 0323. UE receives wakeup signal or early paging indication configuration from gNB for paging monitoring – paragraph 0461), and receive, from the base station, a radio resource control RRC release message in the cell (gNB can signal this in paging configuration or in the BWP configuration received in system information or RRC signaling message - e.g. RRC Release message, RRCReconfiguration message = paragraphs 0103, 0323); and control circuitry configured to store the cell to monitor (memory 1930. The UE stores the AS context – paragraph 0069), based on the reception of the RRC release message (gNB can signal this in paging configuration or in the BWP configuration received in system information or RRC signaling message - e.g. RRC Release message, RRCReconfiguration message = paragraphs 0103, 0323), a physical downlink control channel PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel PDCCH is used to schedule downlink DL transmissions on physical downlink shared channel PDSCH and uplink UL transmissions on physical uplink shared channel PUSCH – paragraph 0055) for first downlink control information DCI (the Downlink Control Information DCI – paragraph 0055) including the PEI in the cell in a case where the RRC release message (gNB can signal this in paging configuration or in the BWP configuration received in system information or RRC signaling message - e.g. RRC Release message, RRCReconfiguration message = paragraphs 0103, 0323. UE receives wakeup signal or early paging indication configuration from gNB for paging monitoring – paragraph 0461), wherein the control circuitry is configured to control to monitor the PDCCH in the cell in a case where the configuration information of the PEI includes information for indicating to monitor the PDCCH in the case where the RRC release message (UE determines its Paging Frame PF and Paging Occasion PO as explained earlier and monitors the determined PO - i.e. one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions of PO – paragraph 0114. If camped cell supports paging groups/sub groups and UE supports paging groups/sub groups, UE monitors PDCCH addressed to P-RNTI 1. Otherwise UE monitors PDCCH addressed to legacy P-RNTI – paragraphs 0129, 0148), and control to monitor the PDCCH in a camped cell in a case where the configuration information of the PEI does not include the information for indicating to monitor the PDCCH in the case where the RRC release message (if camped cell supports paging groups/sub groups and UE supports paging groups/sub groups, UE monitors PDCCH addressed to P-RNTI 1. Otherwise UE monitors PDCCH addressed to legacy P-RNTI – paragraphs 0129, 0148), but, does not disclose, where the RRC release message is the latest received RRC release message. Kim teaches, a method of performing a radio resource control RRC connection procedure. When performing resource pool selection based on RSRP, the UE uses the latest results of the available measurements used for cell reselection evaluation in RRC_IDLE measurement report triggering evaluation in the RRC_CONNECTED (ABSTRACT, paragraph 0593). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving paging and dedicated system information in a wireless communication system of Agiwal (Agiwal, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0007 – 0014, 0323, 0461), wherein the system of Agiwal, would have incorporated a method of performing a radio resource control RRC connection procedure of Kim (Kim, ABSTRACT, paragraph 0593) for efficiently supporting a relay discovery of a bandwidth limited – i.e., narrowband, remote UE (Kim, paragraph 0004). Regarding claim 4, Agiwal discloses, a base station (the “base station BS” is an entity communicating with a user equipment UE and may be referred to as BS, base transceiver station BTS, node B NB, evolved NB eNB, access point AP, 5G NB 5GNB, or gNB next generation node B – paragraph 0045. the “UE” is an entity communicating with a BS and may be referred to as UE, device, mobile station MS, mobile equipment ME or terminal – paragraph 0046. An apparatus, a method and a system for paging monitoring and acquiring dedicated system information in a wireless communication system – paragraph 0001. A method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving paging and dedicated system information in a wireless communication system – ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0007 – 0014) comprising: transmission circuitry configured to transmit, to a terminal (UE's paging arrival rate is informed to UE by core network - i.e. AMF using NAS message – Fig. 1/110, paragraph 0103. UE receives wakeup signal or early paging indication configuration from gNB for paging monitoring – i.e., the base station is transmitting to a terminal – paragraph 0461), system information including configuration information (gNB can signal this in paging configuration or in the BWP configuration received in system information or RRC signaling message - e.g. RRC Release message, RRCReconfiguration message = paragraphs 0103, 0323. Configuration can be received in system information or RRC signaling message – paragraph 0461) of paging early indication PEI in a cell (the number of groups into which UEs are divided for wakeup signal or early paging indication monitoring – paragraph 0323. UE receives wakeup signal or early paging indication configuration from gNB for paging monitoring – paragraph 0461), and transmit, to the terminal, a radio resource control RRC release message in the cell (gNB can signal this in paging configuration or in the BWP configuration received in system information or RRC signaling message - e.g. RRC Release message, RRCReconfiguration message = paragraphs 0103, 0323. Configuration can be received in system information or RRC signaling message – paragraph 0461); and control circuitry configured to store the cell to transmit (memory 2030), based on the transmission of