Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group 1 (claims 1-15) without traverse in the reply filed on 07/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from consideration from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being withdrawn to a non-elected invention, and non-elected species of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
The Species Election between a detergent or soap, a solvent, and an antimicrobial agent is withdrawn.
Claims 1-15 are under examination and the requirement for restriction is made final.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: typo of “form the first molecule” in lines 13 should be changed to “from the first molecule”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asirvatham (US20210189292A1).
Asirvatham teaches a formulation comprising surfactants suitable for cleaning hard surfaces (see Abstract). With regards to claim 1, Asirthvatham teaches a surfactant of Formula 1 where R1, R2, R3, and n are functionally identical to the instant claim (see [0009]-[0010]). The terminal N in Formula 1 can optionally be substituted with an R3 hydroxyl group (alcohol) to overlap with the end terminal N+ group in the instant claim (see claim 1). An optional counterion, functionally identical to X in Formula 1 of claim 1, can be selected from the group consisting of chloride, bromide, and iodide (see [0010]). A detergent or soap is also required in the formulation (see claim 1).
Although Asirvatham does not explicitly disclose these limitations in a single embodiment to the point of anticipation, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to compose a formulation of surfactant of Formula 1, and at least one detergent or soap based on the general teachings of Asirvatham. This combination would result in the benefit of good sudsing and finish product appearance (see [0101])
With regards to claim 2, Asirvatham teaches the use of anionic, nonionic, amphoteric, and zwitterionic detergent active compounds (see [0083]).
With regards to claim 3, Asirvatham teaches the soap to be of the general formula (RCO2-)--nMn+ wherein R is an alkly group, and M is a metal, and n+ is either +1 or +2 (see [0057]).
With regards to claim 4, Asirvatham teaches commonly used builders to include sodium tripolyphosphates, nitrilloacetic acid salts, and zeolites (see [0073]).
With regards to claim 5, Asirthvatham teaches suitable peroxy bleach compounds including organic peroxides such as urea peroxide, and inorganic persalts (see [0087]). Sodium percarbonate is especially preferred.
With regards to claim 6, Asirvatham teaches the use of one or more proteases, amylases, cellulases, oxidases, mannanases, peroxidases, lipases, and other enzymes in the composition (see [0093]).
With regards to claim 7, Asirthvatham teaches the use of N, N-dialkylaminoalkyl methacrylate among other cationic polymers in the composition (see [0097]).
With regards to claim 8, Asirthvatham teaches a formulation comprising a surfactant of Formula 1 and at least one solvent (see claim 12).
With regards to claim 9, Asirvatham teaches the solvent can be selected from the group of perchloroethylene, hydrocarbons, trichloroethylene, decamethylcyclopentasiloxane, dibutoxymthane, and n-propyl bromide (see [0187]).
With regards to claim 10, Asirvatham teaches the co-solvent can be alcohols, ethers, glycol ethers, alkanes, alkenes, linear and cyclic amides, perfluorinated tertiary amines, among others (see [0189]).
With regards to claim 11, Asirvatham teaches the composition to further comprise water (see claim 6). Since the instant claim recites the antimicrobial agent to be optional, it is not required in the composition. Asirvatham does however, teach the use of antimicrobial agents as additional additives (see [0121]).
With regards to claim 12, Asirvatham fails to explicitly disclose the antimicrobial agent having a greater than 1log10 reduction in 30 seconds. However, the instant Specification notes the inventive surfactant of Formula 1 reduces the number of Chaetomium or Arthrinium or Bacillus microorganisms by greater than 5log10 in cold aseptic bottling techniques (see Instant Specification [0208]). Therefore, the inventive surfactant is noted to have antimicrobial properties and could constitute an antimicrobial agent. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect a formulation comprising a surfactant of Formula 1 as taught by Asirvatham to necessarily have a greater than 1log10 reduction in 30 seconds. “Products of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II.
With regards to claim 13, Asirvatham teaches additives, such antimicrobial agents, to be present at amounts of 0-20 wt% of the composition (see [0148]-[0149]).
