DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the bent portion" in Lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Publication 2024/0081850, hereinafter “Lee”).
As to Claim 1, Lee discloses an endoscopic tube set (10) in [0071] and Fig. 2, comprising:
an endoscopic tube (110) in [0075] and Fig. 2, comprising:
a body (120) in [0074] and Fig. 2;
a catheter (500, 520) in [0073] and [0077] connected to the body, having therein one single working channel, having a proximal opening adjacent to label (520) in Fig. 2 proximal to the body, and having a distal opening distal to the body as shown in the magnified tip of Fig. 2; and
a position limiting component (113) in [0078] and Fig. 4a fitted to the distal opening of the catheter, having a position limiting opening not round in shape, and having a position limiting mark (opening); and
a working element (111) in coordination “the optical fiber and an imaging device” and “monitor 700” in [0078]-[0079] having a cross section corresponding in shape to the position limiting opening of the position limiting component and having at least one positioning mark.
As to Claim 2, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the position limiting component is made of a material “medical rubber, silicon, etc.” in [0081] not penetrable by X-ray.
As to Claim 3, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 1, wherein the position limiting component further has a plurality of guiding elements (the various sides therein) extending toward an inner edge of the position limiting component from the position limiting opening of the position limiting component.
As to Claim 4, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 1, wherein the working element is an image capturing device “the optical fiber and an imaging device” in [0078]-[0079], a sampling device or a rinsing device.
As to Claim 6, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 1, wherein the endoscopic tube further comprises: a distal bending mechanism “cable” in [0077] connected to the body and the catheter and comprising: an operating handle disposed outside the body and rotatably connected to the body; a spool disposed inside the body and connected to the operating handle; and a cable partially wound around the spool and having two ends connected to two sides proximal to the distal opening of the catheter respectively, wherein the operating handle can be rotated as described in [0108] to drive the cable moving, causing a portion of the catheter to bend, with the bent portion being adjacent to the distal opening of the catheter.
As to Claim 7, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 6, wherein the endoscopic tube further comprises: a catheter rotating mechanism (121, 122) in [0080] connected to the body and the catheter and comprising: a rotatable element connected to the catheter and rotatably connected to the body, wherein the rotatable element can be rotated as described in [0108] to move the catheter, allowing the catheter to rotate as shown in Fig. 2.
As to Claim 8, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 7, wherein the endoscopic tube further comprises a sensing mechanism linked to the distal bending mechanism and the catheter rotating mechanism as described in [0108] to sense a bending state of the catheter near the distal opening and a rotating state of the catheter.
As to Claim 9, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 1, wherein the catheter further has a rinsing port adjacent to label (520) in Fig. 2 proximal to the proximal opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and in further view of Chu et al. (U.S. Publication 2024/0382726, hereinafter “Chu”).
As to Claim 5, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 1, however does not specifically disclose an inflation device. Chu teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein the endoscopic tube further comprises an inflation device (44) in [0103] and Fig. 1 enclosing the catheter, having an expansion free end made of an elastic material “non-extensible material” in [0103] and proximal to the distal opening of the catheter, having an end proximal to the distal opening of the catheter and closed, and having an end proximal to the proximal opening of the catheter and being in communication with a gas admitting component having a gas admitting opening for admitting an external fluid, wherein the expansion free end expands when a gas is introduced into a space between the inflation device and the catheter through the gas admitting opening. It would have been obvious to provide Lee with an inflation device as taught by Chu in order to facilitate fitment with target anatomy to fulfill the same navigational function with predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and in further view of Gao et al. (U.S. Publication 2022/0409854, hereinafter “Gao”).
As to Claim 10, Lee discloses the endoscopic tube set of claim 1, however does not specifically disclose a cross structure. Gao teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein a channel can have a bellow cross parallel structure (61) in [0043] and Fig. 2 proximal to the distal opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the endoscopic tube set of Lee such that channels can have various shapes to accommodate the physical dimensions of various structures as taught by Gao in [0044]-[0049] in order to fulfill the same function with predictable results.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795