CTNF 18/795,024 CTNF 85636 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013 , is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,234,251 B2. Regarding claim 1, by removing the features of receiving information on data transmission scheduling in a three-party communication system, of including the second generic control information; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,234,251 substantially same invention as claim 1 of the instant application. Regarding claims 2-11: claims 2-11 of US Patent No. 11,234,251 are directed substantially same inventions as claims 2-11 of the instant application, respectively. Regarding claim 12, by not including the second generic control information; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make claim 12 of US Patent No. 11,234,251 substantially same invention as claim 12 of the instant application. Regarding claims 13-18: claims 13-18 of US Patent No. 11,234,251 are directed substantially same inventions as claims 13-18 of the instant application, respectively. Regarding claim 19, by removing the features of receiving information on a data transmission scheduling in a three-party communication system, of not including a control procedure and second generic control information; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make claim 19 of US Patent No. 11,234,251 substantially same invention as claim 19 of the instant application. Regarding claim 20: claim 20 of US Patent No. 11,234,251 is directed substantially same inventions as claim 20 of the instant application Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,666 B2. Regarding claims 1-11: claims 1-11 of US Patent No. 12,058,666 B2 are directed substantially same inventions as claims 1-11 of the instant application, respectively. Regarding claim 12, by not including the second generic control information; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make claim 12 of US Patent No. 12,058,666 B2 substantially same invention as claim 12 of the instant application. Regarding claims 13-18: claims 13-18 of US Patent No. 12,058,666 B2 are directed substantially same inventions as claims 13-18 of the instant application, respectively. Regarding claim 19, by not including the second generic control information; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make claim 19 of US Patent No. 12,058,666 substantially same invention as claim 19 of the instant application. Regarding claim 20: claim 20 of US Patent No. 12,058,666 B2 is directed substantially same inventions as claim 20 of the instant application. Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gupta (US 2019/0141694 A1 ), hereinafter Gupta, in view of Pelletier et al . (US 2013/0322413 A1) , hereinafter Pelletier , and further in view of Gong et al. (US 2018/0192405 A1) , hereinafter Gong . Regarding claim 1: Gupta discloses a node (base station/ scheduling entity, element 600 in Fig.6 or [0022]) comprising: a processor (processing unit, element 602 in Fig.6); and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor (memory including instructions, element 606, 612 in Fig.6), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: transmitting first generic control information comprising a unicast transmission to first user equipment (transmitting indication informing first UE that it is to support a D2D communication by transmitting D2D signals with second UE, e.g., unicast transmission [0088]); monitoring the first user equipment to determine that the first user equipment has sent a data transmission to second user equipment (monitoring first signal being transmitted from first UE to second UE [0029]); monitoring the second user equipment to determine that the second user equipment has sent an acknowledgment transmission to the first user equipment in response to having received the data transmission (monitoring second signal being transmitted from second UE to first [0029], wherein signals are ACK/NACK [0029]). Also, Gupta mentions the base station allocates grant-free uplink {GUL} resources to UEs [0025] and transmits wireless signaling parameters for use in supporting D2D communication [0088]. Gupta does not further disclose transmitting a channel configuration dataset, a resource configuration dataset, and a transmit and receive configuration dataset to the first user equipment; and transmitting first link data representative of a first link and second link data representative of a second link to the first user equipment, in which the first link data links the channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset and the second link data links the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset. Pelletier , from the same field of endeavor, discloses transmitting a channel configuration dataset (scheduling/ transmitting channel configuration dataset includes modulation scheme, coding rate, transport block size,[ 0102 and 0131, lines 18-22]) , a resource configuration dataset (resource data set includes set of subframes, OFDM symbols, subcarriers, [0093]), and a transmit and receive configuration dataset to the first user equipment (transmit/ receive configuration includes target direction – transmit or receive scheduling assignment, and different PDCCH search searches, e.g., defined for decoding, [0171]) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to transmit a channel configuration dataset , a resource configuration dataset , and a transmit and receive configuration dataset to the first user equipment; thus enabling data communications between two devices. Gupta in view of Pelletier does not disclose transmitting first link data representative of a first link and second link data representative of a second link to the first user equipment; in which the first link data links the channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset, and the second link data links the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset. Gong , from the same field of endeavor, discloses transmitting first link data representative of a first link and second link data representative of a second link to the first user equipment (transmitting DCI message with different transmission and/or reception parameters including at least one of transmission mode, reference signal (RS) structure, reception beam, search space type, e.g., first link data; and control resource set, e.g., second link data, [0044]) ; in which the first link data links the channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset (wherein transmission modes include diversity