DETAILED ACTION
This final Office action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment filed August 25, 2026. Claims 1-3 have been amended. Claims 4-7 have been added. Claims 1-7 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“package generation section” [to generate a package] in claim 1
“package distribution section” [to distribute the package] in claim 1
“logic management registration section” [that registers logic generating the package] in claim 1
“logic identification (ID) management registration section” [that registers an ID assigned to the logic and a version of software] in claim 1
“package generation section” [that identifies an ID corresponding to the master device…, acquires logic corresponding to the ID…, and generates a package…] in claim 1
“package generation section” [to generate a package] in claim 2
“package distribution section” [to distribute the package] in claim 2
“logic management registration section” [that manages logic generating the package] in claim 2
“logic identification (ID) management registration section” [that manages a version of software of a master device and an ID assigned to the logic for the version of the software] in claim 2
“package generation section” [that identifies an ID corresponding to the master device…, acquires logic corresponding to the ID…, and generates a package…] in claim 2
** Support for corresponding hardware is found in ¶ 43 of Applicant’s Specification: “The control unit and the method thereof of the present disclosure may be implemented by a dedicated computer provided by configuring a processor and a memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program. Alternatively, the control unit and the technique according to the present disclosure may be achieved by a dedicated computer provided by constituting a processor with one or more dedicated hardware logic circuits. Alternatively, the control unit and the technique according to the present disclosure may be achieved using one or more dedicated computers constituted by a combination of the processor and the memory programmed to execute one or more functions and the processor with one or more hardware logic circuits. The computer program may also be stored on a computer-readable and non-transitory tangible storage medium as an instruction executed by a computer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-5 contain the trademark/trade name “AUTOSAR”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe an open source software platform and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagamitsu (US 2022/0317995).
[Claim 1] Nagamitsu discloses a center device that manages data to be written to a plurality of electronic control devices installed in a vehicle (¶ 32 – “A center according to the present disclosure decides whether to distribute a package containing difference data between software versions or a package containing total data of a latest version of software based on software that needs to be updated when the center distributes software update data for an ECU of a vehicle.”; ¶ 40 – “In the vehicle management information stored in the storage unit 15, as information indicating software usable in the ECUs 50a to 50d, for a plurality of ECUs of which control functions need to be consistent with each other (hereinafter, referred to as “first ECUs”), a combination of latest versions of pieces of software of the plurality of the first ECUs is defined. Further, as information indicating software usable in the ECUs 50a to 50d, for ECUs of which control functions do not need to be consistent with each other (hereinafter, referred to as “second ECUs”), latest versions of pieces of software of the second ECUs are stored.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10.”), the center device comprising:
a package generation section that is configured to generate a package including update data to be distributed to the vehicle (¶ 40 – “In the vehicle management information stored in the storage unit 15, as information indicating software usable in the ECUs 50a to 50d, for a plurality of ECUs of which control functions need to be consistent with each other (hereinafter, referred to as “first ECUs”), a combination of latest versions of pieces of software of the plurality of the first ECUs is defined.” ¶ 41 – “As the update data stored. in the storage unit 15, difference data between software versions each of the ECUs and total data of the latest software version of the ECU can be exemplified. The difference data is generated by packaging all pieces of software of the first ECUs into at least one package. An example of the packaged difference data is illustrated in FIG. 7A. In the example of FIG. 7A, as difference data packages for the vehicle ID_AB01, six packages (1.0 to 6.0) are prepared.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”); and
a package distribution section that is configured to distribute the package to the vehicle (¶ 32 – “A center according to the present disclosure decides whether to distribute a package containing difference data between software versions or a package containing total data of a latest version of software based on software that needs to be updated when the center distributes software update data for an ECU of a vehicle.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”),
wherein
the package generation section includes
a logic management registration section that registers logic generating the package when the logic is generated according to a specification change of a master device that receives a package distributed from the center device and transfers update data to the electronic control device (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”; ¶ 6 – “In other words, the pieces of software of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other are registered in the center in a form of a distribution package containing the difference data of each piece of software.”; ¶ 7 – “When an ECU is replaced due to a failure and the like, a software version of the ECU may be changed. before and after the replacement. When the replacement ECU is one of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other so as to implement the autonomous driving function, software of the replacement ECU needs to be updated to a latest state by downloading the update data registered as the distribution package containing the difference data.”), and
a logic identification (ID) management registration section that registers an ID assigned to the logic and a version of software of the master device corresponding to the logic when the ID and the version are notified (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”; ¶ 6 – “In other words, the pieces of software of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other are registered in the center in a form of a distribution package containing the difference data of each piece of software.”; ¶ 7 – “When an ECU is replaced due to a failure and the like, a software version of the ECU may be changed. before and after the replacement. When the replacement ECU is one of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other so as to implement the autonomous driving function, software of the replacement ECU needs to be updated to a latest state by downloading the update data registered as the distribution package containing the difference data.”),
when an input of information on a master device to which a package is to be distributed is received from the package distribution section, the package generation section identifies an ID corresponding to the master device with reference to the logic ID management registration section on a basis of the information, acquires logic corresponding to the ID from the logic management registration section, and generates a package on a basis of the logic (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”), and
the logic management registration section registers, for each ID, logic specifications that define inputs, processes, and outputs necessary to generate the package (¶¶ 57-71 – For each specific ECU or for a plurality of ECUs, there is a request (e.g., input) for a software update, package, and installation, which may require an approval process, and then output specifying if the installation is approved, verification of software, installation details, etc.).