the RRC release message (gNB can signal this in paging configuration or in the BWP configuration received in system information or RRC signaling message - e.g. RRC Release message, RRCReconfiguration message = paragraphs 0103, 0323), first downlink control information DCI (the Downlink Control Information DCI – paragraph 0055) including the PEI on a physical downlink control channel PDCCH in the cell (Physical Downlink Control Channel PDCCH is used to schedule downlink DL transmissions on physical downlink shared channel PDSCH and uplink UL transmissions on physical uplink shared channel PUSCH – paragraph 0055), wherein the control circuitry is configured to control to transmit the first DCI on the PDCCH in the cell in a case where the configuration information of the PEI includes information for indicating to monitor the PDCCH (UE determines its Paging Frame PF and Paging Occasion PO as explained earlier and monitors the determined PO - i.e. one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions of PO – paragraph 0114. If camped cell supports paging groups/sub groups and UE supports paging groups/sub groups, UE monitors PDCCH addressed to P-RNTI 1. Otherwise UE monitors PDCCH addressed to legacy P-RNTI – paragraphs 0129, 0148), and control to transmit the first DCI on the PDCCH in a camped cell of the terminal in a case where the configuration information of the PEI does not include the information for indicating to monitor the PDCCH in the case where the RRC release message (if camped cell supports paging groups/sub groups and UE supports paging groups/sub groups, UE monitors PDCCH addressed to P-RNTI 1. Otherwise UE monitors PDCCH addressed to legacy P-RNTI – paragraphs 0129, 0148), but, does not disclose, where the RRC release message is the latest received RRC release message. Kim teaches, a method of performing a radio resource control RRC connection procedure. When performing resource pool selection based on RSRP, the UE uses the latest results of the available measurements used for cell reselection evaluation in RRC_IDLE measurement report triggering evaluation in the RRC_CONNECTED (ABSTRACT, paragraph 0593). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving paging and dedicated system information in a wireless communication system of Agiwal (Agiwal, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0007 – 0014, 0323, 0461), wherein the system of Agiwal, would have incorporated a method of performing a radio resource control RRC connection procedure of Kim (Kim, ABSTRACT, paragraph 0593) for efficiently supporting a relay discovery of a bandwidth limited – i.e., narrowband, remote UE (Kim, paragraph 0004) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2, 3, 5, 6, 8 and 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 07-96 The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants disclosure. Nagano US PGPub: US 2024/0365333 A1 Oct. 31, 2024. A terminal includes a reception unit configured to receive system information including second information related to a cell to which first information related to a subgroup in one or more paging occasions is transmitted; and a control unit configured to control monitoring of a PDCCH for first downlink control information including the first information based on the second information in a case of an idle state or an inactive state, in which the control unit is configured to monitor the PDCCH for the first downlink control information including the first information in a cell in which an RRC release message is received when the second information is configured for a last cell indicating the cell in which the RRC release message is received, and monitor the PDCCH for the first downlink control information including the first information in a serving cell when the second information is not configured. Xu US PGPub: US 2023/0362889 A1 Nov. 9, 2023. Adaptive sub-grouping and paging for user equipment, where sub-grouping of paging groups of user equipment (UEs) based at least in part on one or more parameters associated with a UE, such as a UE type of the UE or a measured channel condition at the UE. A base station may assign the UE to a paging sub-group based at least in part on the information associated with the one or more parameters. In some aspects, the base station may determine paging transmission parameters for the UE based at least in part on the information associated with the one or more parameters, such as a paging early indication (PEI) location, a beam where a PEI and/or a paging message is to be transmitted, a number of repetitions for a paging occasion, or the like. Shih US PGPub: US 2020/0322918 A1 Oct. 8, 2020. A method for monitoring paging is provided. The method is performed by a user equipment (UE) and includes actions of receiving a first Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), and stopping monitoring a second PDCCH addressed to a second RNTI if the first PDCCH includes a paging stop indicator, where the second RNTI is the same as the first RNTI. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NIMESH PATEL whose telephone number is (571)270-1228. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday: 6:30 AM - 3:30 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached at 571-272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 2 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 3 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 4 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 5 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 6 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 7 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 8 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 9 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 10 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 11 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/794,998 Page 12 Art Unit: 2642