precoding or space frequency block coding [0039], e.g., channel configuration dataset, and multiple DCI instances mapped across control resource sets, [0043, lines 1-4]) , and the second link data links the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset (and resource configuration refers to one or more parameters used to configure a search space that UE decodes, e.g., transmit/ receive configuration dataset, [0048]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a control procedure by linking the channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset, based on first link data; and linking the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset, based on second link data; thus enhancing data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices by applying proper transmission/ reception parameters. Regarding claim 2: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Gupta further discloses receiving information that configures the node as a scheduling node of a three-party communication system (being configured to determine that a GUL resource allocation is to be provided for use in D2D communication between a first UE and a second UE, [0027]). Regarding claim 3: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Gupta further discloses the first generic control information is transmitted in a generic control information structure (indication includes wireless signaling parameters [0088]) , and wherein the generic control information structure further identifies the second user equipment as a receiver node in a three-party communication system (indication informing second UE to that it is to support D2D communication by receiving D2D signals from first UE [0088]). Regarding claim 4: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 3. Gupta further discloses receiving the acknowledgment transmission from the second user equipment (receiving ACK/NACK message from second UE [0116]). Regarding claim 5: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Gupta further discloses the node comprises a base station, a relay station, or a third user equipment configured as a scheduling node (scheduling entity: base station [0022], relay, or other node [0022]). Regarding claim 6: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further discloses configuring a control procedure by linking the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset (determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, [0107]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a control procedure by linking the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration; thus enhancing data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices by applying proper transmission/ reception parameters. Regarding claim 7: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 6. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further discloses the channel configuration dataset comprises at least one of: encoding data (channel/ link adaptation includes modulation scheme, coding rate, [0102 and 00131, lines 18-22] ) , cyclic redundancy check data, radio network temporary identifier data, or sequence data, wherein the resource configuration dataset comprises frequency domain resource allocation information for a control channel (resource configuration includes set of subcarriers, [0093]) , and wherein the transmit and receive configuration dataset comprises at least one of: payload size information, aggregation level data, blind decoding time data, or decoding time data (transmit and receive configuration includes different PDCCH search searches, e.g., defined for decoding, [0171]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include parameters in resource, channel, and transmit and receive configurations; thus ensuring proper system operations by using proper datasets [0036]. Regarding claim 8: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Gupta further discloses sending the first generic control information via a physical downlink control channel (downlink control information carried in physical downlink control channel [0074]) . Regarding claim 9: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further discloses the channel configuration dataset comprises a first channel configuration dataset (channel/ link adaptation includes modulation scheme, coding rate, [0102 and 0131, lines 18-22]) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a first channel configuration dataset; thus providing the characteristics of the medium for transmissions. Gupta in view of Pelletier does not disclose transmitting a second channel configuration dataset to the first user equipment; and reconfiguring the first user equipment by transmitting a third link to the first user equipment that links the second channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset. Furthermore, Gong further discloses transmitting a second channel configuration dataset to the first user equipment (transmitting a different parameter, e.g., , e.g., second channel configuration dataset,[0038, lines 10-12]) ; and reconfiguring the first user equipment by transmitting a third link to the first user equipment that links the second channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset (reconfiguring by having a different parameter, e.g., second channel configuration dataset on third link, associated with a same parameter, e.g., resource configuration dataset , [0038, lines 10-12]) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the user by re-linking the channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset; thus ensuring continued data transmissions without error. Regarding claim 10: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Gupta in view of Pelletier does not, while Gong further teaches the resource configuration dataset comprises a first resource configuration dataset, (comprising {first] resource dataset, [0042, lines 1-5]) and wherein the operations further comprise: transmitting a second resource configuration dataset to the first user equipment (transmitting a different parameter, e.g., second resource configuration dataset, [0038, lines 10-12]) ; and reconfiguring the first user equipment by transmitting a third link to the first user equipment that links the second resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset (reconfiguring by having a different parameter, e.g., second resource configuration dataset, associated with a same parameter, e.g., transmit/ receive configuration dataset on third link, 0038, lines 10-12]) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the user by re-linking the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset; thus ensuring continued data transmissions without error. Regarding claim 11: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 1. