DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 10/06/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asirvatham (US 2021/0188882, Jun. 24, 2021) in view of Yetter (US 3,624,120, Nov. 30, 1971).
Asirvatham discloses a formulation for a pesticide, comprising: at least one surfactant of Formula I,
wherein R1 and R2 may be the same or different, and comprise at least one group selected from the group consisting of C1-C6 alkyl, optionally the C1-C6 alkyl may include one or more of oxygen, nitrogen, or sulfur atoms or groups that include at least one of these atoms, and the alkyl chain may be optionally substituted with one or more substituents selected from the group consisting of hydroxyl, amino, amido, sulfonyl, sulfonate, carbonyl, carboxyl, and carboxylate; n is an integer from 1 to 12; the terminal nitrogen is optionally further substituted with R3; an optional counterion associated with the compound which, if present, is selected from the group consisting of chloride, bromide, and iodide; and a pesticide (claim 1). The formulation further comprises a water-insoluble solvent (claim 2). The pesticide is an insecticide (claim 3). The formulation further comprises an antifoaming agent (claim 4), an antifreezing agent (claim 5), and water (claim 6). The surfactant is a siloxane derivative of amino acids (¶ [0002]).
Asirvatham differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein R3 is an aryl alkyl.
However, Yetter discloses quaternary ammonium salts of cyclic siloxane polymers useful as cationic surfactants (abstract). The quaternary ammonium salts of cyclic siloxane polymers are represented by the formula:
wherein R3 may be a phenethyl, R4 may be an alkyl group having from one to three carbon atoms, and R5 may be an alkyl group having from one to 18 carbon atoms (claim 1).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. The surfactant of Asirvatham is siloxane derivative. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have R3 as phenethyl (i.e., aryl alkyl) since this is a known and effective R3 substituent for terminal nitrogen of siloxane surfactants as taught by Yetter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that it has not been established a basis as to why one of ordinary skill in the art, having no knowledge of the present invention but having knowledge of Yetter, would preferentially select phenthyl for group R3 over the other alternatives of phenyl, benzyl, or an alkyl group having one to three carbon atoms.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions. See MPEP 2143(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any compound that would be suitable for group R3. Applicant has not shown wherein the claimed R3 compound is advantageous such that selecting any suitable compound would not have been obvious. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the skilled person having knowledge of Asirvatham would have no incentive to look to the very different cyclic polymeric compounds of Yetter for a selection of end groups that may be substituted onto the terminal nitrogen of the Asirvatham formula.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Asirvatham discloses in paragraph [0185] that the N-terminal nitrogen may be further derivatized to modify or improve water solubility and surface-active properties. Thus, there is motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to look at other substituents, such as that of Yetter, for the N-terminal nitrogen of Asirvatham to modify the surfactant. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the citation to MPEP 2144.07 is not applicable in the present context, namely, the unpredictable nature of the surface activity of molecules.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. There is predictability since phenethyl is a part of a siloxane surfactant and Asirvatham discloses a siloxane surfactant. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect phenethyl to be suitable for the siloxane surfactant of Asirvatham. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,008,348 in view of Asirvatham (US 2021/0188882, Jun. 24, 2021) and Yetter (US 3,624,120, Nov. 30, 1971).
Pending claims differ from the patented claims insofar as reciting for use as a pesticide and wherein R3 is an aryl alkyl.
However, Asirvatham discloses a formulation for a pesticide, comprising: at least one surfactant of Formula I,
wherein R1 and R2 may be the same or different, and comprise at least one group selected from the group consisting of C1-C6 alkyl, optionally the C1-C6 alkyl may include one or more of oxygen, nitrogen, or sulfur atoms or groups that include at least one of these atoms, and the alkyl chain may be optionally substituted with one or more substituents selected from the group consisting of hydroxyl, amino, amido, sulfonyl, sulfonate, carbonyl, carboxyl, and carboxylate; n is an integer from 1 to 12; the terminal nitrogen is optionally further substituted with R3; an optional counterion associated with the compound which, if present, is selected from the group consisting of chloride, bromide, and iodide; and a pesticide (claim 1). Yetter discloses quaternary ammonium salts of cyclic siloxane polymers useful as cationic surfactants (abstract). The quaternary ammonium salts of cyclic siloxane polymers are represented by the formula:
wherein R3 may be a phenethyl, R4 may be an alkyl group having from one to three carbon atoms, and R5 may be an alkyl group having from one to 18 carbon atoms (claim 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have used the patented compound for a pesticide since the patented compound may be used for a pesticide as taught by Asirvatham and it would have been obvious to have R3 as phenethyl (i.e., aryl alkyl) since this is a known and effective R3 substituent for terminal nitrogen of siloxane surfactants as taught by Yetter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the rejection should be withdrawn in view of the arguments above.
The Examiner submits that the rejection is maintained since Applicant’s arguments above are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Claims 7-17 have been withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614