DETAILED ACTION
An effective filing date of 07/27/2022 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 – 6 and 8 – 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2
Line 1; change “an interface” to --the interface--.
Line 2; change “an interactive interface” to --the interactive interface--.
Claim 3
Line 4 should be amended as follow for claim clarity:
--performing, in response to completion of the creation of the page element structure tree
Line 5; change “a second communication interface” to --the second communication interface--.
Claim 4
Line 3; change “an interface rendering instruction” to --the interface rendering instruction--.
Line 4; change “a page element” to --the page element--.
Line 7; change “a second communication interface” to --the second communication interface--.
Claim 5
Line 5; change “a page element” to --the page element--.
Claim 6
Line 1, change “a style rule set” to --the style rule set--.
Claim 8
Lines 2 – 3; change “the memory being configured to store a computer program” to --the memory storing a computer program--.
Line 3; change “to cause” to --causes--.
Claim 9
Line 1; change “an interface” to --the interface--.
Line 2; change “an interactive interface” to --the interactive interface--.
Claim 10
Line 1 should be amended as follow:
--The computer device according to claim 8, wherein the computer program that, when executed by the processor, causes the computer device to further perform the method comprising:--.
Line 4 should be amended as follow for claim clarity:
--performing, in response to completion of the creation of the page element structure tree
Line 5; change “a second communication interface” to --the second communication interface--.
Claim 11
Line 3; change “an interface rendering instruction” to --the interface rendering instruction--.
Lines 4 – 5; change “a page element” to --the page element--.
Line 7; change “a second communication interface” to --the second communication interface--.
Claim 12
Line 5; change “a page element” to --the page element--.
Claim 13
Line 1, change “a style rule set” to --the style rule set--.
Claim 14
The claim is dependent claim of claim 8; therefore, it inherits issue of claim 8.
Claim 15
Line 1; remove comma.
Claim 16
Line 2; change “an interface” to --the interface--.
change “an interactive interface” to --the interactive interface--.
Claim 17
Lines 1 – 2 should be amended as follow:
-- The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the computer device to further perform the method comprising:--.
Line 5 should be amended as follow for claim clarity:
--performing, in response to completion of the creation of the page element structure tree
Line 6; change “a second communication interface” to --the second communication interface--.
Claim 18
Lines 3 – 4; change “an interface rendering instruction” to --the interface rendering instruction--.
Line 5; change “a page element” to --the page element--.
Lines 7 – 8; change “a second communication interface” to --the second communication interface--.
Claim 19
Line 5; change “a page element” to --the page element--.
Claim 20
The claim is dependent claim of claim 15; therefore, it inherits issue of claim 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 11, 14 – 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beijing Baidu Netcom science and Technology Co. (CN 112861057 A; hereinafter Baidu; IDS dated 08/06/2024.)
CN 112861057 A is not totally in English language. It has been translated into English by website Espacenet, and its translated version is attached.
Claim 1
Baidu teaches a data processing method performed by a computer device, the method comprising (Baidu; [0027] Figure 1A is a flowchart of a page rendering method based on a mini-program according to an embodiment of this application …):
in response to an interactive operation for a sub-program application, generating an interface rendering instruction for rendering an interactive interface corresponding to the interactive operation (Baidu; [0031] Optionally, the page to be rendered is determined based on the user's trigger action. For example, when a user launches a mini-program (sub-program) by clicking the mini-program icon in the host app, the page to be rendered can be the default display page of the mini-program (rendering instruction was included); or if the mini-program has already been launched, the page launched is triggered by the user clicking an option on the currently displayed page of the mini-program.
[0029] In this embodiment, for users, a mini-program can be an application that can be used without downloading and installing it … Understandably, a host app (such as the WeChat client) needs to integrate the mini-program runtime framework in order to run the mini-program. Also see [0033]);
transmitting the interface rendering instruction to an execution environment of the sub-program application associated with a mobile application development framework through a first communication interface, the first communication interface being a communication interface between a first programming language corresponding to the interface rendering instruction and a second programming language corresponding to a native application hosting the sub-program application (Baidu; [0031] … For example, when a user launches a mini-program by clicking the mini-program icon in the host app (hosting application), the page to be rendered can be the default display page of the mini-program …
[0033] … Specifically, in this embodiment, after the page to be rendered is determined based on the user's trigger operation, the logic layer in the mini program runtime can obtain the page configuration information of the page to be rendered, parse the page configuration information of the page to be rendered, and determine whether to use the native rendering engine or the web page rendering engine to render the page …
[0029] … Understandably, a host app (such as the WeChat client) (hosting application) needs to integrate the mini-program runtime framework in order to run the mini-program. WeChat client is writing in C++, second programming language.
