DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shpunt US 2021/0344889.
Regarding claim 1, Shpunt teaches a multi-instance emission system for retina scanning based near-eye display, comprising: a plurality of light emitting units (figs 3-6 light emitting device 2002A-I, 2102A-I, 2202A-I,) for respectively emitting light signals to a first eye or a second eye of a viewer; and at least one light direction modifiers (collimating lens 2040/2240) for modifying light emitting direction of the plurality of light emitting units or collimating the light signals such that optical path of a first collimated light signal and a third collimated light signal from a plurality of collimated light signals have optical paths or optical path extensions that converge to form a first converging point, and a second collimated light signal and a fourth collimated light signal from the plurality of collimated light signals have optical paths or optical path extensions that converge to form a second converging point; wherein the first converging point is located on the optical path after entering the pupil of the first eye ([0064] and claim 7), the second converging point is located on the optical path after entering the pupil of the second eye ([0064] and claim 7), wherein the first collimated light signal (could correspond to 2002A) and the third collimated light signal (could correspond to 2002B) comprise substantially the same image information, and the second collimated light signal (could correspond to 2002A for different eye see claim 7) and the fourth collimated light signal (2002B for different eye see claim 7) comprise substantially the same image information, wherein the first collimated light signal, the second collimated light signal, the third collimated light signal, and the fourth collimated light signal have different optical paths.
Regarding claim 2, Shpunt teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first collimated light signal and the third collimated light signal forms a first monocular image (fig. 3A left image), the second collimated light signal and the fourth collimated light signal forms a second monocular image (right image 1902), the viewer perceives a partial binocular image with depth perception upon receiving the first monocular image and the second monocular image, a depth of the partial binocular image perceived by the viewer is modulated by altering a distance between the first converging point and the second converging point based on an interpupillary distance of the viewer ([0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Shpunt teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the first converging point and the second converging point are located sustainably on retina of the first eye and the second eye [0061]-[0064], or the first converging point and the second converging point are located on a side of the retina.
Regarding claim 4, Shpunt teaches the system of claim 3, the limitation of wherein increment of the depth of the partial binocular image changes with respect to time is modulated by decreasing the distance between the first converging point and the second converging point with respect to time, and decrement of the depth of the partial binocular image changes with respect to time is modulated by increasing the distance between the first converging point and the second converging point with respect to time does not impose any structural limitations not taught by Shpunt as the reference discloses adjusting a projection depth over time or multiple depths a the same time per each eye (see fig 3, 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Shpunt teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first collimated light signal, the second collimated light signal, the third collimated light signal, and the fourth collimated light signal are respectively emitted by a first light emitting unit, a second light emitting unit, a third light emitting unit, and a fourth light emitting unit at a first moment, any of the first collimated light signal, the second collimated light signal, the third collimated light signal, or the fourth collimated light signal is emitted by light emitting unit other than the first light emitting unit, the second light emitting unit, the third light emitting unit, or the fourth light emitting unit after an orientation of the first eye or the second eye changes relative to the first moment (see fig. 6 shows an array(via lens shift see fig. 5A) with separate collimated light signals which activate based on desired depth capable of multiple simultaneous depth fig 7 shows altering these depths over time per each eye).
Regarding claim 6, Shpunt teaches the structure capable of spatial locations of the first converging point and the second converging point remains substantially the same after the orientation of the first eye or the second eye changes relative to the first moment [0062] and [0064].
Regarding claim 7, Shpunt teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of light emitting units comprises a light emitter (see fig. 5A light emitting device 2202A-E) and a light direction modifier (microlens 2212) of the at least one light direction modifiers.
Regarding claim 8, Shpunt teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one light direction modifiers (microlens 2212) is configured to be able to dynamically modifying light emitting direction (via lens shift see fig. 5A) of the plurality of light emitting units.
Regarding claim 9, Shpunt teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one light direction modifiers modify light emitting direction of the plurality of light emitting units such that any of the first collimated light signal or the third collimated light signal is directed toward the first eye with a first angle that is altering relative a frontal plane of the viewer with respect to time, the at least one light direction modifiers modify light emitting direction of the plurality of light emitting units such that any of the second collimated light signal or the fourth collimated light signal is directed toward the second eye with a second angle that is altering relative a frontal plane of the viewer with respect to time (see fig. 5, 7 and [0045]).
