Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “setting module”and ”emitting module” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “setting module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeh et al. (US 2022/0003841 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh discloses a method for emitting a laser signal, comprising:
setting an emission power of an emitting unit based on a measurement range of a LiDAR or a strength of an echo signal corresponding to the emitting unit that has been obtained, wherein there are at least two different levels of emission power of the emitting unit corresponding to different measurement ranges, and each level corresponds to a kind of strength of emission power (See [0045] [0052] based on detection distance the power determination unit may calculate an appropriate emitting power level output by laser emitter. The emitted power may be proportional to a square of the respective detection distances. A first detection measurement range may be read on the maximum detection distance using the maximum available output power level. A second detection range may be read on a shorter than maximum detection distance with corresponding reduced emitting power level which is smaller but sufficient, see [0045] and [0052] and Fig 4, Fig 6 ); and
emitting a laser signal via the emitting unit based on the emission power, wherein the laser signal is used for measuring a target detection object (See [0022] measuring the distance to the target by measuring the reflected pulses).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh the method according to claim 1, further comprising: setting an emission order of laser signals corresponding to different emission powers based on detection requirements, wherein emitting a laser signal via the emitting unit based on the emission power comprises: emitting the laser signals corresponding to the different emission powers via the emitting unit according to the emission order (See Fig 4 and [0056] the power level is determined for the next scanning angle).
Regarding claim 3, Yeh further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the emission order comprises: emitting a plurality of laser signals corresponding to different emission powers of a first level (See [001] [0025] [0052] scan at a first vertical angle) before emitting a plurality of laser signals corresponding to different emission powers of a second level, wherein the emission power of the second level is greater than the emission power of the first level; or emitting the laser signals corresponding to the different emission powers of the first level and the laser signals corresponding to the different emission powers of the second level (See [0025] [0052] scan at a second vertical angle having a different detection distance and corresponding power level, see also Fig 6).
Regarding claim 8, Yeh further discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: setting levels of the emission power based on detection requirements (See [0045] [0052]).
Regarding claim 9, Yeh discloses laser signal emitting device, comprising: a setting module, configured to set emission power of a LiDAR based on a measurement range of an emitting unit of the LiDAR or a strength of an echo signal corresponding to the emitting unit that has been obtained, wherein there are at least two different levels of emission power of the LiDAR corresponding to different measurement ranges, and each level corresponds to a kind of strength of emission power (See [0045] [0052] based on detection distance the power determination unit may calculate an appropriate emitting power level output by laser emitter. The emitted power may be proportional to a square of the respective detection distances. A first detection measurement range may be read on the maximum detection distance using the maximum available output power level. A second detection range may be read on a shorter than maximum detection distance with corresponding reduced emitting power level which is smaller but sufficient, see [0045] and [0052] and Fig 4, Fig 6 ); and
an emitting module, configured to emit a laser signal via the emitting unit based on the emission power, wherein the laser signal is used for measuring a target detection object (See [0022] measuring the distance to the target by measuring the reflected pulses).
Regarding claim 10, Yeh discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, when the computer program is executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising: setting an emission power of an emitting unit based on a measurement range of a LiDAR or a strength of an echo signal corresponding to the emitting unit that has been obtained, wherein there are at least two different levels of emission power of the emitting unit corresponding to different measurement ranges, and each level corresponds to a kind of strength of emission power (See [0045] [0052] based on detection distance the power determination unit may calculate an appropriate emitting power level output by laser emitter. The emitted power may be proportional to a square of the respective detection distances. A first detection measurement range may be read on the maximum detection distance using the maximum available output power level. A second detection range may be read on a shorter than maximum detection distance with corresponding reduced emitting power level which is smaller but sufficient, see [0045] and [0052] and Fig 4, Fig 6 ); and
emitting a laser signal via the emitting unit based on the emission power, wherein the laser signal is used for measuring a target detection object(See [0022] measuring the distance to the target by measuring the reflected pulses).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of records fails to disclose or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, all of the features of dependent claims 4-7.
Conclusion
FERNANDO . ALCON
Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/FERNANDO ALCON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425