[Claim 2] Nagamitsu discloses a center device that manages data to be written to a plurality of electronic control devices installed in a vehicle (¶ 32 – “A center according to the present disclosure decides whether to distribute a package containing difference data between software versions or a package containing total data of a latest version of software based on software that needs to be updated when the center distributes software update data for an ECU of a vehicle.”; ¶ 40 – “In the vehicle management information stored in the storage unit 15, as information indicating software usable in the ECUs 50a to 50d, for a plurality of ECUs of which control functions need to be consistent with each other (hereinafter, referred to as “first ECUs”), a combination of latest versions of pieces of software of the plurality of the first ECUs is defined. Further, as information indicating software usable in the ECUs 50a to 50d, for ECUs of which control functions do not need to be consistent with each other (hereinafter, referred to as “second ECUs”), latest versions of pieces of software of the second ECUs are stored.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10.”), the center device comprising:
a package generation section that is configured to generate a package including update data to be distributed to the vehicle (¶ 40 – “In the vehicle management information stored in the storage unit 15, as information indicating software usable in the ECUs 50a to 50d, for a plurality of ECUs of which control functions need to be consistent with each other (hereinafter, referred to as “first ECUs”), a combination of latest versions of pieces of software of the plurality of the first ECUs is defined.” ¶ 41 – “As the update data stored. in the storage unit 15, difference data between software versions each of the ECUs and total data of the latest software version of the ECU can be exemplified. The difference data is generated by packaging all pieces of software of the first ECUs into at least one package. An example of the packaged difference data is illustrated in FIG. 7A. In the example of FIG. 7A, as difference data packages for the vehicle ID_AB01, six packages (1.0 to 6.0) are prepared.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”); and
a package distribution section that is configured to distribute the package to the vehicle (¶ 32 – “A center according to the present disclosure decides whether to distribute a package containing difference data between software versions or a package containing total data of a latest version of software based on software that needs to be updated when the center distributes software update data for an ECU of a vehicle.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”), wherein
the package generation section includes
a logic management registration section that manages logic generating the package and an ID assigned to the logic (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”; ¶ 6 – “In other words, the pieces of software of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other are registered in the center in a form of a distribution package containing the difference data of each piece of software.”; ¶ 7 – “When an ECU is replaced due to a failure and the like, a software version of the ECU may be changed. before and after the replacement. When the replacement ECU is one of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other so as to implement the autonomous driving function, software of the replacement ECU needs to be updated to a latest state by downloading the update data registered as the distribution package containing the difference data.”), and
a logic ID management registration section that manages a version of software of a master device and an ID assigned to the logic for the version of the software (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”; ¶ 6 – “In other words, the pieces of software of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other are registered in the center in a form of a distribution package containing the difference data of each piece of software.”; ¶ 7 – “When an ECU is replaced due to a failure and the like, a software version of the ECU may be changed. before and after the replacement. When the replacement ECU is one of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other so as to implement the autonomous driving function, software of the replacement ECU needs to be updated to a latest state by downloading the update data registered as the distribution package containing the difference data.”),
when an input of a version of software of a master device to which a package is to be distributed is received as information from the package distribution section, the package generation section identifies an ID corresponding to the master device with reference to the logic ID management registration section on a basis of the information, acquires logic corresponding to the ID from the logic management registration section, and generates a package on a basis of the logic (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”), and
the logic management registration section registers, for each ID, logic specifications that define inputs, processes, and outputs necessary to generate the package (¶¶ 57-71 – For each specific ECU or for a plurality of ECUs, there is a request (e.g., input) for a software update, package, and installation, which may require an approval process, and then output specifying if the installation is approved, verification of software, installation details, etc.).
[Claim 3] Nagamitsu discloses a method for generating a distribution package, in which a package including update data to be distributed to a vehicle is generated to write data to a plurality of electronic control devices installed in the vehicle (¶ 32 – “A center according to the present disclosure decides whether to distribute a package containing difference data between software versions or a package containing total data of a latest version of software based on software that needs to be updated when the center distributes software update data for an ECU of a vehicle.”; ¶ 40 – “In the vehicle management information stored in the storage unit 15, as information indicating software usable in the ECUs 50a to 50d, for a plurality of ECUs of which control functions need to be consistent with each other (hereinafter, referred to as “first ECUs”), a combination of latest versions of pieces of software of the plurality of the first ECUs is defined. Further, as information indicating software usable in the ECUs 50a to 50d, for ECUs of which control functions do not need to be consistent with each other (hereinafter, referred to as “second ECUs”), latest versions of pieces of software of the second ECUs are stored.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10.”), the method comprising:
registering logic for generating the package in a logic management registration section when the logic is generated according to a specification change of a master device that receives a package distributed from a center device and transfers update data to the electronic control device (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”; ¶ 6 – “In other words, the pieces of software of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other are registered in the center in a form of a distribution package containing the difference data of each piece of software.”; ¶ 7 – “When an ECU is replaced due to a failure and the like, a software version of the ECU may be changed. before and after the replacement. When the replacement ECU is one of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other so as to implement the autonomous driving function, software of the replacement ECU needs to be updated to a latest state by downloading the update data registered as the distribution package containing the difference data.”);
registering an ID assigned to the logic and a version of software of the master device corresponding to the logic in a logic ID management registration section when the ID and the version are notified (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”; ¶ 6 – “In other words, the pieces of software of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other are registered in the center in a form of a distribution package containing the difference data of each piece of software.”; ¶ 7 – “When an ECU is replaced due to a failure and the like, a software version of the ECU may be changed. before and after the replacement. When the replacement ECU is one of the plurality of ECUs of which the control functions need to be consistent with each other so as to implement the autonomous driving function, software of the replacement ECU needs to be updated to a latest state by downloading the update data registered as the distribution package containing the difference data.”);
identifying, when an input of information on a master device to which a package is to be distributed is received, an ID corresponding to the master device with reference to the logic ID management registration section on a basis of the information, acquiring logic corresponding to the ID from the logic management registration section, and generating a package on a basis of the logic (¶ 64 – “The update data transmitted from the center 10 to the OTA master 30 may include any one of the update software (total data) of the ECU 50a to 50d, the difference data of the update software, the compressed data obtained by compressing the update software, and the divided data obtained by dividing the update software, the difference data, or the compressed data. Further, the update data may include an ECU_ID (or a serial number) of the target ECU and an ECU_Software_ID of the ECU before the update. The update data is downloaded as the above-described distribution package, but the distribution package includes the update data for a single ECU or a plurality of ECUs.”; ¶ 65 – “The installation is processing in which the OTA master 30 writes the update software (the updated version program) on the target ECU, based on the update data downloaded from the center 10. The installation phase includes not only the execution of the installation, but also control of a series of processes associated with the installation, such as determining whether the installation can be executed, an approval request for the installation to the user or the manager of the vehicle, transferring the update data, and verifying the update software.”; ¶ 105 – “Although one embodiment of the technology of the present disclosure is described above, the present disclosure can be regarded not only as the center but also as the distribution control method executed by the center including the processor, the memory, and the storage device, the distribution control program, and the computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing the distribution control program.”); and
registering, for each ID, logic specifications that define inputs, processes, and outputs necessary to generate the package (¶¶ 57-71 – For each specific ECU or for a plurality of ECUs, there is a request (e.g., input) for a software update, package, and installation, which may require an approval process, and then output specifying if the installation is approved, verification of software, installation details, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagamitsu (US 2022/0317995), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Skelton et al. (US 2022/0181012) in view of Acharya et al. (US 2023/0025735).
