DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0017503, filed on 02/10/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an electrode is connected to at least any one of the top or bottom plate and frames" in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “frame” in this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh Chung-rok KR 200409727 Y1, February 24, 2006 (hereinafter “Oh”) in view of Nagai et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20170341085 A1, November 30, 2017 (hereinafter “Nagai”) in further view of Sato et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20180078950 A1, March 22, 2018 (hereinafter “Sato”).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses an air-to-air heat exchange apparatus including a heat exchange element formed from a plurality of metallic heat transfer plate (110) stacked in layers and arranged in a zig-zag configuration to form airflow passages between adjacent plates (fig. 5; page 3). Oh further discloses support members (140) positioned at the corners of the stacked heat transfer plates (110) to contact and support the plate assembly and maintain the airflow passages (fig. 5; page 3). However, Oh fails to disclose electrostatic dust collection, a charge generator, electrodes connected to the heat exchange structure, or utilization of the heat exchange structure as an electrostatic collection electrode.
Nagai discloses a solvent separation apparatus including a condensation region (30B), a dust collection region (40B), and an electrically conductive electrode (92) positioned between the regions. Nagai expressly discloses that electrode (92) simultaneously functions as (1) and electrode, (2) a partition separating adjacent flow regions, and (3) a heat exchange member providing heat exchange between adjacent regions (figs. 1-3, and 6; paragraphs 0042-0045). Nagai further discloses and electrically conductive electrode (92) having high thermal conductivity (paragraph 0044); the electrode being connected to a voltage-applying apparatus (43) (paragraph 0048); grounded counter-electrode (38, 48) (paragraph 0036); generation of electric field for electrostatic collection (paragraph 0049); first and second electrode surfaces exposed to adjacent airflow regions (paragraph 0044); and projections (923, 924) functioning as both heat-transfer structures and electrode structures (paragraph 0045). Hence Nagai discloses using a heat exchange member itself as an electrostatic electrode. However, Nagai fails to disclose a plurality of conductive plates electrically connected together and supported by conductive frame structures.
Sato discloses a discharge electrode (111, 112); a counter electrode comprising a plurality of conductor plates (121) arranged side-by-side in a plate stack configuration (figs. 1-2, paragraph 0102); a DC power supply (13) applying voltage between the discharge electrode and the conductive plate assembly (paragraph 0051); conductive plate members electrically functioning together as a common counter electrode (paragraphs 0043-0045); a conductive support/frame structure (114) physically supporting the conductive plate members (figs. 20, 24A-B; paragraph 0115); and conductive plate assemblies electrically connected through frame members and common power connections (figs. 23B; paragraphs 0120, 0129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the stacked metallic heat transfer plate assembly of Oh to function as an electrostatic collection structure as taught by Nagai, thereby enabling simultaneous heat exchange and electrostatic contaminant removal. It would have been further obvious to electrically interconnect the stacked conductive plates and supporting frame members of Oh in the manner taught by Sato, including connecting the conductive plate assembly to the voltage source and utilizing conductive support members to provide electrical continuity among the conductive plates.
The motivation for combining Oh, Nagai, and Sato would have been to improve contaminant removal efficiency while maintaining heat exchange performance, reduce component count by utilizing existing conductive heat transfer structures as electrostatic collection electrode, and provide a reliable electrical connection among multiple conductive plate members through conductive supporting structures, all of which represent predictable uses of known prior-art elements according to their established functions.
Conclusion
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776