[0038 – 0039] In this embodiment, the mini-program runtime includes both a native rendering layer and a web page rendering layer, supporting dynamic selection of the rendering engine at runtime based on page configuration information…
[0065] Specifically, if the determined rendering engine is the native rendering engine, the rendering data can be transferred to the native rendering layer by calling the setData() function in the logic layer during the mini-program's runtime. The swan.js framework in the native rendering layer parses the rendering data to generate a virtual rendering tree, i.e., a virtual DOM tree … Based on the difference result, it generates rendering instructions and submits them to the native rendering engine. The native rendering engine then renders the native components in the page to be rendered according to the rendering instructions…; DOM tree is written in HTML or XML, first programming language;
[0067] Optionally, if the determined rendering engine is a web page rendering engine, the rendering data can be transferred to the web page rendering layer by calling the setData() function in the logic layer during the mini-program's runtime. The swan.js framework in the web page rendering layer generates the current rendering tree, i.e., the DOM tree, based on the rendering data and the page template … Based on the difference result, it operates on the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the final DOM tree, which is then submitted to the web page rendering engine. The web page rendering engine then renders the web page components in the page to be rendered …; DOM tree is written in HTML or XML, first programming language;
invoking, in the execution environment, a second communication interface based on the interface rendering instruction for rendering the interactive interface corresponding to the interactive operation based on the mobile application development framework, the second communication interface being a communication interface between the second programming language and a third programming language corresponding to the mobile application development framework (Baidu; [0033] … Specifically, in this embodiment, after the page to be rendered is determined based on the user's trigger operation, the logic layer in the mini program runtime can obtain the page configuration information of the page to be rendered, parse the page configuration information of the page to be rendered, and determine whether to use the native rendering engine or the web page rendering engine to render the page …
[0047] … Furthermore, the mini-programs developed based on this embodiment can not only serve as a distribution ecosystem hosted on the host App, but also as a cross-platform solution to replace existing popular cross-platform UI runtime frameworks such as Flutter, thus expanding the capabilities of mini-programs …), Flutter is written in DART programming language, third programming language; and
outputting the interactive interface (Baidu; [0031] … For example, when a user launches a mini-program by clicking the mini-program icon in the host app (hosting application), the page to be rendered can be the default display page of the mini-program …)
Claim 2
Baidu also teaches
obtaining a page rendering template file of the sub-program application in response to the interactive operation for the sub-program application (Baidu; [0033] … Specifically, in this embodiment, after the page to be rendered is determined based on the user's trigger operation, the logic layer in the mini program runtime can obtain the page configuration information of the page to be rendered, parse the page configuration information of the page to be rendered, and determine whether to use the native rendering engine or the web page rendering engine to render the page …
[0067] … The swan.js framework in the web page rendering layer generates the current rendering tree, i.e., the DOM tree, based on the rendering data and the page template …);
parsing the page rendering template file to obtain a first parsing result, and generating a style shadow structure tree corresponding to the interactive operation based on the first parsing result (Baidu; [0067] … The swan.js framework in the web page rendering layer generates the current rendering tree, i.e., the DOM tree, based on the rendering data and the page template. It then performs a difference calculation between the current DOM tree and the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the difference result. Based on the difference result, it operates on the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the final DOM tree, which is then submitted to the web page rendering engine. The web page rendering engine then renders the web page components in the page to be rendered…), DOM tree contains style structure (e.g., GUI elements, GUI element attributes/styles such as text, color, font, background, …); and
generating a rendering instruction comprising the style shadow structure tree, and determining the rendering instruction comprising the style shadow structure tree as the interface rendering instruction indicated by the interactive operation (Baidu; [0067] … The swan.js framework in the web page rendering layer generates the current rendering tree, i.e., the DOM tree, based on the rendering data and the page template. It then performs a difference calculation between the current DOM tree and the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the difference result. Based on the difference result, it operates on the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the final DOM tree, which is then submitted to the web page rendering engine. The web page rendering engine then renders the web page components in the page to be rendered…)
Claim 3
Baidu also teaches
creating, in the execution environment, a page element structure tree corresponding to the interactive operation based on the interface rendering instruction (Baidu; [0033] … Specifically, in this embodiment, after the page to be rendered is determined based on the user's trigger operation, the logic layer in the mini program runtime can obtain the page configuration information of the page to be rendered, parse the page configuration information of the page to be rendered, and determine whether to use the native rendering engine or the web page rendering engine to render the page …
[0067] … The swan.js framework in the web page rendering layer generates the current rendering tree, i.e., the DOM tree, based on the rendering data and the page template …); and
performing, in response to that creation of the page element structure tree is completed, the operation of invoking, in the execution environment, a second communication interface based on the interface rendering instruction (Baidu; [0029] … Understandably, a host app (such as the WeChat client) (hosting application) needs to integrate the mini-program runtime framework in order to run the mini-program. Rendering instruction was generated.
