DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the filing with the office dated 12/10/2025.
Claims 1 and 6 are independent Claims. Claims 1-10 are presented in this office action.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed TW113104082 filed on 02/02/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to amendment/arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more, have been fully considered. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument. See response to arguments section. The rejection has been maintained.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(i) and 103(a) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Please see the response to the arguments below. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to 101 arguments
6. Applicants arguments on page 5 recites “The instant application directs to a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) system of a wireless network for processing a plurality of numerical values in a wireless local area network, which reduces cascade circuits and achieves shorter critical path in the circuit design to perform data sorting and data distribution. More specifically, the instant application discloses that the encoding method determines a maximal value, a minimal value and at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences according to a sorting result of the plurality of number sequences, and further performs a logic OR processing for an identical bit of each sequence of the plurality of number sequences to obtain a maximal value and a minimal value, and performs logic AND processing for the plurality of number sequences to determine a data value distribution of the plurality of original numerical values, which amounts to an improvement to another technology or technical field, meaning that claim element, or combination of claim elements, ensures claims 1-10 amount to significantly more than an abstract idea, and should be patentable under 35 U.S.C. 101”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as the instant claims do not recite “a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) system of a wireless network for processing a plurality of numerical values in a wireless local area network, which reduces cascade circuits and achieves shorter critical path in the circuit design to perform data sorting and data distribution”.
The independent claim limitations recites “number sequences are one-hot encoding” is a data preprocessing technique that converts categorical, text-based, or integer-based data into a numerical format, that under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Similarly “determining a maximal value, a minimal value and at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences” under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. There is, nothing in the claim element that precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human mentally or with pen and paper. This limitations, at the high level of generality as drafted, would encompass a user to map categorical, text-based, or integer-based data into binary vectors by placing a 1 in the column representing its category and 0 in all others. Regarding dependent claims recite “performing a logic AND, OR processing for an identical bit of each sequence” that under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind based logic AND, OR processing, but for generic computer components “processor”, “circuits”. There is, nothing in the claim element that precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human mentally or with pen and paper. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of, the invention being “Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA),”, “processing device”, “shifter circuit”, “distribution circuit”, “adder circuit” are recited at a high level of generality as generic computer components that merely uses computers as a tool to perform the processes. These additional elements amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the recited abstract idea on a computer, under MPEP 2106.05(f). Combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using series of steps and outputting the result of the mental process. Accordingly, even in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the recitation of generic computing components is still mere instructions to apply the exception under MPEP 2106.05(f) and does not provide significantly more. Considering the additional elements in combination and the claim as a whole does not change the analysis, and does not amount to significantly more. Thus the claims are abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Determining whether claims are statutory under 35 U.S.C. 101 involves a two-step analysis. Step 1 requires a determination of whether the claims are directed to the statutory categories of invention. Step 2 requires a determination of whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Step 2 is divided into two prongs, with the first prong having a part 1 and part 2. See MPEP 2106; See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG).
Pursuant to Step 1, claim 6 recites a data processing device which are directed to the statutory category of a machine.
Pursuant to Step 2A, part 1, claims are analyzed to determine whether they are directed to an abstract idea. Under the 2019 PEG, claims are deemed to be directed to an abstract idea if they fall within one of the enumerated categories of (a) mathematical concepts, (b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and (c) mental processes. Here, claims 1 and 6 are directed to an abstract idea categorized under mental processes. Courts consider a mental process if it “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper.” MPEP 2016(a)(2)(III). Courts also consider a mental process as one that can be performed in the human mind and is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. MPEP 2016(a)(2)(III)(C)(3). Claims 1 and 6 recite limitation transforming a numerical number and manipulating the data utilizing one-hot encoding process but is recited at a high level of generality that merely used computers as a tool to perform the processes. See MPEP 2106(a)(2)(III). For example, claim 1 recites limitations of “transforming …plurality of number sequences”, “determining…” are recited at a high level of generality and do not place meaningful limits on the abstract idea which is a task that can be performed by a human with the use of the computer as a tool. These limitations are essentially steps of generating and manipulating data at a high level of generality, which can be performed by a person using a computer as a tool.
