DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
These claims depend from claims 18 and 17, respectively, which have been cancelled. Therefore, as the scope of the claims is not certain, the examiner has not attempted to examine these claims over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuller (US 7,264,934 issued Sep. 4, 2017, IDS ref).
Claim interpretation: Instant claims recited with alternating term “or” “and/or” has been interpreted as to require single limitation.
Regarding instant claim 1, Fuller teaches a reaction and detection scheme for sequencing by the new, stepwise method with pyrophosphate detection. FIG. 10A shows the reaction of an individual bead when one of four nucleotides is added to the reaction system. In the absence of divalent cation, polymerase forms a stable, closed-complex with the nucleotide (e.g. dATP) that complements the next template nucleotide (e.g. T, partial template sequence shown: 5'-GCTTTTTCT-3' (SEQ ID NO: 6)). Excess nucleotide is washed away. Then divalent cation is introduced along with other detection reagents and detection is performed, as an example, by the detection of photons generated from the Luciferase reaction through a succession of enzymatic steps. It is noted that because a closed-complex only forms with a complementary nucleotide, each cycle adds at most one nucleotide to the growing chain. FIG. 10B shows an alternative to FIG. 10A. Here terminal phosphate-labeled nucleotides are each labeled with a distinct label. In this way, all four nucleotide bases can be added in the same reaction mixture such that the next base of all the templates can be identified in a single round of polymerase reaction (Column 17, paragraphs 3-6, column 18, paragraph 1).
The teachings of Fuller as discussed above meets the limitations of claim 1 of method for sequencing a nucleic acid template comprising: providing a sequencing mixture comprising (i) a polymerase enzyme (Fig. 10 A), (ii) an ATP
regenerating enzyme, (iii) a luminescence enzyme (i.e., luciferase), (iv) a template nucleic acid, and (iii) a polymerase-ATP regenerating enzyme-luminescence reagent solution having the components for carrying out template directed synthesis of a growing nucleic acid strand, wherein said reagent solution includes an ATP-regenerating-enzyme-substrate (APS, a luminescence-substrate; and a plurality of types of nucleotide analogs; wherein each type of nucleotide analog has a labeled
leaving group that is cleavable by the polymerase, and each type of nucleotide analog has a different label, wherein the labeled leaving group is cleaved upon polymerase-dependent binding of a respective nucleotide analog to the template strand; carrying out nucleic acid synthesis such that a plurality of nucleotide analogs are added sequentially to the template whereby: a) a nucleotide analog associates with the polymerase, b) the nucleotide analog is incorporated on the template strand by the polymerase when the labeled leaving group on that nucleotide analog is cleaved by the polymerase, wherein the labeled leaving group is combined with an ATP-regenerating-enzyme-substrate by the ATP regenerating enzyme yielding labeled-ATP, then c) binding the labeled-ATP to a luminescence-enzyme, wherein a luminescence-substrate is catalyzed by the luminescence-enzyme to produce luminescence for a limited period of time and regenerate the respective labeled leaving group, wherein said luminescence causes the label on the respective labeled leaving group to produce light; and detecting light from the labels while nucleic acid synthesis is occurring, and using light detected during each discreet luminescence period, to determine a sequence of the template nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 2, Fuller teaches that the nucleotide analog has been modified by a fluorophore attached to a terminal phosphate (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Fuller teaches that the leaving group is a dye labelled pyrophosphate (column 2, line 53, Fuller claim 19).
Regarding claim 5, Fuller teaches that the each base of a nucleotide is labeled with a unique fluorophore relative to other bases (Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 6, Fuller teaches luciferase enzyme (Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 8, Fuller teaches luciferin (Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 9, Fuller teaches a DNA polymerase (column 5, line 1)
Regarding claim 10, Fuller teaches ATP Sulfurylase (Fuller, claim 22).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Fuller teaches ATP Sulfurylase (i.e., APS; Fuller, claim 22).
Regarding claim 13, Fuller teaches dATP (Fuller, Fig. 10 A).
Regarding claims 21 and 23, Fuller teaches a DNA polymerase I and DNA polymerase II (column 5, lies 1-3), which meets the limitation of said claims of plurality of enzymes recited in generality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller (US 7,264,934 issued Sep. 4, 2017, IDS ref) in view of Marques et al (Anal Bioanal Chem 2008 published 2008, 391, 2161-2168, IDS ref).
Fuller and Marques teach a pyrosequencing method using luciferase and therefore are analogous arts. Fuller teaches luciferase (Fig. 10A) but does not specifically teach that the luciferase is firefly luciferase, which is taught by Marques, who is in the same field of endeavor teaches an optimized luciferase bioluminescent assay for coenzyme A quantification (Abstract) and further teaches that the firefly luciferase, which causes a flash of light that can be measured in a luminometer (Abstract). The artisan having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that firefly luciferase is routinely used especially in the pyrosequencing field as further evidenced by Ju et al (US 9,909,177 issued Mar. 6, 2018, effective filing dateJun.21, 2005, column 1, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 14, Fuller in view of Marques teaches reaction mixture comprises pyrophosphatase enzyme (Marques, pg.2167, column 2, paragraph 1), which is capable of converting pyrophosphate into 2 phosphate ions.
Regarding claim 15, requiring the limitation of the ratios of enzyme on concentrations are adjusted such that ATP sulfurylase/Luciferase loop activity is orders of magnitude higher than the pyrophosphatase activity, the artisan having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that amount to routine optimization and thus would be an obvious improvement over Fuller in view of Marques.
Regarding claim 16, requiring the limitation of relative reaction rate of ATP Sulfurylase/Luciferase loop, Fuller teaches an ATP Sulfurylase/Luciferase loop (Fig. 10A). The artisan would recognize the limitation of is selected from the group consisting of at least: to 102 times faster than the pyrophosphatase reaction amounts to routine optimization and thus would be an obvious improvement over Fuller in view of Marques.
As discussed above, both Fuller and Marques teach luciferase and Marques teaches that firefly luciferase allows detection of coenzyme A, which is an ubiquitous organic substance that is essential for many biological processes, as it acts as a transient carrier of acyl groups in enzymatic reactions (Introduction section paragraph 1) thereby providing teachings, suggestions and motivation to include fire fly luciferase in the method of Fuller.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to include the firefly luciferase in place of generic luciferase with a reasonable expectation of success with the expected benefit of increasing the utilities of the method of Fuller as taught by Marques.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16, 19-21 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,054,772. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘772 claims disclose all limitations of the instant claims, thereby anticipating the instant claims and rendering them obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SAMUEL C WOOLWINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681