DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 5, applicant attempts to define the subject matter in terms of the result to be achieved (estimates output power of the main rectifier circuit unit based on a measurement result of the measurement unit.), but in so doing merely states the problem to be solved, without indicating the technical features or steps necessary for achieving this result. Due to lack of essential features or steps it is unclear how the applicant is estimating output power of the main rectifier circuit unit.
Claims 6 is rejected by virtue of the dependency on claim 5.
As to claim 7, applicant attempts to define the subject matter in terms of the result to be achieved (estimating output power of the main rectifier circuit unit… ), but in so doing merely states the problem to be solved, without indicating the technical features or steps necessary for achieving this result. Due to lack of essential features or steps it is unclear how the applicant is estimating output power of the main rectifier circuit unit.
Claims 8 is rejected by virtue of the dependency on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 - 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OSHIMA et al. (2019/0305613).
As to claim 1, OSHIMA et al. (hereinafter OSHIMA) discloses a wireless power reception device and wireless power transmission system comprising a power reception apparatus (20) comprising: a main rectifier circuit unit (RT1) that rectifies received power (RT1I1) and outputs rectified power to a load (Vload); a sub rectifier circuit unit (RT2) connected in parallel with a power reception unit (RT1I1) of the main rectifier circuit unit (RT1); and a measurement unit (23) that measures power of an output unit (VD2) of the sub rectifier circuit unit (RT2) (Fig. 2), [0037] – [0063].
As to claim 3, OSHIMA discloses the sub rectifier circuit unit (RT2) includes: a rectifier circuit (RT2) including the output unit (VD2); an inductor (L2) provided between the power reception unit and a ground (G); and a capacitor (C2) including one end connected to the power reception unit (RT1I1) and the other end connected to the rectifier circuit (RT2) (Fig. 1 and 2).
As to claim 4, OSHIMA discloses that the measurement unit (23) measures an output voltage (VD2) of the sub rectifier circuit unit (RT2).
As to claim 5, OSHIMA discloses an estimation unit (23A) that estimates output power of the main rectifier circuit unit (RT1) based on a measurement result of the measurement unit (23), (Fig. 3).
As to claim 7, OSHIMA discloses a wireless power reception device and wireless power transmission system comprising the power reception apparatus (20) including a main rectifier circuit unit (RT1) that rectifies received power (RT1I1) and outputs rectified power to a load (Vload), and a sub rectifier circuit unit (RT2) connected in parallel to a power reception unit (RT1I1) of the main rectifier circuit unit (RT1), the method comprising: measuring (23) power of an output unit (VD2) of the sub rectifier circuit unit (RT2); and estimating (23A) output power of the main rectifier circuit unit (RT1) based on a measurement result of the power (VD2) (Fig. 2), [0037]-[0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OSHIMA et al. (2019/0305613).
As to claims 2 and 8, OSHIMA fails to explicitly disclose that the sub rectifier circuit unit has an input impedance larger than an input impedance of the main rectifier circuit unit. However, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art such that the input impedance of the sub-rectifier circuit higher than the input impedance of the main rectifier circuit would have been a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature was significant. (Please Note MPEP 2144 IV. B).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant s disclosure.
Chen et al. (2020/0412169) is cited for its disclosure of a wireless power reception apparatus and mobile terminal.
Chen et al. (11,949,275) is cited for its disclosure of a wireless power reception apparatus and mobile terminal.
/REENA AURORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858