[Claim 4] Nagamitsu does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the master device corresponds to an AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform and records are matched by sub target IDs, the package generation section identifies the ID corresponding to the master device by confirming whether the records have a common logic ID and whether a number of the sub target IDs having the common logic ID is equal to a number of components of the matched records.
Skelton discloses that secure software updates for automobiles (Skelton: ¶¶ 12, 16) may be performed using integrity checks that verify that loaded software is a formally built package (Skelton: ¶¶ 20, 48). “According to some examples, the manifest file 304 specifies a list of files 306 that are included in the software 114 associated with the software update, and the manifest file 304 may include a hash code (e.g., a SHA-256 hash code) for each file in the list of files 306.” (Skelton: ¶ 46) Additionally, Skelton explains, “At 504, the device 102 (e.g., a processor(s) of the device 102) performs a first integrity check 116(1) on the stored software 114, as described herein. In an illustrative example, the device 102, at 504, executes the following checks for each file of the stored/downloaded software 114 in the staging area 300 of the first memory 106: (i) the computed SHA-256 hash code of the file matches what is listed in the manifest file 304; (ii) the software component's part number and software version number (which is integrated in a version file) matches the version number specified in the manifest file 304; and (iii) the CRC for each image in the file matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image. At sub-block 506, in some examples, the performing of the first integrity check 116(1) involves performing the first integrity check 116(1) on all files in the working folder 302(1) of the staging area 300, which, in some scenarios, includes a copy(ies) of a file(s) that was previously copied to the working folder 302(1) as opposed to being downloaded from the external device 104.” (Skelton: ¶ 63)
Skelton repeatedly performs integrity checks on stored/downloaded software to ensure that the hash code (including SHA-256) of each file in the software package matches what is listed in a manifest file received from an external device and that other identifying information matches as well (including part number, version number of the software or a component of the software, etc.), as seen in the following excerpts from Skelton:
[0024] The device 102 is configured to perform a first integrity check 116(1) on the stored/downloaded software 114. As will be described in more detail below, the first integrity check 116(1), in some examples, includes performing an integrity check on each file included in the software 114 (e.g., a software package), such as by computing a hash code (e.g., a Secure Hash Algorithm (SHA)-256 hash code and/or a digital signature) of the file and determining whether the computed hash code matches what is listed in a manifest file received from the external device 104, determining whether a part number and/or version number of the software (or a component of the software) matches the corresponding number specified in the manifest file, computing a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for each image in the file and determining that the CRC matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image, etc. In this example, the integrity of the software is compromised if the computed hash code of the file does not match a corresponding code listed in the manifest file received from the external device 104, and/or if the part number and/or version number of the software (or a component of the software) does not match the corresponding number specified in the manifest file, and/or if the CRC for an image in one of the files does not match the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image. These are merely example ways of verifying the integrity of the stored/downloaded software 114, and other types of integrity checks can be performed during the first integrity check 116(1). If, after completing the download phase, the stored software 114 does not pass the first integrity check 116(1), the device 102 refrains from installing the stored software 114 in the second memory 108 and the installation of the stored software 114 is aborted. In this scenario, even though the stored software 114 did not pass the first integrity check 116(1) because it's integrity has been compromised, the device 102 is still operable using the existing software that is currently installed in the second memory 108 of the device 102, and the device 102 deletes the new software 114 from the WORKING folder of the first memory 106, leaving the existing, installed software in the second memory 108 intact, and the copy of the installed software still in the CURRENT folder of the first memory 106. In some examples, the device 102 outputs a notification that the software update was unsuccessful, reports information indicating the same to a server computer(s) 104(1), and reboots into a normal operating mode to execute the existing software.
[0026] The second integrity check 116(2), in some examples, is similar to the first integrity check 116(1) in that the second integrity check 116(2), for a second time, runs through each file included in the installed software 114 and compute a hash code (e.g., a SHA-256 hash code) of the file and determine whether the computed hash code matches what is listed in the manifest file received from the external device 104, determine whether a part number and/or version number of the software (or a component of the software) matches the corresponding number specified in the manifest file, compute a CRC for each image in the file and determining that the CRC matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image, etc. The second integrity check 116(2) may additionally compare the software that is stored in second memory 108 to the software that is stored in first memory 106, and re-perform the integrity tests on the software that is in first memory 106 to ensure that software hasn't been corrupted or maliciously altered. If the installed software 114 passes the second integrity check 116(2), the device 102 is enabled for use, and the device 102 is permitted to execute the installed software 114 in a mode of operation to carry out the core functionality of the device 102. In an example where the device 102 represents a medical device, such as a defibrillator, the medical device is enabled for use in association with a patient based at least in part on the installed software 114 having passed the second integrity check 116(2), such as by executing the installed software 114 in a patient mode to administer defibrillation therapy to a patient. That is, the installed software 114, in an illustrative example, includes, or represents, a clinical application that, when executed, controls delivery of an electrical shock via a set of electrodes to defibrillate a patient. If, on the other hand, the installed software 114 did not pass the second integrity check 116(2), the device 102 is disabled such that it is at least temporarily unusable (e.g., temporarily unusable in association with a patient). According to some examples, a notification is provided to a user of the device 102, such as by illuminating a service light on the device 102 indicating that the device 102 is in need of service from a service technician, displaying a similar message on a display of the device 102, and/or sending information to the server(s) computer 104(1) indicating that the software update was unsuccessful.
