DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 3/4/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11, 13-14 and 20-23 remain pending with claims 9-10 and 20-21 are withdrawn as being non-elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11, 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biba US 2005/0095058 (hereinafter Biba) in view of Browning US 4222680 (hereinafter Browning).
Re. Cl. 1, Biba discloses: A mounting system (Fig. 1) for supporting an electronic device (see Fig. 1, the device is capable of supporting an electronic device using 15 for instance), comprising: a ball mount (10, Fig. 1), including: a pedestal (see pedestal between 15 and 11, Fig. 3); and a spherical connecting element (11, Fig. 3) disposed at an end of the pedestal (see Fig. 3),; and a pair of clamp bodies (30, 40, Fig. 3) configured to engage with the spherical connecting element (see Fig. 3); at least one of the pair of clamp bodies includes an insert (32, Fig. 4) that is disposed in the recessed area (see Fig. 4).
Re. Cl. 6, Biba discloses: the pair of clamp bodies is engaged with the spherical connecting element on opposing sides of the spherical connecting element (see Fig. 3), wherein the spherical connecting element is repositionable to any desired rotational position relative to the pair of clamp bodies without reducing a force resisting rotation of the spherical connecting element relative to the pair of clamp bodies at a fixed value of clamping force between the pair of clamp bodies and the spherical connecting element (see Fig. 3, by overcoming the frictional forces between 11 and 30,40).
Re. Cl. 7, Biba discloses: the ball mount further includes a base (15, Fig. 3) coupled to the pedestal at an opposite axial end of the pedestal as the spherical connecting element (see Fig. 3), the spherical connecting element is disposed at a central position along the base (see Fig. 3), the base protruding radially outwardly from the spherical connecting element on all sides of the spherical connecting element (see Fig. 3), the base configured to mount the ball mount to at least one of a mobile device holder and a vehicle (Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-5).
Re. Cl. 14, Biba discloses: the insert is made from a material having a hardness that is less than a hardness of the spherical connecting element (Paragraph 0031, Lines 5-11).
Re. Cls. 1-5 and 11, Biba does not disclose the spherical connecting element including a plurality of engaging elements disposed along an outer surface of the spherical connecting element, the plurality of engaging elements spaced circumferentially apart from one another in all directions by spherically-shaped portions of the outer surface, the plurality of engaging elements forming at least one of a plurality of indents or a plurality of protrusions along the outer surface; so that the plurality of engaging elements are at least partially received within a recessed area of each one of the pair of clamp bodies to substantially prevent rotation of the pair of clamp bodies with respect to the ball mount and the insert made from a softer material than a material forming the plurality of engaging elements (Cl. 1), the spherically-shaped portions of the outer surface extend to one another (Cl. 2), the spherically-shaped portions of the outer surface have a uniform radius relative to a center of the spherical connecting element (Cl. 3), the plurality of engaging elements are uniform in size (Cl. 4), at least one of the plurality of engaging elements has one of a convex surface or a concave surface that tapers along a radial direction relative to a center of the spherical connecting element (Cl. 5), or the plurality of engaging elements is disposed along the outer surface in an array with approximately uniform spacing between adjacent ones of the plurality of engaging elements (Cl. 11). Browning discloses a mounting system (Fig. 8) which includes a ball mount (Fig. 7) and a socket configuration (30, Fig. 8), wherein the ball mount includes a spherical connecting element (38, Fig. 7) disposed at an end of a pedestal (24, Fig. 7), the spherical connecting element including a plurality of engaging elements (44, 48, Fig. 7 or bumps discussed in Col. 5, Lines 8-10) disposed along an outer surface of the spherical connecting element (see Fig. 7), the plurality of engaging elements spaced circumferentially apart from one another in all directions by spherically-shaped portions of the outer surface (see 44, Fig. 7, the spaced bumps as discussed in Col. 5, Lines 8-10 would be spaced similar to as shown in Fig. 7 with valleys/spherical shaped portions in all directions therebetween), the plurality of engaging elements forming at least one of a plurality of indents or a plurality of protrusions along the outer surface (see Fig. 7); so that the plurality of engaging elements are at least partially received within a recessed area of each one of the socket (see Fig. 8) to substantially prevent rotation of the pair of clamp bodies with respect to the ball mount (see Fig. 8 and Col. 5, Lines 28-32); an insert (34) within the socket configuration (see Fig. 8) and the insert made from a softer material than a material forming the plurality of engaging elements (Col. 4, Lines 18-21); the spherically-shaped portions of the outer