DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 14-15, 17 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US 2017/0104199 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 14 & 19, Miller teaches a storage battery comprising a separator comprising a flat microporous silica-filled membrane having a backweb with a first surface, a second surface and a backweb thickness defined as the distance between said first surface and said second surface, wherein said separator has a porosity of about 60%, an average pore size no greater than 1 micron and a total separator thickness of no more than 1.5 mm ([0054]-[0055], [0057], [0059] & [0061]-[0062]).
Regarding claims 5-11, Miller teaches the membrane is grooved, textured or embossed with a first array of ribs such as serrated ribs extending from the first surface and a second array of ribs such as mini-ribs extending from the second surface, wherein either of said first array of ribs and second array of ribs can comprise a top rib width of 100 microns ([0062]-[0064] & [0068]).
Regarding claims 15 & 17, Miller teaches further comprising a fiber or fibrous mat such as a glassmat which is coated on either one or both of the first and second surfaces of the membrane ([0061] & [0207]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 12-13 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 2017/0104199 A1) in view of Dieters (US 2012/0094183 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 12-13 & 20, Miller teaches the separator of claim 1 and the battery of claim 19, wherein a substantial amount of the processing oil is extracted from the separator ([0189]) but is silent as to a reduced oil content that is less than 10% by weight (claim 3), less than 10% by weight (claim 12), less than 5% by weight (claims 13 & 20). Dieters teaches a lead acid battery comprising a separator comprising a microporous silica filled membrane having a reduced oil content that is 5% by weight to 35% by weight ([0002], [0065]-[0066], [0070] & [0073]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to limit a content of oil in Miller’s separator to 5% by weight as a suitable amount for improving oxidation resistance without causing deterioration in the wettability and porosity of the separator as taught by Dieters ([0009] & [0073]). Furthermore, since Miller’s separator further includes an additional layer such as a glassmat as a coating to form a laminate with the microporous membrane, the content of oil in the resulting separator (i.e including Miller’s glassmat coating) would necessarily be less than 5 wt%.
Claims 16 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 2017/0104199 A1) in view of Perry (WO 2017/210405 A1).
Regarding claims 16 & 18, Miller teaches the separator of claims 15 and 17, respectively, but is silent as to the fibrous mat being used as a carrier for additional material selected from rubber, latex, silica, one or more performance enhancing additive, and combinations thereof (claim 16) and wherein the coating comprises performance enhancing additives (claim 18). Perry teaches a lead acid battery comprising a separator comprising a microporous silica filled membrane and a glassmat coating one or both surfaces of the membrane, wherein the glassmat carries rubber, latex, silica and performance enhancing additives ([0008]-[0009], [0014], [0018] & [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to incorporate rubber, latex, silica and performance enhancing additives in Miller’s glassmat coating in view of enhancing wicking properties and/or electrolyte wetting/holding properties as taught by Perry ([0093]).
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727