[0033] At 210, the device 102 verifies the stored/downloaded software 114 (SW2) by performing the first integrity check 116(1). According to some examples, the first integrity check 116(1) performed at 210 uses SHA-256 and digital signatures to verify the integrity and the origin of the stored/downloaded software 114 (SW2). In an example, at 208, the device 102 downloads a manifest file, and at 210, the device 102 determines whether each file in the staging area of the first memory 106 matches the details in the manifest file. In this example, any discrepancy is flagged as an error and prevents a successful verification of the stored/downloaded software 114 (SW2) in the staging area of the first memory 106. In an illustrative example, the device 102 executes the following checks for each file of the stored/downloaded software 114 in the staging area of the first memory 106: (i) the computed SHA-256 hash code of the file matches what is listed in the manifest file; (ii) the software component's part number and software version number (which is integrated in a version file) matches the version number specified in the manifest file; and (iii) the CRC for each image in the file matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image. As each file succeeds in the verification at 210 (e.g., as each file passes the first integrity check 116(1)), one or more parameters for the file, such as the software identifier (ID), file name, and/or SHA-256 are added to a catalog and/or the manifest file. In a scenario where every file passes the first integrity check 116(1) at 210, the catalog then includes a full list of files that the device 102 is able to read during installation.
[0055] In some examples, the device 102 (e.g., a processor(s) of the device 102) analyzes the copy of the second file 310 (and any additional matching files). In an example, such analysis includes computing a hash code (e.g., a SHA-256 hash code) of the second file 310 and determining whether the computed hash code matches what is listed in the digitally-signed manifest file 304 received from the external device 104, determining whether a part number and/or version number associated with the second file 310 matches the corresponding number specified in the manifest file 304, computing a CRC for each image in the second file 310 and determining that the CRC matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image, etc. In an example, this is performed for any number of matching files.
In other words, Skelton validates a one-to-one match of downloaded software components and corresponding identifying features to the expected components and corresponding identifying features, as provided in the manifest, which (in effect) ensures that the expected and actual numbers (e.g., regarding components and sub-components of a given software package) are equal.
While Skelton does not explicitly disclose the use of AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform, Acharya discloses an invention for “master agent and distributed agent architecture for vehicles” (Acharya: title) to facilitate software updates (Acharya: abstract). Various mechanisms may be used to implement the disclosed operations depending on the scenario at hand. For example, Acharya describes instances in which classic AUTOSAR and Adaptive AUTOSAR may be used (including for SHA verification), as seen in the following paragraphs from Acharya:
[0076] In particular, there are instances where the ECUs are less powerful, have low memory to work on and some of the properties of eSync Agent (such as Delta Reconstruction and/or Encryption/Decryption) may not be possible to run on the ECU. In such cases, the eSync Client may be modified to suit the limitations of such an ECU and update the ECU thru a different mechanism. Such ECUs may comprise a classic AUTOSAR-compliant ECUs, with Software Component, RTE and Basic Software running on some Hardware.
[0081] With regard to the A/B flash update scheme, the eSync Software Component may comprise an AUTOSAR application that may interface with the ECU BsW for any one, any combination, or all of: payload transfer; query version; delta reconstruction; or update. Further, the eSync Software Component may be called when the delta package is delivered, with the delta module validating the delta package received and starting the reconstruction of the new version based on the current reference image in the active memory. After the reconstruction, the SHA may be calculated again and if successful, the bootloader may be called to switch the version from the current activity to the new version. the Delta Reconstructor module in the Software Component may require access to the flash to read the reference image and write the new reconstructed image to the backup partition. Further, the package validator may require access to the flash to read the newly reconstructed image.
[0095] Further, as discussed above, the master agent's architecture may be extended to multiple virtual machines or separated kernel configurations in an ECU. In particular, ECUs have advanced in computational power (e.g., with multi-cores), memory and I/O resources over the last decade. In this regard, the ECUs govern complex functions in vehicles today, such as the infotainment unit, ADAS, Adaptive AUTomotive Open System Architecture (AUTOSAR), etc., These ECUs may be managed through one or more operating systems, such as Linux/QNX/Integrity mounted as Virtual Machines in their own memory space. Illustrative examples of VMs in a multi-core ECU in two different configurations are shown in FIGS. 4 and 5.
[0098] FIG. 4 comprises a configuration 400 of a single master update agent in multi-core ECUs using virtual machines, with dotted lines 470, 472 representing physical partitions. As shown, telematic control unit (TCU) 430 includes eSync Master Agent (A) 434 and eSync client 432. Further, within the configuration 400 illustrated in FIG. 4, various addresses may be used to communicate, via a hypervisor 440, with the different kernels, such as /A/TCU (to communicate with TCU 430), /A/Android (to communicate with the Android virtual machine 420), /A (Meter Linux) (to communicate with Meter Virtual Machine (VM) 418), /A/AdaptiveAutosar (to communicate with the Adaptive AUTOSAR 416), /A/ADAS (to communicate with ADAS RT software 414), /A/AUTOSAR(to communicate with the classic AUTOSAR, which may be manifested in one or more instantiations 410, 412).
