DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed December 24, 2025.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed December 24, 2025, the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent October 1, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 116552255 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed July 14, 2025).
With regard to claim 1, Zhao et al. discloses a solar photovoltaic panel assembly, comprising:
a support frame that is a split-type frame (5, Fig. 2-6) and comprising
a first frame a second frame arranged opposite to the first frame (such as depicted in Fig. 2-6, the cited frame 5 includes a first frame and second opposite frame on each lateral side of the photovoltaic plates 31/32);
a primary photovoltaic panel located between the first frame and the second frame (primary photovoltaic panel 32 depicted in Fig. 2-3 as located between the cited first frame and the cited second frame),
the first frame being connected to the second frame by the primary photovoltaic panel (as depicted in Fig. 2-3, the cited first frame being connected to the cited second frame by the cited primary photovoltaic panel 32); and
a secondary photovoltaic panel located between the first frame and the second frame (secondary photovoltaic panel 31 depicted in Fig. 2-3 as located between the cited first frame and the cited second frame),
the secondary photovoltaic panel being slidable along the first frame and/or the second frame into a storage position at which the secondary photovoltaic panel has a maximum overlapping area with the primary photovoltaic panel in a thickness direction (as depicted in Fig. 1-3, the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31 being slidable along the cited first frame and the cited second frame into a storage position, Fig. 1, at which the secondary photovoltaic panel 31 has a maximum overlapping area with the primary photovoltaic panel 32 in a vertical thickness direction) and
a deployment position at which the secondary photovoltaic panel slides outwardly relative to the primary photovoltaic panel (as depicted in Fig. 1-3, the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31 being slidable along the cited first frame and the cited second frame into a deployment position, Fig. 2, at which the secondary photovoltaic panel 31 slides outwardly relative to the primary photovoltaic panel 32); and
a drive member fixedly mounted at the primary photovoltaic panel and configured to drive the secondary photovoltaic panel to slide (as depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6, a drive member 4 having one end fixedly mounted at the location of the cited primary photovoltaic panel 32 and another end driving the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31 to slide).
With regard to claim 2, Zhao et al. discloses wherein
the secondary photovoltaic panel is located at a side of the primary photovoltaic panel facing towards a mounting base (as depicted in Fig. 6, the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31 is located at a bottom side of the cited primary photovoltaic panel 32 facing towards a mounting base, the lower panel of containing piece 2).
With regard to claim 14, Zhao et al. discloses further comprising
a fixed wing fixedly mounted at each of the first frame and the second frame (such as depicted in Fig. 6, a fixed wing, left half of containing piece 2 and right half of containing piece 2, fixedly mounted at each of the cited first frame 5 and the cited second frame 5),
the fixed wing having an adhesive accommodation groove defined at a side surface of the fixed wing (such as depicted in Fig. 6, the cited fixed wing, recall left and right half of containing piece 2, having an adhesive accommodation groove defined at a side surface of the fixed wing, such as at the groove formed between the vertical side surface and the bottom panel of each cited fixed wing cited to read on the claimed “adhesive accommodation groove” as it is a channel structurally capable of accommodating or receiving an adhesive).
With regard to claim 17, Zhao et al. discloses wherein
a sliding rail is disposed at each of the first frame and the second frame (as depicted in Fig. 1-6, a sliding rail 51/52 is disposed at each of the cited first frame 5 and the cited second frame 5),
the secondary photovoltaic panel being adapted to be in a sliding fit with sliding rails at two sides (as depicted in Fig. 1-6, the secondary photovoltaic panel 31 being adapted to be in a sliding fit with cited sliding rails 51/52 at two sides).
With regard to claim 18, Zhao et al. discloses wherein
the sliding rail is a multi-sectioned sliding rail (51/52, Fig. 4-5), the multi-sectioned sliding rail at least comprising
a first sliding rail section and a final sliding rail section (such as depicted in Fig. 4-5, a first sliding rail section 51 and a final sliding rail section 52),
the first sliding rail section being mounted at a corresponding first frame or a corresponding second frame (as depicted in Fig. 3-5, the cited first sliding rail section 51 being mounted at a corresponding first frame 5 or a corresponding second frame 5),
the secondary photovoltaic panel being mounted at the final sliding rail section through an angle support (as depicted in Fig. 3-5, the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31 being mounted at the final sliding rail section 52 through an angle support, the support mechanically coupling the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31 to the final sliding rail section 52), and
two adjacent sliding rail sections of the sliding rail being slidable relative to each other in a sliding-out direction of the secondary photovoltaic panel (as depicted in Fig. 3-5, two adjacent sliding rail sections 51/52 of the sliding rail being slidable relative to each other in a sliding-out direction of the secondary photovoltaic panel 31).
With regard to claim 19, Zhao et al. discloses a vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle body (see Fig. 1); and
the solar photovoltaic panel assembly according to claim 1 (recall rejection of claim 1 above),
the solar photovoltaic panel assembly being mounted at a roof of the vehicle body (see Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 20, Zhao et al. discloses an electric device, comprising
the solar photovoltaic panel assembly according to claim 1 (recall rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 116552255 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed July 14, 2025) in view of Head et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0161073 A1).
