DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A response was filed in this application on 09/09/2026 after the non-final rejection of 04/09/2026. No claims have been added or cancelled but claim 3 has been amended in this submission. Thus, claims 1-3 are currently pending for reconsideration by the Examiner and are examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Statements (IDSs) filed on 05/14/2026, 04/28/2026, 04/24/2026 have been accepted, considered and compliant with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to amendments
3. The Applicant has correctly amended claim 3 to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. This rejection is therefore moot.
Double Patenting
4. The Applicant filed an e- terminal disclaimer (e-TD) to overcome the double patenting rejection. This e-TD has since been approved. This rejection is therefore also moot.
Response to arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with regards to the prior art have been fully considered but they are unpersuasive for at least the reasons outlined below.
The Applicant argues that the Examiner cited prior art reference Phillipe (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2013/0103408 A1) does not teach the independent claim 1 as in their invention the performance of the filter obtained is an inherent value of the audio block. The Applicant further contends that the stream identifier information of the current configuration information is not dependent on any other configuration information and is instead a self-contained value and that the stream identifier information exists to uniquely identify an individual stream and is not to be understood as a filter or a value indicating a performance.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and argues that instant claims do not recite that the “performance of the filter obtained is an inherent value of the audio block” or that “the stream identifier information of the current configuration information is not dependent on any other configuration information and is instead a self-contained value” or that “the stream identifier information exists to uniquely identify an individual stream and is not to be understood as a filter or a value indicating a performance”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show the above features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies above are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Applicant is welcome to include these limitations in the claim language to distinguish over the currently cited prior art consistent with their recitation in the specification. The Applicant is also reminded that the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and that the prior art reference is also considered as a whole. A stream is therefore interpreted as “a succession of consecutive blocks of data” (Phillippe, Abstract). Identification in the least squares sense, by calculating autocorrelation terms of the backward filter coefficients and intercorrelation between the modified filter and the backward filter as outlined in paragraphs 120-128 of Phillippe is consistent with this interpretation. Similarly, Applicant’s argument that “the stream identifier information is an inherent value of an encoded audio signal representation which can be understood as representing the origin of the encoded audio signal representation” is a very narrow interpretation of the current claim limitations and is not supported by instant language of the claims. The Applicant’s arguments are therefore not consistent with their claim scope. The prior art rejection is hence sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
6. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Phillipe (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2013/0103408 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Phillipe teaches an audio decoder for providing a decoded audio signal representation on the basis of an encoded audio signal representation (Paragraphs 36-44, teach a method of coding a digital audio signal comprising a succession of consecutive blocks of data, on the basis of a predictive filter. The method according to the invention comprises in particular the use of a modified predictive filter for coding at least one current block. This modified filter is constructed by the combination of a backward filter calculated for a past block, preceding the current block, and enrichment parameters of the backward filter, determined as a function of the signal in the current block and comprising the coefficients of a modifying filter. A decoder then receives the aforementioned parameters);
wherein the audio decoder is configured to adjust decoding parameters in dependence on a configuration information (Paragraphs 51-53, teaches that a criterion that takes into account a number of parameters to be sent to a decoder for decoding a current block and comprising at least the coefficients that the filter to be chosen comprises. Thus, the predetermined criterion may comprise a search for the optimum between the prediction gain offered by a filter to be chosen, on the one hand and a bitrate suitable for transmitting the necessary parameters to a decoder for reconstructing this filter);
wherein the audio decoder is configured to decode one or more audio frames using a current configuration information (Paragraphs 54-57, teach that the method comprises the steps of (a) determining a plurality of forward filters of distinct respective orders, (b) determining a plurality of backward filters of distinct respective orders, (C) calculating a plurality of modified filters of distinct respective orders, each estimated on the basis of a backward filter determined in step (b) and as a function of the signal in a current block to be coded. Para 105, teaches that the estimation of the LPC filter coefficients can be performed on the current signal on a frame representing a set of samples, or on a version of the signal resulting from a preceding local decoding of the signal in coded form. The local decoding is obtained by decoding the encoded parameters in the encoder. This local decoding can be used to retrieve information from the coder that is usable by the decoder in exactly the same way);