Pursuant to Step 2A, part 2, claims are analyzed to determine whether the recited abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. In this case, as explained above, claims 1, 19 and 20 merely recite a mental process. The limitations “transforming …plurality of number sequences”, “determining…” are mental process. While claims 1 and 6 recite additional components in the form of “processing device”, these components are recited at a high level of generality, which do not add meaningful limits on the recited abstract idea to integrate it into a practical application by providing an improvement to the functioning of a computer or technology, implementing the abstract idea with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, nor applying the abstract idea in some meaningful way beyond linking its use to computer technology. See 2019 PEG. The limitation “number sequences are one-hot encoding” is a data preprocessing technique that converts categorical, text-based, or integer-based data into a numerical format, that under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Similarly “determining a maximal value, a minimal value and at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences” under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. There is, nothing in the claim element that precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human mentally or with pen and paper. This limitations, at the high level of generality as drafted, would encompass a user to map categorical, text-based, or integer-based data into binary vectors by placing a 1 in the column representing its category and 0 in all others. The additional elements “Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA),”, “processing device”, “shifter circuit”, “distribution circuit”, “adder circuit” are recited at a high level of generality as generic computer components that merely uses computers as a tool to perform the processes. These additional elements amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the recited abstract idea on a computer, under MPEP 2106.05(f). Combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using series of steps and outputting the result of the mental process. Accordingly, even in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Pursuant to Step 2B, claims are analyzed to determine whether they recite significantly more than the abstract idea. In other words, it is determined whether the claims provide an inventive concept. In this case, claims 1 and 6 do not recite limitations that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The limitations are steps involving processes that can be practically performed by a human with the aid of pen and paper, or as explained above, using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. Accordingly, even in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claims 2, 7 recites “performing a logic OR…” is a processes, that under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. There is, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human mentally or with pen and paper and likewise do not provide "significantly more" than the abstract idea for similar reasons as the independent claim. These limitations, at the high level of generality as drafted, would encompass a user to perform a logic to identify identical bit sequence, which is mentally performable as an evaluation or judgement. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and/or using a pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claims 3, 8 recites “performing a logic AND…” is a processes, that under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. There is, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human mentally or with pen and paper and likewise do not provide "significantly more" than the abstract idea for similar reasons as the independent claim. These limitations, at the high level of generality as drafted, would encompass a user to perform a logic to identify identical bit sequence, which is mentally performable as an evaluation or judgement. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and/or using a pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claims 4, 9 recites “transforming the plurality of original numerical values into the plurality of number sequences is implemented by a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA).” do not recite limitations that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for similar reasons as the independent claim. The limitations are steps involving processes that can be practically performed by a human with the aid of pen and paper, or as explained above, using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. For example, transforming the plurality of original numerical values into the plurality of number sequences by a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA). Combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using series of steps and outputting the result of the mental process. Accordingly, even in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claims 5, 10 recites “executing a survival path searching function according to the at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences for a deep learning network.” do not recite limitations that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for similar reasons as the independent claim. The limitations are steps involving processes that can be practically performed by a human with the aid of pen and paper, or as explained above, using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. For example, executing a survival path searching function by utilizing deep learning network. Combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using series of steps and outputting the result of the mental process. Accordingly, even in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Response to 103 arguments
8. Applicants arguments on page 6 recites “Goryavskiy fails to disclose the feature "determining a maximal value, a minimal value and at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences according to a sorting result of the plurality of number sequences" as required by claim 1 of the instant application”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains the rejection as Goryavskiy teaches, “determining a maximal value, a minimal value and at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences according to a sorting result of the plurality of number sequences” (Paragraph [0730], [0731] discloses, maximum, minimum and survival values for each bucket or a sequence. Examiner interprets survival value as the identified values lies between the maximum and minimum values in plurality of buckets/ sequences) as required by claim 1 of the instant application.
Therefore the argued limitation is taught by Goryavskiy et al and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goryavskiy; Yuly (US 20240143276 A1) and in further view of Highnam; Kate (US 20200267182 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Goryavskiy; Yuly (US 20240143276 A1) teaches, a numerical data processing method, comprising: transforming a plurality of original numerical values of data into a plurality of number sequences (Paragraph [0193] discloses, numerical value transformed into plurality of number sequences);
and determining a maximal value, a minimal value and at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences according to a sorting result of the plurality of number sequences (Paragraph [0730], [0731] the minimum and/or maximum value of a record key can be computed (i.e., determining maximum and minimum values), which determines whether the record still falls into the current or target bucket (Examiner interprets determining survival value as determining if the record falls current or target bucket), or the value at which it will fall into the adjacent bucket (preceding or succeeding bucket). Subsequently, comparing the key of the actual analyzed record with this boundary value allows determining whether the record belongs to the desired (e.g., current or target) bucket or confirms that it lies below (above) the next or previous bucket (which, in given specific implementation, may indirectly indicates whether the record belongs to the current or target bucket).