[0102] In one or some embodiments, distributed agents may be used. In particular, if a distributed agent concept is used (e.g., no single agents but multiple agents), then the same configuration 500 of FIG. 5 may have agents as illustrated in FIG. 6. In particular, FIG. 6 illustrates a configuration 600 of distributed agents (eSync Agent A, eSync Agent A1, eSync Agent A2, eSync Agent A3, eSync Agent A4, eSync Agent A5) using multiple virtual machines (VMs) and kernels, with dotted lines 640, 642 indicating partitions. As shown in the configuration 600 in FIG. 6. the eSync Client 532 in the TCU 630 will see the following resolved agent addresses: /A (TCU), /Al (Android), /A2 (Meter Linux), /A3 (Classic Autosar), /A4 (Adaptive Autosar) and /A5 (RT ADAS). (Emphasis added)
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Nagamitsu wherein, when the master device corresponds to an AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform and records are matched by sub target IDs, the package generation section identifies the ID corresponding to the master device by confirming whether the records have a common logic ID and whether a number of the sub target IDs having the common logic ID is equal to a number of components of the matched records in order to facilitate a secure software update process and “that the integrity of the software installed on the device has not been compromised before the device is put into service using the software. For example, a self-driving car would benefit from the software update techniques described herein because proving that software integrity has not been compromised before executing the software in order to autonomously drive the car ensures that the car drives properly and that passengers on the road remain safe while the car is on the road.” (Skelton: ¶ 16) Additionally, the use of the AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform would have allowed Nagamitsu to select the most appropriate software package installation platform to be used based on varying scenarios in different situations. Also, the substitution of the AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform for Nagamitsu’s software package installation platform would have been well within the technical capability of those skilled in the art prior to Applicant’s invention and such a substitution would have yielded predictable and expected results.
[Claim 5] Nagamitsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the package generation section determines a platform type of the master device as one of an AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform, an AUTOSAR Classic Platform, and another platform, and generates the package by selecting a storage method or a streaming method according to the platform type.
Skelton allows for downloaded software to be sent using a specific storage method (Skelton: ¶ 32 – “At 208, the device 102 receives the new software 114 (SW2) from the external device 104 and stores the software 114 in the first memory 106 as stored software. Said another way, the device 102 downloads the software 114 (SW2) to the first memory 106 of the device 102 as downloaded software. As indicated in the example of FIG. 2, the device 102 uses a suitable communications protocol for downloading Extensible Markup Language (XML) objects (e.g., documents), and Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) for downloading ZIP files. At 208, in some examples, the device 102 unzips the software 114 packages it receives and stores the unzipped software 114 files in the first memory 106. As noted above, the first memory 106 represents first non-volatile memory, such as a SD card (e.g., μSD card). The first memory 106 is used during the download phase of the software update as a staging area to “hold” the software 114 in a working folder (the folders of the staging area are described in more detail with reference to FIG. 3).”).
While Skelton does not explicitly disclose the use of a selectable AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform or the AUTOSAR Classic Platform, Acharya discloses an invention for “master agent and distributed agent architecture for vehicles” (Acharya: title) to facilitate software updates (Acharya: abstract). Various mechanisms may be used to implement the disclosed operations depending on the scenario at hand. For example, Acharya describes instances in which classic AUTOSAR and Adaptive AUTOSAR may be used (including for SHA verification), as seen in the following paragraphs from Acharya:
[0076] In particular, there are instances where the ECUs are less powerful, have low memory to work on and some of the properties of eSync Agent (such as Delta Reconstruction and/or Encryption/Decryption) may not be possible to run on the ECU. In such cases, the eSync Client may be modified to suit the limitations of such an ECU and update the ECU thru a different mechanism. Such ECUs may comprise a classic AUTOSAR-compliant ECUs, with Software Component, RTE and Basic Software running on some Hardware.
[0081] With regard to the A/B flash update scheme, the eSync Software Component may comprise an AUTOSAR application that may interface with the ECU BsW for any one, any combination, or all of: payload transfer; query version; delta reconstruction; or update. Further, the eSync Software Component may be called when the delta package is delivered, with the delta module validating the delta package received and starting the reconstruction of the new version based on the current reference image in the active memory. After the reconstruction, the SHA may be calculated again and if successful, the bootloader may be called to switch the version from the current activity to the new version. the Delta Reconstructor module in the Software Component may require access to the flash to read the reference image and write the new reconstructed image to the backup partition. Further, the package validator may require access to the flash to read the newly reconstructed image.
[0095] Further, as discussed above, the master agent's architecture may be extended to multiple virtual machines or separated kernel configurations in an ECU. In particular, ECUs have advanced in computational power (e.g., with multi-cores), memory and I/O resources over the last decade. In this regard, the ECUs govern complex functions in vehicles today, such as the infotainment unit, ADAS, Adaptive AUTomotive Open System Architecture (AUTOSAR), etc., These ECUs may be managed through one or more operating systems, such as Linux/QNX/Integrity mounted as Virtual Machines in their own memory space. Illustrative examples of VMs in a multi-core ECU in two different configurations are shown in FIGS. 4 and 5.
[0098] FIG. 4 comprises a configuration 400 of a single master update agent in multi-core ECUs using virtual machines, with dotted lines 470, 472 representing physical partitions. As shown, telematic control unit (TCU) 430 includes eSync Master Agent (A) 434 and eSync client 432. Further, within the configuration 400 illustrated in FIG. 4, various addresses may be used to communicate, via a hypervisor 440, with the different kernels, such as /A/TCU (to communicate with TCU 430), /A/Android (to communicate with the Android virtual machine 420), /A (Meter Linux) (to communicate with Meter Virtual Machine (VM) 418), /A/AdaptiveAutosar (to communicate with the Adaptive AUTOSAR 416), /A/ADAS (to communicate with ADAS RT software 414), /A/AUTOSAR(to communicate with the classic AUTOSAR, which may be manifested in one or more instantiations 410, 412).
