DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s amendment and election of Species 1 in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 8-22 are pending. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn. Claims 21 and 22 are new. Claims 4 and 7 are cancelled.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following:
On page 1 of the specification, in the para beginning “The present application”, the phrase “, and issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,569,317 on March 10, 2026”, or the like, should be added immediately after “2024” in para line 5 (page line 9).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following:
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “a dispensing members” in lines 1-2 should apparently be replaced with “a dispensing member”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: activating assembly in claim 1, and fluid supply assembly in claim 1.
Based on a review of the specification, an activating assembly is interpreted to include a lever arm, or equivalents thereof; and a fluid supply assembly is interpreted to include a reservoir, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0117792 to Perlman et al. (“Perlman”).
Regarding claim 1, Perlman teaches an apparatus (abstract, note Fig. 1, ref. 10, para [0069]) structured to clean a head portion of a stethoscope (note Fig. 10, ref. 14, para [0069]), said apparatus comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, ref. 12) including an entrance portion (Fig. 1, ref. 24, para [0070]), an exit portion (Fig. 1, ref. 26, para [0070]) and a path of travel (Figs. 1 and 3, ref. 30 and 31) for the head portion disposed within the housing and extending between said entrance portion and said exit portion, an activating assembly (Fig. 3, ref. 63, para [0077]) movable between an initial orientation and an operative orientation via driving engagement of the head portion therewith, said driving engagement being concurrent to passage of the head portion along said path of travel (Figs. 3-5 and 10, para [0077] – [0078], activating assembly components ref. 64 are biased in an initial position as portions of head ref. 14 engage each of ref. 64 in driving relation, forcing ref. 64 into an operative orientation), a fluid supply assembly (Fig. 3, ref. 32, para [0075]) structured for containment and dispensing of a cleaning fluid (para [0075], [0077]) for cleaning the head portion concurrent to passage of the head portion along said path of travel, a fluid discharge assembly including a fluid outlet (Fig. 14, ref. 170, incl. ref. 172, para [0105]) connected in fluid communication with said fluid supply assembly, and said fluid outlet operative to dispense the cleaning fluid, exteriorly of said housing, onto a hand of a user (para [0105]).
Perlman does not explicitly teach all of the features in a single embodiment. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the embodiments since the combination is simply a predictable variation. Boston Scientific v. Cordis (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Regarding claim 2, Perlman discloses pumps and valves (para [0076], [0081]), or discharge activators, but does not explicitly teach a discharge activator operatively connected to said fluid outlet. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Perlman apparatus wherein it includes a discharge activator operatively connected to said fluid outlet, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance process flow control.
Regarding claim 3, Perlman discloses an apparatus wherein said fluid supply assembly comprises at least one fluid reservoir (Fig. 3, ref. 32, para [0075]) and the fluid outlet is in fluid communication with the at least one fluid reservoir.
Regarding claim 5, Perlman a first dispensing member (Fig. 14, ref. 172, para [0105]) connected to a first fluid reservoir (Fig. 3, ref. 32, para [0075]) of the fluid supply assembly, said first dispensing member operative to direct cleaning fluid from said first fluid reservoir, but does not explicitly teach a second dispensing member connected to a second fluid reservoir of the fluid supply assembly, said second dispensing member operative to direct cleaning fluid from said second fluid reservoirs into said path of travel. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Perlman apparatus wherein it includes a second dispensing member connected to a second fluid reservoir of the fluid supply assembly, said second dispensing member operative to direct cleaning fluid from said second fluid reservoirs into said path of travel, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance the flowrate and quantity abilities and broaden the range of possible applications. It is noted that duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 6, Perlman discloses a dispensing member (Fig. 14, ref. 172, para [0105]) connected in fluid communication with said at least one fluid reservoir, said dispensing member operative to direct cleaning fluid from said at least one fluid reservoir into said path of travel.
Regarding claim 8, Perlman discloses valves (para [0076], [0081]), or discharge activators, as discussed for claim 2, but does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the discharge activator is manually operated and normally in a closed orientation to prevent inadvertent leakage or discharge. However, the examiner takes Official notice that manual valves, or discharge activators, were known in the art as effective for process control, and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Perlman as was known wherein the valve, or discharge activator, is a manual valve, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they were known as effective for flow control. The Perlman apparatus as modified appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited, i.e. wherein the discharge activator is normally in a closed orientation to prevent inadvertent leakage or discharge. It is noted that the present specification does not appear to establish the criticality of the discharge activator being manually operated (see, e.g., claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, since the Perlman apparatus as modified includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited, i.e. wherein said first and second dispensing members are concurrently operative to direct cleaning fluid from a corresponding first and second fluid reservoirs into said path of travel.
Regarding claim 12, Perlman discloses an apparatus wherein said initial orientation of said activating assembly comprises said activating assembly disposable in driving relation to said fluid supply assembly, concurrent to said driving engagement thereof with the head portion, during each of a plurality of cycles of said head portion along said path of travel (Figs. 3-5 and 10, para [0077] – [0078]).
Regarding claim 20, Perlman discloses an applicator assembly (Fig. 7, ref. 40, para [0087]) disposed and structured to apply cleaning fluid, from said fluid supply assembly, to the head portion within said path of travel, said applicator assembly comprising at least one applicator member disposed in fluid receiving relation to said fluid supply assembly and structured to provide a cleaning action to confronting surfaces of the head portion.
Regarding claim 21, Perlman discloses an apparatus wherein the fluid outlet is restricted by disposition of the discharge activator in a closed orientation (para [0076], [0081]).
Regarding claim 22, since the Perlman apparatus as modified includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited, i.e. wherein fluid from the first and second fluid reservoirs is equally dispersed.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0117792 to Perlman et al. (“Perlman”) in view of US 5,074,322 to Jaw (“Jaw”).
Regarding claim 9, Perlman discloses valves (para [0076], [0081]), or discharge activators, as discussed for claim 2, but does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the discharge activator is activated by a sensor not requiring physical contact by an individual. However, discharge activators activated by sensors not requiring physical contact by an individual were known in the art (see, e.g., Jaw at, inter alia, col. 2, lines 35-49), and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Perlman as was known wherein he discharge activator is activated by a sensor not requiring physical contact by an individual, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to inhibit labor and cross-contamination. It is noted that the present specification does not appear to establish the criticality of the discharge activator being activated by a sensor not requiring physical contact by an individual (see, e.g., claim 8).
Regarding claim 10, Perlman/Jaw disclose an apparatus wherein the fluid is dispensed by a photosensitive switch or a movement detection activation switch (Jaw, col. 2, lines 35-49).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In such an instance, withdrawn claims 16-19, which depend from claim 13, would be rejoined and appear to be similarly situated with respect to allowance with the following amendments: regarding claim 17, the phrase “counts lighter” in line 2 should apparently be replaced with “count slider”; and regarding claim 18, the phrase “counts lighter” in line 3 should apparently be replaced with “count slider”.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art reference is Perlman. The prior art references of record, taken alone or in combination, do not anticipate or suggest fairly the limitations of a locking assembly comprising a cycle counter assembly, said cycle counter assembly including mechanical linkage determinative of a predetermined fluid quantity of said cleaning fluid within said fluid supply assembly, in combination with the other structural elements as instantly recited. Upon further search no other prior art has been located at the date of this Office action.
Conclusion
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714