Goryavskiy et al fails to explicitly teach, wherein the plurality of number sequences are one-hot encoding.
Highnam; Kate (US 20200267182 A1) teaches, wherein the plurality of number sequences are one-hot encoding (Fig. 4 Paragraph [0069] At step 506, each numeric value is transformed into a one-hot encoding vector. That is, a sequence of one-hot encoding vectors is generated to be used in later steps of process 500).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Goryavskiy et al by providing wherein the plurality of number sequences are one-hot encoding, as taught by Highnam et al (Paragraph [0069])..
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing so, One-hot encoding's main advantage is making categorical data usable by most machine learning algorithms by converting it into a numerical format that doesn't imply an order, which helps prevent biased results and improve model performance).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al teach, the numerical data processing method of claim 1.
Goryavskiy et al further teaches, wherein the step of determining the maximal value, the minimal value and the at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences according to the sorting result of the plurality of number sequences comprises: performing a logic OR processing for an identical bit of each sequence of the plurality of number sequences to obtain a first sequence (Paragraph [0110] discloses, performing a logic OR obtaining a number sequence for a fixed length of the digit or symbol for each sequence);
and taking a corresponding value of a leading value 1 of the first sequence as a maximal value of the plurality of original numerical values, and taking a corresponding value of a last value 1 of the first sequence as a minimal value of the plurality of original numerical values (Paragraph [0731] discloses, the minimum and maximum key values in the record in a bin/ bucket/ sequence. Also see [0016]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al teach, the numerical data processing method of claim 1.
Goryavskiy et al further teaches, wherein the step of determining the maximal value, the minimal value and the at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences according to the sorting result of the plurality of number sequences comprises: performing a logic AND processing for an identical bit of each sequence of the plurality of number sequences to obtain a second sequence (Paragraph [0718] discloses, performing a logic AND by excluding the common or insignificant parts of the keys);
and determining a data value distribution of the plurality of original numerical values according to the second sequence (Paragraph [0719] discloses distribution of the original key values according to the second sequence/ modified values).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al teach, the numerical data processing method of claim 1.
Goryavskiy et al further teaches, wherein transforming the plurality of original numerical values into the plurality of number sequences is implemented by a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) (Paragraph [0163] discloses, simulated specialized ASIC or programmable logic array (PLA, FPGA) are used in data processing, which can be transforming the plurality of original numerical values into the plurality of number sequences).
Regarding independent claim 6, Goryavskiy; Yuly (US 20240143276 A1) teaches, a numerical data processing device, comprising: a shifter circuit, for receiving a plurality of original numerical values of data and transforming the plurality of original numerical values of the data into a plurality of number sequences (Paragraph [0193] discloses, numerical value transformed into plurality of number sequences);
a sorting circuit, for sorting the plurality of number sequences and determining a maximal value, a minimal value of the plurality of number sequences according to a sorting result of the plurality of number sequences (Paragraph [0730], [0731] the minimum and/or maximum value of a record key can be computed (i.e., determining maximum and minimum values), which determines whether the record still falls into the current or target bucket (Examiner interprets determining survival value as determining if the record falls current or target bucket), or the value at which it will fall into the adjacent bucket (preceding or succeeding bucket). Subsequently, comparing the key of the actual analyzed record with this boundary value allows determining whether the record belongs to the desired (e.g., current or target) bucket or confirms that it lies below (above) the next or previous bucket (which, in given specific implementation, may indirectly indicates whether the record belongs to the current or target bucket).
and a data distribution circuit, for determining at least a survival value according to the plurality of number sequences(Paragraph [0808] discloses, executing the survival path/ optimal path in sorting process according to plurality of bins/ buckets/ sequence number utilizing machine learning process (Examiner interprets survival path as optimal path)).
Goryavskiy et al fails to explicitly teach, wherein the plurality of number sequences are one-hot encoding.
Highnam; Kate (US 20200267182 A1) teaches, wherein the plurality of number sequences are one-hot encoding (Fig. 4 Paragraph [0069] At step 506, each numeric value is transformed into a one-hot encoding vector. That is, a sequence of one-hot encoding vectors is generated to be used in later steps of process 500).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Goryavskiy et al by providing wherein the plurality of number sequences are one-hot encoding, as taught by Highnam et al (Paragraph [0069])..