[0102] In one or some embodiments, distributed agents may be used. In particular, if a distributed agent concept is used (e.g., no single agents but multiple agents), then the same configuration 500 of FIG. 5 may have agents as illustrated in FIG. 6. In particular, FIG. 6 illustrates a configuration 600 of distributed agents (eSync Agent A, eSync Agent A1, eSync Agent A2, eSync Agent A3, eSync Agent A4, eSync Agent A5) using multiple virtual machines (VMs) and kernels, with dotted lines 640, 642 indicating partitions. As shown in the configuration 600 in FIG. 6. the eSync Client 532 in the TCU 630 will see the following resolved agent addresses: /A (TCU), /Al (Android), /A2 (Meter Linux), /A3 (Classic Autosar), /A4 (Adaptive Autosar) and /A5 (RT ADAS). (Emphasis added)
Additionally, Acharya discusses streaming as a possibility to download a software package (Acharya: ¶ 84 – “With regard to the Bootloader, the bootloader may make use of the delta reconstructor to create the new version as the delta is streamed in. This may allow ECU to get updated with the delta package instead of the full package. Further, if the delta reconstruction is successful and the validation succeeds, then a switch may be performed to the new version. If the delta reconstruction fails, then the BA may restart the package streaming after disabling the delta. However, if the there is a failure to update after retry, then the BA may have a previous copy to reflash to do the rollback and thus revive the ECU.”).
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Nagamitsu wherein the package generation section determines a platform type of the master device as one of an AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform, an AUTOSAR Classic Platform, and another platform, and generates the package by selecting a storage method or a streaming method according to the platform type in order to facilitate a secure software update process and “that the integrity of the software installed on the device has not been compromised before the device is put into service using the software. For example, a self-driving car would benefit from the software update techniques described herein because proving that software integrity has not been compromised before executing the software in order to autonomously drive the car ensures that the car drives properly and that passengers on the road remain safe while the car is on the road.” (Skelton: ¶ 16) Additionally, the availability of the AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform and AUTOSAR Classic Platform as well as options to generate the package by selecting a storage method or a streaming method according to the platform type would have allowed Nagamitsu to select the most appropriate software package installation platform and method to be used based on varying scenarios in different situations. Also, the substitution of the AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform or AUTOSAR Classic Platform for Nagamitsu’s software package installation platform as well as the substitution of a selectable storage method or a streaming method according to the platform type for Nagamitsu’s platform type would have been well within the technical capability of those skilled in the art prior to Applicant’s invention and such a substitution would have yielded predictable and expected results.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagamitsu (US 2022/0317995), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Skelton et al. (US 2022/0181012).
[Claim 6] Nagamitsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the package generation section generates a vehicle package manifest including dependency, a target vehicle, a safety policy, and a driver notification setting, and generates an OEM Authentication Tag by applying SHA256 and selecting an encryption method.
Skelton discloses that secure software updates for automobiles (Skelton: ¶¶ 12, 16) may be performed using integrity checks that verify that loaded software is a formally built package (Skelton: ¶¶ 20, 48). “According to some examples, the manifest file 304 specifies a list of files 306 that are included in the software 114 associated with the software update, and the manifest file 304 may include a hash code (e.g., a SHA-256 hash code) for each file in the list of files 306.” (Skelton: ¶ 46) Additionally, Skelton explains, “At 504, the device 102 (e.g., a processor(s) of the device 102) performs a first integrity check 116(1) on the stored software 114, as described herein. In an illustrative example, the device 102, at 504, executes the following checks for each file of the stored/downloaded software 114 in the staging area 300 of the first memory 106: (i) the computed SHA-256 hash code of the file matches what is listed in the manifest file 304; (ii) the software component's part number and software version number (which is integrated in a version file) matches the version number specified in the manifest file 304; and (iii) the CRC for each image in the file matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image. At sub-block 506, in some examples, the performing of the first integrity check 116(1) involves performing the first integrity check 116(1) on all files in the working folder 302(1) of the staging area 300, which, in some scenarios, includes a copy(ies) of a file(s) that was previously copied to the working folder 302(1) as opposed to being downloaded from the external device 104.” (Skelton: ¶ 63)
Skelton repeatedly performs integrity checks on stored/downloaded software to ensure that the hash code (including SHA-256) of each file in the software package matches what is listed in a manifest file received from an external device and that other identifying information matches as well (including part number, version number of the software or a component of the software, etc.), as seen in the following excerpts from Skelton:
[0024] The device 102 is configured to perform a first integrity check 116(1) on the stored/downloaded software 114. As will be described in more detail below, the first integrity check 116(1), in some examples, includes performing an integrity check on each file included in the software 114 (e.g., a software package), such as by computing a hash code (e.g., a Secure Hash Algorithm (SHA)-256 hash code and/or a digital signature) of the file and determining whether the computed hash code matches what is listed in a manifest file received from the external device 104, determining whether a part number and/or version number of the software (or a component of the software) matches the corresponding number specified in the manifest file, computing a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for each image in the file and determining that the CRC matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image, etc. In this example, the integrity of the software is compromised if the computed hash code of the file does not match a corresponding code listed in the manifest file received from the external device 104, and/or if the part number and/or version number of the software (or a component of the software) does not match the corresponding number specified in the manifest file, and/or if the CRC for an image in one of the files does not match the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image. These are merely example ways of verifying the integrity of the stored/downloaded software 114, and other types of integrity checks can be performed during the first integrity check 116(1). If, after completing the download phase, the stored software 114 does not pass the first integrity check 116(1), the device 102 refrains from installing the stored software 114 in the second memory 108 and the installation of the stored software 114 is aborted. In this scenario, even though the stored software 114 did not pass the first integrity check 116(1) because it's integrity has been compromised, the device 102 is still operable using the existing software that is currently installed in the second memory 108 of the device 102, and the device 102 deletes the new software 114 from the WORKING folder of the first memory 106, leaving the existing, installed software in the second memory 108 intact, and the copy of the installed software still in the CURRENT folder of the first memory 106. In some examples, the device 102 outputs a notification that the software update was unsuccessful, reports information indicating the same to a server computer(s) 104(1), and reboots into a normal operating mode to execute the existing software.
