This Office Action is in response to the amendments dated August 26, 2026.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the inflation device having an end proximal to proximal opening of the catheter must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 2 is the figure that shows both 122 (proximal opening of the catheter as mentioned in the Spec) and Applicant’s asserted proximal end of the inflation device. 122 is proximal to the inflation device. The inflation device starts distally of the end of the catheter. See below where Arrow 1 is proximal to Arrow 2, not the other way around. If Applicant means for “proximal” to mean “near or proximate”, then that should be made clear. In medical devices and endoscopes in particular, “proximal” means closer to the user and distal means closer to the patient. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motai et al. (US 2008/0249356) in view Kawashima (US 5,078,681).
Regarding Claim 1, Motai discloses:
An endoscopic tube, comprising:
a body (13B);
a catheter (13A) connected to the body, having therein one single working channel (channel for receiving tools inserted into 44), having a proximal opening (44) proximal to the body (see Fig. 1), and having a distal opening distal to the body (distal end opening for the forceps channel); and
an inflation device (11) enclosing the catheter (see Fig. 1 showing catheter inserted into 11), having an expansion free end (24) proximal to the distal opening of the catheter (see Fig. 1 showing 45 of 13A extending past 24), having an end proximal to the distal opening of the catheter and being closed (see Figs. 1 and 4, Fig. 4 showing the closed nature of 24), and having an end proximal to proximal opening of the catheter and being in communication with a gas admitting component having a gas admitting opening for admitting an external fluid (see Fig. 1 showing 30 as an end by which gas is admitted; see also, Paragraph 0055).
Motai does not explicitly disclose wherein the expansion free end is made of an elastic material and wherein the expansion free end expands when a gas is introduced into a space between the inflation device and the catheter through the gas admitting opening.
Kawashima teaches making a balloon area from an elastic material (Col 3 Lines 25-33) as is known in the art to allow the balloon to be easily inflated. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motai’s device to include Kawashima’s elastic material. Such a modification incorporates a well-known material to allow the balloon to be easily inflated.
Kawashima also teaches using a space between a catheter/endoscope and an outer sheath to inflate a distal balloon (see Fig. 4 and gap 17 being used as a liquid path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motai’s device to include Kawashima’s inflation lumen. Such a modification is a known alternative that is both a simple substitution of one inflation mechanism for another to yield predictable results and a means by which a separate inflation lumen can be eliminated.
The Examiner also notes that Kawashima also shows the inflation port (gas admitting opening) at the proximal end of the device. This feature is considered obvious in the art in addition to the fact that the Examiner considers Motai’s configuration as disclosing it.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motai et al. (US 2008/0249356) and Kawashima (US 5,078,681), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sheridan et al. (US 3,605,750).
Motai and Kawashima disclose the inventions substantially as claimed as stated above.
Regarding Claim 2, they do not explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of the catheter is near the distal opening and is made of a material not penetrable by X-ray. The Examiner notes that using opaque or radio-opaque markers at the distal end of scopes and catheters is common in the art for helping locate the end. Sheridan is one teaching example. Sheridan teaches that it is known to place an X-ray opaque annulus in the distal end portion to permit the position of the distal end portion of the catheter within a patient to be determined by X-ray methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motai and Kawashima’s device to include X-ray opaque material. Such a modification incorporates conventional technology into the device to allow the distal end to be located using X-ray.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motai et al. (US 2008/0249356) and Kawashima (US 5,078,681), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chikama (US 4,718,407).
Motai and Kawashima disclose the inventions substantially as claimed as stated above.
