DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10541966. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., sending a query notification message).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 10541966
A computing device operating within a first virtual network, comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory coupled to the hardware processor, the memory comprising an address management logic configured to determine if an overlap exists between private IP address ranges of a first virtual network and a second virtual network, the address management logic configured to perform the method comprising:
A computing device operating within a first virtual network, comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory coupled to the hardware processor,
receive a message from a first device of the first virtual network, the message being directed from the first device to a second device of the second virtual network; determine if a first private IP address of the first virtual network overlaps with a second private IP address of the second virtual network;
the memory comprises an address translation control module that, when executed by the hardware processor and a message is to be transmitted from the first virtual network to a second virtual network different than the first virtual network has been received, conducts private Internet Protocol (IP) address resolution by at least (i) providing one or more query messages to address management logic that is configured to access an IP address pool having
an address range that is non-overlapping of an address range associated with the first virtual network and an address range associated with the second virtual network, and
responsive to a determination that the first private IP address overlaps with the second private IP address, return a unique non-overlapping private IP address to a first intermediary device of the first virtual network, wherein the unique non-overlapping private IP address is substituted for the first private IP address; and instruct the message to be transmitted from the first intermediary device to a second intermediary device of the second virtual network, the second intermediary device being configured to conduct a private IP address translation to recover a source IP address of the first device and a source IP address of the second device.
(ii) substituting at least a source IP address within the message with a selected private IP address provided by the address management logic when the address management logic determines that the first virtual network and the second virtual network have overlapping private IP address
ranges,
wherein the one or more query messages to further cause the address management logic to send a query notification message to a computing device for the second virtual network, the query notification message includes a private
IP address from the IP address pool for substitution with a destination IP address of the message.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11153262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., determining that the first virtual private network and the second virtual private network include non-overlapping private IP address ranges).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 11153262
A computing device operating within a first virtual network, comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory coupled to the hardware processor, the memory comprising an address management logic configured to determine if an overlap exists between private IP address ranges of a first virtual network and a second virtual network, the address management logic configured to perform the method comprising:
A computerized method for enabling communications between networks with overlapping Internet Protocol (IP) address ranges, the computerized method comprising:
receive a message from a first device of the first virtual network, the message being directed from the first device to a second device of the second virtual network; determine if a first private IP address of the first virtual network overlaps with a second private IP address of the second virtual network;
receiving a first message from a first computing device operating within a first virtual private network for transmission to a second computing device operating within a second virtual private network different than the first virtual private network; determining whether the first virtual private network and the second virtual private network include overlapping private IP address ranges;
responsive to a determination that the first private IP address overlaps with the second private IP address, return a unique non-overlapping private IP address to a first intermediary device of the first virtual network, wherein the unique non-overlapping private IP address is substituted for the first private IP address; and instruct the message to be transmitted from the first intermediary device to a second intermediary device of the second virtual network, the second intermediary device being configured to conduct a private IP address translation to recover a source IP address of the first device and a source IP address of the second device.
responsive to determining that the first virtual private network and the second virtual private network including overlapping private IP address ranges, substituting a private IP address within the first message with a selected unique, non-overlapping private IP address, the non-overlapping private IP address being outside an IP address range allocated to the first virtual private network, and transmitting the first message to the second computing device; and
responsive to determining that the first virtual private network and the second virtual private network include non-overlapping private IP address ranges, transmitting a second message in response to the first message without substituting the private IP address within the second message with another private IP address.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12058094. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., receiving a second address mapping query message).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 12058094
A computing device operating within a first virtual network, comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory coupled to the hardware processor, the memory comprising an address management logic configured to determine if an overlap exists between private IP address ranges of a first virtual network and a second virtual network, the address management logic configured to perform the method comprising:
A computerized method for enabling communications between networks with overlapping Internet Protocol (IP) address ranges, the computerized method comprising:
receive a message from a first device of the first virtual network, the message being directed from the first device to a second device of the second virtual network; determine if a first private IP address of the first virtual network overlaps with a second private IP address of the second virtual network;
receiving a first address mapping query message from a first intermediary device associated with a first network, the first address mapping query message includes a source IP address and a network identifier; transmitting a first private IP address map in response to the first address mapping query message to the first intermediary device, the first private IP address map including at least a first plurality of private IP addresses each uniquely assigned to a computing device residing in the first network;
in response to a triggering event detected by a second intermediary device associated with a second network, receiving a second address mapping query message; transmitting a second private IP address map in response to the second address mapping query message, the second private IP address map including at least a second plurality of private IP addresses each uniquely assigned to a computing device residing in the second network;
responsive to a determination that the first private IP address overlaps with the second private IP address, return a unique non-overlapping private IP address to a first intermediary device of the first virtual network, wherein the unique non-overlapping private IP address is substituted for the first private IP address; and instruct the message to be transmitted from the first intermediary device to a second intermediary device of the second virtual network, the second intermediary device being configured to conduct a private IP address translation to recover a source IP address of the first device and a source IP address of the second device.