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing so, One-hot encoding's main advantage is making categorical data usable by most machine learning algorithms by converting it into a numerical format that doesn't imply an order, which helps prevent biased results and improve model performance).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al teach, the numerical data processing device of claim 6.
Goryavskiy et al further teaches, wherein the sorting circuit includes a logic OR circuit and a leading/last 1 detecting circuit, for performing a logic OR processing for an identical bit of each sequence of the plurality of number sequences to obtain a first sequence (Paragraph [0110] discloses, performing a logic OR obtaining a number sequence for a fixed length of the digit or symbol for each sequence);
and for taking, by the leading/last 1 detecting circuit, a corresponding value of a leading value 1 of the first sequence as a maximal value of the plurality of original numerical values, and taking a corresponding value of a last value 1 of the first sequence as a minimal value of the plurality of original numerical values(Paragraph [0731] discloses, the minimum and maximum key values in the record in a bin/ bucket/ sequence. Also see [0016]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al teach, the numerical data processing device of claim 6.
Goryavskiy et al further teaches, wherein the data distribution circuit includes an adder circuit and a value distribution/classification circuit, for performing a logic AND processing for an identical bit of each sequence of the plurality of number sequences to obtain a second sequence (Paragraph [0718] discloses, performing a logic AND by excluding the common or insignificant parts of the keys);
and determining, by the value distribution/classification circuit, a data value distribution of the plurality of original numerical values according to the second sequence (Paragraph [0719] discloses distribution of the original key values according to the second sequence/ modified values).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al teach, the numerical data processing device of claim 6.
Goryavskiy et al further teaches, wherein transforming the plurality of original numerical values into the plurality of number sequences is implemented by a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) (Paragraph [0163] discloses, simulated specialized ASIC or programmable logic array (PLA, FPGA) are used in data processing, which can be transforming the plurality of original numerical values into the plurality of number sequences).
10. Claim(s) 5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goryavskiy; Yuly (US 20240143276 A1) and in view of Highnam; Kate (US 20200267182 A1) and in further view of VANKAYALA; Satya Kumar (US 20200313783 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al teach, the numerical data processing method of claim 1.
Goryavskiy et al further teaches, further comprising: executing a survival path searching function according to the at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences (Paragraph [0808] discloses, executing the survival path/ optimal path in sorting process according to plurality of bins/ buckets/ sequence number utilizing machine learning process (Examiner interprets survival path as optimal path)).
Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al fails to explicitly teach, deep learning network.
VANKAYALA; Satya Kumar (US 20200313783 A1) discloses, executing a survival path searching function according to the at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences for a deep learning network (Paragraph [0055] determining an optimal path/ survival path in the generated number sequence utilizing a machine learning method, a deep learning method, and an artificial intelligence (AI) method). Also see [0039])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al by utilizing deep learning network as taught by VANKAYALA et al (Paragraph [0055]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing so, deep learning can achieve higher accuracy in prediction and path selection compared to conventional methods).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al teach, the numerical data processing device of claim 6.
Goryavskiy et al further teaches, wherein the data distribution circuit further includes value distribution/classification circuit for executing a survival path searching function according to the at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences.
Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al fails to explicitly teach, deep learning network.
VANKAYALA; Satya Kumar (US 20200313783 A1) discloses, executing a survival path searching function according to the at least a survival value of the plurality of number sequences for a deep learning network (Paragraph [0055] determining an optimal path/ survival path in the generated number sequence utilizing a machine learning method, a deep learning method, and an artificial intelligence (AI) method). Also see [0039])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Goryavskiy et al and Highnam et al by utilizing deep learning network as taught by VANKAYALA et al (Paragraph [0055]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing so, deep learning can achieve higher accuracy in prediction and path selection compared to conventional methods).
Closest Prior Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
MUKUGE; Masakazu (US 20220078287 A1) teaches, A signaling gateway apparatus (SG) in an IP network, is directly connected to a group unit center (GC) in a PSTN in a layer of MTP level 3 without via a signaling transfer point (STP), converts a M2PA sequence number included in an XCO or an XCA which is a response to the XCO, to a sequence number with a value in a range from 0 to 127 which is a maximum value of a 7-bit unsigned integer and transmits the XCO or the XCA to an opposite apparatus (Abstract).
12. Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior arts of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and Figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior arts or disclosed by the examiner. It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, figures, or lines in the prior art references any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331-33, 216 USPQ 1038-39 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968))).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendments/Arguments necessitated new grounds of rejection as presented in this office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S. R./
Examiner, Art Unit 2163
/ALEX GOFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163