[0047] … Furthermore, the mini-programs developed based on this embodiment can not only serve as a distribution ecosystem hosted on the host App, but also as a cross-platform solution to replace existing popular cross-platform UI runtime frameworks such as Flutter, thus expanding the capabilities of mini-programs …),
Claim 4
Baidu also teaches a total rendering thread of the sub-program application comprises a development logic subthread and an interface rendering subthread, and the operation of generating an interface rendering instruction indicated by the interactive operation and the operation of creating, in the execution environment, a page element structure tree corresponding to the interactive operation based on the interface rendering instruction are both performed in the development logic subthread (Baidu; [0067] Optionally, if the determined rendering engine is a web page rendering engine, the rendering data can be transferred to the web page rendering layer by calling the setData() function in the logic layer (development logic subthread) during the mini-program's runtime. The swan.js framework in the web page rendering layer generates the current rendering tree, i.e., the DOM tree, based on the rendering data and the page template. It then performs a difference calculation between the current DOM tree and the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the difference result. Based on the difference result, it operates on the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the final DOM tree, which is then submitted to the web page rendering engine. The web page rendering engine (interface rendering subthread) then renders the web page components in the page to be rendered…); and the operation of invoking, in the execution environment, a second communication interface based on the interface rendering instruction for rendering the interactive interface corresponding to the interactive operation based on the mobile application development framework is performed in the interface rendering subthread (Baidu; [0067] Optionally, if the determined rendering engine is a web page rendering engine, the rendering data can be transferred to the web page rendering layer by calling the setData() function in the logic layer (development logic subthread) during the mini-program's runtime. The swan.js framework in the web page rendering layer generates the current rendering tree, i.e., the DOM tree, based on the rendering data and the page template. It then performs a difference calculation between the current DOM tree and the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the difference result. Based on the difference result, it operates on the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the final DOM tree, which is then submitted to the web page rendering engine. The web page rendering engine (interface rendering subthread) then renders the web page components in the page to be rendered…)
Claim 7
Baidu also teaches
rasterizing the interactive interface to obtain a rasterized interface; and
outputting the rasterized interface (Baidu; [0031] … For example, when a user launches a mini-program by clicking the mini-program icon in the host app, the page to be rendered can be the default display page of the mini-program; or, if the mini-program has already been launched, the page launched is triggered by the user clicking an option on the currently displayed page of the mini-program.); page(s) is displayed by rasterizing.
Claim 8
This is a computer device version of the method version in claim 1; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons. Furthermore, Baidu also teaches a computer device comprising a processor, a memory, and a network interface (Baidu; [0089] Figure 6 shows a schematic block diagram of an example electronic device 500 that can be used to implement embodiments of the present disclosure. Electronic devices are intended to represent various forms of digital computers, such as laptop computers, desktop computers …; digital computer comprises processor, memory, and network interface.)
Claim 9
This limitation is already discussed in claim 2; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 10
This limitation is already discussed in claim 3; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 11
This limitation is already discussed in claim 4; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 14
This limitation is already discussed in claim 7; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 15
This is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium version of the method version in claim 1; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons. Furthermore, Baidu also teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored therein (Baidu; [0095] In the context of this disclosure, a machine-readable medium can be a tangible medium that may contain or store a program for use by or in conjunction with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device.)
Claim 16
This limitation is already discussed in claim 2; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 17
This limitation is already discussed in claim 3; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 18
This limitation is already discussed in claim 4; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 20
This limitation is already discussed in claim 7; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baidu in view of Furtwangler et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0070682 A1; hereinafter Furtwangler.)
