DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/03/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker et al. (US 2022/0397230 A1 – hereinafter Tucker), Constantino (US 2016/0120303 A1 – hereinafter Constantino), and Hershberg et al. (US 2024/0314369 A1 – hereinafter Hershberg).
Regarding claim 1, Tucker discloses a mobile studio apparatus comprising: a mobile platform (Fig. 1); at least one device mount coupled to the mobile platform, wherein the at least one device mount is configured to attach to a device, and wherein the at least one device mount is further configured to adjust an orientation of the device (Figs. 5-6; [0054] – there is at least one device mount to attach to a device such as a microphone, a camera, a laptop etc.); and a user interface communicatively coupled to devices configured to attach to the at least one device mount, wherein the devices comprise multiple cameras controlled via the user interface ([0041]-[0042]; [0054]; [0057] – a user interface comprising various ports coupled to the devices to facilitate a video production or video collaboration via the devices such as using a connected computer to exchange video/audio content between devices for a video production etc., the devices comprising cameras, i.e. multiple cameras as further described at least in [0097]).
However, Tucker does not disclose the mobile platform as a mobile cart, wherein the multiple cameras controlled via the user interface to facilitate switching between the multiple cameras.
Constantino discloses a mobile platform as a mobile cart comprising multiple cameras (Fig. 1A – the mobile cart 10 comprising cameras 42 and 50).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Constantino into the mobile studio apparatus taught by Tucker to move the apparatus more easily.
However, Tucker and Constantino do not disclose the multiple cameras controlled via the user interface to facilitate switching between the multiple cameras.
Hershberg discloses multiple cameras controlled via a user interface to facilitate switching between the multiple cameras (Fig. 1; [0032]; [0035] – a seller using a platform comprising multiple cameras controlled via a user interface to select a camera view among the multiple cameras during live stream).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Hershberg into the apparatus taught by Tucker and Constantino to switch among desired camera views for a video production.
Regarding claim 3, Tucker also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device mount is configured to attach to a microphone (Fig. 5; [0054] – microphone 546).
Regarding claim 4, Tucker also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device mount is configured to attach to a light ([0054] – illumination device 542).
Regarding claim 5, Tucker also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device mount is a display mount configured to attach to a display unit, and wherein the display unit is configured to facilitate a video production or a video collaboration (Fig. 5; [0054] – displays 532 and 534 to facilitate the video production or the video collaboration by facilitating transmission of video content to the displays).
Regarding claim 6, Tucker also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device mount is configured to attach to a mobile phone ([0067]-[0068]; Fig. 11 – a cell phone).
Regarding claim 7, Tucker also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device mount is configured to attach to a laptop computer (Fig. 5; [0054] – a laptop 536).
Regarding claim 8, Tucker also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device mount comprises a quick-release mechanism configured to facilitate readily attaching and detaching a device ([0030] – the mount assembly includes a quick release mechanism).
Regarding claim 9, Tucker in view of Constantino also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one device mount is coupled to the mobile cart via an adjustable arm (Fig. 7; [0060] – in view of Constantino disclosing the mobile cart).
Regarding claim 13, Tucker in view of Constantino also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a charging apparatus coupled to the mobile cart, wherein the charging apparatus includes a battery and at least one charging point ([0043]-[0044] – in view of Constantino disclosing the mobile cart).
Regarding claim 14, Tucker in view of Constantino also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 5, wherein the display mount is coupled to the mobile cart via an adjustable display arm (Figs. 5-6; [0054] – the display mount is coupled to the mobile cart in view of Constantino teaching the mobile cart).
Regarding claim 15, Tucker also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 14, wherein the adjustable display arm is extendable to facilitate height adjustments of the display unit (Fig. 9; [0064] – using a ball joint).
Regarding claim 16, Tucker also discloses the mobile studio apparatus of claim 14, wherein the adjustable display arm is bendable to facilitate height adjustments of the display unit (Fig. 9; [0064] – using a ball joint).
Regarding claim 17, see the teachings of Tucker and Constantino as discussed in claim 1 above. Constantino also discloses a handle projecting laterally from the mobile cart to facilitate moving the moving the mobile cart (Fig. 1A – an edge of a table 68 can serves as a handle).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Constantino into the mobile studio apparatus has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg as applied to claims 1-9 and 13-17 above, and further in view of Reed (US 2021/0360161 A1 – hereinafter Reed).
Regarding claim 10, see the teachings of Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg do not disclose the mobile cart is configured to automatically follow a subject.
Reed discloses a mobile studio apparatus configured to automatically follow a subject (Figs. 1-2; [0034]-[0036]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Reed into the mobile studio apparatus taught by Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg to automatically keep a moving subject within the FOV of the camera, thus making the video shooting more conveniently to the user.