surface extend to one another (Col. 5, Lines 8-10, by having the spaced bumps as discussed, the spherical shaped portions would extend to one another as claimed); the spherically-shaped portions of the outer surface have a uniform radius relative to a center of the spherical connecting element (see Fig. 7, 46s are uniform radius with one another and thus bumps replacing them would have a uniform radius); the plurality of engaging elements are uniform in size (see Fig. 7, 46s are uniform in size with one another and thus bumps replacing them would have a uniform size); at least one of the plurality of engaging elements has one of a convex surface or a concave surface that tapers along a radial direction relative to a center of the spherical connecting element (see Fig. 7, 46s and 48 are convex and taper along a radial direction relative to the center of 38 and thus bumps replacing them would also have the same convex shape to achieve the ); the plurality of engaging elements is disposed along the outer surface in an array with approximately uniform spacing between adjacent ones of the plurality of engaging elements (see Fig. 7, 46s are approximately uniformly spaced and thus bumps replacing them would also be approximately uniformly spaced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Biba spherical element to include the engaging elements of Browning with reasonable expectation of success since Browning states that such a modification would prevent squeaking (Col. 5, Lines 2-5) and also results in increased friction between the rounded end and the lining (Col. 5, Lines 30-35).
Re. Cl. 22, Biba in view of Browning discloses: a fastener (70, Fig. 4 in Biba) compressing the pair of clamp bodies against the spherical connecting element to deform the insert (see Fig. 4 in Biba) to accommodate at least a portion of one of the plurality of engaging elements (modifying the spherical element of Biba to include the protrusions of Browning would result in the claimed configuration).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biba in view of Browning as applied to claims 1-7, 11, 14 and 22 above, and further in view of Rustro US 5071279 (hereinafter Rustro).
Re. Cl. 8, Biba discloses the ball mount further includes a base disposed at an opposite end of the pedestal as the spherical connecting element (see 15, Fig. 3) but does not disclose the spherical connecting element defines an opening extending therethrough, the ball mount further including a fastener extending through the opening that couples the spherical connecting element to at least one of the pedestal and the base. Rustro discloses an alternate configuration between spherical connecting element (7, Fig. 1), pedestal (5, Fig. 1) and base (4, Fig. 1) in a ball mount, wherein the spherical connecting element defines an opening extending therethrough (15, 13, Fig. 1-2), the ball mount further including a fastener (14, Fig. 1) extending through the opening that couples the spherical connecting element to at least one of the pedestal and the base (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Biba ball mount to be assembled in the manner disclosed by Rustro with reasonable expectation of success to provide a device which can be disassembled in the event the user wished to clean the device or replace defective parts.
Claims 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biba in view of Li as applied to claims 1-7, 11, 14 and 22 above, and further in view of Ringel US 3597025 (hereinafter Ringel).
Re. Cls. 13 and 23, Biba does not disclose how the insert is secured to the recessed area and therefore does not disclose that the recessed are has a non-circular shaped outer perimeter that is reciprocal to a shape of an outer perimeter of the insert (Cl. 13) or the insert defines at least one step configured to engage with the spherical connecting element along at least an inner perimeter edge of the at least one step (Cl. 23). Ringel discloses an insert (20, Fig. 1) secured to a recessed area (12, Fig. 1) of a clamp body, wherein the recessed are has a non-circular shaped outer perimeter (see Fig. 1, having 24) that is reciprocal to a shape of an outer perimeter of the insert (see Fig. 1, reciprocal of 22) and the insert defines at least one step (see 22, Fig. 1) configured to engage with the spherical connecting element along at least an inner perimeter edge of the at least one step (see Fig. 1, once 20 is inserted into 12 and receives 11, 11 interacts with the interior edge of portion 22 since the interior edge of portion 22 forms part of the interior of the 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Biba device to have its insert secured to the recessed are in the manner disclosed by Ringel with reasonable expectation of success since Ringel states that such a modification provides an indexing connection between the two which ensures proper alignment of the liner and prevent it from moving during operation (Col. 1, Lines 60-68).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 11, 13-15 and 22-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Thomas US 10856539 discloses a known configuration for a ball and socket joint where convex protrusions deform a softer material to improve friction within the joint which is presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632