DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/795053 filed on 08/05/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection.
Allowable Subject Matters
Claims 5, 6, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 7-9 are objected since they depend on claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matters
Claims 16-19 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Claim 16 is allowed over the prior art of record because the Examiner found neither prior art cited in its entirety, nor based on the prior art found any motivation to combine any of the said prior art reference which teach the limitation “receive, from a network device, a notification signaling that the network device is operating in a sleep mode; predict, in response to receiving the notification, sensor data associated with the network device; and transmit the predicted sensor data to the network device,…” with respect to the additional claimed subject matter and in particular the specific boundaries as recited in the claim. It is noted that the closest prior art, Seino et al., “A Sensor Data Collection Method with a Mobile Sink for Communication Traffic Reduction by Delivering Predicted Values”, 03/26/2012. (From Applicant’s IDS) discloses “[(p.614), The mobile sink sends predicted sensor value to the sensors before they transmit their observed sensor value to the mobile sink. Each sensor compares their sensor value with the predicted sensor value that receives from the mobile sink and replies only when the observed sensor value exceeds the admissible error margin from the predicted sensor value. The communication traffic can be reduced because sensors do not have to transmit all data that each sensor has.]”.
However, Seino fails to disclose at least the claim limitations “receive, from a network device, a notification signaling that the network device is operating in a sleep mode; predict, in response to receiving the notification, sensor data associated with the network device; and transmit the predicted sensor data to the network device,…”. Thus, Seino does not disclose or render obvious the above underlined limitations as claimed. Claims 17-19 are also allowed since they depend on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seino et al., “A Sensor Data Collection Method with a Mobile Sink for Communication Traffic Reduction by Delivering Predicted Values”, 03/26/2012. (From Applicant’s IDS)
As per claim 1, Seino discloses “A device, comprising: a transceiver operable in one of a sleep mode or a wake mode; a sensor configured to:” as [(p.614), Each sensor compares their sensor value with the predicted sensor value that receives from the mobile sink.] “sense at least one parameter;” [(p.614), Each sensor compares their sensor value with the predicted sensor value that receives from the mobile sink.] “and generate actual sensor data based on the at least one sensed parameter;” [(p.614), Each sensor compares their sensor value with the predicted sensor value that receives from the mobile sink.] “and a wake-up logic configured to: receive predicted sensor data;” [(p.614), The mobile sink sends predicted sensor value to the sensors before they transmit their observed sensor value to the mobile sink.] “compare the predicted sensor data with the actual sensor data;” [(p.614), Each sensor compares their sensor value with the predicted sensor value that receives from the mobile sink.] “and determine whether to switch the transceiver from the sleep mode to the wake mode based on the comparison between the predicted sensor data and the actual sensor data.” [(p.614), The mobile sink sends predicted sensor value to the sensors before they transmit their observed sensor value to the mobile sink. Each sensor compares their sensor value with the predicted sensor value that receives from the mobile sink and replies only when the observed sensor value exceeds the admissible error margin from the predicted sensor value. The communication traffic can be reduced because sensors do not have to transmit all data that each sensor has.]
As per claim 20, as [see rejection of claim 1.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, 11, 13-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2014/0317456 A1)
As per claim 1, Kim discloses “A device, comprising: a transceiver operable in one of a sleep mode or a wake mode; a sensor configured to:” as [(par. 0097), the UE compares the threshold value and the measured value to determine whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver. For example, in the case that the threshold value of the serving cell RSRP is given, the UE 905 turns on the GNSS receiver only when the measured serving cell RSRP is worse than the threshold value.] “sense at least one parameter;” [(par. 0097), the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.] “and generate actual sensor data based on the at least one sensed parameter;” [(par. 0097), the UE compares the threshold value and the measured value to determine whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver.] “and a wake-up logic configured to: receive predicted sensor data;” [(par. 0097), In the case that the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.] “compare the predicted sensor data with the actual sensor data;” [(par. 0097), When perform the logged MDT in the idle mode, the UE compares the threshold value and the measured value to determine whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver.] “and
determine whether to switch the transceiver from the sleep mode to the wake mode based on the comparison between the predicted sensor data and the actual sensor data.” [(par. 0097), When perform the logged MDT in the idle mode, the UE compares the threshold value and the measured value to determine whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver. For example, in the case that the threshold value of the serving cell RSRP is given, the UE 905 turns on the GNSS receiver only when the measured serving cell RSRP is worse than the threshold value.]
As per claim 2, Kim discloses “The device of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “further comprising an antenna coupled to the wake-up logic” [(par. 0097), In the case that the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.]
As per claim 3, Kim discloses “The device of claim 2,” as [see rejection of claim 2.] “wherein the antenna is configured to: receive the predicted sensor data; and provide the predicted sensor data to the wake-up logic” [(par. 0097), In the case that the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.]
As per claim 4, Kim discloses “The device of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the device is associated with a scheduled target wake time” [(par. 0097), the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.]
As per claim 10, Kim discloses “The device of claim 4,” as [see rejection of claim 4.] “wherein the sensor senses the at least one parameter and generates the actual sensor data during the scheduled target wake time” [(par. 0097), the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.]
As per claim 11, Kim discloses “The device of claim 4,” as [see rejection of claim 4.] “wherein the wake-up logic determines whether to switch the transceiver from the sleep mode to the wake mode during the scheduled target wake time” [(par. 0097), the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.]
As per claim 13, Kim discloses “The device of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the wake-up logic determines to maintain the transceiver in the sleep mode in response to the predicted sensor data deviating from the actual sensor data below a threshold value” [(par. 0097), In the case that the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.]
As per claim 14, Kim discloses “The device of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the wake-up logic determines to switch the transceiver from the sleep mode to the wake mode in response to the predicted sensor data deviating from the actual sensor data beyond a threshold value” [(par. 0097), In the case that the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.]
As per claim 15, Kim discloses “The device of claim 14,” as [see rejection of claim 14.] “wherein in response to being switched to the wake mode, the transceiver is configured to transmit the actual sensor data” [(par. 0097), In the case that the UE 905 determines whether to turn on or off the GNSS receiver based on the channel measurement information, the eNB 900 may include the RSRP and/or RSRQ threshold of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell for turn-on or turn-off in the logged measurement configuration information.]
As per claim 20, as [see rejection of claim 1.]
Conclusion
/MANG HANG YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417