With regards to claim 14-15, Asirvatham teaches the use of stabilizer, sequestrants, thickeners, colorants, antibacterial agents, perfumes, among others as suitable additional additives (see [0149]). The use of bleaches and lime soap dispersants are also taught. Asirvatham generally teaches the use of at least one soap or detergent in the composition (see claim 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,525,105B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘105 teaches a substantially similar formulation for cleaning comprising of a surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and an additional detergent or soap. Although Formula 1 of ‘105 is shown with an N terminal group distinct from Formula 1 of the instant application, it is taught to be optionally further substituted with an R3 hydroxyl group which overlaps with the R3 group requirements of the instant application (see claim 1). Hence, the surfactant taught by ‘105 is functionally identical to the surfactant of the instant claims and the inventions are not patentably distinct.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-17, 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,571,377B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘377 teaches a substantially similar formulation for cleaning comprising of a surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and an additional fatty component and water (see claim 6). It is known in the art that soaps are comprised of fatty acids and overlap with a fatty component. Although Formula 1 of ‘377 is shown with an N terminal group distinct from Formula 1 of the instant application, it is taught to be optionally further substituted with an R3 hydroxyl group which overlaps with the R3 group requirements of the instant application (see claim 6). Hence, the surfactant taught by ‘377 is functionally identical to the surfactant of the instant claims and the inventions are not patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,459,963B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘963 teaches a substantially similar formulation for cleaning comprising of a surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) (see claim 1). It is known in the art that soaps are comprised of fatty acids and overlap with a fatty component. Although Formula 1 of ‘963 is shown with an N terminal group distinct from Formula 1 of the instant application, it is taught to be optionally further substituted with an R3 hydroxyl group which overlaps with the R3 group requirements of the instant application (see claim 1). Hence, the surfactant taught by ‘963 is functionally identical to the surfactant of the instant claims and the inventions are not patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,427,760B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘760 teaches a substantially similar formulation for cleaning comprising of a surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and a solvent and a defoaming agent (see claim 1). It is known in the art that detergents can also serve as solvents in sufficiently high quantities. Although Formula 1 of ‘760 is shown with an N terminal group distinct from Formula 1 of the instant application, it is taught to be optionally further substituted with an R3 hydroxyl group which overlaps with the R3 group requirements of the instant application (see claim 1). Hence, the surfactant taught by ‘760 is functionally identical to the surfactant of the instant claims and the inventions are not patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,466,846B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘846 teaches a substantially similar compound comprising of a surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) (see claim 1). Hence, the surfactant taught by ‘846 is functionally identical to the surfactant of the instant claims and the inventions are not patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,008,348B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘348 teaches a substantially similar compound comprising of a surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) (see claim 1). Although Formula 1 of ‘348 is shown with an N terminal group distinct from Formula 1 of the instant application, it is taught to be optionally further substituted with an R3 hydroxyl group which overlaps with the R3 group requirements of the instant application (see claim 1). Hence, the surfactant taught by ‘438 is functionally identical to the surfactant of the instant claims and the inventions are not patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,054,663B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘663 teaches a substantially similar compound comprising of a surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion), water, and a fixer agent (see claim 1). It is known in the art that detergents and fixer agents can be comprised of overlapping chemical compounds. Although Formula 1 of ‘663 is shown with an N terminal group distinct from Formula 1 of the instant application, it is taught to be optionally further substituted with an R3 hydroxyl group which overlaps with the R3 group requirements of the instant application (see claim 1). Hence, the surfactant taught by ‘663 is functionally identical to the surfactant of the instant claims and the inventions are not patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,905,304B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘304 teaches a substantially similar compound comprising of a surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion), and a pesticide (see claim 1). It is known in the art that detergents and pesticides can be comprised of overlapping chemical compounds. Although Formula 1 of ‘304 is shown with an N terminal group distinct from Formula 1 of the instant application, it is taught to be optionally further substituted with an R3 hydroxyl group which overlaps with the R3 group requirements of the instant application (see claim 1). Hence, the surfactant taught by ‘304 is functionally identical to the surfactant of the instant claims and the inventions are not patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/795,160. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition comprises an identical surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and an additional ingredient, such as a solvent, soap, foaming or defoaming agent, thickener, pesticide, among others. The additional ingredient of the co-pending application has sufficient overlap with the detergent or soap of the instant application and hence, cannot be patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/795,161. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition comprises an identical surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and an additional ingredient, such as a solvent, soap, foaming or defoaming agent, thickener, pesticide, among others. The additional ingredient of the co-pending application has sufficient overlap with the detergent or soap of the instant application and hence, cannot be patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/795,165. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition comprises an identical surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and an additional ingredient, such as a solvent, soap, foaming or defoaming agent, thickener, pesticide, among others. The additional ingredient of the co-pending application has sufficient overlap with the detergent or soap of the instant application and hence, cannot be patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/795,167. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition comprises an identical surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and an additional ingredient, such as a solvent, soap, foaming or defoaming agent, thickener, pesticide, among others. The additional ingredient of the co-pending application has sufficient overlap with the detergent or soap of the instant application and hence, cannot be patentably distinct.
Claim 1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-19 of copending Application No. 18/795,174. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition comprises an identical surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and an additional ingredient, such as a solvent, soap, foaming or defoaming agent, thickener, pesticide, among others. The additional ingredient of the co-pending application has sufficient overlap with the detergent or soap of the instant application and hence, cannot be patentably distinct.
1-5, 7-11, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/795,176. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition comprises an identical surfactant of Formula 1 (with overlapping R1, R2, n, R3 groups, and an X counterion) and an additional ingredient, such as a solvent, soap, foaming or defoaming agent, thickener, pesticide, among others. The additional ingredient of the co-pending application has sufficient overlap with the detergent or soap of the instant application and hence, cannot be patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SP/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761