substituting the source IP address for a private IP address associated with the computing device prior to transmission of a message from the first intermediary device to the second intermediary device upon determining that the first network and the second network include overlapping private IP address ranges; and retaining the source IP address within the message being transmitted from the first intermediary device to the second intermediary device in response to the first network and the second network including non-overlapping private IP address ranges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhatib et al. (US Pub. 2004/0249974) in view of Furukawa (US Pub. 2008/0298367).
Regarding claim 1, Alkhatib teaches a computing device operating within a first virtual network, comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory coupled to the hardware processor, the memory comprising the address management logic configured to perform the method comprising: receive a message from a first device of the first virtual network (see device B in Figure 3), the message being directed from the first device to a second device of the second virtual network (see device A in Figure 3); and instruct the message to be transmitted from the first intermediary device to a second intermediary device of the second virtual network (see Firewall; NAT 302 and Firewall; NAT 304 in Figure 3), the second intermediary device being configured to conduct a private IP address translation to recover a source IP address of the first device and a source IP address of the second device (see NAT 304 in Figure 3). Alkhatib, however, does not teach an address management logic configured to determine if an overlap exists between private IP address ranges of a first virtual network and a second virtual network, and determine if a first private IP address of the first virtual network overlaps with a second private IP address of the second virtual network; responsive to a determination that the first private IP address overlaps with the second private IP address, return a unique non-overlapping private IP address to a first intermediary device of the first virtual network, wherein the unique non-overlapping private IP address is substituted for the first private IP address. Furukawa teaches an address management logic configured to determine if an overlap exists between private IP address ranges of a first virtual network and a second virtual network, and determine if a first private IP address of the first virtual network overlaps with a second private IP address of the second virtual network; responsive to a determination that the first private IP address overlaps with the second private IP address, return a unique non-overlapping private IP address to a first intermediary device of the first virtual network, wherein the unique non-overlapping private IP address is substituted for the first private IP address (“The virtual address assignment unit 134 checks whether or not there is an overlapping private IP address among computers of the sites A, B, and C, by reference to routing information collected from all VPN routers of the VPN. When an overlapping private IP address is found, the virtual address assignment unit 134 assigns virtual IP address which do not overlap within the VPN for the private IP address” in [0039]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Alkhatib to have an address management logic configured to determine if an overlap exists between private IP address ranges of a first virtual network and a second virtual network, and determine if a first private IP address of the first virtual network overlaps with a second private IP address of the second virtual network; responsive to a determination that the first private IP address overlaps with the second private IP address, return a unique non-overlapping private IP address to a first intermediary device of the first virtual network, wherein the unique non-overlapping private IP address is substituted for the first private IP address as taught by Furukawa in order to avoid overlapping IP address [0039].
Regarding claim 2, Furukawa teaches the unique non-overlapping private IP address is outside an IP address range allocated to the first virtual network (“VPN router 100A replaces the source address of the packet to the virtual address 20.0.0.1” in [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Alkhatib teaches the first intermediary device and the second intermediary device correspond to a first gateway and a second gateway (see “gateway” in [0080]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-12 would be allowable if the terminal disclaimer (for 10541966, 11153262 and 12058094) is timely filed to overcome the rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art in the record (in particular, US Pub. 2004/0249974 to Alkhatib et al. (hereinafter “Alkhatib”)) does not disclose, with respect to claim 4, substituting the source IP address for a private IP address associated with the first device upon determining that the first network and the second network include overlapping private IP address ranges; retaining the source IP address within the message being transmitted from the first device to the second device; and conducting a private IP address translation to recover the source IP address as claimed. Rather, Alkhatib teaches conducting a private IP address translation (see NAT 304 in Figure 3). The same reasoning applies to claim 8 mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414