Claim 5
Baidu teaches the interface rendering instruction comprises a style shadow structure tree corresponding to the interactive operation, the style shadow structure tree being formed by N shadow nodes, each shadow node comprising element encapsulation information of one page element (Baidu; [0031] Optionally, the page to be rendered is determined based on the user's trigger action…
[0067] Optionally, if the determined rendering engine is a web page rendering engine, the rendering data can be transferred to the web page rendering layer by calling the setData() function in the logic layer during the mini-program's runtime. The swan.js framework in the web page rendering layer generates the current rendering tree, i.e., the DOM tree, based on the rendering data and the page template … Based on the difference result, it operates on the previously generated DOM tree to obtain the final DOM tree, which is then submitted to the web page rendering engine. The web page rendering engine then renders the web page components in the page to be rendered …); DOM tree contains nodes and style structure (e.g., GUI elements, GUI element attributes/styles such as text, color, font, background, …)
But Baidu does not explicitly teach obtaining a style rule set, the style rule set comprising an element style rule corresponding to each page configuration element, the page configuration element being a configuration element configured to form an application interface of the sub-program application, the application interface comprising the interactive interface; performing the following operations for each shadow node Si in the N shadow nodes, element encapsulation information comprised in the shadow node Si being element encapsulation information Ki, N and i being both positive integers: determining, in the style rule set, an element style rule matching the element encapsulation information Ki, and determining the matching element style rule as a node element style corresponding to the shadow node Si; and converting the node element style corresponding to the shadow node Si according to a style conversion rule, to obtain element description data corresponding to the shadow node Si; and determining each shadow node as an element node when element description data respectively corresponding to the N shadow nodes is determined, and determining a structure tree formed by the N element nodes comprising the corresponding element description data as the page element structure tree corresponding to the interactive operation.
However, Furtwangler teaches
obtaining a style rule set, the style rule set comprising an element style rule corresponding to each page configuration element, the page configuration element being a configuration element configured to form an application interface of the sub-program application, the application interface comprising the interactive interface (Furtwangler; [0021 – 0022] Various aspects of the technology described herein are generally directed towards a graphics platform abstraction layer (PAL) that abstracts the details of an underlying UI platform/framework from the complex operations of a user interface (UI) system …
In general, complex UI operations are performed by view objects (page element, shadow node) and related objects at the platform-independent UI level, including receiving input, retrieving data, visualizing the data according to a designer-specified layout and style, virtualizing child objects (shadow nodes), scrolling, navigating among views, and so forth …
[0047 – 0049] FIG. 4 summarizes how a view tree 442 maps visible node(s) to one or more nodes in the display tree 444, which in turn are mapped to a browser DOM (tree) 446 (shadow tree comprising nodes) using an HTML (DOM) implementation at the platform abstraction layer. As is known, at the browser level a CSS object model may be combined with the DOM tree to apply styling to the nodes to provide a render tree.
FIG. 5 shows a set of display nodes (e.g., comprising a simple sub-tree of a larger display node tree 552) interfaced via the PAL tree interface 554 to the HTML implementation 556 that constructs and operates on a corresponding sub-tree of a DOM tree 558 … It is also straightforward to style any node or set of nodes (shadow nodes) in the DOM tree (e.g., via CSS) based upon methods to set styling data (style) in the display node tree; for example, an HTML element may handle a property like “position” using CSS transforms …; See Fig. 7 & [0055 – 0056]);
performing the following operations for each shadow node Si in the N shadow nodes, element encapsulation information comprised in the shadow node Si being element encapsulation information Ki, N and i being both positive integers (Furtwangler; [0047 – 0049] FIG. 4 summarizes how a view tree 442 maps visible node(s) to one or more nodes in the display tree 444, which in turn are mapped to a browser DOM (tree) 446 (shadow tree comprising nodes) using an HTML (DOM) implementation at the platform abstraction layer. As is known, at the browser level a CSS object model may be combined with the DOM tree to apply styling to the nodes to provide a render tree.