Regarding claim 10, Shpunt teaches a multi-instance emission method for rendering a binocular image frame for retina scanning based near-eye display, comprising: emitting a first collimated light signal and a third collimated light signal respectively from a plurality of light emitting units (fig. 3B, 5B and 6 light emitting units 2001A-F, 2201A-F) to a first eye of a viewer (can be any two beams emitted toward f1 see fig. 3B, 5B and 6)-, emitting a second collimated light signal and a fourth collimated light signal respectively from the plurality of light emitting units to a second eye of the viewer (fig. 3B, 5B and 6 is performed per eye), emitting a fifth collimated light signal and a seventh collimated light signal respectively from the plurality of light emitting units to a first eye of a viewer (can be f2), emitting a sixth collimated light signal and an eighth collimated light signal respectively from the plurality of light emitting units to a second eye of the viewer (can be f2 as applied to another eye), wherein the first collimated light signal, the second collimated light signal, the third collimated light signal, the fourth collimated light signal, the fifth collimated light signal, the sixth collimated light signal, the seventh collimated light signal, and the eighth collimated light signal are emitted concurrently or emitted non concurrently but within a period of persistence of vision (fig. 3B and 5B show concurrency as there is an array of emitters), wherein emitting direction of the first collimated light signal, the second collimated light signal, the third collimated light signal, the fourth collimated light signal, the fifth collimated light signal, the sixth collimated light signal, the seventh collimated light signal, and the eighth collimated light signal are modulated by at least one light direction modifiers such that optical path of a first collimated light signal and a third collimated light signal have optical paths or optical path extensions that converge to form a first converging point (f1), the second collimated light signal and a fourth collimated light signal have optical paths or optical path extensions that converge to form a second converging point (f1-f3 as applied to another eye), the fifth collimated light signal and a seventh collimated light signal have optical paths or optical path extensions that converge to form a third converging point (f2), and the sixth collimated light signal and the eighth collimated light signal have optical paths or optical path extensions that converge to form a fourth converging point; wherein the first converging point and the third converging point are located at the optical path after entering the pupil of the first eye, and the second converging point and the fourth converging point are located at the optical path after entering the pupil of the second eye, wherein the first collimated light signal and the third collimated light signal forms a first left monocular image (see fig. 3A left image 1900), the second collimated light signal and the fourth collimated light signal forms a first right monocular image (right image 1902), the fifth collimated light signal and the seventh collimated light signal forms a second left monocular image, the sixth collimated light signal and the eighth collimated light signal forms a second right monocular image, the viewer perceives a first partial binocular image with depth perception upon receiving the first left monocular image and the first right monocular image, the viewer perceives a second partial binocular image with depth perception upon receiving the second left monocular image and the second right monocular image, wherein the binocular image frame comprises the first partial binocular image and the second partial binocular image, a depth of the first partial binocular image is different from a depth of the second partial binocular image (see fig 3A different depths A, B, C for each eye).
Regarding claim 11, Shpunt teaches the method of claim 10, the depth of the first partial binocular image perceived by the viewer is modulated by altering a distance between the first converging point and the second converging point based on an interpupillary distance of the viewer, the depth of the second partial binocular image perceived by the viewer is modulated by altering a distance between the third converging point and the fourth converging point based on the interpupillary distance of the viewer, the distance between the first converging point and the second converging point and the distance between the third converging point and the fourth converging point are altered concurrently (see fig. 3B and 7 shows the pixel depth is performed in parallel for each eye).
Regarding claim 12, Shpunt teaches tThe method of claim 11, wherein the binocular image frame comprises an image of a virtual object, the image of the virtual object comprises the first partial binocular image and the second partial binocular image (see fig. 3B left and right images 1900, 1902).
Regarding claim 13, Shpunt teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the first collimated light signal and the third collimated light signal comprise substantially the same image information (fig 3B and 5B f1), the fifth collimated light signal and the seventh collimated light signal comprise substantially the same image information (f3), the second collimated light signal and the fourth collimated light signal comprise substantially the same image information (f1 of another eye), and the sixth collimated light signal and the eighth collimated light signal (f3 of another eye) comprise substantially the same image information.
Regarding claim 14, Shpunt teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the first converging point, the second converging point, the third converging point, and the fourth converging point are located sustainably on retina of the first eye and the second eye (see fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 15, Shpunt teaches he method of claim 14, wherein the first collimated light signal, the second collimated light signal, the third collimated light signal, the fourth collimated light signal, the fifth collimated light signal, the six collimated light signal, the seventh collimated light signal, and the eighth collimated light signal are respectively emitted by a first light emitting unit, a second light emitting unit, a third light emitting unit, a fourth light emitting unit, a fifth light emitting unit, a sixth light emitting unit, a seventh light emitting unit and an eighth light emitting unit at a first moment, any of the first collimated light signal, the second collimated light signal, the third collimated light signal, the fourth collimated light signal, the fifth collimated light signal, the sixth collimated light signal, the seventh collimated light signal, or the eighth collimated light signal is emitted by different light emitting unit from the plurality of light emitting units unit after an orientation of the first eye or the second eye changes relative to the first moment (see fig. 10B each beam shows a collimated light from a different light source and based on a changing pupil position).
Regarding claim 16, Shpunt teaches the system of claim 15, wherein spatial locations of the first converging point and the second converging point remains substantially the same after the orientation of the first eye or the second eye changes relative to the first moment [0062] and [0064].
Conclusion
/PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871