Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka US Publication no.: US 2014/0060223 A1 in view of Horiuchi US publication no.: US 2004/0079174 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Tanaka teaches, a controller of a drive device comprising: a motor (motor 11, figure 1); a reducer (reducer 12, figure 1) to decelerate rotational motion output from the motor; and a target object (robot arm, see paragraph 100, which is controlled as result of the control of the reducer) operable by rotational motion output from the reducer; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control the motor based on a detection value of a sensor (torque sensor 14, figure 1; see paragraphs 80-84) mounted on the reducer.
Tanaka is silent on specifically teaching: wherein the sensor includes a strain gauge mounted on a gear of the reducer.
However, Horiuchi is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the sensor includes a strain gauge mounted on a gear of the reducer (see figure 1 and paragraph 42).
In view of Horiuchi’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Tanaka’s torque-sensing arrangement by mounting the strain gauge on a gear of the reducer, as taught by Horiuchi, in order to detect torque transmitted through the gear itself and provide a known alternative method and reducing component and cost.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Tanaka teaches, A controller of a drive device (see figures 8a-8b), comprising: a plurality of motors (see plurality of actuator devices 10, figures 8a-b); a plurality of reducers (reducer 12, figures 7-8a-8b) to decelerate rotational motion output from the plurality of motors, respectively (see figure 8b, where each actuator device will contain a reducer) ; and a plurality of target objects operable by rotational motion output from the plurality of reducers, respectively (see paragraph 100, figure 14) wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control at least one motor of the plurality of motors based on a detection value of a sensor (torque sensor 14, figures 1 and 8) mounted on at least one reducer of the plurality of reducers.
Tanaka is silent on specifically teaching: wherein the sensor includes a strain gauge mounted on a gear of the reducer.
However, Horiuchi is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the sensor includes a strain gauge mounted on a gear of the reducer (see figure 1 and paragraph 42).
In view of Horiuchi’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Tanaka’s torque-sensing arrangement by mounting the strain gauge on a gear of the reducer, as taught by Horiuchi, in order to detect torque transmitted through the gear itself and provide a known alternative method and reducing component and cost.
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka teaches, the controller according to claim 3, wherein the sensor is a torque sensor in which an output signal changes in accordance with torque applied to the gear (see paragraphs 81-82).
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka teaches, the controller according to claim 2, wherein the sensor includes a thrust sensor in which an output signal changes in accordance with a thrust force applied to the gear (see paragraphs 86 and 89).
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka as modified teach, a drive device comprising: the controller according to claim 1 (see the rejection of 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Tanaka as modified teach, a drive device comprising: the controller according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka US Publication no.: US 2014/0060223 A1 in view of in view of Horiuchi US publication no.: US 2004/0079174 A1 And Nakayama et al. US publication no.: US 2016/0346935 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka is silent on specifically teaching, the controller according to claim 1, wherein the sensor includes a temperature sensor in which an output signal changes in accordance with the temperature of the gear.
However, Nakayama et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the sensor is a temperature sensor in which an output signal changes in accordance with a temperature of the gear (see temperature detecting unit, paragraphs 35 and 52-55).
In view of Nakayama et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Tanaka as modified to include; wherein the sensor includes a temperature sensor in which an output signal changes in accordance with a temperature of the gear, for the purpose of enhancing safety features.
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka is silent on specifically teaching, the controller according to claim 5, wherein the reducer includes two of the temperature sensors; and the controller performs alert control when a difference between output signals of the two temperature sensors is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold.
However, Nakayama et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the reducer includes two of the temperature sensors; and the controller performs alert control when a difference between output signals of the two temperature sensors is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold (see paragraph 63).
In view of Nakayama et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Tanaka as modified to include; wherein the reducer includes two of the temperature sensors; and the controller performs alert control when a difference between output signals of the two temperature sensors is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold, for the purpose of enhancing safety features.
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka is silent on specifically teaching, the controller according to claim 5, wherein alert control is performed when a value of an output signal of the temperature sensor deviates from a predetermined allowable range.
However, Nakayama et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein alert control is performed when a value of an output signal of the temperature sensor deviates from a predetermined allowable range (see paragraph 63).
In view of Nakayama et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Tanaka as modified to include; wherein alert control is performed when a value of an output signal of the temperature sensor deviates from a predetermined allowable range, for the purpose of enhancing safety features.
Claims 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka US Publication no.: US 2014/0060223 A1 in view of in view of Horiuchi US publication no.: US 2004/0079174 A1, Nakayama et al. US publication no.: US 2016/0346935 A1 and further in view of Nakayama et al. US publication no.: US 2020/0206919 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka et al. as modified is silent on specifically teaching, the controller according to claim 8, wherein the reducer includes two of the torque sensors; and the controller is configured or programmed to perform alert control when a difference between output signals of the two torque sensors is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold.
However, Nakayama et al. II is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the reducer includes two of the torque sensors; and the controller is configured or programmed to perform alert control when a difference between output signals of the two torque sensors is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold (see paragraph 57 and figure 7).
In view of Nakayama et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Tanaka as modified to include; wherein the reducer includes two of the torque sensors; and the controller is configured or programmed to perform alert control when a difference between output signals of the two torque sensors is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold, for the purpose of enhancing safety features.
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka et al. as modified is silent on specifically teaching, the controller according to claim 8, wherein alert control is performed when a value of an output signal of the torque sensor deviates from a predetermined allowable range.
However, Nakayama et al. II is in the same field of art and teach: wherein alert control is performed when a value of an output signal of the torque sensor deviates from a predetermined allowable range (see paragraph 57 and figure 7).
In view of Nakayama et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Tanaka as modified to include wherein alert control is performed when a value of an output signal of the torque sensor deviates from a predetermined allowable range, for the purpose of enhancing safety features.
Regarding claim 12, the controller according to claim 11, wherein the reducer includes two of the thrust sensors; and the controller is configured or programmed to perform alert control when a difference between output signals of the two thrust sensors is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold.
Nakayama et al. II teach plurality of torque sensors whose difference is compared with a threshold to detect any failures but is silent on specifically teaching the same for a “thrust sensor”.
However, one with the ordinary skills in the art could’ve easily replaced the torque sensor with a thrust sensor and apply the teachings of Nakayama et al. II as seen in figure 7 and paragraph 57.
Thus, in view of Tanaka et al. as modified, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include; wherein the reducer includes two of the thrust sensors; and the controller is configured or programmed to perform alert control when a difference between output signals of the two thrust sensors is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold, for the purpose of enhancing safety features with a variant sensor.
Regarding claim 13, The controller according to claim 11, wherein alert control is performed when a value of an output signal of the thrust sensor deviates from a predetermined allowable range.
Nakayama et al. II teach torque sensor whose difference is compared with a threshold to detect any failures but is silent on specifically teaching the same for a “thrust sensor”.
However, one with the ordinary skills in the art could’ve easily replaced the torque sensor with a thrust sensor and apply the teachings of Nakayama et al. II as seen in figure 7 and paragraph 57.
Thus, in view of Tanaka et al. as modified, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include; wherein alert control is performed when a value of an output signal of the thrust sensor deviates from a predetermined allowable range, for the purpose of enhancing safety features with a variant sensor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 5-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2846