With regard to claims 4 and 10, dependent claim 3 is anticipated by Zhao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as discussed above. Zhao et al. discloses wherein
the drive member is in a form of a telescopic rod (see 4, Fig. 3) and comprises:
a drive mechanism fixedly mounted at the primary photovoltaic panel (as depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6, a drive mechanism fixedly mounted at the cited primary photovoltaic panel 32); and
a multi-segmented telescopic rod at least comprising a first telescopic rod segment and a final telescopic rod segment (as depicted in Fig. 3, a multi-segmented telescopic rod at least comprising a first telescopic rod segment and a final telescopic rod segment),
an end of the first telescopic rod segment being located in the drive mechanism (as depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6, an end of the first telescopic rod segment being located in the cited drive mechanism),
two adjacent telescopic rod segments of the multi-segmented telescopic rod being nested to each other (as depicted in Fig. 3, two adjacent telescopic rod segments of the multi-segmented telescopic rod being nested to each other),
the final telescopic rod segment being fixedly connected to the secondary photovoltaic panel (as depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6, the final telescopic rod segment being fixedly connected to the secondary photovoltaic panel 31), wherein
the drive mechanism is capable of driving the multi-segmented telescopic rod to be extended away from or retracted towards the drive mechanism (as depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6, the drive mechanism is capable of driving the multi-segmented telescopic rod to be extended away from or retracted towards the drive mechanism).
Zhao et al. does not disclose wherein the telescopic rod is an electrical telescopic rod.
However, Head et al. discloses a solar photovoltaic panel (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a telescopic rod, screw jack, can be an electric telescopic rod and include an electric driving motor (see [0018]).
Head et al. teaches the electric telescopic rod can also control the retraction and extension positions through position limiting switches (see [0018]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the telescopic rod of Zhao et al. to include an electric telescopic rod, as suggested by Head et al., because it would have provided for control of the drive mechanism to extend and retract the telescopic rod segments.
With regard to claim 5, dependent claim 4 is obvious over Zhao et al. in view of Head et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhao et al., as modified above, discloses wherein:
the drive member is located at a side of the secondary photovoltaic panel facing away from the primary photovoltaic panel (as depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6, the cited drive member 4 is located at a bottom side of the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31 facing away from the cited primary photovoltaic panel 32); and the solar photovoltaic panel assembly further comprises
a first fixing support (such as 2, Fig. 6) and
a second fixing support (such as the vertically extending mechanical support depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6 as mechanically coupling the cited drive member 4 and the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31), wherein:
the drive mechanism is fixedly mounted at the primary photovoltaic panel through the first fixing support (as depicted in Fig. 6, the cited drive mechanism is fixedly mounted at the cited primary photovoltaic panel 32 through the cited first fixing support 2); and
the final telescopic rod segment is fixedly mounted at the secondary photovoltaic panel through the second fixing support (as depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6, the final telescopic rod segment is fixedly mounted at the cited secondary photovoltaic panel 31 through the cited second fixing support).
With regard to claim 13, dependent claim 4 is obvious over Zhao et al. in view of Head et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhao et al., as modified above, discloses further comprising
a controller, the controller being a controller equipped with a remote controller or a controller controlled by an application, and the controller being configured to receive a control instruction to control the drive member to operate (see [0018] of Head et al. teaching the electric telescopic rod includes switching unit to control drive member from remote location).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 116552255 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed July 14, 2025) in view of Head et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0161073 A1), and in further view of Hu et al. (CN 110165978 A).
With regard to claim 6, dependent claim 5 is obvious over Zhao et al. in view of Head et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Zhao et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein each of the primary photovoltaic panel and the secondary photovoltaic panel comprises a photovoltaic frame and a photovoltaic laminate.
However, Hu et al. discloses a solar photovoltaic panel (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a photovoltaic panel design (frame/laminate) including a primary photovoltaic panel and a secondary photovoltaic panel comprising a photovoltaic frame and a photovoltaic laminate (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 9 depicting a primary photovoltaic panel including a photovoltaic frame 2011 and a photovoltaic laminate 2012 and a secondary photovoltaic panel including a photovoltaic frame 2021/3062 and a photovoltaic laminate 2012).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the photovoltaic panel design of Zhao et al., as modified above, for the photovoltaic panel design of Hu et al., which includes a frame and laminate, because the simple substitution of an element known in the art to perform the same function supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
Zhao et al., as modified above, discloses the drive mechanism being fixedly mounted at the photovoltaic frame of the primary photovoltaic panel through the first fixing support, and the final telescopic rod segment being fixedly mounted at the photovoltaic frame of the secondary photovoltaic panel through the second fixing support (as depicted in Fig. 3 and Fig. 6, the cited drive mechanism being fixedly mounted at the cited photovoltaic frame, as modified above, of the primary photovoltaic panel 32 through the cited first fixing support 2, and the final telescopic rod segment being fixedly mounted at the cited photovoltaic frame, as modified above, of the secondary photovoltaic panel 31 through the cited second fixing support).