Regarding Claim 3, Motai further discloses disclose a distal bending mechanism connected to the body and the catheter and comprising: an operating handle disposed outside the body(43) and rotatably connected to the body (43 rotates to deflect distal portion 46), but they do not explicitly; a spool disposed inside the body and connected to the operating handle; and a cable partially wound around the spool and having two ends connected to two sides proximal to the distal opening of the catheter respectively, wherein the operating handle can be rotated to drive the cable moving, causing a portion of the catheter to bend, with the bent portion being adjacent to the distal opening of the catheter. The Examiner notes that this may be the most conventional means for articulating a distal end known in the art. Chikama is one of many examples and teaches a wire (15) wound around the spool (pulley 9) and attached at two sides proximal the distal opening (see Fig. 1 and Col 3 Lines 63-68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motai’s device to include a spool and cable. Such a modification incorporates old and well-known features for deflecting the distal end to yield predictable results.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motai et al. (US 2008/0249356), Kawashima (US 5,078,681), and Chikama (US 4,718,407), as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Ouyang et al. (US 2017/0188795).
Motai, Kawashima, and Chikama disclose the inventions substantially as claimed as stated above.
Regarding Claim 4, they do not explicitly disclose a catheter rotating mechanism connected to the body and the catheter and comprising: a rotatable element connected to the catheter and rotatably connected to the body, wherein the rotatable element can be rotated to move the catheter, allowing the catheter to rotate. Ouyang teaches a rotating catheter using a sleeve bearing (330) and mechanical connector (320) so that the handle can remain stationary while the insertion portion rotates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motai’s device to include Ouyang’s rotatable element. Such a modification allows the insertion portion to rotate relative to the handle to change the field of view or just direction of the device inside the patient.
Regarding Claim 6, Motai does not explicitly disclose wherein the catheter further has a rinsing port proximal to the proximal opening. Ouyang teaches placing a fluid port (132, see Fig. 1) at the proximal end of the catheter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motai’s to include Ouyang’s proximal fluid port. Such a modification provides a convenient means for fluid to be directed to the target site.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motai et al. (US 2008/0249356) and Kawashima (US 5,078,681), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chilcoat (US 5,846,183).
Motai and Kawashima disclose the inventions substantially as claimed as stated above.
Regarding Claim 7, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the catheter has a bellow cross parallel structure proximal to the distal opening. Chilcoat teaches that using bellows as an alternative to vertebrae is known in the art when making a bending section (see Fig. 6 and Col 5 Lines 52-58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motai’s device to include Chilcoat’s bellows. Such a modification is a known alternative to vertebrae and is the simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 26, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Motai and Kawashima is not proper because of their different uses. The Examiner does not find this persuasive. Kawashima is used to teach two things. First, making the balloon from an elastic material. Given that Motai’s balloon expands, making it from an elastic material is obvious as elastic materials are known to expand and then recover their shape. A person having ordinary skill in the art would practically expect Motai’s balloon to be elastic so that it can expand and retract as desired. Second, Kawashima teaches using a space between the catheter and the balloon to fill the balloon. The substitution is for the inflation mechanism and not the balloon itself. Applicant’s argument that a person having ordinary skill would not incorporate Kawashima’s balloon into Motai’s system misunderstood the combination. The Examiner explicitly referred to Kawashima’s inflation lumen and not the reference’s balloon.
The Examiner also has concerns as to how Applicant is using terms. “Proximal” has a meaning in the art as opposed to “distal” where proximal is closer to the user and distal is closer to the patient. This is how the Examiner understands the terms, but Applicant’s response makes that unclear. No indefiniteness rejection is being made as this would, in the Examiner’s opinion, create more confusion than clarity, but this could be an issue going forward.
There are additional concerns about what this device actually is. It appears to be a balloon attached to an outer tube (13) on the balloon’s proximal side and attached to a smaller tube (12) on its distal side. Because 12 is smaller than 13, there is a lumen between the two for inflation. Is this the case? If so, the claims, again, while not being indefinite, are seemingly unnecessarily confusing. The use of “expansion free end” and the manner of trying to claim the location of the balloon is overly complicated. If this is a handle with an inner tube, an outer tube, and a balloon with a proximal end attached to the outer tube and the distal end attached to the inner tube, the claims should be clearer. The problem is not indefiniteness, but clarifying the language would greatly simplify prosecution.
At this time, the Examiner does not consider Applicant to have pointed to any patentable features of the claimed invention, and Applicant’s characterization of the rejection was not entirely accurate. The rejection is maintained, and the application is not in condition for allowance at this time.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY J NEAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795