[0026] The second integrity check 116(2), in some examples, is similar to the first integrity check 116(1) in that the second integrity check 116(2), for a second time, runs through each file included in the installed software 114 and compute a hash code (e.g., a SHA-256 hash code) of the file and determine whether the computed hash code matches what is listed in the manifest file received from the external device 104, determine whether a part number and/or version number of the software (or a component of the software) matches the corresponding number specified in the manifest file, compute a CRC for each image in the file and determining that the CRC matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image, etc. The second integrity check 116(2) may additionally compare the software that is stored in second memory 108 to the software that is stored in first memory 106, and re-perform the integrity tests on the software that is in first memory 106 to ensure that software hasn't been corrupted or maliciously altered. If the installed software 114 passes the second integrity check 116(2), the device 102 is enabled for use, and the device 102 is permitted to execute the installed software 114 in a mode of operation to carry out the core functionality of the device 102. In an example where the device 102 represents a medical device, such as a defibrillator, the medical device is enabled for use in association with a patient based at least in part on the installed software 114 having passed the second integrity check 116(2), such as by executing the installed software 114 in a patient mode to administer defibrillation therapy to a patient. That is, the installed software 114, in an illustrative example, includes, or represents, a clinical application that, when executed, controls delivery of an electrical shock via a set of electrodes to defibrillate a patient. If, on the other hand, the installed software 114 did not pass the second integrity check 116(2), the device 102 is disabled such that it is at least temporarily unusable (e.g., temporarily unusable in association with a patient). According to some examples, a notification is provided to a user of the device 102, such as by illuminating a service light on the device 102 indicating that the device 102 is in need of service from a service technician, displaying a similar message on a display of the device 102, and/or sending information to the server(s) computer 104(1) indicating that the software update was unsuccessful.
[0033] At 210, the device 102 verifies the stored/downloaded software 114 (SW2) by performing the first integrity check 116(1). According to some examples, the first integrity check 116(1) performed at 210 uses SHA-256 and digital signatures to verify the integrity and the origin of the stored/downloaded software 114 (SW2). In an example, at 208, the device 102 downloads a manifest file, and at 210, the device 102 determines whether each file in the staging area of the first memory 106 matches the details in the manifest file. In this example, any discrepancy is flagged as an error and prevents a successful verification of the stored/downloaded software 114 (SW2) in the staging area of the first memory 106. In an illustrative example, the device 102 executes the following checks for each file of the stored/downloaded software 114 in the staging area of the first memory 106: (i) the computed SHA-256 hash code of the file matches what is listed in the manifest file; (ii) the software component's part number and software version number (which is integrated in a version file) matches the version number specified in the manifest file; and (iii) the CRC for each image in the file matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image. As each file succeeds in the verification at 210 (e.g., as each file passes the first integrity check 116(1)), one or more parameters for the file, such as the software identifier (ID), file name, and/or SHA-256 are added to a catalog and/or the manifest file. In a scenario where every file passes the first integrity check 116(1) at 210, the catalog then includes a full list of files that the device 102 is able to read during installation.
[0055] In some examples, the device 102 (e.g., a processor(s) of the device 102) analyzes the copy of the second file 310 (and any additional matching files). In an example, such analysis includes computing a hash code (e.g., a SHA-256 hash code) of the second file 310 and determining whether the computed hash code matches what is listed in the digitally-signed manifest file 304 received from the external device 104, determining whether a part number and/or version number associated with the second file 310 matches the corresponding number specified in the manifest file 304, computing a CRC for each image in the second file 310 and determining that the CRC matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image, etc. In an example, this is performed for any number of matching files.
In other words, Skelton validates a one-to-one match of downloaded software components and corresponding identifying features to the expected components and corresponding identifying features for each vehicle, as provided in the manifest. It is noted that Skelton’s manifest file may include a hash code (e.g., a SHA-256 hash code) for each file in the list of files (Skelton: ¶ 46) and Skelton confirms that the serial number of the device receiving the software matches the serial number in the configuration file (Skelton: ¶ 46 – “The device 102 compares the serial number in the manufacturing configuration file 308 to the current serial number of the device 102 (which, in some examples, is hard-coded in memory of the device 102), and if the serial numbers match, the software update continues. If the serial numbers do not match, the installation of the software 114 is aborted.”). Skelton’s device may be an automobile, including a self-driving car (Skelton: ¶ 16), i.e., a target vehicle.
Regarding generation of an OEM Authentication Tag by applying SHA256 and selecting an encryption method, Skelton explains that the software package may include original equipment manufacture (OEM) software packages (Skelton: ¶ 52 – “In some examples, the manifest file 304 includes original equipment manufacturer (OEM) software packages.”). Skelton also explains that SHA-256 is one of multiple encryption methods that may be used (Skelton: ¶ 24 – “As will be described in more detail below, the first integrity check 116(1), in some examples, includes performing an integrity check on each file included in the software 114 (e.g., a software package), such as by computing a hash code (e.g., a Secure Hash Algorithm (SHA)-256 hash code and/or a digital signature) of the file and determining whether the computed hash code matches what is listed in a manifest file received from the external device 104, determining whether a part number and/or version number of the software (or a component of the software) matches the corresponding number specified in the manifest file, computing a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for each image in the file and determining that the CRC matches the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image, etc. In this example, the integrity of the software is compromised if the computed hash code of the file does not match a corresponding code listed in the manifest file received from the external device 104, and/or if the part number and/or version number of the software (or a component of the software) does not match the corresponding number specified in the manifest file, and/or if the CRC for an image in one of the files does not match the CRC listed in the corresponding version file for that image. These are merely example ways of verifying the integrity of the stored/downloaded software 114, and other types of integrity checks can be performed during the first integrity check 116(1).”).