Regarding claim 11, see the teachings of Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg do not disclose the at least one device mount is configured to automatically orient the device toward a subject.
Reed discloses at least one device mount is configured to automatically orient a device toward a subject (Figs. 1-2; [0034]-[0036]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Reed into the mobile studio apparatus taught by Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg to automatically keep a moving subject within the FOV of the camera, thus making the video shooting more conveniently to the user.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg as applied to claims 1-9 and 13-17 above, and further in view of Saçan et al. (US 2020/0363704 A1 – hereinafter Saçan).
Regarding claim 12, see the teachings of Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg do not disclose the user interface is configured to receive voice commands to facilitate the video production or the video collaboration.
Saçan discloses a user interface is configured to receive voice commands to facilitate video production or video collaboration ([0023]; [0044] – a user interface configured to detect user’s audio commands to capture video content).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Saçan into the mobile studio apparatus taught by Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg to enhance the user interface of the system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg as applied to claims 1-9 and 13-17 above, and further in view of Aneja et al. (US 2025/0006226 A1 – hereinafter Aneja).
Regarding claim 18, see the teachings of Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg as discussed in claim 5 above. However, Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg do not disclose the user interface is configured to display a script or teleprompter on the display unit.
Aneja discloses a user interface is configured to display a script or teleprompter on the display unit (Fig. 3; [0047]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Aneja into the mobile studio apparatus taught by Tucker, Constantino, and Hershberg to enhance the user interface of the system by reminding the user of the narration of video during capturing and producing the video production.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker and Kadambi (US 2017/0354341 A1 – hereinafter Kadambi).
Regarding claim 19, Tucker discloses a mobile studio system comprising: at least one mobile cart; at least one device mount coupled to the at least one mobile platform (Fig. 1), wherein the at least one device mount is configured to attach to a device, and wherein the at least one device mount is further configured to adjust an orientation of the device (Figs. 5-6; [0054] – there is at least one device mount to attach to a device such as a microphone, a camera, a laptop etc.).
However, Tucker does not disclose the mobile platform as a mobile cart; and at least one remote tracking device communicatively coupled to at least one of the at least one mobile cart or the at least one device mount, wherein the at least one remote tracking device is physically coupled to a subject and configured to facilitate a physical tracking of the subject by at least one of the at least one mobile cart or the at least one device mount.
Kadambi discloses a mobile platform as a mobile cart (Fig. 2; Fig. 5; [0042]; [0069]; [0073]; [0075] – a mobile cart follows a subject); and at least one remote tracking device communicatively coupled to at least one of the at least one mobile cart or the at least one device mount, wherein the at least one remote tracking device is physically coupled to a subject (Figs. 4-5; [0068]; [0073]-[0074] – physical tracking of a wearable tracker coupled to a person by at least one mobile cart, i.e. the movable stand 504) and configured to maintain a predetermined distance to facilitate a physical tracking of the subject by at least one of the at least one mobile cart or the at least one device mount ([0082] – following a path to maintain a recording and tracking distance).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kadambi into the method taught by Tucker to move the apparatus more easily to achieve a good recording distance.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed and Kadambi.
Regarding claim 20, Reed discloses a method comprising: physically coupling at least one remote tracking device to a subject ([0035]; Fig. 1 – a GPS tracking module 12 as one remote tracking device, physically coupled to the subject); communicatively coupling the at least one remote tracking device to at least one of at least one mobile platform or at least one device mount coupled to the at least one mobile platform ([0035]; Fig. 1 – communicatively coupling the GPS tracking module 12 to at least at least one device mount); configuring the at least one remote tracking device to be physically tracked by at least one of the at least one mobile platform or the at least one device mount (Fig. 1; [0035] – to be physically tracked by the device mount), wherein a physical tracking of the at least one remote tracking device by the at least one mobile platform comprises following a path of the subject ([0035] – following movement of the subject), and wherein a physical tracking of the at least one remote tracking device by the at least one device mount comprises adjusting an orientation of the at least one device mount towards the subject ([0035]; [0039] – rotating the camera according to pointing angle).
Reed does not disclose the mobile platform is a mobile cart; the physical tracking of the at least one remote tracking device by the at least one mobile platform comprises following the path to maintain a predetermined distance of the subject.
Kadambi discloses a mobile platform as a mobile cart (Fig. 5; [0069]-[0073] – a movable stand), wherein a physical tracking of an at least one remote tracking device coupled to a subject by at least one mobile cart (Figs. 4-5; [0068]; [0073]-[0074] – physical tracking of a wearable tracker coupled to a person by at least one mobile cart, i.e. the movable stand 504) comprises following the path to maintain a predetermined distance of the subject ([0082] – following a path to maintain a recording and tracking distance).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kadambi into the method taught by Reed to move the apparatus more easily to achieve a good recording distance.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484