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further discloses the transmit and receive configuration dataset comprises a first transmit and receive configuration dataset (transmit and receive configuration includes PDCCH search space, e.g., defined for decoding, [0171]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a first channel configuration dataset; thus providing the characteristics of the medium for transmissions. Gupta in view of Pelletier does not, while Gong further discloses transmitting a second transmit and receive configuration dataset to the first user equipment (transmitting a different parameter, e.g., second transmit and receive configuration dataset, [0038, lines 10-12]) ; and reconfiguring the first user equipment by transmitting a third link to the first user equipment that links the resource configuration dataset to the second transmit and receive configuration dataset (reconfiguring by having a same parameter, e.g., resource configuration dataset, associated with a different parameter, e.g., second transmit and receive configuration dataset associated on third link, [0038, lines 10-12]) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the user by re-linking the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset; thus ensuring continued data transmissions without error. Regarding claim 12: Claim 12 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 1 above, except that claim 12 is a method claim recited from the perspective of the first user equipment, which assumes the role of the scheduling node (scheduling entity: base station [0022], relay, or other {D2D} node [0022 in Gupta]). It is known in the art that any D2D node can become a scheduling node; therefore, the rejection to claim 1 can be applied to claim 12. Regarding claim 13: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 12. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further discloses the channel configuration dataset comprises a first channel configuration dataset (comprising {first} channel configuration set includes modulation scheme, coding rate, transport block size, e.g., channel configuration set, [0102 and 0131, lines 18-22 in Pelletier]) , wherein the resource configuration dataset comprises a first resource configuration dataset (comprising {first} resource configuration dataset includes set of subframes, OFDM symbols, subcarriers, [0093 in Pelletier]) , and wherein the transmit and receive configuration dataset comprises a first transmit and receive configuration dataset (comprising {first] transmit/ receive configuration dataset includes target direction – transmit or receive scheduling assignment, and different PDCCH search searches, e.g., defined for decoding, [0171 in Pelletier]) ; receiving, by the first user equipment, third configuration information comprising at least one of: a second channel configuration dataset, a second resource configuration dataset or a second transmit and receive configuration dataset (and receiving DCI message, e.g., third configuration information, with different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., comprising a second channel configuration dataset, a second resource configuration dataset or a second transmit and receive configuration dataset, [0044 in Gong]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to receive channel configuration, resource configuration, and transmit and receive configures; thus enabling data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices by applying proper transmission/ reception parameters. Regarding claim 14: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 12. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further teach the channel configuration dataset comprises a first channel configuration dataset (comprising {first} channel configuration set includes modulation scheme, coding rate, transport block size, e.g., channel configuration set, [0102 and 0131, lines 18-22 in Pelletier] , and wherein the control procedure comprises a first control procedure (determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing control procedure, [0107 in Pelletier] ) . and configuring, by the first user equipment, a second control procedure based on the third link data (and determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing second control procedure, [0107]] ). Gupta in view of Pelletier does not disclose, while Gong, from the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving, by the first user equipment, a second channel configuration dataset (and receiving different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., a second channel configuration dataset, [0044]) , receiving by the first user equipment, third configuration information comprising third link data (and receiving DCI message, e.g., third configuration information, with different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., with third link data, [0044] ), and linking the second channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset (reconfiguring by having a different parameter, e.g., second channel configuration dataset, associated with same parameter, e.g., control resource set, [0038, lines 10-12 in Gong] ) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to link second channel configuration to resource configuration; thus enabling data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices. Regarding claim 15: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 12. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further teaches the control procedure comprises a first control procedure (determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing control procedure, [0107 in Pelletier]) ; configuring, by the first user equipment, a second control procedure (determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing second control procedure, [0107 in Pelletier]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a control procedure; thus enabling a user to meet defined requirements. Gupta and Pelletier do not disclose; while Gong, from the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving, by the first user equipment, a second resource configuration dataset (and receiving different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., a second resource configuration dataset, [0044]) , receiving, by the first user equipment, third configuration information comprising third link data (receiving DCI message, e.g., third configuration information, with different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., with third link data, [0044]) , and configuring a control procedure by linking the channel configuration dataset to the second resource configuration dataset based on the third link data (reconfiguring by having a same parameter, e.g., channel configuration dataset, associated with a different parameter, e.g., second resource configuration dataset, [0038, lines 10-12); the resource configuration dataset comprises a first resource configuration dataset (comprising {first] resource dataset, [0042]) , receiving, by the first user equipment, a second resource configuration dataset (and receiving different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., a second resource configuration dataset, [0044]) , receiving, by the first user equipment, third configuration information comprising third link data (receiving DCI message, e.g., third configuration information, with different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., with third link data, [0044]) , and configuring a control procedure by linking the channel configuration dataset to the second resource configuration dataset based on the third link data (reconfiguring by having a same parameter, e.g., channel configuration dataset, associated with a different parameter, e.g., second resource configuration dataset, [0038, lines 10-12]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to link channel configuration to second resource configuration; thus enabling data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices. Regarding claim 16: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 12. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further teaches a first control procedure (determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing control procedure, [0107) and configuring, by the first user equipment, a second control procedure (and determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing second control procedure, [0107] ) Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a control procedure; thus enabling a user to meet defined requirements. Gupta and Pelletier do not explicitly teach , while Gong , from the same field of endeavor, further teaches the resource configuration dataset comprises a first resource configuration dataset (comprising {first] resource dataset, [0042, lines 1-5]) , and the method further comprises receiving, by the first user equipment, a second resource configuration dataset (and receiving different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., a second resource configuration dataset, [0044]), receiving, by the first user equipment, third configuration information comprising third link data (and receiving DCI message, e.g., third configuration information, with different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., with third link data, [0044]) ; and by linking the second resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset based on the third link data (reconfiguring by having a different parameter, e.g., second resource configuration dataset, associated with a same parameter, e.g., transmit and receive configuration dataset on third link, [0038, lines 10-12]) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to link second resource configuration to transmit and receive configuration to; thus enabling data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices. Regarding claim 17: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 12. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further teaches comprising a first control procedure (determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing control procedure, [0107]) ; and determining the transmit and receive configuration dataset comprising a first transmit and receive configuration dataset (comprising {first} transmit/ receive configuration including target direction – transmit or receive scheduling assignment, and different PDCCH search searches, e.g., defined for decoding, [0171]) ; and configuring, by the first user equipment, a second control procedure (and determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing second control procedure, [0107]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the transmit and receive configuration dataset; thus enabling data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices. Gupta and Pelletier do not explicitly teach , while Gong , from the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving, by the first user equipment, a second transmit and receive configuration dataset (and receiving different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., a second transmit and receive configuration dataset, [0044]) , receiving, by the first user equipment, third configuration information comprising third link data (and receiving DCI message, e.g., third configuration information, with different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., with third link data, [0044]) , and linking the resource configuration dataset to the second transmit and receive configuration dataset based on the third link data (reconfiguring by having a same parameter, e.g., resource configuration dataset associated with a different parameter, e.g., second transmit and receive configuration dataset, [0038, lines 10-12 in Gong]) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to link resource configuration to the second transmit and receive configuration to thus enabling data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices. Regarding claim 18: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 12. Gupta further discloses the first generic control information comprises the second user equipment operating as a first transmitter node (indication informing first UE to that it is to support D2D communication by transmitting D2D signals from first UE, e.g., transmitter node [0088]). Gupta does not further disclose, while Pelletier , from the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving, by the first user equipment, the first generic control information (receiving an allocation of resources, by WTRU1, e.g., first user equipment device, to perform D2D communications with WTRU2, [0134]), wherein allocation of resources is included in downlink control information {DCI}, e.g., generic control information structure, being carried on