FIG. 5 shows a set of display nodes (e.g., comprising a simple sub-tree of a larger display node tree 552) interfaced via the PAL tree interface 554 to the HTML implementation 556 that constructs and operates on a corresponding sub-tree of a DOM tree 558 … It is also straightforward to style any node or set of nodes (shadow nodes) in the DOM tree (e.g., via CSS) based upon methods to set styling data (style) in the display node tree; for example, an HTML element may handle a property like “position” using CSS transforms …; Trees in Figs. 4 – 5 have N shadow nodes in DOM tree 446 and DOM tree 558. Also see Fig. 7 & [0055 – 0056]):
determining, in the style rule set, an element style rule matching the element encapsulation information Ki, and determining the matching element style rule as a node element style corresponding to the shadow node Si (Furtwangler; Fig. 10; [0062 – 0063] Step 1006 represents the platform abstraction layer implementation determining what needs to be done to modify the set of platform object(s) …
… Because the view-level UI is platform independent, the call to the platform abstraction layer's interface may simply identify the type of display node (text, image, button or rectangle) (shadow node), the data to write to the platform object, and the style properties to apply to the platform object/data … Further note that FIG. 11 is directed towards creation and/or updating of a DOM object for a display node (shadow node) …
Fig. 11; [0064 – 0067] Step 1102 evaluates whether the display node already has a corresponding platform object in the platform UI, e.g., an element in the DOM tree in this example … If a DOM element already exists, then the display node data is written to the DOM element at step 1122, and/or the display node's style data output, e.g., to the CSS object model at step 1124 …); and
converting the node element style corresponding to the shadow node Si according to a style conversion rule, to obtain element description data corresponding to the shadow node Si (Furtwangler; Fig. 10; [0062 – 0063] Step 1006 represents the platform abstraction layer implementation determining what needs to be done to modify the set of platform object(s) …
… Because the view-level UI is platform independent, the call to the platform abstraction layer's interface may simply identify the type of display node (text, image, button or rectangle) (shadow node), the data to write to the platform object, and the style properties to apply to the platform object/data … Further note that FIG. 11 is directed towards creation and/or updating of a DOM object for a display node (shadow node) …
Fig. 11; [0064 – 0067] Step 1102 evaluates whether the display node already has a corresponding platform object in the platform UI, e.g., an element in the DOM tree in this example … If a DOM element already exists, then the display node data is written to the DOM element at step 1122, and/or the display node's style data output, e.g., to the CSS object model at step 1124 …); and
determining each shadow node as an element node when element description data respectively corresponding to the N shadow nodes is determined, and determining a structure tree formed by the N element nodes comprising the corresponding element description data as the page element structure tree corresponding to the interactive operation (Furtwangler; Fig. 10; [0062 – 0063] Step 1006 represents the platform abstraction layer implementation determining what needs to be done to modify the set of platform object(s) …
… Because the view-level UI is platform independent, the call to the platform abstraction layer's interface may simply identify the type of display node (text, image, button or rectangle) (shadow node), the data to write to the platform object, and the style properties to apply to the platform object/data … Further note that FIG. 11 is directed towards creation and/or updating of a DOM object for a display node (shadow node) …
Fig. 11; [0064 – 0067] Step 1102 evaluates whether the display node already has a corresponding platform object in the platform UI, e.g., an element in the DOM tree in this example … If a DOM element already exists, then the display node data is written to the DOM element at step 1122, and/or the display node's style data output, e.g., to the CSS object model at step 1124 …)
Baidu and Furtwangler are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, generating user interfaces. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Furtwangler into Baidu to allow Arunachalam to utilize platform abstraction layer concepts with a platform independent application program UI to solve browser compatibility issues and enable efficient deployment to non-browser platforms as suggested by Furtwangler ([0073].)
Claim 6
Furtwangler teaches
obtaining a page style configuration table, the page style configuration table comprising attribute definition information of each page configuration element (Furtwangler; Fig. 10; [0062 – 0063] Step 1006 represents the platform abstraction layer implementation determining what needs to be done to modify the set of platform object(s) …
… Because the view-level UI is platform independent, the call to the platform abstraction layer's interface may simply identify the type of display node (text, image, button or rectangle) (shadow node), the data to write to the platform object, and the style properties to apply to the platform object/data … Further note that FIG. 11 is directed towards creation and/or updating of a DOM object for a display node (shadow node) …
Fig. 11; [0064 – 0067] Step 1102 evaluates whether the display node already has a corresponding platform object in the platform UI, e.g., an element in the DOM tree in this example … If a DOM element already exists, then the display node data is written to the DOM element at step 1122, and/or the display node's style data output, e.g., to the CSS object model at step 1124 …); and
invoking a style parser, parsing, based on the style parser, the attribute definition information comprised in the page style configuration table, to obtain a second parsing result, and generating the style rule set based on the second parsing result (Furtwangler; Fig. 10; [0062 – 0063] Step 1006 represents the platform abstraction layer implementation determining what needs to be done to modify the set of platform object(s) …
… Because the view-level UI is platform independent, the call to the platform abstraction layer's interface may simply identify the type of display node (text, image, button or rectangle) (shadow node), the data to write to the platform object, and the style properties to apply to the platform object/data … Further note that FIG. 11 is directed towards creation and/or updating of a DOM object for a display node (shadow node) …
Fig. 11; [0064 – 0067] Step 1102 evaluates whether the display node already has a corresponding platform object in the platform UI, e.g., an element in the DOM tree in this example … If a DOM element already exists, then the display node data is written to the DOM element at step 1122, and/or the display node's style data output, e.g., to the CSS object model at step 1124 …) Motivation for incorporating Furtwangler into Baidu is the same as motivation in claim 5.
Claim 12
This limitation is already discussed in claim 5; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 13
This limitation is already discussed in claim 6; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 19
This limitation is already discussed in claim 5; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WIKIPEDIA (NPL “Flutter (software)”): describe open-source Flutter software.
/CUONG V LUU/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192