The requirement that certain integrity checks be met for software updates for automobiles (Skelton: ¶ 16 – “It is also to be appreciated that, in other examples, the device 102 may represent a non-medical device, such as a vehicle (e.g., an airplane, an automobile, etc.), or any other suitable device that benefits from a secure software update process that ensures that the correct software is received at the device, and that the integrity of the software installed on the device has not been compromised before the device is put into service using the software. For example, a self-driving car would benefit from the software update techniques described herein because proving that software integrity has not been compromised before executing the software in order to autonomously drive the car ensures that the car drives properly and that passengers on the road remain safe while the car is on the road.”) is indicative of a safety policy.
In ¶ 26, Skelton states, “According to some examples, a notification is provided to a user of the device 102, such as by illuminating a service light on the device 102 indicating that the device 102 is in need of service from a service technician, displaying a similar message on a display of the device 102, and/or sending information to the server(s) computer 104(1) indicating that the software update was unsuccessful.” This at least suggests that a driver (i.e., a user of an automobile) may be notified of any issues related to the automobile.
The software installation process is also defined with certain dependencies among operations to be performed as part of the process (Skelton: ¶ 82 – “The software across packages operates based on the Software Mode (SM) of the system, which can be the same as the device mode, a combination of multiple device modes, or a decomposition of multiple device modes into the software mode. In some examples, one second application 704 may perform a software installation and another second application 704 may perform an integrity check(s) on the installed software, as described herein. For example, the install application (an example of a second application 704) may install new software while the device 102 is in an install mode, and the runtest application may perform the second integrity check after the new software is installed and while the device 102 is in a runtest mode. That provides independence of functionality between installation and integrity checking.”).
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Nagamitsu wherein the package generation section generates a vehicle package manifest including dependency, a target vehicle, a safety policy, and a driver notification setting, and generates an OEM Authentication Tag by applying SHA256 and selecting an encryption method in order to facilitate a secure software update process and “that the integrity of the software installed on the device has not been compromised before the device is put into service using the software. For example, a self-driving car would benefit from the software update techniques described herein because proving that software integrity has not been compromised before executing the software in order to autonomously drive the car ensures that the car drives properly and that passengers on the road remain safe while the car is on the road.” (Skelton: ¶ 16)
[Claim 7] Nagamitsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the package generation section archives file configuration information together with verification data and compresses the archived file configuration information into a ZIP file.
Skelton incorporates verification data with the software configuration information and configuration file (Skelton: ¶ 46 – “In some examples, the manifest file 304 specifies a configuration of the software 114 to be installed on the device 102. In some examples, the device 102 also receives a manufacturing configuration file 308 that specifies the serial number of the device 102 and the hardware configuration of the device 102. The device 102 compares the serial number in the manufacturing configuration file 308 to the current serial number of the device 102 (which, in some examples, is hard-coded in memory of the device 102), and if the serial numbers match, the software update continues. If the serial numbers do not match, the installation of the software 114 is aborted.”).
Skelton also sends files in a zipped format and they are unzipped in the download phase (Skelton: ¶ 32 – “At 208, the device 102 receives the new software 114 (SW2) from the external device 104 and stores the software 114 in the first memory 106 as stored software. Said another way, the device 102 downloads the software 114 (SW2) to the first memory 106 of the device 102 as downloaded software. As indicated in the example of FIG. 2, the device 102 uses a suitable communications protocol for downloading Extensible Markup Language (XML) objects (e.g., documents), and Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) for downloading ZIP files. At 208, in some examples, the device 102 unzips the software 114 packages it receives and stores the unzipped software 114 files in the first memory 106. As noted above, the first memory 106 represents first non-volatile memory, such as a SD card (e.g., μSD card). The first memory 106 is used during the download phase of the software update as a staging area to “hold” the software 114 in a working folder (the folders of the staging area are described in more detail with reference to FIG. 3).”).
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Nagamitsu wherein the package generation section archives file configuration information together with verification data and compresses the archived file configuration information into a ZIP file in order to facilitate data transmission in a compressed format that reduces bandwidth and storage resource requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Acharya et al. (US 2019/0268420) – Relevant to Applicant’s claim 6, Acharya discusses the use of the SHA-256 secure hash algorithm (¶¶ 96, 199-200, 209) and uses OEM’s custom download agents (¶ 139).
Teshler et al. (US 2018/0189103) – Configures an SOA ECU to run on AUTOSAR™ in conjunction with an OEM OTA update server (¶¶ 50, 63), which is particularly relevant to Applicant’s claims 4-6.
Thornton et al. (US 2015/0033016) – Discusses the use of AUTOSAR and a 256-byte lookup table (¶ 128), which is particularly relevant to Applicant’s claims 4-6.
Ai et al. (CN-113835723-A) – Discusses the use of AUTOSAR as well as a package count (pp. 2-3, 6), which is particularly relevant to Applicant’s claims 4-5.
Qin et al. (CN-113688026-A) – Discusses the use of AUTOSAR Adaptive Platform and AUTOSAR Classic Platform (p. 2), which is particularly relevant to Applicant’s claims 4-5.
Wang (CN-110515366-A) – Discusses the use of AUTOSAR (both the adaptive and classical platforms) (p. 6), which is particularly relevant to Applicant’s claims 4-5.
Neubauer, Kevin, et al. “Template-Driven and Hardware-Centric Cross-Domain E/E Architecture Simulation.” 2021 IEEE International Workshop of Rapid System Prototyping (RSP). – Discusses the use of a logical architecture layer that models electrical components using the Input-Process-Output (IPO)-principle, which is particularly relevant to Applicant’s claims 1-3.
Francisco, Alexandre, et al. “Arduino based Open Source Electronic Control Unit for Electric Utility Vehicles.” Proc. XXIX International Scientific Conference Electronics – ET2020, September 16-18, 2020. – Discusses an Input-Process-Output (IPO) model for managing ECUs, which is particularly relevant to Applicant’s claims 1-3.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSANNA M. DIAZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3625A