DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9-10, 15-16, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AKKARAKARAN et al. (US 2018/0368081 A1), hereinafter AKKARAKARAN.
Regarding claim 1, AKKARAKARAN discloses a power headroom reporting method, comprising:
sending third indication information to a network device, wherein the third indication information indicates power headrooms respectively corresponding to a plurality of transmission beams in a terminal (the UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power, see ¶ 0091 and figure 5, where the UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams, see ¶ 0094),
wherein a power headroom corresponding to each transmission beam is determined based on a maximum transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam and an expected transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam (different beams may be associated with different maximum transmit powers (e.g., Pcmax or Pcmax values), see ¶ 0090 and figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, AKKARAKARAN discloses the power headrooms respectively corresponding to the plurality of transmission beams are all real power headrooms, the maximum transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam is a maximum transmit power that corresponds to each transmission beam and that is used by the terminal during one uplink transmission, and the expected transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam is a transmit power that corresponds to each transmission beam and that is determined by the terminal based on a power control parameter and an uplink transmission scheduling parameter that are indicated by the network device (the UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power, see ¶ 0091 and figure 5, where the UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams, see ¶ 0094),
Regarding claim 7, AKKARAKARAN discloses the real power headrooms respectively corresponding to the plurality of transmission beams are determined based on power control parameters and uplink transmission scheduling parameters that respectively correspond to the plurality of transmission beams during one uplink transmission (the UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams. Additionally, or alternatively, the reference beam (e.g., a configuration for the reference beam) may be signaled to the UE 505 in an RRC message, in a MAC control element, in downlink control information, and/or the like. In this way, the UE 505 may report a power headroom value when the UE 505 does not have information to transmit, see ¶ 0094).
Regarding claim 9, AKKARAKARAN discloses wherein each of the plurality of transmission beams corresponds to one or a plurality of antenna panels in the terminal (process 1200 may include transmitting the PHR according to the aperiodic indication (block 1220). For example, the UE (e.g., using controller/processor 280, transmit processor 264, TX MIMO processor 266, MOD 254, antenna 252, and/or the like) may transmit the PHR according to the aperiodic indication, as described elsewhere herein in connection with FIGS. 5 and 6, see ¶ 0164, and figure 12).
Regarding claim 10, AKKARAKARAN discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a transceiver, configured to
send third indication information to a network device, wherein the third indication information indicates power headrooms respectively corresponding to a plurality of transmission beams in a terminal (the UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power, see ¶ 0091 and figure 5, where the UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams, see ¶ 0094),
wherein a power headroom corresponding to each transmission beam is determined based on a maximum transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam and an expected transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam (different beams may be associated with different maximum transmit powers (e.g., Pcmax or Pcmax values), see ¶ 0090 and figure 5).
Regarding claim 15, AKKARAKARAN discloses the power headrooms respectively corresponding to the plurality of transmission beams are all real power headrooms, the maximum transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam is a maximum transmit power that corresponds to each transmission beam and that is used by the terminal during one uplink transmission, and the expected transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam is a transmit power that corresponds to each transmission beam and that is determined by the terminal based on a power control parameter and an uplink transmission scheduling parameter that are indicated by the network device (the UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power, see ¶ 0091 and figure 5, where the UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams, see ¶ 0094),
Regarding claim 16, AKKARAKARAN discloses the real power headrooms respectively corresponding to the plurality of transmission beams are determined based on power control parameters and uplink transmission scheduling parameters that respectively correspond to the plurality of transmission beams during one uplink transmission (the UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams. Additionally, or alternatively, the reference beam (e.g., a configuration for the reference beam) may be signaled to the UE 505 in an RRC message, in a MAC control element, in downlink control information, and/or the like. In this way, the UE 505 may report a power headroom value when the UE 505 does not have information to transmit, see ¶ 0094).
Regarding claim 18, AKKARAKARAN discloses a computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores instructions; and when the instructions are run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method comprising:
sending third indication information to a network device, wherein the third indication information indicates power headrooms respectively corresponding to a plurality of transmission beams in a terminal (the UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power, see ¶ 0091 and figure 5, where the UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams, see ¶ 0094),
wherein a power headroom corresponding to each transmission beam is determined based on a maximum transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam and an expected transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam (different beams may be associated with different maximum transmit powers (e.g., Pcmax or Pcmax values), see ¶ 0090 and figure 5).
Regarding claim 20, AKKARAKARAN discloses wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are preset maximum transmit power values; or the third threshold is a preset maximum value of the EIRP (the uplink transmission may be transmitted on a particular beam (e.g., a particular antenna beam), and different beams may be associated with different maximum transmit powers (e.g., Pcmax or Pcmax values). In this case, the UE 505 may determine the maximum transmit power based at least in part on a beam via which the uplink transmission is to be transmitted, see ¶ 0090).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 11-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKKARAKARAN in view of YUAN et al. (US 2022/0377680 A1), hereinafter YUAN ‘680.
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 19, AKKARAKARAN fails to disclose wherein maximum transmit powers respectively corresponding to the plurality of transmission beams are determined based on at least one of the following conditions: a sum of actual radiated powers corresponding to the maximum transmit powers does not exceed a second threshold; or an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) corresponding to each of the plurality of transmission beams does not exceed a third threshold and is not less than a fourth threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, YUAN ‘680 discloses as shown by reference number 420, the UE 120 may determine an MPE condition. The MPE condition may relate to one or more transmit beams generated by the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may determine a threshold associated with the MPE condition. The threshold may relate to, for example, a total radiated power, a maximum output power, an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP), a radiated power on a single beam, a radiated power on a beam directed toward a user of the UE 120, and/or the like. If the threshold is satisfied (e.g., for a given time window) with regard to a beam, then the beam may exceed the MPE limit (see ¶ 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YUAN ‘680’s teaching in the network taught by AKKARAKARAN for regulatory compliance where the local or federal may enforce legal limits to prevent interference between wireless services (e.g. Wi-Fi, cellular, and satellite).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, YUAN ‘680 discloses wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are preset maximum transmit power values (the threshold may be dynamically assigned by the UE 120, see ¶ 0059, 0064).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, YUAN ‘680 discloses wherein the third threshold is a preset maximum value of the EIRP (the EIRP threshold may be dynamically assigned by the UE 120, see ¶ 0059, 0064).
Regarding claims 5, and 14, YUAN ‘680 discloses wherein the fourth threshold is a preset minimum value of the EIRP plus a quantity related to power aggregation, and then minus a quantity related to power reduction and an offset related to multiple beam transmission (the threshold may be dynamically assigned by the UE 120, see ¶ 0059, 0064).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKKARAKARAN in view of YUAN et al. (US 2023/0018795 A1), hereinafter YUAN ‘795.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, AKKARAKARAN fails to disclose wherein the power headrooms respectively corresponding to the plurality of transmission beams are all virtual power headrooms, the maximum transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam is a maximum transmit power used by each transmission beam to determine a virtual power headroom, and the expected transmit power corresponding to each transmission beam is a transmit power that corresponds to each transmission beam and that is determined by the terminal based on a power control parameter indicated by the network device.
In the same filed of endeavor, YUAN ‘795 discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a UE, may include determining one or more beam metric values for one or more beams that are monitored by the UE, wherein the one or more beam metric values correspond to one or more of a beam power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) metric, a beam uplink reference signal receive power (RSRP) metric, or a beam virtual power headroom metric, and transmitting a report based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values (see ¶ 0005, 0007-0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YUAN’s teaching in the network taught by YUAN ‘795 for pathloss estimation, even without an active transmission, the network can gauge the distance and signal degradation between the base station and your device by looking at how much power would be required.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412