With regard to claim 7, dependent claim 6 is obvious over Zhao et al. in view of Head et al. and Hu et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Zhao et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the photovoltaic frame has a profile with a thickness ranging from 1.5 mm to 4 mm.
However, the thickness of the profile of the photovoltaic frame is a result effective variable directly affecting the weight and manufacturing cost of the photovoltaic frame.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the thickness of the profile of the photovoltaic frame of Zhao et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of thickness through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the weight and manufacturing cost of the photovoltaic frame.
Zhao et al., as modified above, teaches the photovoltaic frame having a fastener component defined thereon (see Hu et al. at Fig. 9 depicting the photovoltaic frame having a fastener component defined thereon the back surface), the solar photovoltaic panel assembly further comprises a photovoltaic fastening component (see Hu et al. at Fig. 9-10 depicting corresponding fastening component connecting the cited fastening component on the back surface of the photovoltaic frame to 303), but does not teach wherein the fastener component is a threaded hole to receive a penetrating fastening bolt.
However, a threaded hole and bolt is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable fastener options.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried a threaded hole and bolt for the fastening components of Zhao et al., as modified above, because a threaded hole and bolt is one in a finite number of options within the technical grasp of a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 116552255 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed July 14, 2025) in view of Head et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0161073 A1), and in further view of Hu et al. (CN 110048672 B).
With regard to claims 8 and 9, dependent claim 5 is obvious over Zhao et al. in view of Head et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Zhao et al., as modified above, does not disclose further comprising a junction box.
However, Hu et al. discloses a junction box for a solar photovoltaic panel assembly (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a junction box (such as the internal electrical components within box 1, Fig. 1-6) having plug connectors provided thereon (implicit in Fig. 1-6, the cited terminal box having plug connectors corresponding to the secondary wiring pipelines 6 and main wiring pipelines 9), a junction box waterproof cover adapted to be mounted and fixed to the junction box (1/2, Fig. 1-6), a waterproof space being formed between the junction box waterproof cover and the junction box (such as depicted in Fig. 1-6, a waterproof space being formed between the cited junction box waterproof cover 1/2 and the cited junction box, the internal electrical components within box 1), and a connection between a photovoltaic panel and the plug connector corresponding to the photovoltaic panel and a connection between another photovoltaic panel and the plug connector corresponding to the another photovoltaic panel being located in the waterproof space (implicit in Fig. 1-6, a connection between a photovoltaic panel and the cited plug connector corresponding to the photovoltaic panel and a connection between another photovoltaic panel and the cited plug connector corresponding to the another photovoltaic panel being located in the cited waterproof space).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the solar photovoltaic panel assembly of Zhao et al., as modified above, with the junction box and junction box waterproof cover of Hu et al. because the combination of elements known in the art is a matter of obviousness (see MPEP 2143 A).
It would have also been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried fixing the junction box to the first fixing support because the first fixing support is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable locations for fixing on the solar photovoltaic panel assembly within the technical grasp of a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 15, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 11, from which claim 12 depends, requires a support frame that is a split-type frame comprising a first frame and a second frame, a primary photovoltaic panel, a secondary photovoltaic panel, a drive member comprising a multi-segmented telescopic rod and a drive mechanism comprising a multi-segmented lead screw, the final telescopic rod segment has a reserved emergency hole being sued for a rocker to extend into a rocker insertion opening and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 11.
The prior art, including Zhao et al. of record, does not disclose a support frame that is a split-type frame comprising a first frame and a second frame, a primary photovoltaic panel, a secondary photovoltaic panel, a drive member comprising a multi-segmented telescopic rod and a drive mechanism comprising a multi-segmented lead screw, a final telescopic rod segment has a reserved emergency hole being used for a rocker to extend into a rocker insertion opening and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 11 and it would not have been an obvious modification.
Claim 15, from which claim 16 depends, requires a support frame that is a split-type frame comprising a first frame and a second frame, a primary photovoltaic panel, a secondary photovoltaic panel, a drive member, a fixed wing having an adhesive accommodation groove, wherein the fixed wing has a reserved screw site located at an end of the fixed wing, a wing fixing support comprising a first support plate and a second support plate and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 15.
The prior art, including Zhao et al. of record, does not disclose a support frame that is a split-type frame comprising a first frame and a second frame, a primary photovoltaic panel, a secondary photovoltaic panel, a drive member, a fixed wing having an adhesive accommodation groove, wherein the fixed wing has a reserved screw site located at an end of the fixed wing, a wing fixing support comprising a first support plate and a second support plate and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 15 and it would not have been an obvious modification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 24, 205 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in the response that Zhao does not disclose the limitations of the claim because “Zhao is completely silent regarding any connection or fixation of the drive assembly to the primary photovoltaic panel 32”.
However, this argument is not persuasive because the rejections of the claims do not allege or rely on Zhao to teach any connection or fixation of the drive assembly to the primary photovoltaic panel 32.
The claim requires a drive member fixedly mounted “at” the primary photovoltaic panel, not a drive member directly fixedly mounted to the primary photovoltaic panel.
Zhao plainly teaches the cited drive member fixedly mounted “at” the location of the primary photovoltaic panel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 February 7, 2026