DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,8,9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoermann (EP1467056).
Regarding claim 1, Hoermann discloses a light assembly for use with a garage door operator (GDO) convertible between a ceiling mounted configuration and a jackshaft configuration(figs. 4 and 7), the light assembly comprising: a first illumination member (18), the first illumination member being operable between an illuminated state in which the first illumination member illuminates an area and a non- illuminated state in which the first illumination member does not illuminate the area (illuminated state when the first illumination member is attached to a power source, non-illuminated state when the first illumination member is not attached to a power source); a local light housing (10) to which the first illumination member is independently removably operably coupleable, the local light housing having a first power source and being disposed at a main housing of a motorhead of the GDO(Figs. 4 and 7); and a remote light housing to which the first illumination member is independently removably operably coupleable, the remote light housing having a second power source and being disposed away from the main housing, wherein the first illumination member is operably coupled to one of the local light housing and the remote light housing at a time(Description, “the Lighting unit according to another special embodiment of the invention optionally also on a receiver module with a corresponding slot be attachable(40, Fig. 9). This is also a separately arranged one powered module, for example, elsewhere in the garage or in another place to be illuminated. By It is therefore essential to provide such receiver modules accordingly possible a modular system consisting of the garage door operator, the receiver module and the attachable lighting units for optimal lighting a garage or other room in which the drive device is arranged is to achieve. The corresponding receiver module can of course also be located outside of a garage or house”), wherein each of the local light housing and the remote light housing comprises a power outlet terminal, and wherein the first illumination member comprises a power inlet terminal, the power inlet terminal being operably coupleable with the power outlet terminal to transmit power from a respective one of the first and second power sources to the first illumination member(figs.2,4,9) .
Regarding claim 2, The light assembly of claim 1, wherein the remote light housing is configured to be disposed in a variety of possible positions, angles and orientations, including on a ceiling, to enable a user to optimally locate the remote light housing relative to the local light housing, Hoermann’s recitation of “It is therefore essential to provide such receiver modules accordingly possible a modular system consisting of the garage door operator, the receiver module and the attachable lighting units for optimal lighting a garage or other room in which the drive device is arranged is to achieve. The corresponding receiver module can of course also be located outside of a garage or house”, as well as figures 9-12 are considered to satisfy the limitations of claim 2, since the figures and recitations above defines “ the light housing configured to be disposed in a variety of possible positions, angles and orientations, including on a ceiling”.
Regarding claim 8, Hoermann discloses wherein each of the local light housing (Figs. 4 and 7, 16,20,22,24), and the remote light housing comprises a power outlet terminal (40,42)and wherein the first illumination member (18) comprises a power inlet terminal(30), the power inlet terminal being operably coupleable with the power outlet terminal to transmit power from a respective one of the first and second power sources to the first illumination member.(figs. 4 and 7 and 9-12, respectively).
Regarding claim 11, the light assembly of claim 1, Hoermann’s discloses wherein the first power source for the local light housing also powers the motorhead, and wherein the second power source for the remote light housing only powers the remote light housing, the local light housing having a first power source and being disposed at a main housing of a motorhead of the GDO(Figs. 4 and 7, 16,20,22,24); and a remote light housing to which the first illumination member is independently removably operably coupleable, the remote light housing having a second power source and being disposed away from the main housing, wherein the first illumination member is operably coupled to one of the local light housing and the remote light housing at a time (42, Figs. 9-12).
Regarding claim 9, Hoermann discloses a light assembly for use with a garage door operator (GDO)(figs. 4 and 7), the light assembly comprising: a first illumination member(18), the first illumination member being operable between an illuminated state in which the first illumination member illuminates an area and a non- illuminated state in which the first illumination member does not illuminate the area(illuminated state when the first illumination member is attached to a power source, non-illuminated state when the first illumination member is not attached to a power source); a local light housing(10) to which the first illumination member is independently removably operably coupleable, the local light housing having a first power source and being disposed at a main housing of a motorhead of the GDO(Figs. 4 and 7),16,20,22,24; and a remote light housing (40)to which the first illumination member is independently removably operably coupleable(Figs. 9-12), the remote light housing having a second power source(42) and being disposed away from the main housing, wherein the first illumination member is operably coupled to one of the local light housing and the remote light housing at a time(figs. 4,7 and 9), wherein the light assembly further comprises a locking assembly to securely operably couple the first illumination member to the local light housing and the remote light housing, the locking assembly comprising fixed retention features and at least one movable retention feature (Description Fig. 4.:” In the area of the housing 12, as shown in FIG. 4, there is a slot 16 for a lighting unit 18 shown, this slot 16 two electrical Has connecting sleeves 20 and laterally two locking hooks 22 and 24. In opposite side area of the housing 12 is a lighting unit 18 the slot 16 plugged in, and in a manner not shown here Way the locking projections 22 and 24 in accordance with the housing of the Light unit 18 engage existing recesses (not shown here) and determine the light unit. The locking projections 22 and 24 designed to be elastic and make it possible to plug the light unit 18 back on release, whereby a correspondingly large force must be applied here, to overcome the locking force applied by the locking projections 22 and 24. The structure of the lighting unit is particularly clear from the figures 1 to 2. A lighting unit 18 consists of a central body 26 with a Plug connection area 28, two electrically conductive plugs 30 being provided here are that when inserting the lighting unit 18 on the slot 16 on Engage housing 12 in the corresponding sleeves 20. Laterally from the central Body 26 extend from symmetrically projecting lamps 32 and 43. The illuminants 32 and 34 are of partially enclosing reflectors 36 and 38, respectively enclosed. The reflectors 36 and 38 can in relation to the lamps 32 and 34 are rotated so that the released light beam is bundled in can emerge at a desired angle.”) and (Description Figs. 9-12: “the lighting units 18 can be used with an alternative Receiver module 40 shown, which also a slot 43 for electrical and mechanical connection and locking with a light unit 18 has. Such receiver modules 40 can be placed anywhere within a garage or outside the garage, such as on the outside of the garage or be arranged in the entrance area to the garage. This is a flexible modular system for garage lighting and lighting given the garage environment.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowable.
Claims 3-7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claims 12-20: The closest prior art cited of record Hoermann (EP1467056), although disclosing garage door drive(10) with a housing and at least one removable light source(32,34,18 (2), conductive plugs (30)), the garage door drive having light source having a slot (16 with corresponding sleeves 20), locking projections (22 and 24), Hoermann does not anticipate individually or teach in combination the limitations of “a motorhead operable to provide power for movement of the sectional door between the open and closed positions via turning of a drive tube in a jackshaft configuration or via movement of a trolley in a ceiling mounted configuration”.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 12/3/2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANABEL TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875