control channels, [0161- 0164] ); scheduling information schedules a data transmission from the first user equipment (and allocation of resources for D2D transmission from WTRU1 to WTRU2, [0134]) , and transmitting the data transmission based on the scheduling information (and transmitting data on D2D link, [0159, lines 6-10]) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the invention was filed to transmit the data transmission based on the scheduling information; thus ensuring communications to be reached to intended receiving devices while improving resource efficiency. Regarding claim 19: Claim 19 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 1 above, except that claim 19 is in a non-transitory machine-readable medium format - Gupta [0121] Regarding claim 20: Gupta in view of Pelletier and Gong discloses all limitations of claim 19. Gupta does not, while Pelletier further teaches receiving a channel configuration dataset group comprising at least one channel configuration dataset (receiving scheduling information comprising modulation scheme, coding rate, transport block size, e.g., channel configuration dataset, e.g., channel configuration dataset group, e.g., comprising at least modulation and coding rate forming one channel configuration dataset, [0102 and 0131, lines 18-22]) ; receiving a resource configuration dataset group comprising at least one resource configuration dataset (receiving resource configuration dataset including set of subframes, OFDM symbols, subcarriers, [0093]) ; receiving a transmit and receive configuration dataset group comprising at least one resource configuration dataset (receiving transmit/ receive configuration including target direction – transmit or receive scheduling assignment, and different PDCCH search searches, e.g., defined for decoding, [0171]) ; and configuring the control procedure (determining what transmission parameters to apply, or select one of a finite number of sets of transmission parameters, e.g., performing control procedure, [0107]). Gupta in view of Pelletier do not explicitly disclose, while Gong , from the same field of endeavor, further teaches receiving first link information ( receiving DCI messages with different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., first link information, [0044]) that associates one channel configuration dataset of the channel configuration dataset group with a first resource configuration dataset of the resource configuration dataset group (wherein transmission modes include diversity precoding or space frequency block coding [para.39], e.g., channel configuration dataset, and multiple DCI instances mapped across control resource sets, 0043, lines 1-4]) , receiving second link information (receiving DCI messages with different transmission and/or reception parameters, e.g., second link information, [0044]) that associates the first resource configuration dataset of the resource configuration dataset group with a first channel transmit and receive configuration dataset of the transmit and receive configuration dataset group (and resource configuration refers to one or more parameters used to configure a search space that UE decodes, e.g., transmit/ receive configuration dataset, [0048]), and linking the one channel configuration dataset to the first resource configuration dataset based on the first link information (wherein transmission modes include diversity precoding or space frequency block coding [para.39], e.g., channel configuration dataset, and multiple DCI instances mapped across control resource sets, based on first link [0043, lines 1-4]) ; and inking the first resource configuration dataset to the first channel transmit and receive configuration dataset based on the second link information (and resource configuration refers to one or more parameters used to configure a search space that UE decodes, e.g., transmit/ receive configuration dataset based on second link, [0048]). Therefore, it would be appreciated by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the invention was filed to implement the feature of performing a control procedure by linking the channel configuration dataset to the first resource configuration dataset based on the first link information, and linking the first resource configuration dataset to the first channel transmit and receive configuration dataset based on the second link information; thus enhancing D2D data communications between two devices by adapting an efficient control procedure . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miki (US-20100014474-A1 [0074]), is cited to show that performing a control procedure by linking the channel configuration dataset to the resource configuration dataset, based on first link data; and linking the resource configuration dataset to the transmit and receive configuration dataset, based on second link data – would enhance data transmission/ reception on D2D links between two devices by applying proper transmission/ reception parameters -- similar to the claimed invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAMQUYEN THAI whose telephone number is (571)270-7245. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 9:00am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and videoconferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor , Ayman A. Abaza , can be reached at 571-270-0422 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.Q.T/ /AYMAN A ABAZA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 4 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 9 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 10 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 11 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 12 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 13 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 14 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 15 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 16 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 17 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 18 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 19 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 20 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 21 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 22 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 23 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 24 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 25 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/795,024 Page 26 Art Unit: 2465