and wherein the audio decoder is configured to compare a configuration information in a configuration structure associated with one or more frames to be decoded, with the current configuration information, and to make a transition to perform a decoding using the configuration information in the configuration structure associated with the one or more frames to be decoded as a new configuration information if the configuration information in the configuration structure associated with the one or more frames to be decoded, or a relevant portion of the configuration information in the configuration structure associated with the one or more frames to be decoded, is different from the current configuration information (Paragraphs 54-57, teach step (d) comparing, for the same number of parameters to be sent to a decoder, this number being determined as a function of the filter orders, the performance of at least two filters from among the forward filters, backward filters and modified filters determined in steps a), b) and c), and step (e) selecting, for coding a current block, a predictive filter with the best performance according to the comparison of step d), for a given number of parameters to be sent to a decoder. Paragraphs 149-157, further detail this process wherein two different bitrate configurations are compared along with their signal-to-noise ratio on an audio frame to audio frame basis. In dynamic operation, the forward/backward/combined filter type may change from one frame to the next, according to the choice made in the coder. However, care will be taken to avoid too rapid changes in configuration if the prediction gains are not sufficiently different, in particular between the configuration used in the preceding frame and the configuration giving the best performance in the current frame);
wherein the audio decoder is configured to consider a stream identifier information included in the configuration structure when comparing the configuration information, such that a difference between a stream identifier previously acquired by the audio decoder and a stream identifier represented by the stream identifier information in the configuration structure associated with the one or more frames to be decoded causes to make the transition (Paragraphs 120-128, teach that the modifying filter may be estimated by deconvolution of a forward filter suitable for filtering the current block, by a backward filter calculated for a past block. A second option may be implemented by identification in the least squares sense, by calculating autocorrelation terms of the backward filter coefficients and intercorrelation between the modified filter and the backward filter. The filter M obtained via any one of these techniques is then quantified typically in a form appropriate to the transmission of LPC filter coefficients. Then, the performance of the filter obtained is compared with those of the quantified forward filter “F” containing the same number of coefficients as the calculated filter “M”);
wherein the stream identifier is represented by a bit stream syntax element which is represented by a 16-bit value (Paragraphs 167-177, detail configuration structures including a typical configuration used in the AMR-WB 3GPP encoder and decoder. It is 46 bits for 16 LPC coefficients represented in ISF form. For 10 coefficients, 18 bits will rather be used. This syntax can be adapted, or even simplified, if the number of combinations is reduced. The field index_pb may be omitted if only a single order of backward filter is considered possible. If filter B has to be transmitted, the order of the backward filter may be implicitly set to 16. Likewise, for the forward filter F or modifying filter M, a single length may be considered, e.g. 16).
With regards to claim 2, this is a method claim for the corresponding apparatus claim 1. These two claims are related as method and apparatus of using the same, with each claimed system element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly, claim 2 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to apparatus claim 1.
With regards to claim 3, this is a computer readable medium (CRM) claim for the corresponding apparatus claim 1. These two claims are related as CRM and apparatus of using the same, with each claimed system element's function corresponding to the claimed CRM step. Accordingly, claim 3 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to apparatus claim 1.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. The Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). The following prior art, made of record but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Sen (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0271621 A1), Dickins (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0248889 A1). These references are also included in the PTO-892 form attached with this office action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NEERAJ SHARMA whose contact information is given below. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Pierre Louis-Desir can be reached on 571-272-7799 (Direct Phone). The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NEERAJ SHARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659
571-270-5487 (Direct Phone)
571-270-6487 (Direct Fax)
neeraj.sharma@uspto.gov (Direct Email)